• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

still got goondu sinkies buying notebook from Newstead...sigh.....

BusNo64

Read this is HWZ....I DUNNO WAT TO SAY!!! :rolleyes: so many bad news abt this black shop and yet still got such goondus still go buy from them ... i say OBIGOOD, U DESERVE TO BE SCAM FOR BEING SO GOONDU STILL BUY FROM THEM DESPITE SO MANY BAD NEWS IN HWZ FORUM AND ALSO THE NEWSPAPER...:rolleyes::oIo:

Yesterday, 04:16 PM #1
weizhou14
Beware when you buy laptop that give free ram upgrade!
Hi all,

Please beware when you buying laptop that give free ram upgrade. Today I went to New**** buy asus laptop $899.. the sales person say it come with a free upgrade to 4gb. After buying laptop, I checked the spec and the box only show 2GB. The receipt never even write free upgrade to 4gb or 1x 2gb ram. I walk back to the cashier and ask how come no free upgrade of ram and they claim to say they forget...
SO PLEASE BE CAREFUL !!!! CHECK EVERYTHING BEFORE YOU GO OFF =)

Yesterday, 07:56 PM #11
xiaonaive
I also bought from newstead. They promised 2nd year warranty. but i was about to leave the show, i remembered about the warranty. i ask the salesperson, he asked to see my receipt. i showed him and he say have to check. after some discussion with another staff, he walked back and told me " sorry my staff forget to include. But the 2nd year warranty have to collect from our outlet at funan it mall. about 1 week later. (but the receipt write 2 weeks)"
I was like ......... what if i didnt ask?
He replied "lucky you asked"
so irresponsible.
I read about newstead in other threads but i decide to give them a chance. but i tried my best in checking everything that i can.

Today, 02:01 AM #20
jiahuii
My fren bought frm newstead last show as well. They claim to give my fren 3rd year warranty but end up they give me 3rd year warranty but no more free ram upgrade. Asked my friend to go and ask for it since they promise to give free ram upgrade but he don't want cos he think its troublesome to go to the shop and ask for it since its sort of "incentives" from the show. Saw a similar thread last show about this shop too and quite a few complaining also. Always remember to check your stuffs after you purchase before leaving. My fren didn't and only realized it at home.

Today, 07:41 AM #23
James Tang
Arch-Supremacy Member
In previous shows, this company was reported/alleged to have charged customers extra GST 7% as the price they quoted exclude GST, which is against the law.
I remember reading some threads and it was in the newspaper. My impression is that the authorities are/were investigating but we got no news after that

99% of sinkies are idiots and 60.1% are absolute morons so what do you expect?:rolleyes:

90% singaporeans have a smart phone, but don't know much about ability of it's application. he..he..(including me)

I read about newstead in other threads but i decide to give them a chance. but i tried my best in checking everything that i can.
Little-Old-Lady.jpg

"Those who already know about Newstead and still decide to give them a chance are supreme morons"

[/CENTER]

These are the type of guys that give chance to SIA & support the PAP :eek:

For those who do fly SIA & support the PAP, think of the exorbitant price$$ you are paying:rolleyes:

These are the type of guys that give chance to SIA & support the PAP :eek:

For those who do fly SIA & support the PAP, think of the exorbitant price$$ you are paying:rolleyes:

They approve the exorbitant price they pay, for SIA is the best & PAP is the best , some say from the planet X to the Sun...don't believe ask the 70% voters.

they got shop at suntec city and marina square,dare to cheat meh?u ever got hear cheating cases from suntec?

Newstead is horrible and has one of the most pushy salesmen around. I can understand people who are IT illiterate and don't mind paying more wanting to have some assurances buying from a reputable shop, but at least go to a proper shop like Challenger or any of those household appliances department stores.

You can pretty much get whatever your IT needs from the Challenger online store Hachi.tech, it's only slightly more expensive than Sim Lim stores and so far delivery is on time and flexible for me. I don't know why in this day and age one still needs to go places like Newstead and cannot even shop in peace w/o getting harassed by some commissioned salesman.

should get a motherboard from supermicro. it cums with a spy chip courtesy of the pla.

Newstead is horrible and has one of the most pushy salesmen around. I can understand people who are IT illiterate and don't mind paying more wanting to have some assurances buying from a reputable shop, but at least go to a proper shop like Challenger or any of those household appliances department stores.....

Used to only buy computer parts in Spore. Remember visiting the service centres for warranty claims for faulty video cards, power supply & HDD. I usually ended up paying $$ for the warrantied parts to be replaced. The alternative was to wait 30 to 60 days to have the parts sent back to Taiwan for warranty repairs.

With so much hassle to get the so call "local" warranty I've decided to buy parts from Amazon. Have gotten motherboard, CPU, SSD, RAM, HDD, ... It's cheaper & so far haven't had any problems.

However on my latest purchase of a Nvidia Shield. This android box broke down after a few months. I contacted Nvidia & they ask me to send the faulty unit to Hong Kong. Since it's still under warranty, Nvidia is covering the cost of sending the unit via Fedex back to their service centre in HK. I only have to print out the invoice Nvidia emailed me & then call Fedex to pick up the faulty unit.