Uprising against Sylvia ?...like Low back-stabbed JBJ?.....no need lah.
Just be real opposition and the rest will fall into places.
Never knew the matter of hearts plays such an important part in PAP /WP axis and its election strategy.
So, By them taking more seats, How would it help the people with them being there? Isnt it the People's voice that made changes,?
Nice-Gook said:Okie,let's crunch some numbers here.....sort of statistics for dummies.Majority wins that's the rule of democracy,right?Than can 75% vote 14% Malays to eat pork?....or 89% of Chinese and Malays vote Indians to eat beef?Hey,pork and beef are perfectly legal meat mah.So what's the beef here?(pun intended)
This is where minority/majority tyranny kicks in.Rephrased you simply cannot act suka suka just because you are numerically superior even vote wise.That's what the spirit of a parliament system is all about...where ideas clashes.Parliament is not where winners take all neither is a presidential system where the senate provides the check and balance.Whereas as in Singapore where 30% to 40% of disenchanted voters were continuously denied a voice in the parliament for the past 50 years; in the name of democracy....Than something is seriously wrong with the system.The system PAP devised.The system which Sylvia Lim is happy with the status quo.
Will someone call the IMH,we have a looney loose in this forum.Tks.
Bad New Brown said:I would think you also unable to comprehend the existences of WP. Try to use your brain to think and alway read more...
Nice-Gook said:Funny,in UK,US and others people in opposition platform usually do not get arrested,bankrupted ,disqualified for elections or becomes fugitives ...I suppose WP deems these countries as not real democracies.Why?Because Sylvia Lim says so.
Maybe British and Yankees do not have a heart than therefore how can any body wins it.Reckon the real reason why their election are not run on fear factor.Is it because that Sinkies are the only human with hearts and election cannot be won without overwhelming and winning it and therefore oppositions need to be bankrupted,arrested and runroad...
Never knew the matter of hearts plays such an important part in PAP /WP axis and its election strategy.
If Chee had political acumen, he would have known no matter how the epsiode is read, the post of Sec General of SDP is a poison chalice.
Har,we have a statistics freak here meh.Okie dokie,you see Suharto's "festival of democracy" always won him his elections .So did Sadam Hussein .Fair and square har?
And 40% voted against PAP in GE 2011.....that should be 39 opposition MPs out of our 87 MPs in our parliament.So you are extremely pleased with 6 MPs as opposition just because they are with WP?
WP or SDP,heck I care not too much.....but if WP hoots that their 6 represents the entire 40% of disenchanted lot than we better cry.
Do you think that Opposition has a strong Support at difference places in Singapore? And if yes why??? Why are there more support for them in this area, Is it because that certain area has a different Social Level/Education/Age ?
The key words here is "Social Psychology"
Just be a real citizen and accept majority decision. These recent GE and PE were the best proofs. All or almost all contested, still lose to PAP overall except Hougang and Aljunied. Win hearts and you win votes. I don't know what else you want or expect. To me, real opposition means winning election. To you, what does it mean? Breaking laws and get arrested? Defaming others and getting bankrupted and disqualified from election? You're entitled to what you think. Still, democracy means majority wins.
cleareyes said:It seems that to some, real oppostion means to disrespect the opinion of others, create trouble and problems, make noise when there is no need to, and just shot nonsense.
Wow... real oppositions sounds more like terrorists
This is not 3 in 1 where one liners are well regarded for obvious reasons. Anything longer and they will be lost. Here it is best to explain your statement or position.
My position is not important. Whether I write loads of stuff or one liners here is not important, especially in this forum. Don't want to be profiled in any way. One liner of hard truth is easily worth a lot more than paragraphs of language flair.
True opposition respects the will of the people no matter how unfavorable the results appear to his party. Without respect for this will of the people, how can you call yourself the opposition? You are more like terrorists imposing your minority will on the common will. This all opposition s must understand and what they only do to keep chipping at the common opinion until you bring the majority to your side. The political system is flawed and the only most realistic way to change it to have enough of your own people into parliament to change it. You can occupy any square, MRT station, Bus terminal, sport stadium. It would change anything. Singapore opposition has been at this sorrowful situation for the past 46 years. Any true blue should recognize what the odds are and have some true vision. Don't give us false dawns.