• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The reason behind the 24hr Cooling Off Period

IR123

Its very funny how some people expect the opposition to explain how they will do a better job :eek:

Except for the 2 oppositions wards there aren't any opposition who've had a chance to show what they can do.

However lets look at what the PAP has done:

Paid themselves better than world class salaries.
Never accepted any responsibility for their numerous failures.
Lost billions & billions of our money without any regrets. Increased costs in Spore. Messed up the education & future of future generations,...

If Sporeans continue to support the PAP they will be dragged down with the PAP.

And you have said exactly what the oppositions would say.

The results of each election will remain the same.

The politics of dissatisfaction without the need to show evidence of their competence will lead to more futile years for the opposition. Elected oppositions included.

Let all of us support the opposition. Believe the Oppositions will have good results. By believing, we have already won half the battle. Dun forget to donate some money for the oppositions prior to their campaign as well.

Some people want the opposition to proof they can do a better job. :eek:

Has anyone in GCT, LKY, LHL..ward even seen these jokers outside of the general elections :confused: Why are people attacking their PAP MPs :confused:

Compare this to the 2 opposition wards. Obviously they must be doing a good job since they have been re-elected numerous times :rolleyes:

And you have said exactly what the oppositions would say.

The results of each election will remain the same.

The politics of dissatisfaction without the need to show evidence of their competence will lead to more futile years for the opposition. Elected oppositions included.

So what is the solution :confused:

Vote for PAP & get more promises of a Swiss Standard lifestyle :eek:

Look at what the PAP is doing e.g. wage dumping, increasing the cost of public transport, increasing the price of utlities, loosing billions,...

Voting for opposition is about putting in place a check & balance to the PAP. That's what many Sporeans like you failed to understand :rolleyes:

For 40 years many Sporeans have used the same excuse not to vote for the opposition, aka opposition not good enough lah. Look at what this has created, the PAP monster.

ccchia

Let's face it, Sinkapore is actually run by the civil servants. Most of the recent PAPpy policies have been mistakes or failures anyway. Even old man Lee has admitted that the country can be run by any bunch of fools in the government, including PM and the President.

It will be no difference for Sinkapore whether alternate party or PAPpy is in power in the government of the little red dot. Perhaps the army will be called out by the old man to stage a coup if the PAPpy loses, and the Lee Fascist dictatorship will eventually be overthrown by the peasants over time.

For decades they used SPH Research Dept ( the same dept that housed new or budding MPs such Irene, Viswa, Tarmuggi and dozen others). The same department also did focus and general surveys for their political masters.

They moved in 2004 towards academia and private agencies. Koh Buck Song ex-SPH was roped in for that purpose and I think Hill and Knowlton were one such entity that were involved.

My understanding is that SPH Research will handle quality of views but the external agency will do the numbers such as profiling, trend analysis and predictive modelling. HDB data is a major feed.

P65 was identified prior to 2006 as a major issue. P65 feel correctly that the PAP does not engage them or treat them as equals. They are also more confident and worldly. Silly things like ballot papers with serial numbers don't bother them as much as old folks. They are also likely to give underdogs the benefit of a doubt and anyone running against the PAP is an underdog. The PAP realised that P65 cannot be shifted by rhetoric and pressure just as old man found out from Ken Kwek, Jamie Han, the other lady at the forum and the Reuters young lady. Thats the reason why 18 seats were offered so generously. Its a safety value. Hopefully the P65 cohort will treat it as false dawn.

Dear Scroobal,

My intelligence tell me that an independent market research firm has been engaged to carry out poll on the ground. I guess this is necessary for redrawing of the boundaries.

The P65 factor is seriously studied into and I am also studying into it as well. I have come up with a breakdown of P65 percentage for each districts and it is pretty interesting. My analysis is that they are really the swing voters.

Goh Meng Seng

You are very right about forecasting. Its has proved to be accurate in western democracies. Not sure if it is the same in Singapore as info/data is not freely available and redrawn boundaries/precints are released too late to make a meaningful result. In western democracies, neighbourhood profiles are very much income weighted. The lean to republican/tories or vice versa are pretty easy to surmise. Not say 85% of Singaporeans. Not sure if Tampines can be termed a rich suburb compared to Hougang or Telok Blangah. Why you think PAP loves controlling the housing needs of 85% of Singaporeans. I am sure old man does not love us that much.

This is how 48 hrs for big rally sites are supposed to work. 2nd last day before the polls major opposition rallies with huge turnout. The next day is blackout(cooling off period). Picture of rallies cannot be released.

Despite the obtsacles and last minute queue and booking requirements at Cantonment, the PAP was surprised by the turnout.

Well political forecasting if done well and if done correctly tends to be quite accurate. A matter of scale accurate demographics and money.

Announcement of rally sites 48 hrs whatever beforehand has no effect on the opposition because traditionally the opposition has not had the resources to camp outside police stations to get the best sites. Its a question of how bad they make choice B :_))

Locke

Actually its closer to 60% that tend to make up their mind. 30% for the incumbent and 30% against the incumbent - absolutely rigid in their views. That leaves 40% of swing voters who tend to be swayed by issues and driven by content. As the campaign draws to a close, the 40% will begin the firming process.

In a marginal seat, the swings can be crucial. And typically its comes to down to a few seats or a very small % of contested seats. For the PAP, the lost of one more seat means a major setup, a very poor reflection of the current PM and a huge victory for the opposition.

The 24 hr cooling off period is to stop negative and undesirable info circulating that might swing votes in those crucial seats. For the opposition, the 24 hr is not going to make a difference but for the PAP, its massive plus to have that cooling period.

Imagine a well crafted article complete with photos by Alex Au, demolishing to smitereens a highly biased and parochial summary by the Chief Political Prostitute of SPH (do expect one on the last day). Imagine that the article by Alex has carriage with comments coming, in spreading like wildfire. And who are the likely receipient and the most likely to forward. Not your mum and dad but the P65 set of voters which are likely to go for the underdog.

80% or higher of peasants have already long made up their mind who to vote for long before the GE started.

No matter what PAP or Oppositions say or manipulate, those 80%+ are not going to change their decisions.

Actually his usage is correct.

Any analysis, forecast or opinion must be predicated on a reasonable premise or at least on a remotely plausible premise.

In simple terms, you worried about how to cook fish curry when you have no plans to catch to fish or know even how to catch fish. Believe me, contrary to what you stated, the parents of a poor student will worry more about passing the Pri 3 exams. They would not even wonder about Pri 4 or even PSLE. The parents of a good student will wondering if they have enough money to choose to between Yale or Oxford. Because the good results indicate a strong direction that eventually has to be addressed.

You're not using anecdotes correctly. I didn't say the opposition should be worried about forming the govt when they have not won a seat.

A Pri 3 doesn't have to worry about PSLE, but they have to worry about Pri 3 exams. And they have to concentrate and practise hard. You're now echoing my points.

Nah, I don't think you are anybody. Dr. Chee is also regarded as Leader of opposition by foreigners. You could even pick Kenneth JB because he is the upcoming star as opposition leader of Reform Party. So pick your choice. I am just a little player in opposition politics, nothing to that great status you want me to be. In fact, from the Chinese mindset, who am I to make such a great move? I mean there are many distinguished leaders of opposition parties around! :wink:

But to me, I regard LTK at present, as the leader of opposition because he is an MP with another NCMP from his party in parliament. So, you should go and pester him! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

I don't understand why the oppo does not make better use of technology to promote its point of view. I am thinking in particular websites like Youtube. Why does not the oppo start its own Youtube "Channel" and put material on there. I am sure as you know, many oppo questions during parliamentary sessions are ignored in the press, and publicised. If the oppo or representatives of the oppo were to broadcast the questions that they asked, and the resulting PAP answers, I am sure that will be an eyeopener for many people. Same too for their party platform, etc. Same for SMS and things like that. Most people will not go to a oppo website, but they will go on Youtube, and other such public sites.

plec140

1) The same thing happened Last Election, all talk in forums this time got chance,big crowd in hougang , at the end PAP win 66%.

2) The problem is not PAP , the problem is singaporeans ;All talk . When it really matters they would rather have someone else do it.The people deserve the government they get.

Only 33% of the eligible singaporeans actually cast their votes for the PAP. Formi GRC is major obtacles. Try getting $65K to put down as deposit for 5 man GRC and $78K for 6 man team.

This does not take account, campaign expenses, posters, transport etc.

Trying taking part in a football game without football boots.

1) The same thing happened Last Election, all talk in forums this time got chance,big crowd in hougang , at the end PAP win 66%.

2) The problem is not PAP , the problem is singaporeans ;All talk . When it really matters they would rather have someone else do it.The people deserve the government they get.

All PAP MPs have to contribute % of their salary/allowance to PAP. Ministers and political appt hoilders have a higher %. The People Association which is a statutory board is defacto PAP arm organising grassroots leaders who are in the main PAP and YPAP members. The expesnes come from tax payers. Why you thionk that minister salaries are higher.

Where you think NSP going to get money from? Collecting $13K plus is already a heartache.

I don't understand why the oppo does not make better use of technology to promote its point of view. I am thinking in particular websites like Youtube. Why does not the oppo start its own Youtube "Channel" and put material on there. I am sure as you know, many oppo questions during parliamentary sessions are ignored in the press, and publicised. If the oppo or representatives of the oppo were to broadcast the questions that they asked, and the resulting PAP answers, I am sure that will be an eyeopener for many people. Same too for their party platform, etc. Same for SMS and things like that. Most people will not go to a oppo website, but they will go on Youtube, and other such public sites.

HTOLAS

Indeed. Someday, though, the PAPzis conditioning will wear off and you will make the right choice.

I was one of them there in the stadium, chanting and waving workers party flag..the next day I vote for PAP

SotongMee

Elites only give peasants a C.O.P., or Cooling Off Period, when you know that they are very very HOT headed, angry and ready to get even with you.

The first question that political pundits would have asked themselves is - what prompted such a bizarre rule? Clearly it must be important for the PAP or even critical for them to have it implemented having taken the meaning of gerrymandering to the extreme, having introduced undemocratic features such as the GRC etc. Why this? This is party that believes in having quick elections at short ntoice without the opportunity to ponder and think. So why the need to ponder and think.

So the search began. Quick phone calls which was basically futile because the guys in the know seemed to be surprised as well. And the answers always seem to come after a late night supper.

Apparently the adage - a picture paints a thousand words has sent shivers down the spine of the PAP. The photos of the Hougang Rally where the crowd overflowed with stairways and corridors of neighbouring HDB blocks completely occupied was quite telling in comparison to less attended PAP rallies. SPH never carried those pictures.

The fear that Alex might again capture the mood to the detriment of the PAP is indeed a fearful thought. Add that ramping up of opposition inclined blogs and forums that we carry content about Temasek mismanagement, so called independent candidates who are associates of PAP or proxies etc. Thus the pre-emptive mood.

Don't be surprised if Singtel which managed the links does a 24 hr takedown of external based sites which cannot be marsalled by local laws.

ps. the new elections rally sites will also be interesting.

Elites only give peasants a C.O.P., or Cooling Off Period, when you know that they are very very HOT headed, angry and ready to get even with you.

u r referring to SDP, aren't u?

whether is there a cooling day or not, SDP is going to lose real bad.:smile:

youallhumsup

whether is there a cooling day or not,

lanjiao sucking unemployed parasite old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, betrayer, all rolled into one!

you stole temple donation money and the chief monk told you to fuck off!

you bashed your 80 y.o.father until bloody when he threw away your gay porn!

you called your mother LAUCHEEBYE when she reprimanded you for doing fuck all at home except prostituting yourself round-the-clock in cyberspace!

you also stole handphones and claimed that handphones waved at you!

you steal others forum password!

you tried to con a forummer's property!

you tried to con the same person to include your name in his will when he discovered you tried to con his property!

you cursed an old man at his death bed!

you tried to con laukwayboos but you end up only con some free makan!

someone just mentioned this:

Originally Posted by SotongMee

inevitably, SDP shall lose even badder but now they got themselves another reason to blame for their anticipated defeat.

they shall claim that if not for the "cooling period", they should ve won a couple of seats.

that's SDP! honglim speakers' corner is also a "credit" due to their frequent public ranting. when dried up gekko mati, it should be also their credit too! their incessant ranting cause her demise. THAT'S SDP!!:biggrin:

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

The data is available. The PAP keeps track of precint by precint vote counts as much as the opposition does. Data from Precint Vote counts can be fine tuned with demographic surveys, and localized polling sentiment. Technically the same voter with the same income and age group should be the same whether he is in Jurong, Sembawang or AMK.

Practically as the opposition on the ground knows and does the PAP with greater statistical certainty because of greater resources, the local popularity or not of a particular MP affects the voting pattern as issues such as race and dialect group

The cooling period is meant to stop or put a halt to opposition momentum. Mt own refrain and belief has been that you need to get the people angry enough to VOTE against the PAP

Locke

youallhumsup

someone just mentioned this:

Bastard son Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

You good-for-nothing jobless unmarried lazy sadfuck, why don't you go and get a job instead of lazing at home all day surfing the net, indulging in your own world of fantasy, creating trouble for people, and stirring shit among opposition supporters. Aren't you ashame of yourself, a pathological liar who beat your father and scold your mother laucheebye, and yet shamelessly demand pocket money from them. It is better off that you die as early as possible to release your parents from suffering further!
:mad::oIo:

1)
The problem is not PAP , the problem is singaporeans ;All talk . When it really matters they would rather have someone else do it.The people deserve the government they get.

PAP has done a good job in-doctrinating Sporeans with PAP propaganda.

For years those who didn't believe the PAP truth have left Spore, leaving behind mostly believers.

However there is now a new generation of disbelievers who are struggling: those who have lost their job, can't find a job, stuck in marginal jobs,... , victims of PAP policy.

When there are enough hungry Sporeans out there to question the PAP truth, you'll have people waking up & kicking out some MPs.

Sporeans are a selfish lot & when you threaten their rice bowl, watch out.