• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The art of ordering economical rice 杂菜饭

usd 7.95. if i cook on my own, it will be usd 1.25. please don't complain hawker food in sg is too expensive.

I've lived in Canada & its always cheaper to go to the local Safeway supermarket since there's not gst charged for groceries, medicines, school supplies,..

Pay is also higher in US/Canada

Looking at the photos there's more ingredients & quantity than what you get in Spore.

If you compare the prices in Malaysia, Indonesia, LOS to Spore. Spore prices are getting out of hand.

I've lived in Canada & its always cheaper to go to the local Safeway supermarket since there's not gst charged for groceries, medicines, school supplies,..

Looking at the photos there's more ingredients & quantity than what you get in Spore.

If you compare the prices in Malaysia, Indonesia, LOS to Spore. Spore prices are getting out of hand.

the char kway teow in the pic can feed two to three adults. the serving spoon is huge compared to an ordinary tablespoon.

In Spore a plate of char kway teow still leaves me hungry :(

Need at least 2 plates to satisfy my hunger. :eek:

Don't know how long since you've eaten in Spore but it's getting bad. Many hawker stalls are closing shop because of the rental hikes. The survivors have to make adjustment to their portions.

Sigh, just as well that I have health problems. The quality of hawker food isn't what it used to be, this helps me keep me my diet :)

I don't quite like Asian Food in USA.

It is often salty and oily. I believe a lot of msg is added and also most of their food is stir-fried.

The portion is however very large and you can have many servings of rice.

sambal fish served on banana leaf in san jose, california...

l

Just had this dish for lunch :p slurp! + rice and tempah = SGD$8.50

How much do you have to pay in San Jose? :rolleyes:

I actually sympathise with these feelings :(

If this was an isolated price hike, I'm sure there would only be isolated complaints, but this is part of a systematic price hikes caused by the PAP. They've increased the cost of power, public transport, rentals,.....

Remember that the root cause of the price hikes is the PAP .

True, it is the PAP fucking things up here.

But if you are struggling to even pay the above-mentioned, you should NEVER buy a car to add more loans and liabilities.

Too bad, most of the younger generation are more interested in looking rich externally than to be rich with some to spare.

wahlaneh...
another case of "jia ba boh sai pang" (eat full no shit to put).
$2 chap chye png cheap cheap also tokcok so much.

Where got $2 chap chye png anymore? The cheapest stall selling chap chye png in sinkapore charge $2.20....... dun tink u can find anywhere cheaper than this liao. :mad:

I heard the temple in Kim Yam road which provides free food now charges $0.50 cents for the styrfoam boxes if you want to tapao the food...... is it true? anyone can confirm?

Where got $2 chap chye png anymore? The cheapest stall selling chap chye png in sinkapore charge $2.20....... dun tink u can find anywhere cheaper than this liao. :mad:

I heard the temple in Kim Yam road which provides free food now charges $0.50 cents for the styrfoam boxes if you want to tapao the food...... is it true? anyone can confirm?

Singapore Buddhist Lodge does not allow the tapao-ing of food away from the temple. Must eat there.

My place got. S$1.80 also can. Rice S$0.30, veggie S$0.50, meat S$1.00 = S$1.80. That's the minimum order (rice + 1 veggie + 1 meat). If you want upsize rice, that S$0.50. If you want whole fish, that's S$2.00. Coffeeshop somemore, not even hawker centre. Very reasonable and delicious. Run by three Malaysian FTs. This type of FTs, welcome anytime.

True, it is the PAP fucking things up here.

But if you are struggling to even pay the above-mentioned, you should NEVER buy a car to add more loans and liabilities.

Too bad, most of the younger generation are more interested in looking rich externally than to be rich with some to spare.

Fortunately I'm not struggling, but I remember the good old days. Always had trouble deciding where & what to eat because got so much choice :)

When I see what is available today & what they are charging for it I just shake my head & wait until I'm out of the country to break my diet :)

Singapore Buddhist Lodge does not allow the tapao-ing of food away from the temple. Must eat there.

