• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

this is the candidate i'm looking for...

Forvendet

useless asshole! why u bother ur mother in law so much? knn, pui!!!:oIo:

Hey, there's no need for such language. I know my in-law family since I was a kid. They've always treated me like their own kid. My parents and father-in-law had passed away. My mother-in-law is like mother to me now living with me. She's the last parent me and my wife have. Goodness, I thought you Chinese are supposed to practise more Confucian filial piety.

dankos

Hey, there's no need for such language. I know my in-law family since I was a kid. They've always treated me like their own kid. My parents and father-in-law had passed away. My mother-in-law is like mother to me now living with me. She's the last parent me and my wife have. Goodness, I thought you Chinese are supposed to practise more Confucian filial piety.

old folks' thinking sometimes very hard understand. my grandmother is in her 90s and have difficulty walking. i told her she can forgo voting as it is too inconvenient for her. she says is she don't vote, next time pap if got goodies eg growth dividends etc pap will not give her :eek:

i am speechless.

Telok Blangah is the slum of Singapore. There you will find the poorest people. Many homeless.

Agreed, the area is near to poor areas like Bukit Purmei and Bukit Merah. Areas infested with gangsters.
In local gangsters speak, Telok Blangah area is as 古惑山. Some loansharks even unwilling to grant loans to residents there because of the reputation.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yup. It was amazing eye opener to me. You are so right about the gangster part. I encountered the rudest people. The best cheaters. Ai chee ai pee people who think everyone owes them a living. Some parts of Toa Payoh also same but no where else beats Telok Blangah!

moolightaffairs

wow! im touch by u man!!! a angmokiah want to be a Chinese culturally and that will make u a Chinese!!! i think boring also worry about u being to submissive towards your MIW.

Yup. It was amazing eye opener to me. You are so right about the gangster part. I encountered the rudest people. The best cheaters. Ai chee ai pee people who think everyone owes them a living. Some parts of Toa Payoh also same but no where else beats Telok Blangah!
TPY was because they build new flats and condos there in recent years so the area now better and those gangsters elements grow old or diluted liao. When TPY first started it was gangsters zone, later AMK came up and took over the title. Then came Yishun etc. and the list goes now.

New towns like Bishan, Sengkang, Pasir Ris etc dun have such problems

Forvendet

wow! im touch by u man!!! a angmokiah want to be a Chinese culturally and that will make u a Chinese!!! i think boring also worry about u being to submissive towards your MIW.

I'm not submissive. I just love her and care for her, just as she loves me and cares for me since I was a kid. Me and my wife (her daughter) said we'll vote for CST if he comes to B-TP, she's got no problem with that. She'll vote for him too. Her problem is with public volunteering for opposition. We're Eurasian minority, stick out visibly in public, she's worried.

Singkies are not worth sacrificing too much for.

DannyBoyBoy

GE: Alec Tok quits Reform Party
By S Ramesh |
Posted: 08 April 2011 1727 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Reform Party's vice chairman and member of the Central Executive Committee (CEC), Mr Alec Tok, has resigned.

Mr Tok said he resigned as he disagreed with certain clauses in the party's protocol for CEC members which he had to sign after he was co-opted into the CEC last month.

The Reform Party had named Mr Tok as its election candidate for the single-member constituency (SMC) of Radin Mas.

The People's Action Party's candidate is expected to be Mr Sam Tan, the Senior Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.

Speaking to MediaCorp, Mr Tok said he submitted his resignation letter on 5 April to the chairman, secretary-general and treasurer.

He said that among the options available for him now are joining another political party or standing in the upcoming General Election as an independent.

But the Reform Party's Secretary-General Kenneth Jeyaretnam said the party is talking to Mr Tok and has not accepted his resignation yet.

However, Mr Jeyaretnam emphasised that there will be no change in its plans to contest Radin Mas as it has got more than enough candidates for the coming election.

Mr Jeyaretnam also confirmed that the other wards which the Reform Party will be contesting include Pioneer and possibly Hong Kah North SMCs and the Chua Chu Kang and West Coast GRCs.

Earlier this year, at least nine Reform Party members resigned from the party.

