• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To Those In Foreign Lands

I can't understand why some people who have migrated or moved to foreign lands, are still so interested in what's happening in SG.
I don't mean those who have gone overseas for work or to study. They obviously have the intention to come back, so their interest is understandable.
Those who think they have been "forced" to go overseas for some reason or other, would also have their own reasons to have continued interest in the events of SG.
What I can't understand is those who have voluntarily gone overseas and have no plans or desire to come back. Why the continued interest in SG, including the policies and political situation?
It's just like someone who has left the employment of a company (on his own accord I stress), but still continues to be interested in its profitability and in the office gossip. I can't understand that either.

I can't understand why some people who have migrated or moved to foreign lands, are still so interested in what's happening in SG.
I don't mean those who have gone overseas for work or to study. They obviously have the intention to come back, so their interest is understandable.
Those who think they have been "forced" to go overseas for some reason or other, would also have their own reasons to have continued interest in the events of SG.
What I can't understand is those who have voluntarily gone overseas and have no plans or desire to come back. Why the continued interest in SG, including the policies and political situation?

These voluntary quitters and fair-weathered people are just too free and they find the political situation in their adopted countries to be even more complicated and confusing for them to handle much less talk about. For the more able ones when they try to talk localized politics with their hosts the latter would be upset, start accusing them of talking too much and being ungrateful guests and they would tell them to go home EVEN IF they are on the SAME SIDE.

So the best policy they have learned, is to just live their lives there and keep their mouths shut. Truth hurts, but that's the way it is.

When you go to some strange land. You be a 2nd class citizens no matter what .

Only Singapore is unique .

Have you ever worked in a company, not happy with your superior, always complained about the company, and finally decided to leave ?

You are in another company, and the move from the old to the new company isn't all that rosy. It could be from the frying pan into the hot fire. But are you going to tell ex-colleagues the truth ? That the move isn't much of a success ?

Most people will tell lies, to paint a rosy picture of the new company so as to 'get back' at the old company. If you win the envy of your ex-colleagues, somehow you feel some success within. You've to continue to find out about your old company, maybe because it still hurts.

Have you ever worked in a company, not happy with your superior, always complained about the company, and finally decided to leave ?

You are in another company, and the move from the old to the new company isn't all that rosy. It could be from the frying pan into the hot fire. But are you going to tell ex-colleagues the truth ? That the move isn't much of a success ?

Most people will tell lies, to paint a rosy picture of the new company so as to 'get back' at the old company. If you win the envy of your ex-colleagues, somehow you feel some success within. You've to continue to find out about your old company, maybe because it still hurts.

Worst you fall from VP to a general manager .

It's just like someone who has left the employment of a company (on his own accord I stress), but still continues to be interested in its profitability and in the office gossip. I can't understand that either.

That is one of the irony of life. While the grass is always thought to be greener on the other side, it might not turn out to be so. Even if they plan not to return or desire to return, there is always the comparison mentality still taking hold, while is it a Singaporean trait, or a trait of persons having migrated might have this tendency too.

Nevertheless, whether the emigration has turned out to be better or worse, perhpas the continued interest is to find out what they could have missed out, as ultimately, the grass has always been green originally but the view has been obscured to have noticed it.

They might have family members or relatives still in Singapore, so why can't they post?.

Family members need their support, family memebr are jobless can't compete with cheap labour in the guise of FT.

So if they remit money home , why can't they KPKB.

Not speaking for all those who've decided to go abroad, just for meself.

Come to Sammyboy also (other than reasons given b4) because I still like the Sg humour (school, army, etc.) - not that its sophisticated or anything like so, but because a good part of my life was spent with cronies at sarabat stalls having fun talk and solving the world's problems over teh tarik - I don't get this kind of yak with non-S'poreans other than M'sians.

Politics? It's the working class' privilege to jibe at the ruling class and it is also the working class' privilige to get fucked by the ruling class - everywhere in the world. I call it the Right to Gripe, given the knowledge that nothing is going to change; even one's vote. Cheers!

Sometime back was telling an ang moh (maybe ang moh, maybe not, who knows?) here in this forum (or was it the old delphi?) who was asking what working life would be like in Sg; told hiim that it's a good base for working Asia. Well, I's thot 'bout that meself and guess what? I've followed my advice to him. I'm writing from China right now, based in Sg, home's still Canada, working Asia. I wonder if that ang moh followed up with his plans?

