• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are Guys now carrying their GFs handbags for them?!

silverfox@

still act like a professor as though you done a PHD in woman. Give me a break, i guess this is the only place that you can flaunt your fake IQ. no wonder you are stuck in your sinkieland.

I know, you have no GF to carry their bags. You only have ah kwa bf's bag to carry :p

silverfox@

Sinkie woman, you got to learn more about men in order to keep them in your country and prevent them from running off. Try going to neighbouring country to get some tips from the woman there,

Then Singapore might have hope.

Luckily you are not in Singapore, or else Singapore really no hope with thai pimps like you. :o

chuckyworld

>>Older men in their 40s-50s, look for SYT because they are either having a mid-life crisis, or to be fair, just looking for youth. But seriously, ceterus paribus, given the way the young girls are nowadays, the much older guy would get bored sooner or later. You could possibly discuss something intellectual with an SYT 10 years ago, but the only bona fide intellectual YT i know today is Gayle Goh and we know how looks aren't exactly her forte. (Sorry Gayle but you are a bright girl! )<,

Eh Lola, mai run run kong leh! uncle here 1 woman man ok.

Be happy don't worry, canto saying "even when sky fall take it as a blanket and go to bed"

Porfirio Rubirosa

Hey I have been an old time subscriber to VF since Tina Brown was the editor:smile: Actually envy Graydon Carter, wish I was living his life at times:rolleyes::biggrin: In fact I am a mag junkie and I enjoy reading anything that takes my fancy including my better half's woman's mags and glossies:rolleyes::biggrin:. Gotta agree with you that HerWorld appears to have gone downhill, I think it had more local quality when Betty Khoo was editor. If you are into great modern/pop culture interviews apart from the occasional GQ, Esquire, Arena (I am more partial to the UK eds) I would recommend Rolling Stone which sometimes carries vintage stuff and I am not talking about just in the music field.

No I actually read Vanity Fair and even Playboy for the great interviews. Her World is very very junk now. They were good (great advice and articles) till the mid-90s, then junk. I think they had to please their advertisers and also they got influenced by Vogue's editorial style. Anna Wintour, editor of Vogue is an advertiser pleaser, and unfortunately, this has made Vogue very trash over the years. They keep pushing pricey stuff. Worst still, I think it has shaped women's minds to be overly materialistic. .

Oh yes, but I seem to think generally the emotional level may be different.

I agree with you about what the four ladies really want, men want love and understanding too..

They don't call it is a tv drama for nothing you know:biggrin:

What I'm saying is, that searching for real love non withstanding, they are quite neurotic and picky. In season one, Carrie finally met a normal guy. And then she searched his apartment when he was out for any clue's of perversion, or abnormality because she couldn't believe he was so nice and normal. THAT, is neurotic. ..

And I seem to think it generally applies to women per se as I have observed such traits not only in Singapore, but also in the region, Europe and the States. I am curious about this 'female' trait as I don't think males generally act that way. It is like how women tend to get catty and bitchy with each other. Again men generally don't act that way, when they are angry with each other they just 'fight it out' and that's it.

If you don't mind me asking, you seem to be like a woman who has more male friends than female friends, is this true? I have dated afew like this in my time, found them to be more comfortable in male company although they were very femine.

I think women check each other out because they are:
1. Curious
2. Insecure
3. Competitive or bitchy
4. Want to copy or compare

and they are frogs in the well...

So you have actually gone down to take a look is it?:biggrin::p

Even TCS stars on their off days pale in quality to most of the Lorong 8 girls.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Just look at Prince Harry:eek::biggrin:

Honestly I think females are even less likely to be monogamous. I read in Scientific American that 30-50% of children borne IN WEDLOCK, aren't the biological children of their mother's spouse, ie: their legal father.

