• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

Hakka Tiow

:biggrin: xia suay xia suay, everybody talking serious stuff, small boy talk abt bookmarked videos and logging off ... xia suay xia suay.:biggrin:

Hey ! don't move so much... you had step into the sandpit, the more you move, the deeper you sink, get it little cheebye?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Oops forgot to call you by the nick that embodied your reputution.
Mudskipper!​

lancheowman

forumers and everyone, i am so sorry that this serious discussion has been hijacked by wounded kids A and B, who were last time kena jialat jialat by uncle for being PAP moles and were oso banned by delphi. they need uncle's loving attention and so they have to follow uncle around. i am truly sorry but this boy is not a bad boy, he just needs attention, please give it to him while we continue our serious discussion. my apologies one more time
:(

Hakka Tiow

forumers and everyone, i am so sorry that this serious discussion has been hijacked by wounded kids A and B, who were last time kena jialat jialat by uncle for being PAP moles and were oso banned by delphi. they need uncle's loving attention and so they have to follow uncle around. i am truly sorry but this boy is not a bad boy, he just needs attention, please give it to him while we continue our serious discussion. my apologies one more time
:(

Apo ki lan lah. Your reputation in the m&d lah! the stuff you wriggle around in bliss! Mudskipper!

skiscubaten

Pray tell what are the other 4 major languages?????

I hate these type of discussions sometimes.

There are 5 major languages and only 1 fucking language is mentioned. cantonese this and that.

Seriously the whole chinese community should just speak mandarin or cantonese, cos it seems the rest do not exist.

Pardon my chauvinism towards my mother tongue. Here are more details of the chinese language classification.

Usage of the Chinese Languages

Mandarin - 836 million
Wu - 77 million
Cantonese - 73 million
Min (Hokkien, Teochew & Taiwanese) - 60 million
Hakka- 34 million
Gan - 31 million

If you need more information.

lancheowman

Hey ! don't move so much... you had step into the sandpit, the more you move, the deeper you sink, get it little cheebye?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Oops forgot to call you by the nick that embodied your reputution.
Mudskipper!​

aiyo got sandpit issit, where ah where ah, can make sand castles anot....sand can sink one meh....:biggrin::biggrin:

Hakka Tiow

forumers and everyone, i am so sorry that this serious discussion has been hijacked by wounded kids A and B, who were last time kena jialat jialat by uncle for being PAP moles and were oso banned by delphi. they need uncle's loving attention and so they have to follow uncle around. i am truly sorry but this boy is not a bad boy, he just needs attention, please give it to him while we continue our serious discussion. my apologies one more time:(

Read the highlighted carefully! It could be a smokescreen to lay blame on another famous snake or it could be careless revealing of nick identity?

sinren67

Speaking dialects in Singapore will bond local people together, in addition, you feel tribal among the local tribe.

Keep your dialects, teach your children and learn mandarin only when necessary.

Dont be conned to speaking Mandarin, it will break up local unity.

Please speak dialects at home, you child will learn more about his or her roots as local singaporeans.

Now i know why notebook always sell like hot cakes during IT/PC Fair. Becos Y Gen can't write Chinese, so need to type fro the keypad and the character will "appear".

I think that Japanese writes (i.e. really writes with brush or pen) Chinese characters better than Singapore Chinese.

Devil Within

dun be a clown noob.,...eveyrtime cut and paste from wilkopedia...cut and paste only shows you do not know or just learnt abt what you are pretending to know ...why everytime self snook yourself ..dun make people here laugh..still havent learnt your lesson yet?

Attention seeking lancheowless faggot. See you so xia suay. Uncle devil don't have big inflated ego like you hor. Or you cannot understand the article and need uncle devil to digest the article for you? Uncle devil already so busy fucking your prostitute mother for you liao hor. You haven't learn to read is it? Uncle Devil don't need to pretend. Uncle Devil know that you always seek for attention so that you can pimp for your prostitute mother. LOL!...

Hakka Tiow

Attention seeking lancheowless faggot. See you so xia suay. Uncle devil don't have big inflated ego like you hor. Or you cannot understand the article and need uncle devil to digest the article for you? Uncle devil already so busy fucking your prostitute mother for you liao hor. You haven't learn to read is it? PUncle Devil not need to pretend. Uncle Devil know that you always seek for attention so that you can pimp for your prostitute mother. LOL!...

Check his earliest posts. From Guard unit woh! Yah mudskipper will guard his mother selling her cunt to banglas for five dollars a fuck!

i served in a guards unit. WAT KIND OF GIRLIE UNIT ARE YOU FROM? DO YOU GET CHINA GIRL TO HELP YOU CARRY FULLPACK TOO?

Hello cheebye kiah! want to know what unit I served in or not? KNN nimpeh not active here, insult people here and there like you own the fucking place. Go email sam leong to delete my post again lor!

Devil Within

aiyo got sandpit issit, where ah where ah, can make sand castles anot....sand can sink one meh....:biggrin::biggrin:

Aiyo, you call this serious discussion? LOL!... Trying so hard to inflate your big ego again? LOL!... You pathetic lancheowless faggot always seeking attention to pimp for your prostitute mother. LOL!...

Devil Within

Check his earliest posts. From Guard unit woh! Yah mudskipper will guard his mother selling her cunt to banglas for five dollars a fuck!

That lancheowless faggot in Guard unit? Yah, big fuck(less). He must be having some deprived childhood or something. Always trying so hard to show off his big inflated ego on cyberspace. He is incapable of any good discussion. He just wanted to be fucked that's all. Just check his previous post and you will know.

Hakka Tiow

That lancheowless faggot in Guard unit? Yah, big fuck(less). He must be having some deprived childhood or something. Always trying so hard to show off his big inflated ego on cyberspace. He is incapable of any good discussion. He just wanted to be fucked that's all. Just check his previous post and you will know.

I've gone through it all already. Had not been active here since sam leong deleted all my posts. Not until today when I came across this thread and find the arrogant style vaguely familiar and the cheebai took the bait when i put out a lure post. KNN, he's my old fuck toy mudskipper!:biggrin:

unicando

Quote:
Originally Posted by unicando
hi, i m not versed in china history....but mandarin is useful as most ppl in china and taiwan use mandarin so good to learn it. also, anyone know what china mean and what it refer to? google it and wiki suggests china may come from the word sina or sinae (roman/greek), so ancient roman and greek refer to ancient china as sinae (probably thru the silk trade route). does it mean sinae mean silk ppl since silk trade route begin during han dynasty and reached it peak during the tang dynasty? it's a crazy tot...but what if si nae really mean silk ppl then which chinese dialect sound similar?

>i dun see why a greco-roman word should have anything to do with chinese dialects. >this is what the ang mos call china not what the chinese call themselves. the han >chinese oso called Rome "Da Qin"...are you going to say that it is supposed to sound >like a latin word?

what then is sinae or sina? wiki was not clear to pinpoint it... maybe when if we separate it as si (silk) nae (ppl) and try to relate to the silk trading that ancient china ppl did (han ppl and tang ppl) maybe it can be clearer.

anyway, i read from wiki than ancient china beside exporting silk via the silk trade routes, ancient china imported many staffs and practices from the outside world thru the silk trade routes also. One important import is buddhism. a important monk that went to india during the tang dynasty bought back many sutras the treasure being the heart sutra. since this sutra was translated during the tang dynasty we can quote to see whether it can help us learn something about the tang dynasty spoken form....

揭諦 揭諦 波羅揭諦 波羅僧揭諦 菩提 薩婆訶

one can try pronuncing using the various chinese spoken form like mandarin, cantonese, hokkien, teochew, hainan, hakka, ...etc and listen whether which dialect sound similar to the sanskrit romanise pronunciation below:

Gate gate Pāragate Pārasaṃgate Bodhi svāhā

yansen84

Pardon my chauvinism towards my mother tongue. Here are more details of the chinese language classification.

Usage of the Chinese Languages

Mandarin - 836 million
Wu - 77 million
Cantonese - 73 million
Min (Hokkien, Teochew & Taiwanese) - 60 million
Hakka- 34 million
Gan - 31 million

If you need more information.

any idea what the 'Wu' and 'Gan' languages are/include? thanks.

OldPlaza

Are you the old fart writing in pseudonym? It reflects on your ignorance as much when you make statements as such, basing conclusions upon your or your offspring's ability, or lack thereof. I am a product of the y-generation education system here, and I have no problems speaking at least 2 dialects in addition to the 'mainstream' languages.

I am no doubt you are a genius in languages!
unfortunately there are many kids that I know are struggling everyday in languages. I am not saying that we should be wiping off dialects extirely, I am just presenting my own average-joe mental power's point of view . To pack so much knowledge and skills in a short span of school years into my own kids, is a hugh job.

I should probably just wake you up from your convenient misconception that dialect needs to be learnt. Well at least I did not have to. You pick it up speaking to your parents and the previous generations in everyday conversation. And if your children can't speak any of it, it probably reflects on you adopting a policy of not speaking it in your family.

Yoiu should take a trip to your dialect regions in China, to see if people there are resemble, in any form or shape or thinking of yours. For a a locally born and bred Singaporean to claim to be emotionally and identically attached to their dialect groups overseas are pure joke. You do not feel anything to those chineses growing up with you in Kallang? AngMoKio? anywhere you grew up ...

When I am overseas, meeting any Singaporeans from any part of SG, from any dialect groups, from any social backgrounds, creates an immediate bonds and warm-feelings. Why I so care about HK/Taiwan/China chinese?

No one is asking for Mandarin learning to be discontinued in Singapore; you are right that it facilitates communication among the Chinese. What is wrong, however, is wiping out dialects to achieve that, which need not be the case.

I did not say wiping out dialects, I just said I am an average Singaporean Chinese, raising kids to be equiped with necessary skills and knowledge to be useful and productive in the future. My Hokkian backgroup can take a backseat, as I have never been to China-Hokkian regions to seek my roots. I do not feel any more or less chinese than those dialect speakers. Why I care other dailect speakers in HK/Taiwan, or some SG dialect speakers, about my identity. At least, I have NEVER heard people argu, protest, complain about English replacing dialects in SG's family and business.

OldPlaza

You are right I exaggerated. Buts here is the stuff i got from internet. But my point is Cantonese has a much older history than Mandarin and the richness of its words, phrases and idioms far far more advanced that Mandarin. In my opionion Cantonese is far superior in that aspect.

millions years ago, people used body language and hand signs to communicate, are there more advance?
English is probably no more than 1000 years of history (i guess), Is English less advance?

Cantonese is spoken by about 100 million people in the southern provinces of Guangdong and Guangxi and in neighboring areas such as Hong Kong and Macao, as well as throughout South-East Asia in such places as Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. Due to the migration of Cantonese speakers from Hong Kong and the Guangdong area, Cantonese is the dominant form of Chinese spoken in the Chinatowns of many major cities in the United States, Canada, Australia and elsewhere.

Chinatowns all over the worlds, represent old-fashioned, in-assimilatable, dirty, slum (dogs), ghetto, poor, weird place in the eyes of the host countries.

The word Cantonese comes from Canton, the former English name of Guangzhou, capital of Guangdong, which was once considered the home of the purest form of Cantonese. However, through years of mass media and pop culture influence, Hong Kong has now truly become the cultural centre of Cantonese.

Although Mandarin (or putonghua) is the standard and official language in mainland China, it has only been around for about 700 or 800 years, compared to the 2000-year history of Cantonese. Cantonese, not Mandarin, is the dominant language in overseas Chinese communities. This comes from the fact that, around the world, the largest flow of Chinese immigrants originates from Hong Kong.[/QUOTE]

banova888

so what u mean is hokkien sounds like old chinese,

cantonese = middle chinese

shanghainese = chinese with outside influences???

How to read canto with tang poem when dunno how to speak canto?

SOmemore get tang poem from where?

How to read traditional chinese characters?

WTF! are you talking about?
Are you chinese?
Which dialect group do you belong to?