• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To Those In Foreign Lands

These voluntary quitters and fair-weathered people are just too free and they find the political situation in their adopted countries to be even more complicated and confusing for them to handle much less talk about. For the more able ones when they try to talk localized politics with their hosts the latter would be upset, start accusing them of talking too much and being ungrateful guests and they would tell them to go home EVEN IF they are on the SAME SIDE.

So the best policy they have learned, is to just live their lives there and keep their mouths shut. Truth hurts, but that's the way it is.
That's not true.
They should learn to live their lives there and keep their mouths shut, but they don't.

Have you ever worked in a company, not happy with your superior, always complained about the company, and finally decided to leave ?

You are in another company, and the move from the old to the new company isn't all that rosy. It could be from the frying pan into the hot fire. But are you going to tell ex-colleagues the truth ? That the move isn't much of a success ?

Most people will tell lies, to paint a rosy picture of the new company so as to 'get back' at the old company. If you win the envy of your ex-colleagues, somehow you feel some success within. You've to continue to find out about your old company, maybe because it still hurts.
I can understand them wanting to paint a rosy picture of the new company / country.
What I can't understand is their continued interest and the desire to talk about everything about the old company / country.
You say that they do that "because it hurts", but shouldn't that be even less reason to talk about the old company / country?

That is one of the irony of life. While the grass is always thought to be greener on the other side, it might not turn out to be so. Even if they plan not to return or desire to return, there is always the comparison mentality still taking hold, while is it a Singaporean trait, or a trait of persons having migrated might have this tendency too.

Nevertheless, whether the emigration has turned out to be better or worse, perhpas the continued interest is to find out what they could have missed out, as ultimately, the grass has always been green originally but the view has been obscured to have noticed it.
Good point I guess.
"What they could have missed out" could be a reason.
The problem is that people with this type of mentality will always be wondering what they "missed out" in all aspects of life.
They'll look at their wives and say "Hmmm, if only...............", they'll look at the apartment they bought and say "Hmmm, if only.......", and the band plays on.................

They might have family members or relatives still in Singapore, so why can't they post?.

Family members need their support, family memebr are jobless can't compete with cheap labour in the guise of FT.

So if they remit money home , why can't they KPKB.
In those cases, I can understand their concern, if they are really concerned about their family and friends.
I'm referring to those who claim that they have no stake left in the old country, but yet they continue to show unusual interest in the going ons.

aiya, there are people who loves to see others suffer in their own stupidity mah. That is an entertainment to such people.

Dude, these ppl I know.. they were worst off during the 1-2 yrs of migration (except the millionaires).. soon after their foundations were set, the happiness kicks in.. These ppl will go bananas if you keep them away from SG news..

Perhaps some are too passionate about the events in SG, I'll try to tone them down.. :p

Have you ever worked in a company, not happy with your superior, always complained about the company, and finally decided to leave ?

You are in another company, and the move from the old to the new company isn't all that rosy. It could be from the frying pan into the hot fire. But are you going to tell ex-colleagues the truth ? That the move isn't much of a success ?

Most people will tell lies, to paint a rosy picture of the new company so as to 'get back' at the old company. If you win the envy of your ex-colleagues, somehow you feel some success within. You've to continue to find out about your old company, maybe because it still hurts.

Not speaking for all those who've decided to go abroad, just for meself.

Come to Sammyboy also (other than reasons given b4) because I still like the Sg humour (school, army, etc.) - not that its sophisticated or anything like so, but because a good part of my life was spent with cronies at sarabat stalls having fun talk and solving the world's problems over teh tarik - I don't get this kind of yak with non-S'poreans other than M'sians.

Politics? It's the working class' privilege to jibe at the ruling class and it is also the working class' privilige to get fucked by the ruling class - everywhere in the world. I call it the Right to Gripe, given the knowledge that nothing is going to change; even one's vote. Cheers!

Sometime back was telling an ang moh (maybe ang moh, maybe not, who knows?) here in this forum (or was it the old delphi?) who was asking what working life would be like in Sg; told hiim that it's a good base for working Asia. Well, I's thot 'bout that meself and guess what? I've followed my advice to him. I'm writing from China right now, based in Sg, home's still Canada, working Asia. I wonder if that ang moh followed up with his plans?

Events in Sg? It was a great Q1, other things not important. Events in the world? Ah, World Cup's here! After that, maybe plan a snorkeling trip with kid.

Now, where are my fibre capsules? Dinner was nice, but no fibre. Shit.

Bro agro

Are you planning to come back to SG someday? Or have you migrated permanently?
You actually answered the question, that you show interest because you still like to talk cock about SG and like the SG humour.
But those people I'm referring to have migrated permanently and one of the reasons they have done so is because they hate everything about SG. If so, then why continue to talk about it and be interested in it?

Why not? How about these reasons..