I kinda think this maybe a cheesy male trait, tarzan jock conquest tales:rolleyes::biggrin: Saying that, I gather women do talk about sex amongst themselves, particularly generations x, y, z. And no doubt woman are just as much of sexual creatures as men. In fact in these liberated post modern times I tend to think the younger women maybe even more sexually mature than their male counterparts.

Brothers on the forum who have screwed other guys' gfs or wives will attest to the lack of fidelity on women's part. The scary thing is, women won't go on forums to brag or talk about it. They just do it.

Perhaps, but I do wonder as my own observations do not quite square with what you say.
You are right about guys being more visceral, but the younger generation of males tend to look beyond that, especially since the younger girls their age honestly aren't always more PHYSICALLY more attractive than older women.
Again I'm quoting my friends in their early 20s. .

Again I wonder, as I have met quite afew precocious bright SYTs in their late teens and early 20s. Btw me no cradle snatcher hor, just keen social observer:biggrin:
Perhaps it is higher education which has made males more intellectual and at the same time, the materialistic shallow mass media (for women like female mags) made females more vapid.
These two factors mean that unlike your generation (I'm guessing from your posts), young men do not only go for looks. Of course, they still do, like all hot blooded males which brings us to the next point..

Perhaps, but again I seem to observe the opposite. Let me give a you a concrete eg. look at say the late Lo Hwei Yen and her hubby Michael. Almost a 10 year age gap with Michael being the older one in that relationship. And I know of afew couples quite similar to them with quite similar traits and attitudes.

Thus in our economically progressed society, younger males tend to seek older females because they have more depth and thanks for advances in skin care or whatever else, the older females look better than the younger females who spent much time sun-tanning and eating junk food and shopping for branded items. If you just go to female outlets like Mango and Zara and Forever 21, the number of fat or ugly chicks outnumber the thin ones! You'd think that women who love to dress up will at least look after their face or figures, but hell no!! ..

I don't think this only applies to "nowadays" really. I think this has probably always been the case, some men with trophy wives/mistresses, other men wanting to play svengali etc. And again I think you are being unfair to alot of current SYTs out there who may not just be au fait with their manolos, jimmy choos and christian louboutains but also familiar with say camus and murakami (not just the designer but writer as well:smile:)

On a sort of separate issue, I do at times notice quite ok looking and sometimes even good looking men in relationships with plump or even at times fat women. Never could put a finger on that one save for the general 'do not judge a book by its cover' analysis or perhaps the power of $. The film "Shallow Hal" also comes to mind as well:rolleyes::biggrin:

Oh and before I forget, I think the most fascinating 'courtesean' of sorts of the 20th century was probably Pamela Harriman who had affairs with numerous world movers and shakers like Agnelli, Murrow, Rothschild, Paley and Niarchos. She probably mastered the art of satisfying THE alpha male both sexually and intellectually.:cool:

Older men in their 40s-50s, look for SYT because they are either having a mid-life crisis, or to be fair, just looking for youth. But seriously, ceterus paribus, given the way the young girls are nowadays, the much older guy would get bored sooner or later. You could possibly discuss something intellectual with an SYT 10 years ago, but the only bona fide intellectual YT i know today is Gayle Goh and we know how looks aren't exactly her forte. (Sorry Gayle but you are a bright girl!

Fact is how many are like Ashton Kutchner? (And I wonder whether even Ashton shall still be with Demi in a decade's time:p) A good eg. would be Ralph Fiennes, he was with Francessca Anis who was 17 years his senior for 10 years and then they split as he appeared to have eyes for younger women (ironically I gather they met on the stage of Hamlet where she played his mother:biggrin:)

As for Rob, your implication is that in 10 years time he would change his mind and go for a SYT. But in 10 years time, Lindsey Lohan would have drank and coked herself to death.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Sounds treacley sweet and nice Bro but I use to think it stopped at carrying her books and schoolbag, no disrespect intended:wink::smile:

I still just don't get it, perhaps I have turned into an old fuddy duddy:(

I carry my gf's bag and whatever else all the time. Somehow I just love seeing her empty-handed, like as if she's all mine;

Porfirio Rubirosa

What do you know, I have actually learnt something new in this forum today:biggrin::p:smile:

Saying that I would think the gals could possibly still have best of both worlds by wearing the underwire bras to give off the 'longkang' effect and doing breast massages/exercises to maintain the perkiness, suppleness and firmness:rolleyes::biggrin::smile:

It's not true that young girls only slouch when carrying big and heavy bags. It depends on the girl in question.