The members who resigned included Mr Tony Tan and Ms Hazel Poa, who have now joined the National Solidarity Party.

- CNA/ir

Actually, most of us would be worried too. Some more than others. Which is why I have alot of respect for those who volunteer for OP duties, especially those who are contesting as OP MPs. They have guts and conviction, which a lot of us are lacking somewhat.

Agree. The real opposition and not the reel ones.

DannyBoyBoy

<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JmbQEwsAxv0" allowfullscreen="" width="480" frameborder="0" height="390"></iframe>

He has been called the Workers' Party's 'secret weapon', but corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao said the true weapon would be the votes of Singaporeans during Polling Day. 50-year-old took up citizenship in 1986 and has degrees from Harvard, Oxford and Stanford universities.
The lady is Tin Pei Ling, 27 years old PAP star candidate who does not know what to say...., but she will be smuggled into Parliament, while the other guy would be out, unless a miracle takes place......
见不得光的选举 — 集选区内每一个单独选区的成绩?

虽然说"人不可以貌相",然而不认识陈佩玲的人,看到陈佩玲那一只娃娃脸而不心生狐疑,那简直说不过去。不是吗?政治又不是玩家家酒,把治国大任委托在一个黄毛丫头的身上<wbr>_,这政治不太也轻率了些?

恰恰就是那些网络影像,生动地描绘出了一个轻浮的时髦少年的背景,让人触目惊心。如果说,我们必须有能够代表青少年的政治人物,那么是不是说我们也必须遴选一个乳臭未干的<wbr>_儿童作为我们的议员?

陈佩玲事件,其实不在于陈佩玲竞选不竞选,而在于集选区这个制度的无耻 — 完全没有道德的支撑。试想,大家都晓得,其实就算是一只畜牲,如果也能够算是集选区的一员。那么,不管是来自执政党反对党,那一团的集选胜利了,畜牲也可以代表人民说话。

这才是舆论所在,引起人们议论纷纷的原因。所有针对陈佩玲的矛头,指的都不是陈小姐,而是无耻、没有道德的集选区制度。

DannyBoyBoy

<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Rh7yMFFEHyU" allowfullscreen="" width="480" frameborder="0" height="390"></iframe>

工人党王牌候选人陈硕茂,今早第一次随工人党大队访问如切单选区,再度引发他将出战如切的猜测。

新明日报报道,工人党今早9时在如切单选区的东海岸路一带活动,出现在刘程强身旁的,除了本来勤于在如切走动的该区居民余振忠(46岁,企业家)外,还有国际金融及商业律<wbr>_师陈硕茂(50岁)。

陈硕茂虽已回国超过1星期,但上星期却没有和党员一起出席在义顺的活动,这星期却选择在如切选区出现,再次引来他将出战如切区的可能性。

陈硕茂向媒体澄清说:"我除了在如切区活动,也到过阿裕尼、东海岸、摩绵加冷等。我第一次参加党活动是在这里,代表着工人党很重视如切区,别无他意。"
Chinese to English translation

Workers Party candidate Chen Shuo Mao ace, the first time this morning to visit with the workers' party, such as cutting the radio battalion area, he will play again trigger speculation, such as cutting.

Shin Min Daily News reported this morning, 9:00 in the Workers Party radio cut areas such as East Coast Road area activities, appears in the Low Thia Khiang side, in addition to have been diligent in moving the local residents, such as cutting Yu Zhenzhong (46 years old, entrepreneur ), there are international financial and business lawyer Chen Shuo-Mao (50 years).

Shuo-Mao Chen Although he has been over one week, but last week, and members have not attended the activities in Yishun, this week chose to appear in the Joo Chiat constituency, he will play again lead to the possibility of such cut areas.

Chen Shuo Mao to the media to clarify: "I addition to the Joo Chiat district activities, but also went to Aljunied, East Coast, Mount Cotton Kallang and so on. My first time to participate in party activities are here, representing the Workers Party attaches great importance such as the cutting area , no other meaning. "

DannyBoyBoy

SINGAPORE : The Singapore People's Party's (SPP) team in Bishan-Toa Payoh Group Representation Constituency (GRC) is taking shape.

It will be led by Secretary-General Chiam See Tong, and includes Benjamin Pwee, a former high-flyer in the civil service.

The candidates were unveiled during the party's walkabout on Sunday.

There had been concerns that Mr Chiam would not have enough candidates to contest the five-member Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

But on Sunday, he showed off two members, and promised more to come.

Mr Pwee is seen as the party's trump card. He was an officer in the Administrative Service, and a former chairman in the People's Action Party's (PAP) youth wing in the Thomson area. He now runs his own business strategy consultancy firm, I-deo Asia.

He said his heart is in Bishan, having grown up there.

Mr Pwee had also followed his father, Robert Pwee, on his grassroots activities for the PAP.

Speaking in Mandarin and Cantonese, he said he had struggled before making his decision, but believes it was the right choice.

Mr Pwee said: "I believe a country at our stage of development needs more voices on the ground, where citizens can participate in the political process through different means...And if I can play a role, I would be happy to step forward."

He added that he would like to represent the concerns of residents in his age group and senior citizens.

Another new candidate is Wilfred Leung, Mr Chiam's campaign manager in the last General Election.

He is also the Assistant Secretary-General of the SPP.

He said: "What we are bringing to the residents of Bishan-Toa Payoh is very simple. They have everything here, that is without a doubt. What our team is going to bring to Bishan residents is just one thing - their voice to Parliament."

He added that his experience as a town councillor in Potong Pasir will be useful, if he is elected.

"In the town council, I have experienced the whole process of being able to achieve our promises despite some of the constraints that we have," he said, adding that he has also been active in the Meet-the People Sessions for several years.

Mr Leung joined the party in 2004, while Mr Pwee only officially joined a week ago.

Both of them said one reason why they have decided to stand is out of a wish to help fulfil Mr Chiam's desire of contesting in a GRC.

The remaining two candidates are expected to be announced soon, and according to electoral rules, one of them has to be a Malay candidate.

There are indications he is 48-year-old businessman Mohamad Hamim Aliyas, a founding member of the party, who was with Mr Chiam's side during the walkabout.

With the SPP mounting a challenge, the coming General Election marks the first time residents of Bishan-Toa Payoh would get to vote since the constituency was formed in 1997.

While some welcomed the competition, a few residents expressed some concern over Mr Chiam's health.

One of them is 55-year-old Betty Chia. She said: "One reason why I think he is going into a GRC is maybe because if he stands alone (in a Single Member Constituency), (his health) will be a weak point for him. But if he stands in a GRC and people feel that the party is playing a part for Singapore, then they may want to vote for him."

Another resident, 52-year-old Amrjit Singh, is more sceptical of the SPP's chances. He said: "They have so far been winning in Potong Pasir, but they can't do anything in Potong Pasir. What can they do for us in Bishan?"

It is not going to be an easy fight for the SPP, which is likely to come up against a strong slate of incumbent MPs from the PAP. While Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC sits just adjacent to Mr Chiam's stronghold of Potong Pasir, the residents here are a lot more diverse, and the candidates said they will have to spend more time getting familiar with issues on the ground, before revealing their campaign platform.

Besides Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, SPP will also contest in the single wards of Hong Kah North and Potong Pasir.

The party said it will not be announcing any new battlegrounds.

Mr Chiam said: "I do not think we want to dilute our resources. We want to concentrate on a few good potential constituencies...and we will be happy if we win all those constituencies that we contest in."

Mr Chiam has named his wife, Lina Chiam, as the candidate in Potong Pasir, while SPP Chairman Sin Kek Tong is expected to stand in Hong Kah North.

Mr Sin showed up near the end of the walkabout as a show of support for Mr Chiam, having just completed his rounds in Hong Kah North.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rAyN3CFW32k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

silentisgolden

GE: Chiam See Tong encouraged by residents in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC
By Sharon See | Posted: 14 April 2011 2308 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore People's Party (SPP) Secretary-General Chiam See Tong said he feels encouraged by the reactions of residents in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, where his party is intending to contest in the upcoming general election.

Mr Chiam, who will stand in the GRC, spent Thursday evening reaching out to the rush hour crowd at Toa Payoh bus interchange.