1. Properties still in singapore, need to keep in touch with the property situation, to hold on or to sell out.

2. Still trading shares in SGX, also need to know the market situation, to hold or to liquidate.

3. Family there, need to know political climate.

4. CPF still stuck there, need to know when is good time to pull out.

5. Follow COE ups and downs, just for fun.

6. Follow new policies, also just for fun.

7. Its good entertainment, compared to the foreign scene, they don't kpkb so much overseas.

8. Chance to exercise new found freedom of speech and won't get caught.

Enough reasons?
Agree that your points 1, 2 and 3 are valid reasons.
Point 4 about CPF is not a valid reason, because these people I'm referring to have presumably withdrawn their CPF and migrated permanently. Of course, they have a reason to be interested if they intend to return.
"For fun" is not a valid reason, surely there is more fun in talking about other things, not about a place they have left permanently. Similarly for 7 and 8, surely there are more interesting things to talk about than a place you gave up because they didn't like it?

I am already back in Sg - for work purpose and it is nice for me to catch up with some friends and relatives more often. Damn, they never visited me in Canada, telling me it too far and that I should've gone to Oz instead - closer and easier for 'em to visit!

On your second sentence, well, I talk cock here not only about Sg, but just about every country, religion, race that comes to my mind. Obviously, it makes no sense to talk cock too much about other countries because this is a s'porean forum.

Wish to address the mention about "hate everything in Sg" and put that in a wider perspective. If we look for the bad things in any country/community, we will find shitloads; if we look for the good things in any country/community, we will find a few. So, where do we want to channel our efforts? I've stopped visitng the emigration section in this forum because everyone's case is different. From family reasons to personal careers, children's eduction to housing, each one will have their own preferences, so the "debate" will never end. For me, there's a lot of activity in Asia now, tremendous amount. North Am and Europe still holds the major share in industry, but no prizes for guessing where the growth region is.

I can't tell what even going to happen a year from today for me, and my attitude now is that retirement is for the previous generation, that word does not exist in my vocabulary now. Earlier this year, was havng dinner with a guy well into his sixties and there he was with commodity prices, current enviro-regulations in manufacturing, shipping and logistics trends all at his fingertips and all excited about the apps on his iPhone!!!!

Well, for now I like to believe that there's still a little oomph in me, but inside, I'd choose rural over city life. And that's still sometime away, I hope.

Bro agro

Are you planning to come back to SG someday? Or have you migrated permanently?
You actually answered the question, that you show interest because you still like to talk cock about SG and like the SG humour.
But those people I'm referring to have migrated permanently and one of the reasons they have done so is because they hate everything about SG. If so, then why continue to talk about it and be interested in it?

I am already back in Sg - for work purpose and it is nice for me to catch up with some friends and relatives more often. Damn, they never visited me in Canada, telling me it too far and that I should've gone to Oz instead - closer and easier for 'em to visit!

On your second sentence, well, I talk cock here not only about Sg, but just about every country, religion, race that comes to my mind. Obviously, it makes no sense to talk cock too much about other countries because this is a s'porean forum.

Wish to address the mention about "hate everything in Sg" and put that in a wider perspective. If we look for the bad things in any country/community, we will find shitloads; if we look for the good things in any country/community, we will find a few. So, where do we want to channel our efforts? I've stopped visitng the emigration section in this forum because everyone's case is different. From family reasons to personal careers, children's eduction to housing, each one will have their own preferences, so the "debate" will never end. For me, there's a lot of activity in Asia now, tremendous amount. North Am and Europe still holds the major share in industry, but no prizes for guessing where the growth region is.

I can't tell what even going to happen a year from today for me, and my attitude now is that retirement is for the previous generation, that word does not exist in my vocabulary now. Earlier this year, was havng dinner with a guy well into his sixties and there he was with commodity prices, current enviro-regulations in manufacturing, shipping and logistics trends all at his fingertips and all excited about the apps on his iPhone!!!!

Well, for now I like to believe that there's still a little oomph in me, but inside, I'd choose rural over city life. And that's still sometime away, I hope.

Hey man, you dun have to be serious with these bunch of sinkie losers here. Just treat them as some entertainment, that is what i always do.

They are very strange people with the no sign board and dunno how to go through life. They need a sign to tell them what to do , even bend down to be screwed. Since they are like that, then you can try to set up sign board here and be amazed by how much they will follow the words in the sign board.

WAHAHHAHAH!!!!

Hey man, you dun have to be serious with these bunch of sinkie losers here. Just treat them as some entertainment, that is what i always do.

They are very strange people with the no sign board and dunno how to go through life. They need a sign to tell them what to do , even bend down to be screwed. Since they are like that, then you can try to set up sign board here and be amazed by how much they will follow the words in the sign board.

WAHAHHAHAH!!!!

wow cb kia tonychat,

no allies now so desparately trying to por other people's lumpar huh.

fuck you CCB! faster fuck off bk to your 3rd world thailand. stop asking your dad for $$ anymore. you are already in your 40s:oIo::oIo:

when those singaporeans living in foreign countries come back to singapore, are they considered foreign talents or foreign local talents or local talents?

It doesn't matter when the package is right.
:D