Actually saggy breasts are a result of the underwires in bras which are very common nowadays. 90% of all bras sold come with this, it's the easy way out to make boobs look bigger immediately. A quick check with any lingerie shop or departments in the stores will confirm this.

Pectoral muscles hold the boobs up and the underwire will make these muscles lazy. Without the underwire, the boobs of course won't look as good. But with constant long term use, boobs will sag as pectoral muscles won't pull their weight properly. Silverfox, you are right to point out that this type of slouching will make boobs sag faster.

Thus if guys don't want that, they have nag their gfs into NOT wearing underwire. This is easier said than done of course.

Why does this happen?

"Laziness. Carrying heavy bags and slouching is laziness. Wanting bigger looking boobs and deep cleavage instantly is laziness. Slouching is laziness."

The last part in quotes is quoting a guy. I think it sounds a bit draconian. :p

lolabunny

Hey I have been an old time subscriber to VF since Tina Brown was the editor:smile: Actually envy Graydon Carter, wish I was living his life at times:rolleyes::biggrin: In fact I am a mag junkie and I enjoy reading anything that takes my fancy including my better half's woman's mags and glossies:rolleyes::biggrin:. Gotta agree with you that HerWorld appears to have gone downhill, I think it had more local quality when Betty Khoo was editor. If you are into great modern/pop culture interviews apart from the occasional GQ, Esquire, Arena (I am more partial to the UK eds) I would recommend Rolling Stone which sometimes carries vintage stuff and I am not talking about just in the music field.

And I seem to think it generally applies to women per se as I have observed such traits not only in Singapore, but also in the region, Europe and the States. I am curious about this 'female' trait as I don't think males generally act that way. It is like how women tend to get catty and bitchy with each other. Again men generally don't act that way, when they are angry with each other they just 'fight it out' and that's it.

If you don't mind me asking, you seem to be like a woman who has more male friends than female friends, is this true? I have dated afew like this in my time, found them to be more comfortable in male company although they were very femine.

So you have actually gone down to take a look is it?:biggrin::p

Yup I like to oggle at the girls there. They are very hot and it's quite a refreshing change from looking at sinkie girls. :p

Guys just fight it out, but you'd be surprised how some guys can be quite catty and bitchy as well. Probably due to hormonal changes when they get older.

So I guess I'll find you browsing alot at Border's huh? Agree with you on the magazine junkie part, I was like that till the INTERNET arrived. :wink::p GQ & Esquire are great, and yes, the UK version of Arena is much better. Local editions of FHM & Maxim are junk, the girls aren't as hot as any random one from L8 unfortunately. You know the thing about Tina Brown? She was great with Vanity Fair and New Yorker but I think she really bombed out with Talk. I hated it.

Yeah for a girl like me, guys are just so lovely to have as friends. I get along better with women older or younger than me, but i don't agree with my peers much. Oops! :p:cool:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Hey I thought you would be oggling at beefcake tushy instead:biggrin:

Yup I like to oggle at the girls there. They are very hot and it's quite a refreshing change from looking at sinkie girls.

Fight Club baby, Fight Club:smile:

Guys just fight it out, but you'd be surprised how some guys can be quite catty and bitchy as well. Probably due to hormonal changes when they get older. .

Borders is ok, I also like Kino @Ngee Ann and certain mama shops like the ones in Bugis and Holland V to get my monthly stash:rolleyes::biggrin: When it comes to reading I am old school, well in fact going by my age I am really old school:rolleyes::(:biggrin: What I meant to say is that I like the feel of paper, oh and I have a bad habit of reading in the loo, in fact my home loo is like a mini library of sorts:rolleyes::biggrin:

So I guess I'll find you browsing alot at Border's huh? Agree with you on the magazine junkie part, I was like that till the INTERNET arrived.

I think you are right the quality of our local lad mags are generally pathetic, only bother to have a peek if say there is a Fiona Xie or Ericia Lee pictoral:biggrin:

Btw what is "L8"?

As for Tina Brown, yes it would seem that she has lost her magic touch.

GQ & Esquire are great, and yes, the UK version of Arena is much better. Local editions of FHM & Maxim are junk, the girls aren't as hot as any random one from L8 unfortunately. You know the thing about Tina Brown? She was great with Vanity Fair and New Yorker but I think she really bombed out with Talk. I hated it. .

So you are now an "in between young Auntie" of sorts is it?:biggrin: Hey just joking hor; from an old school Uncle):smile:

Yeah for a girl like me, guys are just so lovely to have as friends. I get along better with women older or younger than me, but i don't agree with my peers much. Oops!

lolabunny

Hey I thought you would be oggling at beefcake tushy instead:biggrin:

Fight Club baby, Fight Club:smile:

Borders is ok, I also like Kino @Ngee Ann and certain mama shops like the ones in Bugis and Holland V to get my monthly stash:rolleyes::biggrin: When it comes to reading I am old school, well in fact going by my age I am really old school:rolleyes::(:biggrin: What I meant to say is that I like the feel of paper, oh and I have a bad habit of reading in the loo, in fact my home loo is like a mini library of sorts:rolleyes::biggrin:

I think you are right the quality of our local lad mags are generally pathetic, only bother to have a peek if say there is a Fiona Xie or Ericia Lee pictoral:biggrin:

Btw what is "L8"?

So you are now an "in between young Auntie" of sorts is it?:biggrin: Hey just joking hor; from an old school Uncle):smile:

I like the feel of paper, but it's very bad to read in the loo. :p Which newstand in Bugis? I only know the one in Holland V.

I don't see what's the appeal of a guy's tush actually, why are girls so crazy about men's bums? Any guy or girl here to enlighten me? And what is it about 6 pack? Is it because it's a sign of masculine appeal like boobs are a female's allure? Tush and abs don't seem to work for me.

I think Fiona Xie or Ericia Lee are very pretty girls, but have you seen them in real life? I was a little disappointed because I was their fan till I met them. I couldn't tell they were busty and they were so thin! Ann Kok looked very hot though, she had a perfect hourglass figure. I saw her far away and I was thinking, no way there could be such a hot chick in Orchard Road, till I realized it was Ann when she walked close! :wink::p Made my day!

What's an "in between young Auntie"?

lolabunny

>>Older men in their 40s-50s, look for SYT because they are either having a mid-life crisis, or to be fair, just looking for youth. But seriously, ceterus paribus, given the way the young girls are nowadays, the much older guy would get bored sooner or later. You could possibly discuss something intellectual with an SYT 10 years ago, but the only bona fide intellectual YT i know today is Gayle Goh and we know how looks aren't exactly her forte. (Sorry Gayle but you are a bright girl! )<,

Eh Lola, mai run run kong leh! uncle here 1 woman man ok.

Be happy don't worry, canto saying "even when sky fall take it as a blanket and go to bed"

Either you are a good man or your wife very "zai". :wink:

lolabunny

Again I wonder, as I have met quite afew precocious bright SYTs in their late teens and early 20s. Btw me no cradle snatcher hor, just keen social observer:biggrin:

Perhaps, but again I seem to observe the opposite. Let me give a you a concrete eg. look at say the late Lo Hwei Yen and her hubby Michael. Almost a 10 year age gap with Michael being the older one in that relationship. And I know of afew couples quite similar to them with quite similar traits and attitudes.

