• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the authentic hawker foods of the retro past

i m an ardent foodie and i shall start an authentic food thread to share with everyone. hopefully, this time, the petty envious screwball won't delete the thread like that last time when i posted chinatown hawker foods.

MEE REBUS

let's start with this traditional malay food which i used to relish.

the one that i had long before your fatiher's time was superb! its soup base was from sweet potato, beef bones and power punched spices like tumeric, lemongrass etc.

there were also beef strips and tripes that went with the mee rebus.

the whole dish was garnished with lots of crunchy green chillies, fragrantly fried crispy shallots and a flaky fried shrimps that top it all.

while writing this, i m drooling away and i think my saliva just wetted my keyboard.:D:p

mee siam definitely MAI HUM! type

it's obvious pinky hasn't really tasted laymen's foods. where the hell u get meesiam with hums? what a stupid idiotic revelation!!

the oldie meesiam (mai hum, hor) was a very simple and hearty healthy meal. its soup is none other tamarind which is a sourish fruits commonly grown here. this fruit is packed with vitamin C for your info. other ingredients that go with this food would be hay bee or the dried shrimps. then there is the chilli paste, sugar, salt and etc.

many only know about the wet meesiam, i.e, the one where u slurp the sourish spicy gravy. how many have tried the "dried" peranankan version mee siam?

then there is also a difference between the indian meesiam and the traditional malay one. the former beehoon doesn't incorporate the towgay which the latter adds generously for the crunchiness. again, the indian styled meesiam is sweeter while the malay one is generally lot more sour and spicier.

for malay traditional meesiam, the retro version is usually topped off with chopped chives, fried tofu cubes and a good solid chilli paste and a half-sliced lime for the extra sourish oomp!!

i m an ardent foodie and i shall start an authentic food thread to share with everyone. hopefully, this time, the petty envious screwball won't delete the thread like that last time when i posted chinatown hawker foods.

MEE REBUS

let's start with this traditional malay food which i used to relish.

the one that i had long before your fatiher's time was superb! its soup base was from sweet potato, beef bones and power punched spices like tumeric, lemongrass etc.

there were also beef strips and tripes that went with the mee rebus.

the whole dish was garnished with lots of crunchy green chillies, fragrantly fried crispy shallots and a flaky fried shrimps that top it all.

while writing this, i m drooling away and i think my saliva just wetted my keyboard.:D:p

Haig Road hawker Centre Malay stalls still serve very tasty Mee Rebus. I think only $2.

..and do not forget to Visit that corner Yong Tau Fu staLL near the toiLet where i recons it's One
of the Best around !!..;)

..and do not forget to Visit that corner Yong Tau Fu staLL near the toiLet where i recons it's One
of the Best around !!..;)

Bro, wait till you try the real Hakka YTF at Circuit Road Hawker or Beach Road, you will realise that the Haig Road one is only so so.

OKay; but when you mentioned it's Hakka, does the paste come with a mix of fish+pork geL ?..then that wouLd be
trueLy Authentic Hakka..

OKay; but when you mentioned it's Hakka, does the paste come with a mix of fish+pork geL ?..then that wouLd be
trueLy Authentic Hakka..

Yes, paste Pork and/or Fish.

They serve the noodle with mince meat. Even when you just eat the noodle and mince meat without the YTF, it is already very good.

Yes, paste Pork and/or Fish.

They serve the noodle with mince meat. Even when you just eat the noodle and mince meat without the YTF, it is already very good.

It not fish or pork. It has to be fish plus pork to be authentic hakka.

does it have to be doused with gravy? dry noodles with mince meat or rice and soup serve separate....this authentic hakka?

i only eat the chinese mutton 'kambing' soup in haig rd. that is the nicest around. the meat is succulent and the soup is just right, a lil herbal but not overpowering. Btw, fuck tonychat, coz he too pussy to eat meat. Yet got so many comments about meateaters.

breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

you cha kuey or youtiao used to be the staple breakfast food. it goes well by dipping in kopi, milo and best with soya milk.

youtiao is such a universal tradtional chinese food. u can add it into your rojak or chok. eat it either way, it's heavenly!

then when it's used to wrap cuttlefish paste, deepfried and dipped into hay kor (fermented dark prawn paste). it's so sinfully good!

Re: breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

lianbeng replies leetahbar: 1 picture speaks 1000 words! :D woo pigcher boh?

This stall in Ghim Moh market is bestest I must say. Be prepared to queue but surely no regret.

The_Hakka_Yong_Tau_Fu_Homerecipe_Stall_.JPG

Used to down like 5 packets of the nasi lemak in toa payoh swimming pool complex after every swimming session back in primary school, cost 15cents a pack! Nobody makes the chilli sambal like they do anymore!

Wonder if the place is still the same or still around?

Used to down like 5 packets of the nasi lemak in toa payoh swimming pool complex after every swimming session back in primary school, cost 15cents a pack! Nobody makes the chilli sambal like they do anymore!

Wonder if the place is still the same or still around?
I dun know but can make a good guess.
TPY pool renovated many times currently is of FINA standards to host world class events.
Humble nasi lemak stall? More likely than not gone liao.......even if they wanted to stay the sky high rentals would have forced them out of business.

Re: breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

you cha kuey or youtiao used to be the staple breakfast food. it goes well by dipping in kopi, milo and best with soya milk.

youtiao is such a universal tradtional chinese food. u can add it into your rojak or chok. eat it either way, it's heavenly!

then when it's used to wrap cuttlefish paste, deepfried and dipped into hay kor (fermented dark prawn paste). it's so sinfully good!

Indeed char kuay teow is universal chink food......HK, Taiwan, china chinks eat them.....
About the evolved version with fish/cuttlefish paste.......i went to pasar malam and the malays are also selling this......in addition to the hay kor....they add mayo somemore.