I've never ever eaten at these budhist loadges before. Is the food good any good :confused:

Is it worthwhile visiting them to try their offerings?

I don't quite like Asian Food in USA.

It is often salty and oily. I believe a lot of msg is added and also most of their food is stir-fried.

The portion is however very large and you can have many servings of rice.

Actually depends on where you you are eating "Chinese food" In Edmonton there are many chinese restaurants which serve westernised chinese food :D
Many were started by ex-students :D

You have to go to places like Calgary & Toronto for authentic chinese food.
Many places in Canada will leave out the MSG because their angmo patrons are not used to it.

One of the worst places to have chinese food is in London. I tried a cheap chinese place & it was bad :eek: It was the worst "chinese" food I ever had :eek::eek:

I've never ever eaten at these budhist loadges before. Is the food good any good :confused:

Is it worthwhile visiting them to try their offerings?

Not bad in taste actually, better than many half-past-six hawkers. This is usually because they use volunteers who are homecooking aunties and uncles. Serious traditional home culinary skills except on a larger scale.

But limited in variety since confined to veggies. Usually fried beehoon or porridge, stewed or curried mix veggies. Red/green bean soup and fruits for dessert. The Taoist temples do serve mild non-veggies like fishcakes as optional sidedishes. Although Taoist believers have no vegetarian restriction strictly, many do practise vegetarianism on 1st and 15th every lunar month. So their foods are also heavy on the veggie side.

I'm not a Buddhist or Taoist, temple donor or freeloader. I got to experience all these as volunteer tourleader for old folks temple tours.

In the Land of Typhoon:

蔥油雞 or 三杯雞 plus 三樣菜
plus free flow soup of the day
plus free flow syrup drinks

only TWD60 = SGD 2.60

In Land of Lies:

煮炒 in restaurant with aircon

45 baht for any main dish
10 baht for rice
60 baht for Tom Yam Soup (2 person's share)

In the Land of Typhoon:

蔥油雞 or 三杯雞 plus 三樣菜
plus free flow soup of the day
plus free flow syrup drinks

only TWD60 = SGD 2.60

In Land of Lies:

煮炒 in restaurant with aircon

45 baht for any main dish
10 baht for rice
60 baht for Tom Yam Soup (2 person's share)

In the land of MUIS Halal logo, hawker centre no aircon, don't even have doors:

Rice plain : S$0.50 up
Rice bryani : S$1.00 up
Any veggie : S$1.00 up
Any meat : S$2.00 up

Mee rebus (boiled mee with one egg, a sprinkle of beancurd bits and gravy) : S$2.50
Mee siam (boiled beehoon with one egg, a sprinkle of beancurd bits and gravy) : S$2.50
Mee goreng (fried mee with one egg, a sprinkle of potato bits and 2 slices of cucumber) : S$3.00
Nasi goreng (fried rice with one egg, a sprinkle of potato bits and 2 slices of cucumber) : S$3.00

Wonder how the Muslims survive since they can't eat non-halal foods and are supposedly mostly in lower income brackets.

Not bad in taste actually, better than many half-past-six hawkers. This is usually because they use volunteers who are homecooking aunties and uncles. Serious traditional home culinary skills except on a larger scale.

But limited in variety since confined to veggies. Usually fried beehoon or porridge, stewed or curried mix veggies. Red/green bean soup and fruits for dessert. The Taoist temples do serve mild non-veggies like fishcakes as optional sidedishes. Although Taoist believers have no vegetarian restriction strictly, many do practise vegetarianism on 1st and 15th every lunar month. So their foods are also heavy on the veggie side.

I'm not a Buddhist or Taoist, temple donor or freeloader. I got to experience all these as volunteer tourleader for old folks temple tours.

The last i went for free makan was more than a year ago. I like their "chicken rice", veg and the pumpkin soup. Hope to visit there again.:rolleyes:

Sounds like delicious & healthy fare. May soon be the only decent places left to eat in Spore :rolleyes: