• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

this is the candidate i'm looking for...

Khun Ying Pojaman

I am no body language expert but it is not difficult to detect the conviction of a person when he speaks. Alec and VW passes the test with flying colours. None of the new MIW, even the Generals, gave me this 'feeling' they are into politics to serve the people. More like to serve PAP and themselves - by getting rich, richer and richest along the journey.

The rest I may not be sure, but the paper General Tan has made it clear that he is here to fight the opposition. He is not a Singapore General; he is a PAP General, okay ?

Varuna

I am no body language expert but it is not difficult to detect the conviction of a person when he speaks. Alec and VW passes the test with flying colours. None of the new MIW, even the Generals, gave me this 'feeling' they are into politics to serve the people. .

I also sense it. It appears that the ruling party side is taking this election like a piece of cake. Somehow, I feel they must have thought that half the battle is won by bringing in heavy weights like Generals, Lawyers and Top Civil Servants to impress the people.

I am no body language expert but it is not difficult to detect the conviction of a person when he speaks. Alec and VW passes the test with flying colours. None of the new MIW, even the Generals, gave me this 'feeling' they are into politics to serve the people. More like to serve PAP and themselves - by getting rich, richer and richest along the journey.

I feel it too. When they speak (their words, tone, etc) and via their body language, I know they are doing it straight from the heart.

hey, is it me or is it that the PAP likes only mostly arrogant bastards whom you and I would not even invite for kopi and prata? Because they seem to be the ones getting wined and dined at those tea parties!

DannyBoyBoy

A Big Road ahead for Alec Tok
Posted: 23 April 2009 1814 hrs

<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"><tbody><tr><td align="right" width="20">
</td><td align="right" width="240">
phpfwQDQn.jpg
</td></tr><tr><td height="60" valign="top">
</td><td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td bgcolor="f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td><td bgcolor="f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td><td bgcolor="f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td><td bgcolor="f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td><td bgcolor="f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td></tr></tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Alec Tok</td></tr><tr><td>
</td><td class="update">
</td></tr><tr><td>
</td><td>
</td></tr></tbody></table>

SINGAPORE : The success of internationally recognised Asian directors such as Lee Ang and John Woo has opened doors and created opportunities for aspiring Asian filmmakers in the West.

For Singaporean director Alec Tok who is based in New York, he is getting a lot more opportunities because the industry now recognises the versatility of Asian directors.

"Because a person like Lee Ang is able to direct both in Mandarin as well as handle a piece like 'Pride and Prejudice' or 'Brokeback Mountain' so people look at me and say, 'how about trying this classic... or this Shakespeare piece,' so it has definitely opened doors for me in that way," said the theatre director.

"But what I found even more exciting about being in New York and being Asian is the fact that I could now, instead of doing Shakespeare, I could bring in an Asian play and bring it to New York and cast, say an African American actor or a Caucasian actor and have them experience what it’s like to be telling an Asian story. I found that extremely rewarding."

Formerly a drama director at the Singapore Armed Forces' Music and Drama Company, Tok packed his bags and headed for New York in search for "a breakthrough".

"Every artiste, after working for 10, 15 years in any arena needs a refreshment, a resetting of the operating systems so to speak," he said.

Tok who has been based in the United States for the last 10 years, is now the artistic director of One Kind Theatre and says the experiences he has gained are "priceless".

"I think it was just being immersed in that kind of environment where there are a lot more artistes around you, a lot more screenwriters, a lot more writers, a lot more directors and producers and actors. And the support groups are there to help you out when you are lost or when you’re in a tight bind," he said.

"And also just the sheer viscosity of art there, the museums, the concerts, dance and so on. I think being immersed in that kind of environment somehow impacts your work a great deal."

Tok who has dabbled in short films, recently released his first movie "A Big Road". The film made its world premiere at the Singapore International Film Festival (SIFF) and was even nominated - much to his surprise - in the Asian Film Feature Competition at the SIFF's Silver Screen Awards.