Events in Sg? It was a great Q1, other things not important. Events in the world? Ah, World Cup's here! After that, maybe plan a snorkeling trip with kid.

Now, where are my fibre capsules? Dinner was nice, but no fibre. Shit.

I know of a ex-Sinkie turned Thai pimp who continues to bash Sinkies even though he is rotting in Thai now. I assume you referring to ppl like him? :D

When you go to some strange land. You be a 2nd class citizens no matter what .

Only Singapore is unique .

yah, very unique. only we get to serve NS and vote for a govt that encourage FT to come and take up our jobs ranging from low to high skilled.

reason given: we need them to pass their specialities to the locals.

my ass.....even cleaners and beer aunties now are all PRC mei mei

Why not? How about these reasons..

1. Properties still in singapore, need to keep in touch with the property situation, to hold on or to sell out.

2. Still trading shares in SGX, also need to know the market situation, to hold or to liquidate.

3. Family there, need to know political climate.

4. CPF still stuck there, need to know when is good time to pull out.

5. Follow COE ups and downs, just for fun.

6. Follow new policies, also just for fun.

7. Its good entertainment, compared to the foreign scene, they don't kpkb so much overseas.

8. Chance to exercise new found freedom of speech and won't get caught.

Enough reasons?

Many monikers here claim to be residing overseas but are actually still living in Singapore. I know one character who lives in a rented room in Toa Payoh while pretending to be an OZ citizen.

there's great entertainment value in seeing sinkies screwed day after day by the pappies, yet they pine for more of the same.

Yes, these quitters become 2nd class people in foreign land.

They are still interested in $ingapore because;

1. want to know if $ingaporeans become 1st class in their own land (maybe only if not counting the Lee's, pap people, PRs, FTs, etc)
2. a lot of them become VPs, GMs, directors,
3. the grass is so green in $ingapore, only on the golf courses.

To sum up, Quitters are "watermelons".. green on the outside and red on the inside.. :p

- We love Singapore.. even though we're booted out (& continue to live our carefree & happy life) does not mean we do not care for our fellow countrymen..

- We love SG food, we continue to dine & wine - chicken rice and tiger beer.. Yummy !

- We travel SQ.. guess which is the most preferred airlines when we depart.. (Yippeee ! I am returning in May !)

- We stand up for Singapore.. we will not let our pride erode down the drain just becoz of some incompetent ppl around..

John F Kennedy :"Ask not, what the country can do for you. Ask what you can do for the your country.." - We are Ex-Singaporean FOR SINGAPOREAN ! ;)

heehee..

they still keep in touch to "compare" - they gloat if their former employer/company/country not doing well, and try to put down/justify if the former are successful.

you can take the singaporean out of singapore........

It feels great to be able to freely vent your frustration from all those years of repression while living in little red dot. In SG, taking a hardline approach against government policies would very likely destroy your livelihood. So, few will bother to do so until they find true freedom.

It is next to impossible for first generation adult immigrants to cut every single tie to their motherland. Just ask all the new citizens or PRs in SG. I will be very surprised if they tell you they feel more passionately about SG than their country of origin. The best case study may be Li JiaWei who has always considered herself a Beijinger. In western societies, you see plenty of protests by immigrants against their home countries' regimes, e.g. Sri Lankan Tamils, Falungong practicioners, etc. So, don't read too much into it unless you are trying to help PAP figure out why they are not getting the support they crave for in this forum.

Those who want to shut up the foreign critics invariably belong to one of the following categories:
1) PAP supporters
2) Envious of others who possess the ability to get out of little red dot with ease

When I was working overseas I never gave Spore a second thought :D
I wasn't busy with work just busy enjoying myself :)

I know many people who have left & none of them really care about whats goes on in Spore. From time to time they do come to Spore to visit their relatives but its only for a short stay.

For anyone who's ever left a company, it's usually curiosity about your ex-colleagues & NOT the company. :rolleyes:

I can't understand why some people who have migrated or moved to foreign lands, are still so interested in what's happening in SG. ...
Why the continued interest in SG, including the policies and political situation?
same ting wat ...

dose who stay oways want 2 noe abt dose who has left ... eh! where u go, huh? ... ur new place goot anot? ... goot, ah? ... got lobang 4 me 2 go over oso anot? ... :o

went oredi want 2 hear worse tings abt ze previous place so dat dey can say ... lucky me chow early! ... me told u so dat place lousy ... c now! ... told u so, loong, loong time ago oredi! ... :o

Actually I am in sinkieland but you people think that I am in Thailand.