• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Kin Lian - An Opportunist? Let see the Facts

Airlib

No doubt that TKL is just all talk only... Sounds like a cannon trying to impress the people by saying he can do wonders....
Gosh... Haven't even get the qualify cert already talk so much...

The thing that irks me most about TKL is the fact that he previously wanted to have a signed petition from voters before he decided to stand for election. More so than his past connections with pap and subsequent turnaround.

If he had courage and respect for voters' choices, he wouldn't ask for a pre-election petition to ascertain his popularity. Just step forward and stand, and let the people decide. No pun intended, but it was akin to buying insurance.

bhoven

The thing that irks me most about TKL is the fact that he previously wanted to have a signed petition from voters before he decided to stand for election. More so than his past connections with pap and subsequent turnaround.

If he had courage and respect for voters' choices, he wouldn't ask for a pre-election petition to ascertain his popularity. Just step forward and stand, and let the people decide. No pun intended, but it was akin to buying insurance.

His cousin Koh Boon Hwee would have advised him not to put his hand up....

Perspective

You are talking as if your Huat ah is so naive! Well, did your Huat ah know that he and Tan Kin Lian are going to Elections Department to collect the forms together?

Goh Meng Seng

You go support the "maverick" Tan Kin Lian all you want. Other things are none of your business.

The issue is not he chap following him or not but that he is with WP. Clearly the chap was naive. Knowing your support, I am sure he would have asked you but you following him has little point as you and NSP and you are already in the bag. So is SDP as they invited him to speak at ralies like NSP. WP kept its distance. There is a pattern of behaviour that by now you should realise. Note how he used Tan Cheng Bock as a proxy to test the votes that a candidate would receive if they perceived to be anti establishment.

You are looking at a master manipulator.

He retired in April 2007. Maybe you list what he did before April 2007 that indicates that he was for the people. Did he make comments about the those struggling in Singapore, the dominance of the PAP in all sectors or even did something for the Insurance sector that benefitted the people.

As I said Tan Cheng Bock was firing away the moment he stepped into parliament. Mind you as a PAP candidate.

You are talking as if your Huat ah is so naive! Well, did your Huat ah know that he and Tan Kin Lian are going to Elections Department to collect the forms together?

Goh Meng Seng

lockeliberal

Dear Scroo

All politicians are opportunists and yes GMS and the rest fall into this category. TKL has been excessively tainted by his association with the PAP. he has even more than Andrew eaten feasted at the pap buffet. The wonder is why the pAp have not started murdering his character etc etc for biting the hand that fed him.

I cannot trust politicians who betray the trust his party has put in him and who paid him to toe the line.

Locke

The issue is not he chap following him or not but that he is with WP. Clearly the chap was naive. Knowing your support, I am sure he would have asked you but you following him has little point as you and NSP and you are already in the bag. So is SDP as they invited him to speak at ralies like NSP. WP kept its distance. There is a pattern of behaviour that by now you should realise. Note how he used Tan Cheng Bock as a proxy to test the votes that a candidate would receive if they perceived to be anti establishment.

He retired in April 2007. Maybe you list what he did before April 2007 that indicates that he was for the people. Did he make comments about the those struggling in Singapore, the dominance of the PAP in all sectors or even did something for the Insurance sector that benefitted the people.

As I said Tan Cheng Bock was firing away the moment he stepped into parliament. Mind you as a PAP candidate.

He was for 30 years the CEO of NTUC. Can you recall a product that was known to be cheaper and better for Singaporean or even for NTUC union members.

Compared him with Bertie Cheng who ran POSB until his retirement in 1997. He is well respected by staff and customers. He pushed for computerisation and demanded ATMs to be placed all over the country. This was against the wishes of the establishment who wanted a convenient and cheap depository for nation building. Evey comment will be laden with the word "customer" until Sr Civil servants began to call him "communist Cheng". He was also ahead of his time. He ensured that all races were represented and they were better groomed than the other local banks.

In 2010, he was recalled back by DBS as they had lost the human touch. If you remember, DBS not only took over but began to take out some of the ATMs.

Here is the story that made their rounds in the financial circle for years. Bertie called up an American Bank and asked why there was interest on his card account. When the staff said that it was due to late payment and offered to take it out as it was the first time that he incurred it, he refused. He said that it was his fault and it was only right that he paid for it. Naturally the staff was amazed as he was CEO POSB.

Both Bertie and TKL were neighbours for years at Bras Basah as they office buildings were next to each other. Yet they were poles apart.

TKL is a by-product of the PAP who is beginning not to be able to keep up with the returning of favours to the dogs who helped maintain their iron grip on Singaporeans.