"This is my first film and all I really wanted was to send it to the Film Festival and hopefully they would screen it here in Singapore [because] I haven't been back and my parents and friends have not seen my work for years," he said.

In this intriguing and complex film which interweaves the stories of three women in Shanghai, Tok challenges the viewers to piece together the fragments of love and hope as he explores the themes of life and death in the film.

"A Big Road" was shot in and around Shanghai over 15 days and Tok said the experience was "wonderful" and "life-changing" and he is eager to work on another feature.

"I think that a lot of excitement and a lot of exciting work is coming out of Asia, and I want to participate in that," he said.

"I think that having been in the US for the last 10 years, I have garnered some skills which would be applicable in this next phase of Asia’s development in the film, and even theatre industry."

- CNA/il

DannyBoyBoy

RP's new face wants 'more security in employment'

showimageCC.aspx

by Neo Chai Chin
04:46 AM Apr 02, 2011
SINGAPORE - As New York-based theatre director and Reform Party (RP) new face Alec Tok settled down for an interview with this reporter earlier this week, he recounted how, a couple of days ago, he had met a homeless man at Telok Blangah Way.

Apart from getting a pair of shoes for the man, Mr Tok also arranged to meet him at the hospital to see a doctor on Thursday.

"If I can't help him, how am I going to help 31,000 people?" said Mr Tok, 46, referring to the number of electors in Radin Mas where he is expected to contest.

Mr Tok, who has been married for 17 years, noted that elsewhere in the world, the educated see it as their responsibility to alleviate the plight of the poor. He has a Masters from Yale University's School of Drama and runs a theatre company in New York. Effectively bilingual and fluent in Hokkien and Cantonese, he works with theatre schools in Shanghai and recently set up a company there.

Since May last year, Mr Tok has been shuttling between New York, Shanghai and Singapore. He flies to Singapore every three weeks to do walkabouts here.

Having been way from Singapore for 12 years, Mr Tok said he will move back to Singapore if elected - which would also see him rolling out his plans for Radin Mas, including installing more public toilets for the elderly to better "enjoy street life and community life" and attracting more young entrepreneurs to set up shops in the area. He also wants national policies that will give Singaporeans more security in their employment, retirement, and healthcare.

Mr Tok said he joined RP in 2009, after he was drawn to its ambition of becoming strong enough to form an alternative government.

He believes that Singapore has succeeded in the "first phase" of its development but "I feel the values underpinning the way that this Government has been operating in the last 20 years … are wrong," he said.

Describing the ruling People's Action Party's (PAP) as "elitist", Mr Tok took issue with how the PAP's young candidates - who were unveiled in recent weeks - present themselves "humbly, but at the end of the day, they are going to be standing there defending the right of the elite to high salary in the name of meritocracy".

Mr Tok's relatively brief experience in politics has been eventful - not least because of the mass resignations from RP which made the news in February.

The episode "definitely" affected him, he said. While being overseas probably helped him avoid the party's "day-to-day frictions", he chose to stay on because "it's not right to leave at a moment of crisis".

Politics demands the ability to bring together factions, he said. "This is the arena we're going into. It requires this kind of patience, no less than that." Neo Chai Chin

showimageCC.aspx
iconMagnify.gif

enlarge this photo

Photo by OOI BOON KEONG

We can be certain of one thing - he is not into politics coz of money. Agree with your assessment of Alec who stands a good chance in a SMC if 1 vs 1.

Unfortunately, it currently appears that he may be in a 3 vs 1 situation.

moolightaffairs

i think election not is about candidates only. logistics also a must!!! hope any oppositions members here can convey the message. i remember read in the old sammyboy forum that no water and no makan for opposition volunteers in voting centre and some counting centre also got no opposition volunteers to monitor counting. hope this be can be improve and get enough volunteers to man all the required station. of cos, get more to rotate to rest. it will be a long day in the voting and counting centre. thats what i remember from the old forum. if not those people in voting and counting centre may help pap.

This is an area whereby the MIW will be assisted by its many porlumpars. Someone even sponsored abalone porridge the last time. Who wants to be seen as $$$ supporter of opposition parties? The playing field is never level.

moolightaffairs

This is an area whereby the MIW will be assisted by its many porlumpars. Someone even sponsored abalone porridge the last time. Who wants to be seen as $$$ supporter of opposition parties? The playing field is never level.

thats why i hope big party like WP can at least amass enough volunteers for the coming election. must have enough volunteers in counting centre to monitor the counting and provide enough water and makan for them. if can have more people for them to take turns to rest. pls let those opposition know. when u commit your time on the ground walking around and meet residents, but loss out in the "final counting stage" can be quite tulan. if u know what i mean. this is something oppo gotta put in more effort. i trust sg system, but not pap and its lackey. especially those div1 silver serpents in the counting centre.

Forvendet

What I understand is that three shifts of volunteers are required. Polling time is from 8am to 8pm, two shifts of polling agents for 6 hours each required. Then a third shift for the home run, counting agents. There're many polling centres and counting centres. I'm not sure about exact numbers but I estimate 20 agents per SMC required and 100 agents per GRC required. PAP can fill all these posts easily with PAP members, RCs, CCCs etc. Opposition need volunteers.

I can understand why people don't volunteer because I myself can't. Me and my wife will certainly vote for CST if he comes to B-TP. However, if I volunteer I'll have endless rounds of hell from my mother-in-law.

annexa

Maybe he talk in chinese because he think many of the place he want contest got a lot of old uncle and old auntie. Forget it. These people will default to PAP. He should speak in England to win the young people vote and especially the Malay and Indian vote. Oppos always suffer from the lack of minority vote because they forget voter inside got many is minority.

The-Angel-1960

Maybe he talk in chinese because he think many of the place he want contest got a lot of old uncle and old auntie. Forget it. These people will default to PAP. He should speak in England to win the young people vote and especially the Malay and Indian vote. Oppos always suffer from the lack of minority vote because they forget voter inside got many is minority.

@ annexa

IF every Opposition candidate mindset is LIKE Yours, i can tell you , go home and sleep. Being NEGATIVE is useless. Go for it, try it, at least got HOPE !

And...We will NEVER know what is the results like for this General Election 2011 ! Even the old man MM Lee said, FREAK Results may HAPPEN !!!

konstandy

He's referring to this photo taken on the night of 30th April 2006. It was electrifying, I was there. And it was held at a large field in Hougang. Cars were parked everywhere, the crowd was amazing. No PAP rally could've attracted so many, who so willingly attended.

pic-581b.jpg

wah liao better than michael jackson concert haha
if he sell tickets can bcum millionair oevrnight ...
cool that opp can get so many people WILLINGLY to listen to him
he should debate MPs live ...

boring

What I understand is that three shifts of volunteers are required. Polling time is from 8am to 8pm, two shifts of polling agents for 6 hours each required. Then a third shift for the home run, counting agents. There're many polling centres and counting centres. I'm not sure about exact numbers but I estimate 20 agents per SMC required and 100 agents per GRC required. PAP can fill all these posts easily with PAP members, RCs, CCCs etc. Opposition need volunteers.

I can understand why people don't volunteer because I myself can't. Me and my wife will certainly vote for CST if he comes to B-TP. However, if I volunteer I'll have endless rounds of hell from my mother-in-law.

useless asshole! why u bother ur mother in law so much? knn, pui!!!:oIo:

konstandy

i think u miss the point: it's not the language tat matters but the content!!

he spoke in chinese maybe to appeal to heartlanders: nothing wrong with tat.

he can't speak in all 4 languages just to appeal to all races ... btw i believe u r just racist!! i'm bad in my chinese but i can relate to him

i really admire this opp's passion and his down to earth attitude... something all PAP & most s'poreans lack - just like the stupid blangah tat criticize him here!!

nayr69sg

Staff member
Telok Blangah is the slum of Singapore. There you will find the poorest people. Many homeless.