• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The art of ordering economical rice 杂菜饭

This is what we nornally call "keng ga liao"!

One Up to TS!

Overeat is bad for health. Just order lah. Why keng so much?

this is getting bad......nowadays even ordering food has to strategize

Initially thought this was an amusing thread but...

it's shows how bad things are getting in Spore:(

While I was in the hospital, whenever there was a spare tray of food, the nurses were so happy to have something extra for lunch :eek:

Typical sinkie cb. Peering over the food, always trying to get fresh with the stall holder while the queue gets longer. Then the cb digs into her coin purse, hunting for one cents coins while the queue gets even longer. Its a freaking $2.20 meal if you go to Toa Payoh Lor 7. One plate of rice with 2 veges and 2 meat. Even ah peks there don't bother to tipu extra servings, preferring to oggle at the sluts from the nearby real estate firm wearing miniskirts with 7 inch heels.

Overeat is bad for health. Just order lah. Why keng so much?

Exactly. I've banned Malay/Indian rice already. They more steady profity than Chinese. I ordered plain (not bryani) rice, pointed at curry mutton and achar (i.e. one rice, one meat, one veggie), guess how much? S$5! I asked them break down the price item-by-item. No problem, they replied very smoothly, rice S$0.50, achar S$1.50 and mutton S$3.00.

To be fair to them, they were big-scoop portions; looked enough to feed a fat pig or make a skinny pig fat. I said, I don't want so much achar and mutton. S$0.50 achar and S$1.00 mutton, boleh? Tak boleh, they said, scooped out already cannot return back to pots or trays. Fair enough too.

I said next time, please ask customers how much they want first before scooping too much. They said, no need. This is minimum; can add somemore but cannot buy less; don't sell less than that per serving.

There was no way I could finish that in one lunch sitting but anyway, I've diplomatically made my point. I close my case by saying, alright then, bungkus it. I paid up and gave the pack to two banglas who happened to be around my block area for that few days with lift upgrading works.

I went home and cooked myself a can of Campbell's soup.

Exactly. I've banned Malay/Indian rice already. They more steady profity than Chinese. I ordered plain (not bryani) rice, pointed at curry mutton and achar (i.e. one rice, one meat, one veggie), guess how much? S$5! I asked them break down the price item-by-item. No problem, they replied very smoothly, rice S$0.50, achar S$1.50 and mutton S$3.00.

if you want to cut costs, you should just have ordered the big portion $3 mutton. You can then go home and cook rice in the microwave to save $0.50. For veggies, you could have just dropped by the supermarket to buy something like baby dou miao to go with the meal.

Aiyo why not just buy bread for $1.50 and eat one week?

You missed the point. It's not about cutting cost. It's about minimum order. Some Chinese hawkers practise that too, most notably yongtowfoo stalls requiring 7 or 8 pieces minimum per serving. Are they simply profit crazy or in conspiracy to promote obesity, heart disease and diabetes?

Aiyo why not just buy bread for $1.50 and eat one week?

Actually I know a very nice recipe for tuna sandwich spread with oil and vinegar dressing. Add some cucumber, tomato and you can spend less than $1 for at least 4 meals.

If you got more budget, you can add fancy vegetables to get a salad type sandwich which is quite similar in taste to those over priced subway sandwiches.

You missed the point. It's not about cutting cost. It's about minimum order. Some Chinese hawkers practise that too, most notably yongtowfoo stalls requiring 7 or 8 pieces minimum per serving. Are they simply profit crazy or in conspiracy to promote obesity, heart disease and diabetes?

I know what you mean. I am suggesting how you can leverage on this if you are buying food home to eat. Their business model involves you buying and eating excessively large portions. You can take advantage and lower your food bill by buying the big portion home and eating it based on your needs.

Another example - the girls in my office frequently buy 2 packets of food from a Chinese rice seller who uses a similar tactic. Back at the office, they split it among 3 of them so that the per unit cost for lunch is cheaper than buying 3 small packets of food.

wonderful tips. very useful in bad times :D

In Sickapoor all the stupid text "Economical Rice " should be REMOVED!!!
MAny years ago this text economical was relevant! today they charged $3.30
KOPI TIAM where's economical???

If in JB I believe so you take what you want buffet style, stall owner chagre accordingly to what u take, Rm4.00 - Rm5.00!! with large portion till u can't finish!

2 week ago I bought economoney rice at Rivervale Mall, I pointed to pork ribs,
that stupid woman took 2 pieces, I can't even eat it b'cos the 2 pcs was BONE only!!! Eco No Money rice at $3.30 with 2 pcs of PIG BONE!!! Not ribs with meat???

In Sickapoor all the stupid text "Economical Rice " should be REMOVED!!!
MAny years ago this text economical was relevant! today they charged $3.30
KOPI TIAM where's economical???

Economical rice means good for economy GDP! :D

2 week ago I bought economoney rice at Rivervale Mall, I pointed to pork ribs,
that stupid woman took 2 pieces, I can't even eat it b'cos the 2 pcs was BONE only!!! Eco No Money rice at $3.30 with 2 pcs of PIG BONE!!! Not ribs with meat???

Are you sure you didn't order wrongly at the dog food section? :eek:

Exactly. I've banned Malay/Indian rice already.QUOTE]

i hate those ah neh mamak. they jus like to carrot the chinese... one time order 1 teh peng. ccb $1.50. hawker centre price. ccb. neh mind.. but taste like milk water..

knnbccb never order drinks from those mamak..

Another example - the girls in my office frequently buy 2 packets of food from a Chinese rice seller who uses a similar tactic. Back at the office, they split it among 3 of them so that the per unit cost for lunch is cheaper than buying 3 small packets of food.

Swiss standard of living!!!

kheng siao kheng pee, if can finish ok. after chiak beoh liao throw away! pak sng wtf?!

Exactly. I've banned Malay/Indian rice already.QUOTE]

i hate those ah neh mamak. they jus like to carrot the chinese... one time order 1 teh peng. ccb $1.50. hawker centre price. ccb. neh mind.. but taste like milk water..

knnbccb never order drinks from those mamak..

knnbccb and if a chinese did that to a shit skin mamak it's racism but it's okay if they do it.

Swiss standard of living!!!

In the 80s and 90s, I don't remember Singaporeans havning to resort to such measures to save money. With the widening income gap, 7% GST and most of your monthly income gone to pay for your "subsidised" HDB flat, this is becoming the norm rather than the exception.

Swiss standard of living, More good years ~pui