• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Support for pap now below 50℅....

I take issue with what you call PAP talent....
Academic nerds who aces exams are talents?
What's the use if pap has Einstein equivalents but these chap are greedy and only aim in office is to make money and not public service.

uncle, they really talented in thinking of new ways to take $$ from our pocket and into their own. liddat not talent meh. i doubt any APs politician can think of so many way to line their lackeys and ownself pockets.

1nottiboy

Your Singlish dam good. so hard to understand your post.

Among my 5 close friends only got one support strong PAP supporter. Another 2 sit on the fence, the other 2 opposition supporters. Among us only one graduate, rest A or O levels ITE, ....the graduate is the most anti-PAP.

The pap supporter always kena teased by us because he always say pap is right...pap is good....pap is caring. We always laugh at him for being brainwashed everything on newspapers also believe. Some more his technician pay only $2K support whole family of wife and 2 children and elderly mom. Okay you may be wondering what has all this to do with the title of this posting. ...bear with me for a while.

His mother became Ill dizzy spell, vomiting, sometimes need to stay hospital 1-2 weeks then discharge. This has be been on and off for last 2yrs doctor can't pin point to one illness but most likely due to deteriorating health resulting from old age. Sometimes can pay from medisave other times pay out of pocket... so in and out of hospital specialist checks ...hospital stay very soon my friend's medisave exhausted. Everything need to pay out of pocket until half his savings gone.

Last long weekend we met up ....he suddenly said to us ..you all know medical in Singapore is very expensive. We all look at him machiam hopeless case...now then he bloody know...always say pap good everything affordable now then he know not true. Think pap compassionate caring heart try to apply medifund so long as you not completey broke they will make you pay.

Like my friend, I think many pple support pap out of ignorance. The moment they encounter various issues themselves then they wake up. Now if you are not rich in Singapore, you are likely to suffer great strain if you get sick, if you need a home, if you lose job or if you become old and cannot retire. Once people realise the pap system is very lopsided against normal pple, they will stop supporting.

So far you look at last election 40% against pap....by early this yr in PE election there is 10% swing against the pap, by now the people opposing pap would have grown due to people just waking up fromignorance.

Next 2016 GGeneral Election there will definitely be possibility of pap losing. However because the wp has said they are not ready to take over and run govt... most likely, fear of govt collapse will be used to force the electorate to reluctantly vote for the pap and continue their rule... it will be a showdown... a game of chicken with the electorate that now mostly oppose the pap

actually as medishield only cover up to $30k and many procedures have limit. i think surgery limit less than $5k. $5k enough to do surgery? get real lah. but i do admit hospitalisation bill after subsidies is not big, class C in ICU less than $50 a day, no problem as long cover by medishield. but there are many procedures not cover subsidies and medishield. Ie, a relative have heart problem so did surgery and have implants into the heart. the implants cost $50k and govt subsidies only $4k. he have a old AIA shield plan which the family believe limit to only $4-5k. So while the hospital stay is being cover by medishield but the implants will hit the family at least $40K. yes... can use medisave but dun forget medisave is technically ownself money. why govt subsidies for hospitalisation is almost 90% but the medical procedure only subsidies less than 10%?

so all you ppl out there please please find out more on your own medical insurance, especially those brought more than 10 years ago. the medical cost had went up thru the roof, so your current medical insurance may not be adquate. please upgrade accordingly, remember pap motto is "u die is your business".

Yes yours is a good case example....
Medisave is own self money....insurance also must buy.
What subsidy? What affordable? Depends on your illness only...dun suay suay kena the 'wrong' type.
Besides you die your business....for poor sinkies it's can afford to die but cannot afford to be sick.

The Singapore government has an excellent system which rewards hard work and innovation. That's the way it should be.

However, there are comprehensive assistance schemes for those who have fallen on hard times too. It's not as if they are just left to rot away. Google for the info. The government assistance programs provide more than enough for the unfortunate citizens who need help.

Public Assistance (PA) Scheme / CDCsPA assists those who are unable to work owing to old age, illness or disability and have no means of subsistence and little or no family support.

• Cash Grants - Monthly cash grants to help with basic living expenses.
  • Medical Assistance - Free treatment at polyclinics and government/ restructured hospitals.
  • Education Assistance - Education assistance for your children to help with schooling expenses.
  • A single elderly recipient living alone gets $400/month.
  • 4-person household will receive up to $1,050/month
  • PA families with children will receive additional assistance of up to $150 per child per month. Hence a household of 4 comprising 2 adults and 2 children may receive a monthly allowance of up to $1,350 per month

<tbody>
</tbody>

the operative phrase is "up to" which the max amount is almost impossible to attain. somebody i know suffer a stroke so now basically bedridden, he have two elderly parents who are 70+ yr old. both parents are taking care of him, your so call excellent govt is giving them $250 a month. he qualify for the max $300 from the eldershield so now $550 per month for 3 grown adults. clap clap..... pap sibeh ho....

Emperor's wise words....

"...however wealthy a nation, it cannot carry health, unemployment and pension benefits without massive taxation and overloading the system, reducing the incentive to work and to save and care for one's family - when all look to the state for welfare...Social and health welfare are like opium or heroin. People get addicted, and withdrawal of welfare benefits is very painful." (Quote: Lee Kuan Yew)

yinyang

medisave but dun forget medisave is technically ownself money. why govt subsidies for hospitalisation is almost 90% but the medical procedure only subsidies less than 10%?
..please find out more on your own medical insurance, especially those brought more than 10 years ago. the medical cost had went up thru the roof, so your current medical insurance may not be adquate. please upgrade accordingly, remember pap motto is "u die is your business".
No relief here, or damage control?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/gpc-submits-suggestions/775082.html

freedalas

title of this thread doesn't really match the story leh. You posted it like you got the stats from some site or something that perhaps did a survey or made some observations on sinkie society instead you are talking about your ex pro pappy fren now becoming anti pappy and machiam this somehow affects the entire sinkie society whereby a certain percentage of pro pappy ppl became anti pappy.

You have a point. But anecdotal evidence do seem to support an erosion of support among pap supporters. This is so in my own experience when interacting with friends and relatives who in the past would not utter a negative word about the PAP and that they could do no wrong. That has changed somewhat, and I believe the spate of corruption and mis-steps my govt authorities had contributed to it somewhat. I am not sure if this has led to PAP support falling 50% or not, but it is definitely below the 60% at GE 2011.

freedalas

That's rubbish. Just because someone has a few personal setbacks in life doesn't mean they're going to change their political leanings.

I had a financial crisis back in the 1980s but I did not blame the PAP. I blamed myself and set about making sure it didn't happen again.

With the abundant opportunities that the PAP provided, I was soon out of the woods and cleared all my debts well ahead of schedule.

I am forever grateful to LKY and the PAP for bringing peace, security and prosperity to Singapore.

You are talking through your ass again. Your financial crisis is your own doing and you yourself is to only to be blamed. But the situation Singaporeans are facing now are all created by PAP flawed policies that had resulted in circumstances so dire that they cannot even to the best of their abilities get out of the poverty circle. In any case, you are outdated in your support for political masters because if you had read their recent speeches, all are focused on making amends for their poor vision and judgement which are due primarily to the Old Fart -LKY.

ilovesingapore

it has always been a poor predictor of the GE results...
wau PAP surely lose...wau PAP this time very jialat liao....wau this type PAP will surely die

the past GE results had proved all the these pundits wrong. all the intelligent analysis fell flat. all the expert predictions were all flawed and the incumbents laughed all the way to the parliament...

pap will remain the dominant party and it will continue to govern singapore for many many more good years....happy predicting!!

cass888

He must have asked for some special stent which is not included. Or he is blowing some big cannon. One of my staff had two stents put in for less than $6k last year - no Medishield some more. Of course C Class and no air-con but you want subsidy want to ask for air con?

a relative have heart problem so did surgery and have implants into the heart. the implants cost $50k and govt subsidies only $4k.

Dun pride yourself on being 'most powerful'.
We are in this situation now with fate in the hand of undecided 'fence sitters' gets to decide because sinkies are still immature and ignorant.
You dun vote for politicians who are fence sitters....then why do you want to be a fence sitting voter then?

"In politics the middle way is none at all." - John Adams

“Standing in the middle of the road is very dangerous; you get knocked down by the traffic from both sides.” - Margaret Thatcher.

Just see the President election result.
Those vote for TT is PAP hard core support
Those vote for TJS is Opposition supporter
Those vote TCB and TKL is fence sitter.

The result very clear. Fence sitter mostly undecided they need to think.
Where they other 2 group PAP or Opposition will never change their mind regardless what happen.

cass888

What rubbish. TCB took a large chunk of pro-PAP voters as well as a respectable slice of pro-non-SDP-Oppo votes. TCB had always been able to hold his own, even within the PAP. TJS took the SDP votes and a little bit of pro-non-SDP-Oppo votes. TKL got Goh Meng Seng's vote.

If you go by the GE2011 results, TCB took 25% of PAP votes and 10% of opposition votes.

Those vote TCB and TKL is fence sitter.

He must have asked for some special stent which is not included. Or he is blowing some big cannon. One of my staff had two stents put in for less than $6k last year - no Medishield some more. Of course C Class and no air-con but you want subsidy want to ask for air con?

how to ask for special stent when it a A&E case? the hospital put what stents the family also dunno. he warded in C class lah, simi lanjiao aircon. the hospital bill have breakdown of costs, the stent implants alone is $49k+ exclusive of other hospitalisation and surgical cost. i saw the bill myself, u think i BSing i also boh bian.

You are talking through your ass again. Your financial crisis is your own doing and you yourself is to only to be blamed. But the situation Singaporeans are facing now are all created by PAP flawed policies that had resulted in circumstances so dire that they cannot even to the best of their abilities get out of the poverty circle. In any case, you are outdated in your support for political masters because if you had read their recent speeches, all are focused on making amends for their poor vision and judgement which are due primarily to the Old Fart -LKY.

It's easy to pass the buck to the government. When I lost money, I could easily have behaved like the losers here and blamed it on the government for not regulating the industry sufficiently and allowing questionable products to be sold.

In fact, this is exactly what the investors in the mini bond saga did. They refused to accept that they had made bad investment decisions and tried to pass the buck to DBS for selling the products. This is typical of the sinkie mentality of not accepting personal responsibility for personal decisions made.

On the other hand, I blamed nobody but myself and learned from the experience. The lessons helped me to avoid similar pitfalls later in life.

Its always better to die than to get sick. If (touchwood) I kenna critical illness I just move on n not bother with treatment. Sometimes those that r granted a
Mercy of a quick death r the luckier ones. Die with dignity n not b a burden on the family.

Nowadays we r controlled by the vested interest groups who want patients to b alive etc so they can leech money of the patients n whoever willing to pay. I not tat stupid to put money into their hands. I rather blow the money on a dirty weekend in batam n go with a bang. At least the medisave n CPF will go to family. Fuck the pap n drug companies n interest groups.

It's easy to pass the buck to the government. When I lost money, I could easily have behaved like the losers here and blamed it on the government for not regulating the industry sufficiently and allowing questionable products to be sold.

In fact, this is exactly what the investors in the mini bond saga did. They refused to accept that they had made bad investment decisions and tried to pass the buck to DBS for selling the products. This is typical of the sinkie mentality of not accepting personal responsibility for personal decisions made.

On the other hand, I blamed nobody but myself and learned from the experience. The lessons helped me to avoid similar pitfalls later in life.

In the mini bond saga....alot were mislead by the sales staff particularly those from DBS.
Of course there were also investment savvy ones who claimed misrepresentation...
Not unique to sinkies as HK also had same issues and the hongkies were refunded in full unlike sinkieland.

Kuailan

That's rubbish. Just because someone has a few personal setbacks in life doesn't mean they're going to change their political leanings.

I had a financial crisis back in the 1980s but I did not blame the PAP. I blamed myself and set about making sure it didn't happen again.

With the abundant opportunities that the PAP provided, I was soon out of the woods and cleared all my debts well ahead of schedule.

I am forever grateful to LKY and the PAP for bringing peace, security and prosperity to Singapore.

Than why u leave SG? should stay in SG if u claim they are that good!

All my money and investments are in SG because I trust the Singapore government 100%. I spend more time in NZ simply because there is more space here for me to pursue my hobbies and sports. It's hardly the government's fault that there is no trout fishing or 100 km long bike trails in Singapore. It's a physical constraint.