on this island, those that r productive r usually penalized by getting more work piled on their desks, while those that r less productive won't get additional work piled on their's. so, unless there is fairness in the assurance of productivity & work efficacy, his plea for ppl to work smart is like farting into the wind.
manager A: i'm salaried to work 8-5, and 5 days weekly, 52 wks in a yr... if i finish my work on time, the regional towkay i'll assign more portfolios for me to handle
manager B: ya lor, if we too garang and become efficient, we will kena more work assigned to us, must think of ways to tuang
manager A: i think i must visit the pantry more often, drink more company funded bevarage means more visits to the toilet
manager B: ooi! y u copy my stunt? i have 7 toilet breaks daily, 1 visit every hr except lunch hr.
manager A: nvm, we can also make our tuanging look legit, we clock 15hrs of meetings in a week lor, 3hrs daily will make us look damn workaholic
manager B: oh ya, u book 3hrs of meetings daily, i book another 3hrs of meetings daily, we only need to pretend to work another 1-2hrs daily!
manager A: haha! after all, we're not the ones clocking the overtime, the workers r the ones that will do the number crunching & give us the reports, so we have stuff to refer to for the next day's meetings.
manager B: then again, maybe our workers will be damn tulan bcos they gotta put in extra hrs
manager A: aiyah, we must human manage la, u spank them using 1 hand, must use the other hand to stroke them la
manager B: u know i dont like to be seen as a slave driver
manager A: aiyoh, think carefully, u're being salaried but idling almost daily, u organize a monthly or fortnightly makan session to boost their morale, best part is, u can claim the bill to company.... in the name of team building. end of the day, u don't pay a thing & is still seen as a good towkay!
manager B: wakao! u're a genious, no wonder your workers hardly go home.
manager A: i learnt it from SAF... bo keng buey chut peng
manager B: cool! let's do this chowkeng plan starting tmr!