Agree but this guy manipulates people who consider him as a friend. He operates on a new high level. Did you notice that his comments are quite general unlike Tan Cheng Bock who attacks policies.

Bear in mind we talking about a Branch Secretary of the PAP of an important constituency. We are not talking about ordinary soldier in the German Army during WWII. We are talking about someone holding a leadership position in the SS. You don't fill that position until they have bloodied you. Remember after Viv B impressive maiden speech on fixing the PAP within, they gave him the casino project and he now has blood on his hands. Note how he is more establishment than the rest.

Actually I have not seen the Govt opening up on him. The fact that he is offering to donate much of the salary tells me that this guy is trying to be a cheap populist and demeaning the office of the President. He should just say that the Salary is just too high and will work with Salary Review committee or make a recommendation. The other clown known for donating to a be a populist is old man and his law suits.

I did not want to mention the Branch Secretary role until it became woefully clear that people had assumed that he was like Andrew Loh, who woke up one day and realised that things are clearly wrong.

I cannot trust politicians who betray the trust his party has put in him and who paid him to toe the line.

Locke

Till today he has no clear issues of contention. Just general statement.

No doubt that TKL is just all talk only... Sounds like a cannon trying to imphttp://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://singsupplies.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=751706ress the people by saying he can do wonders....
Gosh... Haven't even get the qualify cert already talk so much...

Same issue as well. This guy has a massive ego. Why would people sign an petition if he had not done anything other than talk in general about being not happy.

Varuna

Very intersting thread! :smile:
凡走过必流痕迹. It goes to show that in the course of one's advancement in his lifetime, whatever he does will leave behind evidence and traces of his doings, be it good or bad. Evidence speaks for itself. :biggrin:

lockeliberal

Scroo

in the immortal words of miss palin. I have gone rougue. His up to 90% donation of salary crap reminds me of the worst investment products touted by banks of " up to x % " interest. Heck he should just say I will donate any amount paid to me above 500,000

Locke

Agree but this guy manipulates people who consider him as a friend. He operates on a new high level. Did you notice that his comments are quite general unlike Tan Cheng Bock who attacks policies.

Bear in mind we talking about a Branch Secretary of the PAP of an important constituency. We are not talking about ordinary soldier in the German Army during WWII. We are talking about someone holding a leadership position in the SS. You don't fill that position until they have bloodied you. Remember after Viv B impressive maiden speech on fixing the PAP within, they gave him the casino project and he now has blood on his hands. Note how he is more establishment than the rest.

Actually I have not seen the Govt opening up on him. The fact that he is offering to donate much of the salary tells me that this guy is trying to be a cheap populist and demeaning the office of the President. He should just say that the Salary is just too high and will work with Salary Review committee or make a recommendation. The other clown known for donating to a be a populist is old man and his law suits.

I did not want to mention the Branch Secretary role until it became woefully clear that people had assumed that he was like Andrew Loh, who woke up one day and realised that things are clearly wrong.

I have no doubt that this guy is smart and as you pointed out the % does wonders on the ignorant something marketeers found out long time ago. His statements and comments clearly create the idea that there is an executive role when there is none. The Custodian bit was the major change. He should be frank and honest about the office. He certainly knows what the role is but has decided that he can manipulated the ignorant and he is going on full speed ahead.

The role requires a sense of respectability. Have not seen anything of that sort for this chap similar to Nathan. Imagine hawking batteries. A true Insurance man. Till today making business referrals for his friends and new acquaintences. Maybe he will hold the first tupperware party in the Istana for those who are struggling.

Scroo

in the immortal words of miss palin. I have gone rougue. His up to 90% donation of salary crap reminds me of the worst investment products touted by banks of " up to x % " interest. Heck he should just say I will donate any amount paid to me above 500,000

Locke

Hans168

This guy from day one was with the PAP. He was appointed as the CEO of NTUC INcome the captive Insurance organisation for all NTUC and Govt associated organisation in 1977. He stepped down from NTUC Income in 2007, 30 years. This was the period where NTUC Income started muscling in and got unprecedented access to army camps and work places that others Insurers did not have. So who provided the access. The govt gave this guy a career and a lifestyle on a silver platter.

Tan was also one of the first cadre members of the PAP and was also the long reigning Branch Secretary of Marine Parade PAP. Those who are not familiar, the position is the highest political ranking for the PAP in a constituency. The only higher is the MP. It was also this reason why all new MP automatically become a PAP cadre member in order to control the Branch secretary. Get this he was elected in 1977 when Chia Thye Poh, Dr Lim Hock Siew and a whole host of people were rotting in prison.

Tan is no ordinary PAP member. He was part of the main machinary. He was already a branch secretary when PAP abuses were growing unabated.

In course of 30 over years, while drawing easy income in view of its captive market, this guy never uttered a single word, never even farted in a wayward way. Even more interesting is that his circle of friends were all establishment figures. An believe me it is common knowledge.

It is also common knowledge when he became disgruntled when it was made known to him that he would not become an MP. He was told this more 15 years ago yet carried on dutifully.

Here is the part where I think we are dealing with a dishonest individual. His campaign on the mini-bonds. His colleagues and those who knew him were surprised as he happily enjoyed the fruit of a regime and did not cast a doubt in accepting them.

Larry Havercamp, a Wharton MBA, and economist and with SMU revealed how NTUC and others in Singapore abused their position in creating many of the instruments including the way they treated unclaimed monies.

Imagine, he retires and suddenly we are looking at Mother Theresa. The fact that he has managed to bring NSP, SDP and WP together and used their names to declare his candidacy shows what an opportunist and manipulator that this guy is. WP which has been cautious unlike SDP and NSP, finally fell into his trap by asking one of the WP senior chaps to collect the nomination forms. Imagine a retiree is too busy to collect nomination forms.

In comparison, Tan Cheng Bock from his first day in office, was screwed by GKS and old man and continued to be screwed during his tenure in office.

Tell me what did he exactly do that Tan Kin Lian before his retirement and after he could no longer milk the establishment office that one thinks as anything close to dissension or even a sensible suggestion to improve the lot of Singaporeans.

Even when he was meeting political activists, he could not help himself and even tried selling torchlights etc.

What is your agenda?

If you wanted GY or TCB to be PE.......... do it the honourable way!

Only cowards resort to poison pen.

Hans168

I had lots of frens who were staunch PAP supporters - RC chairmen; CCC Vice Chair; CCMC too....... some since early secondary school days........ but they finally woke up n in GE 2006 onwards voted the Opposition. Watz wrong in having realised that it was all a mirage and the old PAP is now the same as the current money grabbing one

jesus

Your comment lacks logic. You are comparing apple with orange.

Tan Cheng Bock was a elected MP. Tan Kin Lian was a private citizen in the private sector. To compare the two in terms of public service is simply not apt.

You are not automatically enrolled in PAP when you are born. Its an informed choice.

(1) Of those that have joined, a very small minority have benefitted from the PAP and the system at the expense of the rest of the Country.

(2) An even smaller minority of that minority actually were key party members manipulating imbeciles and morons.

(3) Yet another even smaller minority of the first and second minority actually enjoyed close to 40 years of PAP largesse and retired with nothing else to do. They never said anything during their life of PAP.

Even if you have borderline IQ, you must by now realise that Tan Kin Lian met all the above conditions. Most Singaporeans never even contemplated joining the PAP. Its an informed choice that one makes. I am surprised that you have many friends in PAP.

Welcome, I think we just found the ignorant amongst us.

I had lots of frens who were staunch PAP supporters - RC chairmen; CCC Vice Chair; CCMC too....... some since early secondary school days........ but they finally woke up n in GE 2006 onwards voted the Opposition. Watz wrong in having realised that it was all a mirage and the old PAP is now the same as the current money grabbing one

Gosh I found another one. Tan Kin Lian a private citizen!!!!! Do you know the meaning of a Branch Secretary? It is not a sweet young thing on high heels, short skirt and make-up doing coffee and handling the diary.

The power of a state controlled press. Maybe TOC should run a course on Politics 101.

Your comment lacks logic. You are comparing apple with orange.

Tan Cheng Bock was a elected MP. Tan Kin Lian was a private citizen in the private sector. To compare the two in terms of public service is simply not apt.

kukubird58

hahaha...as if like some new revelations.....
GY (ex-ministar) is still papee member.
TT (ex-dpm) is still papee member, had not heard that he resigned from papee
TCB (ex-mp) just quit papee recently
nathan is incumbent papee dog
tkl - ex branch secretary, told he cannot made mp many (15) ago, resigned from papee a few years ago.

Suddenly tkl is portrayed as the opportunist....like some new revelations.
Forummers, relax lah....if there are some shits in his closets, you can be sure they will be dug up to hang
in public...no need to rely on all these BS revelations by some demi-god.

Why are the rest not considered as opportunists????

jesus

Gosh I found another one. Tan Kin Lian a private citizen!!!!! Do you know the meaning of a Branch Secretary? It is not a sweet young thing on high heels, short skirt and make-up doing coffee and handling the diary.

The power of a state controlled press. Maybe TOC should run a course on Politics 101.

Hahaha, you do realise there is a big distinction between an elected Member of Parliament, and a party branch secretary/cadre/member? One is an official Public Servant, and the other?

You are not making much sense here. Don't muddy facts with poor logic.