He was accompanied by members of his team, 48-year-old Mr Mohamad Hamim Aliyas, who is a founding member of the SPP, Mr Wilfred Leung and Mr Benjamin Pwee.

Mr Chiam said he is happy about the lineup and residents have been supportive during his walkabouts in the area.

The last candidate, whom he has yet to introduce, is widely expected to be Mr Jimmy Lee, a former government scholar like Mr Pwee.

"We have got very highly qualified candidates and we have also candidates from the grassroots," Mr Chiam said.

He said his team will step up on walkabouts in the area.

"The other candidates are not as well known as myself. Many of the residents recognise me, and I'm sure they have confidence in me," said Mr Chiam.

- CNA/cc

DannyBoyBoy

<B> private secretary to Goh Chok Tong joins opposition

Another top ex-civil servant to join opposition?
By Kor Kian Beng
ST_IMAGES_KBJEE15.jpg

IS ANOTHER former high-flying civil servant set to stand as an opposition candidate at the upcoming general election?

Mr Tan Jee Say, 57, previously a principal private secretary to Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, told The Straits Times last night that he was not ruling out the possibility.

'It is interesting. I have not decided yet. But it is not outside the realm of possibilities,' said Mr Tan.

The former Administrative Service officer declined to say whether he was leaning towards running as an independent or joining an opposition party. Nor did he want to name the party he would be open to joining.

Mr Tan was responding to talk that he was a candidate whom the Workers' Party (WP) could field at the next polls.

Sources said Mr Tan was among two other 'heavyweight' candidates the WP had been keeping under wraps, apart from its 'star catch' Chen Show Mao, 50, a Beijing-based corporate lawyer.

It is understood that Mr Tan and Mr Chen - a former Rhodes scholar who topped his 1979 cohort at the A levels and attended top universities overseas - have known each other for some time.

Sources also said Mr Tan had been earmarked as the WP's candidate for the single-seat ward in Joo Chiat, where he lives.

If he did contest the polls, he would join the ranks of at least four former government scholarship holders to have enlisted in the opposition camp. There were none at the 2006 polls.

Mr Tan studied philosophy, politics and economics at Oxford University. From 1985 to 1990, he was the principal private secretary to SM Goh, who was then deputy prime minister. Mr Tan left in 1990 to join Morgan Grenfell Asia.

Now a private investor, he has come up with a list of ideas for regenerating the Singapore economy, which he set out in a 45-page paper titled 'Creating Jobs and Enterprise in a New Singapore Economy - Ideas for Change'.

Mr Tan spoke about his paper when he was a panellist at a post-Budget forum held by sociopolitical website The Online Citizen in February this year.

Since then, several opposition parties have courted him. He has met some of them, but he says he has not met any WP leader.

He added that he was amused by the talk. Asked if that meant it was true, he said: 'It is speculation.'​

</B>

DannyBoyBoy

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=980 bgColor=#b7daf0 align=center><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width=12></TD><TD bgColor=#ffffff>The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

ST Forum

Home > ST Forum > Story

Apr 15, 2011

Chen has done his share for Singapore

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->MR CHEN Show Mao does not need to explain his decision as his actions have spoken louder than words ('About Chen: Time will tell' by Mr Benjamin Chow; yesterday). His resume alone is an answer but more importantly, it raises some issues our country currently grapples with.
Mr Chen served national service although he was not obliged to. Unlike Mr Chow and me who were born, bred and remain rooted in Singapore, Mr Chen was not born and was not wholly nurtured by Singapore. And yet, he chose to serve. What more do we need to ask of him?
We remember that NS was harsher then, the allowances thinner and yet, the records show Mr Chen served with distinction at the highest level possible. We have serving members of political and high office, including a People's Action Party new candidate, who became Singapore citizens but did not serve NS.
Mr Chen was the top student of his batch but never got to study the course of his choice nor was he given a scholarship. If he was given his choice of study (medicine), he would have probably spent the next 10 years studying and training here.
He was also not given a Singapore scholarship even though he showed academic and leadership qualities (he was president of an elected student council).
We have only ourselves to blame for not rooting this talent in Singapore but rather forcing him to go out into the world to make a name for himself, which he did.
Again, as we struggle with issues such as bond-breakers and foreign talent with no affinity for Singapore, we do have more pressing questions to ask before we start trying to question someone coming back with no reward in sight.
The Singapore opposition politician's life is a hard one, with nothing to gain and everything to lose - with a record that shows only sacrifice for Singapore with very little else in return.
I dare say the facts show Mr Chen in this respect to be whiter than white. Instead of questioning Mr Chen's motives, we have other more urgent matters to resolve.
Tan Suan Tiu

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

There was a press report that WKS was the guest of honour at Benjamin Pwee's wedding.
Did anyone read that report?
And now he's trying to remove him from his position?
Frankly, I feel a little uncomfortable about that.
Don't feel uncomfortable about Chen Show Mao or Jimmy or anyone else.
Hope you chaps can convince me otherwise.

DannyBoyBoy

Workers' Party rolls out 4th batch of candidates

By Chong Zi Liang
workersparty.jpg

The latest faces are (L-R) aviation consultancy managing director Watson Chong, 51, social worker Frieda Chan, 34, interior design company owner Sajeev Kamalasanan (not pictured here), 41, financial adviser Mohamed Fazli Talip, 29, and businessman Png Eng Huat, 49. -- ST PHOTO: NEO XIAOBIN, MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN, DESMOND WEE

THE Workers' Party rolled out its fourth batch of five candidates for the May 7 General Election on Sunday, bringing the number unveiled so far to 17.
The latest faces are aviation consultancy managing director Watson Chong, 51, social worker Frieda Chan, 34, interior design company owner Sajeev Kamalasanan, 41, financial adviser Mohamed Fazli Talip, 29, and businessman Png Eng Huat, 49.
This means 'star catch' Chen Show Mao is expected to be formally introduced on Monday.
At a press conference to announce the five new candidates, WP chairman Sylvia Lim reiterated the party's commitment to its campaign slogan of First World Parliament.
Latest 5 WP candidates are all first-timers
The five new candidates unveiled by the Workers' Party on Sunday are:
Frieda Chan Sio Phing, 35
Marital status: Single
Highest educational qualification: Bachelor of Arts (Double Major in Social Work & Sociology from the National University of Singapore
Languages/dialects spoken: English, Mandarin, Teochew
Likely to be fielded in: Moulmein-Kallang GRC
Electoral history: Never stood for election. Joined WP in 2006.
One policy I want changed: 'One issue that weighs heavily on my heart is how we can let our elderly age with dignity.'
Sajeev Kamalasanan, 41
Marital status: Married; no children
Highest educational qualification: Specialist Diploma in Construction Management, Building and Construction Authority (BCA) Academy
Languages/dialects spoken: English, Malay, Tamil, Malayalam
Likely to be fielded in: Moulmein-Kallang GRC
One policy I want changed: 'The Government needs to better connect with the heartlanders, and with those in the lower- to middle-income group to address issues that concern them, such as the cost of living and affordable housing.'
Mohamed Fazli Talip, 29
Marital status: Single
Highest educational qualification: Diploma in Engineering (Manufacturing) from Nanyang Polytechnic
Languages/dialects spoken: English, Malay
Likely to be fielded in: East Coast GRC
Electoral history: Never stood for election. Joined WP in 2010.
One policy I want changed: 'HDB prices need to be more affordable to first-timers.'
Png Eng Huat, 49
Marital status: Married with two children
Highest educational qualification: Bachelor of Science (Radio-TV-Film) from the University of Texas, USA
Languages/dialects spoken: English, Mandarin,
Likely to be fielded in: East Coast GRC
One policy I want changed: 'I hope to implement a Freedom of Information Act, so that we have the information to know what other policies need changing.'
Watson Chong Cham Weng, 51
Marital status: Married; two children
Highest educational qualification: Master of Business Administration from Maastricht School of Management, The Netherlands
Languages/dialects spoken: English, Mandarin, Cantonese, Hokkien
Likely to be fielded in: Nee Soon GRC
Electoral history: Never stood for election. Joined WP in 2008.
One policy I want changed: 'We need to raise the stagnating median income as Singaporeans are struggling with rising cost of living.'