• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

lancheowman

You are right I exaggerated. Buts here is the stuff i got from internet. But my point is Cantonese has a much older history than Mandarin and the richness of its words, phrases and idioms far far more advanced that Mandarin. In my opionion Cantonese is far superior in that aspect.

Although Mandarin (or putonghua) is the standard and official language in mainland China, it has only been around for about 700 or 800 years, compared to the 2000-year history of Cantonese.

About Cantonese
Cantonese (or Yue) is one of the five major Chinese languages. These are often called "dialects", but in actuality their differences are great enough to consider them separate languages.

Cantonese is spoken by about 100 million people in the southern provinces of Guangdong and Guangxi and in neighboring areas such as Hong Kong and Macao, as well as throughout South-East Asia in such places as Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. Due to the migration of Cantonese speakers from Hong Kong and the Guangdong area, Cantonese is the dominant form of Chinese spoken in the Chinatowns of many major cities in the United States, Canada, Australia and elsewhere.

The word Cantonese comes from Canton, the former English name of Guangzhou, capital of Guangdong, which was once considered the home of the purest form of Cantonese. However, through years of mass media and pop culture influence, Hong Kong has now truly become the cultural centre of Cantonese.

Although Mandarin (or putonghua) is the standard and official language in mainland China, it has only been around for about 700 or 800 years, compared to the 2000-year history of Cantonese. Cantonese, not Mandarin, is the dominant language in overseas Chinese communities. This comes from the fact that, around the world, the largest flow of Chinese immigrants originates from Hong Kong.

pls be careful, someone will say you are a cantonese supremacist and declare you an undesirable character and oso try to stir others agst you but fear not, the truth prevails

btw,listen to this, it's middle chinese

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RpngHAinng&feature=related

Hakka Tiow

pls be careful, someone will say you are a cantonese supremacist and declare you an undesirable character and oso try to stir others agst you but fear not, the truth prevails

btw,listen to this, it's middle chinese

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RpngHAinng&feature=related

Ah chek....lu kong simi lanjiao?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancheowman
two points, watch how uncle expose a pap mole....dun have to use f words, these are for uncultured and defested peoplefirst of all, suggesting that speaking mandarin will break unity is not an attack on the language...it is an attack on the issue of unity and that is a political issue i.e. something pap will be concerned. if you speak dialects, you are likely to vote for dialect speaking candidates like yourselves and that likely would be someone from the opposition.

you cant find any other "attacks" on mandarin? of course because it aint there.

second of all, dun pretend to divert attention...do you admit that you started the name-calling to protect pap policy in the manner i have set out earlier? now that you have concocted a cantonese supremacist, who is supposed to be my hokkien supremacist?

Very profound pronouncement for one who chose "lancheowman" for a nick!

lancheowman

Ko wu simi lan jiao boh, little boy who wants to be a man!
Aiyah may as well greet an old "friend" lah!
How are you "mudskipper"?
Lu chibai ho boh?
Boh lan jiao kor hah?:p

some are born great
while some are made twats
the great forget
while the twats regret

Hakka Tiow

:biggrin: Just like old times. My Hokkien is obvious, but how's my ingilish hah? Improved or not? profesor Cheebaijwee Lanjiaobee?:biggrin:

Hakka Tiow

haizzzz... there is no one to match my wits
though tweety here did try to pit
but a few good hits
and it is driven to fits

Aiyah, wait for you so long time!:mad: primary two is primary two. Nin lao peh I grade your chee bai excuse for poetry Failed! :mad:go back and try again you little prick! You!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

lancheowman

Aiyah, wait for you so long time!:mad: primary two is primary two. Nin lao peh I grade your chee bai excuse for poetry Failed! :mad:go back and try again you little prick! You!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

you must say something stupid first mah like what you did in the beginning...say something stupid first and uncle give you the prose :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Hakka Tiow

cheh i thot run into my rebel student, the samurai or swingstar .... sian la, run into this kind no standard one, sian ah sian ah

little boy boy talk so much!:p don't cry and smash keyboard and LCD like the last time hor!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: time for a big announcement!:smile:

lancheowman is mudskipper!

mudskipper is lancheowman!

Bro Ja, caught the reptile liao!:biggrin: Still as ugly and smelly as ever!:biggrin::biggrin:

Hakka Tiow

Hey boy! what have you filled your mouth up with? Want me to bring up the old videos? I still have them bookmarked!

Time: 6.13

Same old behaviour, he'll come back after I've logged off. To him, that's victory in saving face! LOL....LOL....LOL!:p:p:p:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::smile::smile::smile:

lancheowman

little boy boy talk so much!:p don't cry and smash keyboard and LCD like the last time hor!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: time for a big announcement!:smile:

lancheowman is mudskipper!

mudskipper is lancheowman!

Bro Ja, caught the reptile liao!:biggrin: Still as ugly and smelly as ever!:biggrin::biggrin:

haizzz...xia suay xia suay....nowadays this new forum infested with ka chuahs ...nobody is eloquent (except uncle of course)...some more a bit only want to smash keyboard and LCD.....if want to smash LCD, might as well give to uncle, uncle neber use LCD before leh.....xia suay xia suay

change nickname only can siam a while ...after kena suna by uncle jialat jialat, nickname oso must change again...lppl mah...right anot? wounded kids A and B?

Hakka Tiow

haizzz...xia suay xia suay....nowadays this new forum infested with ka chuahs ...nobody is eloquent (except uncle of course)...some more a bit only want to smash keyboard and LCD.....if want to smash LCD, might as well give to uncle, uncle neber use LCD before leh.....xia suay xia suay

change nickname only can siam a while ...after kena suna by uncle jialat jialat, nickname oso must change again...lppl mah...right anot? wounded kids A and B?

Little boys will always be little boys.:p Want to show off, end up mirroring my wit!:mad: sigh......no cock hair still, want to act like a man. My very bushy cock hair stand liow!:biggrin:

Mudskippers wear "teh kor" meh?:p Orr! "teh kor hor lan ....kwa kah liao!":biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

lancheowman

Hey boy! what have you filled your mouth up with? Want me to bring up the old videos? I still have them bookmarked!

Time: 6.13

Same old behaviour, he'll come back after I've logged off. To him, that's victory in saving face! LOL....LOL....LOL!:p:p:p:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::smile::smile::smile:

:biggrin: xia suay xia suay, everybody talking serious stuff, small boy talk abt bookmarked videos and logging off ... xia suay xia suay.:biggrin: