• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

vivian says sorry for elitist remarks, netizens rip him 7 ways to sunday

Viv should have done law. As a lawyer he would be very successful. I wonder if it had anything to do with the President Scholarship.

I get the impression that the President Scholarship doesn't allow recipients to choose studying law as an option? Or somehow if you want to study law then they don't give it to you?

Maybe older days have. Chan Seng Onn(1973)? Kwa Geok Choo? Hoo Sheau Peng (1989)? Ahmad Mohamed Ibrahim (1936)?

I dont seem to remember any more PS recipients studying law to become lawyer.

any thoughts from the knowledgeable old timers?

@Charlie99 @GoldenDragon @Papsmearer @eatshitndie @Leongsam @laksaboy @LordElrond @glockman @ckmpd @sweetiepie ?

Viv should have done law. As a lawyer he would be very successful. I wonder if it had anything to do with the President Scholarship.

I get the impression that the President Scholarship doesn't allow recipients to choose studying law as an option? Or somehow if you want to study law then they don't give it to you?

Maybe older days have. Chan Seng Onn(1973)? Kwa Geok Choo? Hoo Sheau Peng (1989)? Ahmad Mohamed Ibrahim (1936)?

@Charlie99 @GoldenDragon @Papsmearer @eatshitndie @Leongsam @laksaboy @LordElrond @glockman @ckmpd @sweetiepie ?
they are afraid they would meet claire and get their nuts busted and qi drained.

Vivian should publish his apology to RI and alumnus of RI in the main newspapers unreservedly, so as to show his sincerity.
He has not tarnished the reputation of RI, he has also insulted the alumnus of RI.
Many of our present and past politicians were from RI, such as LKY & GCT, George Yeo, Tan Cheng Bok.....
I believe that George Yeo was from SJI or St. Patrick.

I believe Chan Seng Onn’s first degree was Engineering. Not law. He read law thereafter.

Can think of Jennifer Marie and Ong Kian Min who read law. Quite certain both were President scholars.

But when it comes to OMS, lots of them read law. Can think of Aubeck Kam, David Tan Wei Son and myself - Mark Andrew Yeo! Cheers.

Valarie Thean was a President Scholar and did Law and is now a High Court judge. She's from the same batch of President Scholars as Kee Chiu.

Thanks.

yeah I am wrong about the President Scholar thing.

I don't know. Why did VB choose to study medicine then?

I know this though. Many people choose to study medicine then realize it is not really for them. But they have invested too much in it already to change course. So they just do their best. keep going end up be specialist....never really happy. It is tough dealing with patients. One by one by one by one. Handle their nuances. emotions. one by one by one by one. And drs have no power. If anything in the doctor-patient relationship the Patient autonomy ethical principle encourages an abusive relationship with the patient as the abuser and the doctor always never retaliates or rather cannot retaliate.

Personally I think VB would have done better as a lawyer. Likely become SC maybe even QC. Rival Davinder Singh.

Sissy haughty almighty Vivian talking about social equality and safety net? This has aged well. Not!

TALKING BIG COCK LAH.
HOW MANY MINISTERS AND ELITES SEND THEIR CHILDREN TO NEIGHBOURHOOD SCHOOLS?
OH, I FORGOT, THERE ARE NONE IN BT TIMAH AREA - THEY GOT RE-LOCATED.

People only just realized that Vivian's a piece of shit now? Wake up from your coma, Sinkies! :cool:
Once your position is secure for years and you will stray away from the real world and live within your castle. This also happen to corporate world top executives. Why we blame him to what he becomes? We are the ones given him this state

Vivian was right to insult a uneducated person promoted based on race. Many more malays better qualified but ended up delivering food.

Is this list of President's Scholars complete? So few meh?

Notable recipients of the President's Scholarship

Name Year received Remarks Ref
Politics
Lim Boon Keng 1887 Member, British Legislative Council
Edmund W. Barker 1946 Former Cabinet Minister (1964 - 1988)
Tony Tan 1959 Former President of Singapore (2011 - 2017)
Lee Yock Suan 1966 Former Cabinet Minister (1987 - 2004)
Mah Bow Tan 1967 Former Cabinet Minister (1991 - 2011)
Yeo Ning Hong Former Cabinet Minister (80s/90s)
Lee Hsien Loong 1970 Prime Minister of Singapore
Teo Chee Hean 1973 Senior Minister
George Yeo 1973 Former Cabinet Minister (1991 to 2011)
Chan Soo Sen 1975 Former Member of Parliament (1997 - 2011)
Lim Hng Kiang 1973 Former Cabinet Minister
Vivian Balakrishnan 1980 Minister for Foreign Affairs
Chan Chun Sing 1988 Minister for Trade and Industry
Sim Ann 1994 Minister of State for Education and Communications and Information.
David Lim Former Member of Parliament
Tsao Yuan Former Nominated Member of Parliament

Public Sector
Ahmad Mohamed Ibrahim 1936 Former Attorney-General of Singapore
Lim Siong Guan 1965 Group President of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation
Koh Cher Siang 1965 Chairman, Housing and Development Board
Barry Desker 1966 Dean, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies
Su Guaning 1967 Former President, Nanyang Technological University (2003 - 2011)
Kishore Mahbubani 1967 Former Dean, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy
Chan Seng Onn 1973 Supreme Court Judge
Lee Wei Ling 1973 Senior Advisor, National Neuroscience Institute
Ivan Png Paak Liang 1975 Vice-Provost, National University of Singapore (2001 - 2003)
Ng Chee Khern 1984 Permanent Secretary (Strategy), Prime Minister's Office
Ng Chee Peng 1989 Former CEO, Central Provident Fund Board
Hoo Sheau Peng 1989 Supreme Court Judge
Lim Cheng Yeow Perry 1991 Former Chief of Defence Force, Singapore Armed Forces [1]
Lim Tuang Liang 1991 Former Chief of Air Force, Singapore Armed Forces
Lai Chung Han 1992 Permanent Secretary (Development), Ministry of Education
Chong Tow Chong Provost, Singapore University of Technology and Design
Brandon Lee CEO, Council for Private Education
Tan Kai Hoe 1985 Former Chief of Staff, Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN)
Wong Tien Yin Vice Dean, Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School
Goh Si Hou 1997 Chief of Army, Singapore Armed Forces
Aaron Beng Chief of Navy, Singapore Armed Forces

Private Sector
Kwa Geok Choo Former Lawyer
Mohamed Ismail bin Ibrahim 1968 First Malay President's Scholar.
Ho Ching 1972 CEO, Temasek Holdings
Lee Hsien Yang 1976 Former CEO of Singapore Telecommunications Limited.
Ang Peng Tiam 1977 Medical Director and Senior Consultant, Parkway Cancer Centre
Shaun Seow CEO, MediaCorp
Alan Chan Former CEO, Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Low Sin Leng Executive Chairman, Sembcorp Development
Gan Juay Kiat 1976 Former CEO, SBS Transit

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/President's_Scholar

The President Scholarship is awarded in addition to another public scholarship.

It is political, not truly meritorious. It is who you know rather than what you know. Many in Singapore know that.