I don't think this only applies to "nowadays" really. I think this has probably always been the case, some men with trophy wives/mistresses, other men wanting to play svengali etc. And again I think you are being unfair to alot of current SYTs out there who may not just be au fait with their manolos, jimmy choos and christian louboutains but also familiar with say camus and murakami (not just the designer but writer as well:smile:)

On a sort of separate issue, I do at times notice quite ok looking and sometimes even good looking men in relationships with plump or even at times fat women. Never could put a finger on that one save for the general 'do not judge a book by its cover' analysis or perhaps the power of $. The film "Shallow Hal" also comes to mind as well:rolleyes::biggrin:

Oh and before I forget, I think the most fascinating 'courtesean' of sorts of the 20th century was probably Pamela Harriman who had affairs with numerous world movers and shakers like Agnelli, Murrow, Rothschild, Paley and Niarchos. She probably mastered the art of satisfying THE alpha male both sexually and intellectually.:cool:

Fact is how many are like Ashton Kutchner? (And I wonder whether even Ashton shall still be with Demi in a decade's time:p) A good eg. would be Ralph Fiennes, he was with Francessca Anis who was 17 years his senior for 10 years and then they split as he appeared to have eyes for younger women (ironically I gather they met on the stage of Hamlet where she played his mother:biggrin:)

Actually it's natural to be a cradle snatcher, I'm sure when you go to FL or WL, there's no point in NOT going to SYT, because it really defeats the purpose of the act of seeking young flesh.

About Ralph Fiennes, my guess is that it was a deep Freudian thing for him. A man who can have any woman he wants will only want to seek the utopia of the woman who loved him the most.

Let's not forget Keanu Reeves falling in love with Diane Keaton and the same goes for Ashton who's own mother is a good 10 years older than his father and they had a fantastic marriage. Younger guys like the two of them go for depth, but only time can tell I guess. :smile: Because as of now, Demi Moore is still one hot lady.

Men wanting to play Svengali to SYT. It's the nerd/intellectual equivalent of sports jock talking about sex in the locker room. But you know the thing is, in both examples, the nerd and the jock are doing so to fill up an insecurity inside them. Of course, all men have their insecurities, so that's really a moot point. :wink:

You know the thing about my being unfair to SYT? That wasn't my point in saying that all of them are shallow intellectually. I meant shallow spiritually. A person can tell you the difference between the two Murakamis, she knows her Van Gogh, her wine vintages, her Manolos, all these and she could have studied Ivy League -- but she may not have a true heart. There are so many well educated and savvy women out there, it would be impossible not to find pretty girls of intellectual depth.

So yes, I was stereotyping but I will not go into examples. I suppose you would know better given that you probably have more SYT friends than I do.
It's just that given that I do have friends within the creme de la creme, they are surprisingly, pretty shallow compared to their counterparts elsewhere.

Lastly on Pamela Churchill Harriman, imho I don't think her story was so fascinating, it was more the social conditions that she was put in, the times that she lived in that were interesting. She's a product of her times -- a woman, a divorcee trying to survive in a patriachial society, where a woman's (seemingly) best (though not only best) option at a good life was to bask in the reflected glory of a rich and or powerful man. You've not read the book, probably glanced at the cover, but she was hardly an intellectual. :wink: And some of the best relationships she had, ie: with Churchill and Beaverbrook were non-sexual. :p:smile:

In Pam's case, I think her appeal was her simple calmness and ability to cocoon the men she was mistress to. Most of her men were second generation rich, not exactly alpha male in my definition, unless you mean money and power. Harriman, Agnelli and Rothschild were born into wealthy families and I don't think men like that would appreciate the ballsiness of an American lady, which she was not.

The thing about being English and titled, was that she was pretty staid in her belief that she had to depend on men to make her living. To be fair, given the living standards that she wanted, that was her best recourse. In the end, she did prove to be somewhat of a career girl given her French ambassador posting under Bill Clinton, whom she raised funds for.

Times change as do people and attitudes. So it is amazing that there are still women who want to be tai-tais because really, I think a woman who thinks that is looking down on herself. :smile:

Maximuz

Thus Zen originated in Japan, the land where language is existential due to the brevity of life -- for example, in the samurai era where death by seppuku is common in order to atone for mistakes. People die in their 20s and 30s.

Japs have to simplify things because their life was short. They never knew if they were going to get killed in a civil war, an earthquake or volcanic explosion.

Thanks for your reply. Zen originated in India, when the Lord Sakyamuni was still preaching. The entire school was started by just a simple act of Sakyamuni smiling at a flower. This particular Zen story originated from China, and the exact reply was, "Ying wei wo zai."

silverfox@

I think Fiona Xie or Ericia Lee are very pretty girls, but have you seen them in real life? I was a little disappointed because I was their fan till I met them. I couldn't tell they were busty and they were so thin! Ann Kok looked very hot though, she had a perfect hourglass figure. I saw her far away and I was thinking, no way there could be such a hot chick in Orchard Road, till I realized it was Ann when she walked close! :wink::p Made my day!

I only have a statement to make.
Photogenic girls are not pretty, non-photogenic girls are pretty.
And you are absolutely right on for Ericia, Fiona. Disppointed if see them off screen.
Ann Kok is very pretty.
Little nonya Jeanette Aw so-so, Priscilla Chan married to another TCS actor, is pretty, but a bit baby fat. The husband is very handsome in real life.:p

lolabunny

I only have a statement to make.
Photogenic girls are not pretty, non-photogenic girls are pretty.
And you are absolutely right on for Ericia, Fiona. Disppointed if see them off screen.
Ann Kok is very pretty.
Little nonya Jeanette Aw so-so, Priscilla Chan married to another TCS actor, is pretty, but a bit baby fat. The husband is very handsome in real life.:p

But you are the one who wrote FR about cheonging Gillian right? She is an Ah Kwa leh. :p:p:p:p:p

You like Priscilla Chan's hubby issit??? :eek::eek::eek:

lolabunny

Thanks for your reply. Zen originated in India, when the Lord Sakyamuni was still preaching. The entire school was started by just a simple act of Sakyamuni smiling at a flower. This particular Zen story originated from China, and the exact reply was, "Ying wei wo zai."

That's cool. Never knew that. :smile:

silverfox@

But you are the one who wrote FR about cheonging Gillian right? She is an Ah Kwa leh. :p:p:p:p:p

You like Priscilla Chan's hubby issit??? :eek::eek::eek:

Ah Kwa your head lah. Obviously you never cheong much enough. Having a deep voice doesn't mean ah kwa. Next time you want to know whether is Ah Kwa or not, please check the clitoris area.
Furthermore, she even showed me her ID card and passport. Not only must double check, must also triple check :biggrin:

What's wrong with complimenting another guy as handsome? Brad Pitt is handsome too. If a girl compliments a girl as pretty, does that mean she is exhibiting lesbian actions?

Porfirio Rubirosa

Basement. Also quite like the mama shops in basement Paragon and King Albert Park (usually browse there after shopping at Cold Storage).

I Which newstand in Bugis? "?

Well I actually once bumped into Ericia literally in the lift @SGH, accidental hor:p She looked very fair and skinny but had great perky looking boobs (wearing a tanktop) as per her pics. Lookwise well she was without makeup and looked ok, not real pretty though. Oh and bf Ix Shen was with her looked real protective:rolleyes::biggrin: So far have not had the good fortune of meeting Fiona in person. :(

I think Fiona Xie or Ericia Lee are very pretty girls, but have you seen them in real life? I was a little disappointed because I was their fan till I met them. I couldn't tell they were busty and they were so thin! "?

Aiyah just made it up on the spur of the moment:rolleyes::biggrin: