• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Jobs Credit Scheme is FUCKED UP- A succinct commentary

U

UpYoz_olo

I did not wait long long, last week I went to International Plaza NTUC learning hub to ask for gov.aided upgrading study program, autocad drawing, because of my intention to switch field, but the staff said autocad course no subsidy, you want subsidized you got to go for security guard course; cleaning supervisor course.....
Please tell me what to do!!!

Get a real, non-exploitative job - screw Pek Kim Lui or ppl related to him, and your problems will be distant memory :biggrin:

Come on lah PAP moles, this thread is a hit the PAP hard and you morons here try to post quarrels here to distract it, nice try assholes.

Pek Kim Lui

Who are you kidding???

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Well don't really need to say much so know between the both of us who had a better up bringing? What's the matter? Mother never loved you enough as a kid? :biggrin:

ChaoPappyPoodle

Garment dont have money. Cant cut too much on taxes. So have to use money that they dont have to bullshit their way to make people think that they are doing something.

Dont blame the people that came out with this plan. They were given the perimeters to work with.

The countrymen worked for over 50 years ot build the reserves for over 50 years and these CB MIWs have the nerve to ask if this is a good time to use the reserves when at the same time they say that this is the worse economic crisis in the history of our modern nation. How dumb is that for you?

Even GCT can offer Indonesia US18billion but you people only get 4+billion. Sporns should know where they stand when it comes to the pappies.

So simple, think about it. As a boss, I would rather fire workers to save 2200( assuming the salary is 2500), rather than to have 300 dollars given to me by govenment. It would not help my company to sae 300 a month, when the worker dont have work to do.

Demand is so bad that I would rather fire them first. Hire when there is a need. In fact, I have started to lay off those who did not perform.

clap clap clap
make sure you fire sinkies, rather than FT/FW

sinkies if dun go without food, they never change. keep voting pap.

newyorker88

The Garment is depending too much on theory and lacks the capability on practical.

The Job Credit Scheme will not save employment and what ever benefit given to the employers will not channel to the employee. The employers will not take back those retrenched workers; pay cut will not be re-instated.

One big question is: if business continue to fall further, will the garment increase the Jb Credit scheme? The Garment has also not device a proper scheme for those retrenched workers. The tax and GST cuts would only benefit those who are still in employment. I mean would one who is unemployed have the heart for retraining when he knows that the training would take weeks or months and he has no income to substantiate his livelihood during this period?

I have also failed to see the logic of further subsidies for purchase of HDB. How is it going to benefit the public? Is the garment trying to encourage spending by asking people to buy HDBs? The scheme only seem to benefit HDB itself.

What is the use if $$ goes from one pocket of the GOV to another of the GOV? Common people dont get to see it.

Businesses have no order for work, why they keep the workers then?

VeryWise

If you wanna to know how serious is this downturn, read this news:
Top Japan electronics companies see red

Japan's electronics industry, a key driver for the country's economy, is facing the biggest crisis since 2002—and possibly its biggest shock ever.Seven of Japan's nine leading electronics manufacturers will plunge into the red for the fiscal year ending in March.

Consolidated net losses after taxes among the seven companies—Hitachi Ltd, Panasonic Corp., Sony Corp., Toshiba Corp., Fujitsu Ltd, NEC Corp. and Sharp Corp.—are expected to exceed ¥2 trillion ($22.3 billion).

In light of a global recession, the corporate losses are hardly a surprise. Still, it appears that none of the Japanese electronics manufacturers saw it coming before last Christmas. Indeed, none dared believe that things could turn so bad, so quickly.
As late as last November, all of the big electronics manufacturers here were predicting net profits. Over the last few weeks, however, each company, one by one, has issued revised forecasts of a net loss in the current fiscal year.

Only two electronics manufacturers, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. and Sanyo Electric Co., are expected to weather the current storm. Sanyo said it expects to post zero profit this fiscal year.

Hitachi (net loss of ¥700 billion) and Toshiba (¥280 billion loss) will each record the biggest losses in their histories.

Shrinking global demand for automotive and consumer electronics are at the heart of the Japanese downfall. The trend strikes at the heart of many Japanese electronics manufacturers, whose core business is in development, production and supply of key components for consumer products. The recently strong yen has aggravated the problem for many companies that rely heavily on exports.

Weighing options
As with the global economy, there is little relief on the horizon for Japanese electronics companies. Going fabless, pursuing large-scale mergers and massive layoffs are three options. Still, each action goes against the core values held by many Japanese electronics manufacturers.

Jean-Laurent Poitou, managing director for electronics and high technology at Accenture, said the choice between domestic manufacturing versus outsourcing has always been a conundrum for many Japanese electronics manufacturers.

Companies like Apple, RIM and Nintendo, which don't manufacture their own hardware, can now command a much higher margin, while keeping their operation lean, said Poitou. "And yet that's a move that's counterintuitive to many Japanese companies in the electronics sector," he said. Whether or not it still makes economic sense, many Japanese manufacturers still believe in the virtue of manufacturing.

But the reality is that any component-level investment—whether for plasma, LCD or solar—tends to require huge outlays. Poitou suggested that Japanese manufacturers must now reconcile themselves to that reality. At the semiconductor level, industry consolidations such as Renesas Technology (the merger of semiconductor divisions at Hitachi and Mitsubishi) have already occurred, Poitou said.

Toshiba, which said recently it may spin off its system and discrete chip operations, is reportedly in discussions to combine its system chip business with NEC Electronics Corp.

Neither NEC nor Toshiba has publicly discussed the negotiations. But many in the semiconductor business view such a move as critical to their survival.

Cost-cutting measures
While less pessimistic about large-scale corporate mergers among Japanese electronics systems companies, Poitou predicted that subsystem-level collaboration among Japanese system vendors is likely to get more traction.

Calling it a "networked model," he said, "Japanese electronics manufacturers talk to each other a lot." Such collaboration tends to be focused on certain products or core technology, Poitou explained.

Meanwhile, the latest global recession may finally make the term "lifetime employment" obsolete in Japan.

Sony and Sanyo, for example, are taking the unprecedented measure (by Japanese standards) of cutting full-time employees.

Sony has announced a global layoff of 16,000 workers, which include full-time employees.

Hitachi is planning an internal reorganization of about 7,000 employees. Toshiba will eliminate 4,500 part-time positions. NEC plans a workforce cost reduction affecting 20,000 employees.

While going fabless or giving up production won't be an option for many Japanese electronics manufacturers, some are busy reducing their investment in facilities. Toshiba plans to cut its 2009 investment in facilities, especially for semiconductors, by 55 percent compared to 2007, down to ¥230 billion ($2.5 billion).

Finally, Panasonic said it will cut investment in its flat-panel manufacturing facility by ¥135 billion ($1.5 billion).

newyorker88

clap clap clap
make sure you fire sinkies, rather than FT/FW

sinkies if dun go without food, they never change. keep voting pap.

FYI, I did.

Fired the local fucker who does nothing but talk cock. As for FTs, they resign themselves when they find a greener pasture. Save me the trouble of firing.