• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious WHY NO BAN ON FLIGHTS FROM INDIA????

capamerica

The risk is actually quite low so the PAP is taking the pragmatic approach.

Other countries have adopted a response to appease their citizens which the PAP government does not have to do as they have 61% support.

Wrong. Again. Call it 0 for 118 tries.

bobby

Indian flights were banned from 23 April...why we still getting infected Ah Nehs being reported ? Take so many days for them to process the results ?

WTF....can allow 3 fucking infected Ah Nehs to "visit their family members" here ???

IMPORTED CASES -28 April 2021

There were 20 imported cases of Covid-19 registered on Wednesday and all had been placed on stay-home notices or isolated upon their arrival here, MOH said.

They are:

Two Singaporeans and one permanent resident who returned from India and the United Arab Emirates

One dependant’s pass holder who came from Nepal

Five work pass holders who arrived from India, Japan, the Maldives, Nepal and Uzbekistan

Six work permit holders who came from Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Mexico and the Philippines — two of whom are foreign domestic workers

Four short-term visit pass holders. Three had arrived from India to visit their family members here while the fourth had arrived from the Philippines for a work project

One special pass holder — a seafarer who arrived from Indonesia on a vessel and was tested onboard without disembarking

Hypocrite-The

Keeping schools open amid COVID-19 was “one of the toughest decisions in my life”, says Minister Ong Ye Kung - The Online Citizen Asia
Keeping schools open amid COVID-19 was “one of the toughest decisions in my life”, says Minister Ong Ye Kung
Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung said keeping schools open amid the COVID-19 pandemic was “one of the toughest decisions” he ever made during his time as the Education Minister, which he has held since 2015 to July last year.

Mr Ong was appointed as Minister of Transport in July last year. He will be taking over the Health Ministry from 15 May, following the latest cabinet reshuffle last week.

In a radio interview with ONE FM 91.3 on Wednesday (28 Apr), the Minister revealed that he made “one of the toughest decisions in my life” by keeping schools open when the country was fighting against the coronavirus.

Mr Ong described the situation in the early days of the pandemic as “panic stations”, given the uncertainties of how the COVID-19 outbreak would end up.

“In most countries, the Education Minister said better just close school because if there’s an outbreak in school, his job is on the line, they probably have to resign.

“But I just felt that if we closed schools, we’re going to have a whole generation of kids missing out. I don’t mean those who are graduating, but those in primary school, in secondary school, maybe they come from fairly vulnerable families.

“So you’re going to keep schools open to give them that environment to learn, if not you may have a lost generation,” he said, as quoted by The Straits Times.

Ong Ye Kung pointed out three reasons why schools should reopen in March last year
Back in March last year, the MOE announced the reopening of schools and kindergartens as scheduled, but with stricter measures imposed. Singapore had reported a total of 313 COVID-19 cases at the time.

In a Facebook post on 19 March 2020, Mr Ong, who was the Education Minister at the time, had openly admitted that many parents, students, and coaches would be disappointed and be inconvenienced as a result of the decision to impose a 14 days Leave of Absence (LOA) for staff and students who have returned from overseas on or after 14 March 2020.

“I know many students, parents and coaches will be disappointed. And many students and parents will be inconvenienced. I hate to have to do this, but it is critical that we protect the system, and keep everyone who has overseas exposure to the virus away from the school population,” he wrote.

After Singapore announced that it will ban all short-term visitors from entering or transiting through the country on 23 March last year, Mr Ong further explained the reasons – scientific evidence, taking extra precautions, and a goal to reduce disruptions – as to why students were allowed to start classes following the March holidays.

“Actually, part of the reason for the tougher border measures is to ensure we keep Singapore as safe as possible, so that daily activities, like going to work, eating out and attending school, can go on,” he wrote on Facebook.

Laying out the MOE’s decision to reopen schools but with more precautionary measures, Mr Ong said that scientific evidence revealed that the COVID-19 does not affect young individuals as much as it does on adults.

In fact, evidence shows that young people are not the spreader of the virus, and they themselves get infected by adults at home, the Minister said.

“With the virus being around for several months now, there is a body of scientific evidence showing that COVID-19 does not affect the young very much as compared to adults. Parents will be familiar with this concept, as this is the case for other diseases such as chicken pox,” he said.

He added, “Neither is there evidence to show that the young are vectors or spreaders of the virus. The reverse appears to be the case, where the young get infected by adults at home. This is the advice of Prof Dale Fisher, Group Director of Medicine at NUHS and Chair of the WHO Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network.”

Mr Ong went on to state that only a number of students were infected with the virus, and all of them “caught it outside of their schools.”

