• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Jobs Credit Scheme is FUCKED UP- A succinct commentary

The_Latest_H

Here are two videos about social security systems in America..and why Roosevelt installed it into the US system. Btw that's Roosevelt's grandson.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/L24eLUdT6bc&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/L24eLUdT6bc&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

The 2nd one...
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/UmNyU0YiRBw&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/UmNyU0YiRBw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

The_Latest_H

I did not wait long long, last week I went to International Plaza NTUC learning hub to ask for gov.aided upgrading study program, autocad drawing, because of my intention to switch field, but the staff said autocad course no subsidy, you want subsidized you got to go for security guard course; cleaning supervisor course.....
Please tell me what to do!!!

That's pathetic. If you're a white collar employee and now you're forced into what is a blue collar job, with lower wages and longer hours, then it does no good for you, your family and your country in general.

It makes the economy even worse off, because of it. Because in the end, its not just the quantity of jobs, but also about the quality.

SneeringTree

I did not wait long long, last week I went to International Plaza NTUC learning hub to ask for gov.aided upgrading study program, autocad drawing, because of my intention to switch field, but the staff said autocad course no subsidy, you want subsidized you got to go for security guard course; cleaning supervisor course.....
Please tell me what to do!!!

Why bother to be trained for these courses when foreign talents are going to be employed for these jobs anyway.

ksgd0717

I was retrenched, I hope the gov could come out this scheme to solve my problem by allowing me to take out my CPF fund said $20,000/- to tide over this difficult period (I have $250,000/- in my CPF) any comments?

Jobs Credit Scheme = Dignity & Peril of Freewill

shelltox

Agree completely.

Companies retrench workers because of two main reasons:

1) Falling demand
2) High wages

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to solve (1)? PAP has time and again say that we cannot stimulate demand. This si the reason they reject giving Singaporeans direct cash to spend because it is not going to help the economy.

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to solve (2)? If demand has fallen, the companies are going to retrench workers no matter what. DBS recently retrenched hundreds of workers too. Do you think these workers would have been saved by the stupid Job Credit Scheme? Do you think DBS would have let them keep their jobs if the workers volunteer a 12% pay cut? Why save only 12% when you can save 100%??

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to save locals from being retrenched when the employer is faced with a choice of cutting a foreign worker and a Singaporean worker? The wage differential between a local and a foreign worker (for those blue collar jobs) is likely to be greater than 12%. So the employers are still going to retrench the local.

WHAT A STUPID SCHEME THIS IS.

Instead of pretending they can "save" jobs, the government should do alot more for those who are without a job now or would be without a job in the near future.

http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=16674

how to stimulate demand when local demand constitute 35% of the economy. If they throw money at us, alot of them are going to end up in malaysia and some take the opportunity to go for tours.
At the bottomline, if employers can delay the retrenchment for 6 to 12 months , at least the economy still chuck along abit lower speed.

newyorker88

You forgot the boss will still have to wait 3 mths for the savings to be credited to him. Until then his business may have falled totally.

Seriously demand is so bad that nobody is really safe. Even top performers may need carry balls skill to survive.

Yes, I am aware of that. Cash flow problem will make more companies reduce staff no matter what the govenment says about saving jobs. No one can tahan no job orders and have to feed workers.

Unless govenment is willing to come out with more incentives, I forsee more hard times and retrenchments. I have not spoken to my friends yet about their company staff, but the same comments about bad prospects and less demand for almost everything is the tone of the day.

BTW, Ball carriers are the first on line to be axed for me. Performace is the key.

newyorker88

how to stimulate demand when local demand constitute 35% of the economy. If they throw money at us, alot of them are going to end up in malaysia and some take the opportunity to go for tours.
At the bottomline, if employers can delay the retrenchment for 6 to 12 months , at least the economy still chuck along abit lower speed.

No need to throw $$$ at singkees, if govenment were to take less via GST, ERP, petrol tax, etc, that will be a lot of relief for all. No need to TAX people to give back.

Why do things the hard way? In fact, when things are cheaper, more will come to singapore to spend.

If you tax more, less people will come to spend.

What you say is true of people going overseas to spend. The question is why they go Indonesia for fun or Malaysia for food? Simple, their dollar get stretched further there.

By the way, I dont need million dollar salary to figure all these out for ordinary singkees.

DrPanacea

I recall when Goh Keng Swee was the acting Minister for Education a long time back. He deployed a team of system engineers to revamp the education system. See what we have inherited!!!!!
Did we churn out entrepreneurs? Answer is obvious....instead we churned out more scholars to screw the system and our economy.

pia

Tie the fate of the MOF scholars to the Scheme they cook up, put in measurable results and targets, it the Scheme fail, they should be fired or get a deep pay cut.

I bet you the proposal will be completely different.

Well, it did not happen that way.

And on the contrary, they got slaps on the backs, high 5s, upcoming big fat bonuses, promotions and high tea with the familee for this ingenious Scheme.

etherc

The loss of fluidity is the reason for the miserable state. Instead of solving the problem they come up with a scheme like JCS which is thought up by people with zero business experience. Its called capitalist economy for a reason, people especially businessmen will capitalize on the opportunities presented to make money. However if you put the bulk of money into the hands of business owners the consumption by the masses reduce drastically. In the first place how do business men make money? One of the ways is by selling bulk items eg paper, drinks, food. If 4.5million people can't afford your mass product while only 0.5 richer ones are spending you can still end up losing money and subsequently more people become jobless and this goes into a spiral downwards until the economy collapses.

