• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Support for pap now below 50℅....

In the mini bond saga....alot were mislead by the sales staff particularly those from DBS.
Of course there were also investment savvy ones who claimed misrepresentation...
Not unique to sinkies as HK also had same issues and the hongkies were refunded in full unlike sinkieland.

Didn't woody ask for all investors to be compensated?

Didn't happen though, like most things he asked for.......................... :rolleyes:

the operative phrase is "up to" which the max amount is almost impossible to attain. somebody i know suffer a stroke so now basically bedridden, he have two elderly parents who are 70+ yr old. both parents are taking care of him, your so call excellent govt is giving them $250 a month. he qualify for the max $300 from the eldershield so now $550 per month for 3 grown adults. clap clap..... pap sibeh ho....

PAP safety net looks good on paper. In reality, it is easier to beg than to get the government help.

I_Hate_Pappies

the operative phrase is "up to" which the max amount is almost impossible to attain. somebody i know suffer a stroke so now basically bedridden, he have two elderly parents who are 70+ yr old. both parents are taking care of him, your so call excellent govt is giving them $250 a month. he qualify for the max $300 from the eldershield so now $550 per month for 3 grown adults. clap clap..... pap sibeh ho....

Yes, you are fucking right. The keyword here is up to.

PAP safety net looks good on paper. In reality, it is easier to beg than to get the government help.

That's the way it should be you twit. If everyone was given the maximum amount just by filling in a form, nobody would bother to work anymore. They'd just be sitting on their fat smelly asses collecting government handouts.

If you buy a camera that comes with a guarantee and when you try to make a claim on the guarantee, the manufacturer tells you that you can't because of umpteen reasons that were not mentioned on the guarantee card ...you would applaud the manufacturer?

You are amazing!

If you buy a camera that comes with a guarantee and when you try to make a claim on the guarantee, the manufacturer tells you that you can't because of umpteen reasons that were not mentioned on the guarantee card ...you would applaud the manufacturer?

You are amazing!

You study hard, you go for umpteen interviews and finally land a job which requires that you work like a dog 44 hours a week.

The next day you find out that your neighbor, a primary school dropout, is collecting 4 figure handouts equal to your salary from the government without having to do a stroke of work. He told you that he got it just by filling in a form to declare that he was jobless.

How would you feel? I'm sure you wouldn't find it amazing or amusing. :rolleyes:

You study hard, you go for umpteen interviews and finally land a job which requires that you work like a dog 44 hours a week.

The next day you find out that your neighbor, a primary school dropout, is collecting 4 figure handouts equal to your salary from the government without having to do a stroke of work. He told you that he got it just by filling in a form to declare that he was jobless.

How would you feel? I'm sure you wouldn't find it amazing or amusing. :rolleyes:

I would feel alright because that dropout needed some help and he got it. And it is pure right-wing bs to state that the jobless is getting 4-figure handout ...it is simply not true. The help will just enable the individual to sustain at poverty level existence.

Most people don't choose to be unemployed or to be poor!

cass888

I would feel alright because that dropout needed some help and he got it. And it is pure right-wing bs to state that the jobless is getting 4-figure handout ...it is simply not true. The help will just enable the individual to sustain at poverty level existence.

Most people don't choose to be unemployed or to be poor!

I will not feel alright at all. I am not working to feed some idle fucker.

You should be glad for the Brian Mulrooneys and Mike Harrises of the world.

I will not feel alright at all. I am not working to feed some idle fucker.

You should be glad for the Brian Mulrooneys and Mike Harrises of the world.

But you are not working mah, you are only playing stock market and living off your hubby's pension. :biggrin:

freedalas

It's easy to pass the buck to the government. When I lost money, I could easily have behaved like the losers here and blamed it on the government for not regulating the industry sufficiently and allowing questionable products to be sold.

In fact, this is exactly what the investors in the mini bond saga did. They refused to accept that they had made bad investment decisions and tried to pass the buck to DBS for selling the products. This is typical of the sinkie mentality of not accepting personal responsibility for personal decisions made.

On the other hand, I blamed nobody but myself and learned from the experience. The lessons helped me to avoid similar pitfalls later in life.

You are still talking through your ass. It's obvious that we are not talking about people who made losses with their investments. We are talking about people who are already finding it extremely hard to make ends, so where have the luxury of investing. And the reasons why these people are suffering this way is due to flawed PAP policies that only favor businesses and the already rich.

It's that simple, so don't come here cause distractions with your silly investment experience of which no one has any interest at all. Anyhow, with your kind of dumb analysis of things, it's not surprising you lost money with your so called investments.

You are still talking through your ass. It's obvious that we are not talking about people who made losses with their investments. We are talking about people who are already finding it extremely hard to make ends, so where have the luxury of investing. And the reasons why these people are suffering this way is due to flawed PAP policies that only favor businesses and the already rich.

It's that simple, so don't come here cause distractions with your silly investment experience of which no one has any interest at all. Anyhow, with your kind of dumb analysis of things, it's not surprising you lost money with your so called investments.

You hit the nail, ride on the head!. There are many, whose life is centered on making a living, earning an income, that, put meals on the table, roof over their head, educating their children..what we call the common people!. Many do not even have that extra to put aside..how to have the luxury of investments? maybe, maybe...after working many years, paying for a roof..maybe, maybe, have some savings in CPF to invest...& that is the only money available...

bryanlim1972

They don't make that choice consciously but they make it indirectly from poor life choices

there will always be individuals making poor life choices, regardless of race, language, religion or political affiliation.

how we treat them will reflect the type of society we are.

right now we are cold, hard and unforgiving. its no wonder the young don't want to have children - how could you bear raising kids in such an unforgiving place?

We are talking about people who are already finding it extremely hard to make ends, so where have the luxury of investing. And the reasons why these people are suffering this way is due to flawed PAP policies that only favor businesses and the already rich.

The reasons why there are a few people suffering is because they are dumb and that is not the fault of the government. The majority of Singaporeans are doing very well which shows that the policies of the PAP are excellent.

There is no reason why the government should change its policies to cater for those who are not capable at the expense of those who are intelligent, diligent and hardworking.

Too many countries in the world are dumbing down. The PAP is one of the few governments in the world that look after the highest common factor rather than the lowest common denominator. Hats off to them for having the foresight to get the priorities right.

bryanlim1972

Too many countries in the world are dumbing down. The PAP is one of the few governments in the world that look after the highest common factor rather than the lowest common denominator. Hats off to them for having the foresight to get the priorities right.

how ironic when the HCFs need the least help while the LCDs need the most help.

PAP already paying the price by shifting gears to populism despite all of heng's denials.

The reasons why there are a few people suffering is because they are dumb and that is not the fault of the government. The majority of Singaporeans are doing very well which shows that the policies of the PAP are excellent.

There is no reason why the government should change its policies to cater for those who are not capable at the expense of those who are intelligent, diligent and hardworking.

as much as ppl are dumb (your word, not mine), it the responsible of the govt to give true and fair informations out to the general public regards govt policies and regulations. a lot of time it half true or give ppl high hope when it actually much less. a good example is the "up to" how much a family can get assistance from govt. u and i know it BS but many ppl out there believe the $1400 a month BS, so when they finally apply for it, they become angry when what they finally get is only a faction of the amount.

then there the $8 heart bypass BS and also $1000 salary can buy flat nonsense. Both technically possible but realistically impossible for a normal person to achieve. Many ppl out there count on pap media to give them info to make life long decision but pap media always paint a rosy picture when it actually time to be prudent.

ah leong, i support your belief of no help to ppl who dont help themselves but to also refuse help to those who are physically sick are not right. i have no problem in getting more checks before money are disburse to the real needy. but to give only $250 to an elderly couple who have a bedridden son is pathetic.