“They will be quite a resilient group. If we close schools, many will not stay home, but may run around in the community and mingle with a lot more people, exposing themselves to more risk,” he noted.

Mr Ong also highlighted that closing schools will results in disruption of peoples’ lives, especially working parents with no help, and have limited childcare options.

He added that different precautionary measures were also in place to “safeguard the entire system.”

It was subsequently announced by the government that Singapore schools will shift to full home-based learning from 8 April due to the island-wide circuit breaker measures.

In announcing the measures, Mr Ong said that while he had received many requests from parents to close schools earlier, it is now time to do so and “for the right reasons”.

Prior to the announcement, petitions has been created to call for the government to shut down local schools to reduce the risk of coronavirus infections among the community.

Subsequently in May last year, it is then announced that students will return to school from 2 June over two phases as part of the easing of the coronavirus circuit breaker measures that are expected to end on 1 June.

Share this:

Annunaki

God bless sudhir vadaketh and his sinkie Chiobu chink wife for rallying all sinkies to support his motherland!

DF13E72A-D923-4454-B78A-0445BB02CE78.jpeg
52F57DE9-1661-44C7-AE54-038D1CD1A1BC.jpeg
2C552483-CA1C-4629-B6C3-3172115BD724.gif

birdie69

Just get yr arse fuck by Hakkien, yr LKY gang.

U are not spared their as long as u are one of the Chikien.

u motherfucker Burmhist bad mouthing Chinese is yr favourite passtime all these years.

I shall take u on this time, motherfucker Chikien u....
Why Changi Airport still have flights from India landed in the past few days? No ban meh?

Hypocrite-The

Ong Ye Kung after PM Lee told him he will be new health minister: 'I was wordless'
After nine months as the Minister for Transport.

Syahindah Ishak |

April 28, 2021, 09:26 PM

In the latest Cabinet reshuffle in Singapore, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced that Ong Ye Kung will relinquish his appointment as Minister for Transport after only nine months in the ministry.

Come May 15, 2021, Ong will be moved to helm the Ministry of Health.

Did not expect to be moved to another ministry
In a 30-minute radio interview with ONE FM 91.3 on Wednesday (Apr. 28), Ong said that he did not expect to be moved to another ministry yet.

In fact, he was ready to stay in the transport ministry for five years.

When asked what his reaction was when PM Lee broke the news to him, Ong said, as reported by The Straits Times: "I was wordless."

He then explained that PM Lee had called the individual ministers separately to inform them of their new posting.

According to Ong, he had spent 45 minutes chatting with PM Lee.

His time as transport minister so far
During the radio interview, Ong talked about his experience in the transport ministry.

He explained, as reported by ST, that the decision to close the North East MRT Line early on Friday and Saturday nights was important to speed up replacement works of insulators along the line.

Although he noted that some commuters were upset with his decision, Ong stressed that it was imperative for the maintenance staff to have more time do their work and help improve efficiency.

His time as education minister
Ong also spoke about his time at the education ministry, prior to his appointment as the Minister for Transport.

Ong, who was the education minister when the Covid-19 pandemic first struck Singapore in 2020, said that keeping schools open during that period was "one of the toughest decisions" in his life.

In most countries, their education ministers decided to shut the schools down in fear of an outbreak within schools, reported ST.

However, Ong explained that he did not want a whole generation of kids "missing out" and he wanted to keep schools open to give them an environment to learn.

Related stories
Top images from Ong Ye Kung/FB & MOH website.

If you like what you read, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Telegram to get the latest updates.

I'm not sure how much money Ho Ching had pumped into India in her 'strategic investments', but I get the feeling that Loong doesn't want to offend certain MNCs, especially the big banks. They want CECA. It's unfortunate the country is being held hostage.

mudhatter

Why does Ong YK need to clarify that the ban on travellers from India is not targeted at any nationality?
Of course, the ban is targeted mainly at Indians.
Why must Ong YK need to be diplomatic about it?
Is it because PAP is afraid of offending India, or concerned that the ban violates the CECA agreement?

Yes.

Eunuch brigade got no balls.
oRt61M1.jpg

bobby

Tiagong the ICA officer working in T1 got infected by the fucking Ah Nehs coming in......

mudhatter

if the pap has any decency, they would halt all flights now. For the life of me, I can't figure why they haven't done so. Are they overly confident cases wouldn't overwhelm ICUs? Do they want the population to get infected and develop immunity? Are they so scared of India? Do they value the economy more than citizens?

if stinkies had balls, they'd take to the streets and call for eunuch loong's head on a pike
the French had to go through a revolution to end up with a democracy
do stinkies have the balls for it?
eunuch brigade
oRt61M1.jpg