The_Latest_H

No need to throw $$$ at singkees, if govenment were to take less via GST, ERP, petrol tax, etc, that will be a lot of relief for all. No need to TAX people to give back.

Why do things the hard way? In fact, when things are cheaper, more will come to singapore to spend.

What you say is true of people going overseas to spend. The question is why they go Indonesia for fun or Malaysia for food? Simple, their dollar get stretched further there.

By the way, I dont need million dollar salary to figure all these out for ordinary singkees.

That's why unlike in the US, targeted tax cuts, especially general, indirect ones, like GST, works better here. Even the PAP MP, Inderjit Singh, said a GST cut of 2% of all items would do a better job.

Cost of living is just too high.

Mighty Megatron

What to do? These jokers got million dollar salary so cannot understand. What is expensive for you is peanuts to them.

U

UpYoz_olo

It's more to do with falling or lack of demand.

Got to give credit where credit is due. Innovative all right, looks good on paper but does not really do much. The important thing now is to put the unemployed to work! They want work! Real work and not exploitive work!

NNCCB, want work, real work and not exploitative work. Must be speaking thru' your arsehole. If no demand for goods and services how to get more work?? Divide up the existing work?? Another donkey demonstrating lack of brain matter.

Perhaps one way to create artificial, non-exploitative work is to pay $$$$$ to the unemployed to screw you or ppl related to you.

:oIo:

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

batman1

I was retrenched, I hope the gov could come out this scheme to solve my problem by allowing me to take out my CPF fund said $20,000/- to tide over this difficult period (I have $250,000/- in my CPF) any comments?

U have to pray hard everyday. Some MPs in parliament have already voiced out the serious plight of the retrenched jobless citizens and have already suggested some form of unemployment cash benefits/allowances for 6 months or for the year 2009 to help them tide over their current financial difficulties.
But I doubt that the MIW will be so generous as they are shameless,irresponsible and insensitive blood-suckers and they will never never....never...never....understand your financial difficulties.

denzuko1

The Garment is depending too much on theory and lacks the capability on practical.

The Job Credit Scheme will not save employment and what ever benefit given to the employers will not channel to the employee. The employers will not take back those retrenched workers; pay cut will not be re-instated.

One big question is: if business continue to fall further, will the garment increase the Jb Credit scheme? The Garment has also not device a proper scheme for those retrenched workers. The tax and GST cuts would only benefit those who are still in employment. I mean would one who is unemployed have the heart for retraining when he knows that the training would take weeks or months and he has no income to substantiate his livelihood during this period?

I have also failed to see the logic of further subsidies for purchase of HDB. How is it going to benefit the public? Is the garment trying to encourage spending by asking people to buy HDBs? The scheme only seem to benefit HDB itself.

Agree completely.

Companies retrench workers because of two main reasons:

1) Falling demand
2) High wages

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to solve (1)? PAP has time and again say that we cannot stimulate demand. This si the reason they reject giving Singaporeans direct cash to spend because it is not going to help the economy.

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to solve (2)? If demand has fallen, the companies are going to retrench workers no matter what. DBS recently retrenched hundreds of workers too. Do you think these workers would have been saved by the stupid Job Credit Scheme? Do you think DBS would have let them keep their jobs if the workers volunteer a 12% pay cut? Why save only 12% when you can save 100%??

How is the stupid Job Credit Scheme going to save locals from being retrenched when the employer is faced with a choice of cutting a foreign worker and a Singaporean worker? The wage differential between a local and a foreign worker (for those blue collar jobs) is likely to be greater than 12%. So the employers are still going to retrench the local.

WHAT A STUPID SCHEME THIS IS.

Instead of pretending they can "save" jobs, the government should do alot more for those who are without a job now or would be without a job in the near future.

http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=16674

Bro, what do you expect sinkies to come up with.

The sinkie govt is totally incompetent, and the sinkie peasant do not have the balls to do anything to stop it. so in the end, whole country fucked by foreigners.

I hope Malaysia or any other country to come and invade singapore. I, totally , welcome the invasion. at least the sinkie govt is out and those balless and worthless sinkies to die in this invasion.

Pek Kim Lui

NNCCB, want work, real work and not exploitative work. Must be speaking thru' your arsehole. If no demand for goods and services how to get more work?? Divide up the existing work?? Another donkey demonstrating lack of brain matter.

Perhaps one way to create artificial, non-exploitative work is to pay $$$$$ to the unemployed to screw you or ppl related to you.

:oIo:

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Sorry did not know I was talking thru you! :biggrin:

pia

Jobs Credit Scheme = Dignity & Peril of Freewill

Fully empathise with your plight. One of my main grouses with this govt is its unswerving obsession with keeping what is not theirs in the first place.

With $250k in your CPF account, which i your own money, you are forced to beg like a beggar. In some other part of the world, you'd be a rich man.

What do we call a person who has in his possession what belongs to others and refuses to give back to the rightful owner? You guys go figure :mad: