• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

Sideswipe

nobody is bashing mandarin here.,...can you find any posts here from anyone that says we should not speak mandarin? ....nobody is saying that but you are anxious that nobody should esp. someone like me who can point out that mandarin was the dialect of the manchus and was only invented in 1600s while dialects is chinese and went all the way back to the time of confucius....does that worry you and the PAP that someone may take it from there and say dialects is better than mandarin?

when did mandarin became the dialect of the Manchus?

The manchus had their own dialects and chose to make mandarin the official language of the govt when they took over china.

lancheowman

nobody is bashing mandarin here? are u fucking blind? look at the thread title. and u still wanna twist and turn? who's the bloody hypocrite? you.

i didn't say mandarin is better. all i am saying is no need to bash mandarin if we wanna bash pap's anti dialect language policy.

i brand u cantonese supremacist 'cause i buay song with u. just like u brand me as a pap.

if uncle wanna twist and turn, you will be left far far behind, the person who started this thread is bashing you and your pap master not the mandarin language, stop making a fool out of yoursefl even tho it may be hard for you not to reveal your true colours...silly hypocrite cornered and exposed....

pls note you started the "CANTONESE SUPREMACIST" LABEL for no apparent reason except of course to stir up hatred and racist feelings between different dialect groups so that hokkiens and hakkas who read this thread will be wary and is less likely to believe what i am saying when all along, i have not discriminated agst anybody (except ass kssing hypocrites)...it was only after your name calling that your true colours was confirmed and obvious to me ...you are here to promote pap's mandarin only policy otherwsie why are you calling me a enthuaist in chinese history and old chinese a CANTONESE SUPREMACIST.

ISNT YOUR AGENDA OBVIOUS? ARE YOU NOT SHAMEFUL OF YOURSELF?

char_jig_kar

if uncle wanna twist and turn, you will be left far far behind, the person who started this thread is bashing you and your pap master not the mandarin language, stop making a fool out of yoursefl even tho it may be hard for you not to reveal your true colours...silly hypocrite cornered and exposed....

Pls note you started the "cantonese supremacist" label for no apparent reason except of course to stir up hatred and racist feelings between different dialect groups so that hokkiens and hakkas who read this thread will be wary and is less likely to believe what i am saying when all along, i have not discriminated agst anybody (except ass kssing hypocrites)...it was only after your name calling that your true colours was confirmed and obvious to me ...you are here to promote pap's mandarin only policy otherwsie why are you calling me a enthuaist in chinese history and old chinese a cantonese supremacist.

Isnt your agenda obvious? Are you not shameful of yourself?

oei! U fucking dumb or what? He said speaking mandarin will break unity!

lancheowman

when did mandarin became the dialect of the Manchus?

The manchus had their own dialects and chose to make mandarin the official language of the govt when they took over china.

mandarin was the dialect of the manchus because if not for manchus, there will be no mandarin, it was tailor made and simplified chinese for them ...no chinese spoke mandarin before this

if manchus have their own dialects, can you name me one other manchu dialect?

char_jig_kar

pls note you started the "CANTONESE SUPREMACIST" LABEL for no apparent reason except of course to stir up hatred and racist feelings between different dialect groups so that hokkiens and hakkas who read this thread will be wary and is less likely to believe what i am saying when all along, i have not discriminated agst anybody (except ass kssing hypocrites)...it was only after your name calling that your true colours was confirmed and obvious to me ...you are here to promote pap's mandarin only policy otherwsie why are you calling me a enthuaist in chinese history and old chinese a CANTONESE SUPREMACIST.

ISNT YOUR AGENDA OBVIOUS? ARE YOU NOT SHAMEFUL OF YOURSELF?

The thread starter, start this thread, claiming speaking mandarin will break unity among Chinese. And then you come in and add fire to it by implying Cantonese is a superior language than the rest of the dialect.

Tell me, why shouldn't I suspect u a cantonese supremacist??

lancheowman

oei! U fucking dumb or what? He said speaking mandarin will break unity!

two points, watch how uncle expose a pap mole....dun have to use f words, these are for uncultured and defested people

first of all, suggesting that speaking mandarin will break unity is not an attack on the language...it is an attack on the issue of unity and that is a political issue i.e. something pap will be concerned. if you speak dialects, you are likely to vote for dialect speaking candidates like yourselves and that likely would be someone from the opposition.

you cant find any other "attacks" on mandarin? of course because it aint there.

second of all, dun pretend to divert attention...do you admit that you started the name-calling to protect pap policy in the manner i have set out earlier? now that you have concocted a cantonese supremacist, who is supposed to be my hokkien supremacist?

Sideswipe

mandarin was the dialect of the manchus because if not for manchus, there will be no mandarin, it was tailor made and simplified chinese for them ...no chinese spoke mandarin before this

if manchus have their own dialects, can you name me one other manchu dialect?

No lah, Mandarin was the languages spoken by chinese who lived in Beijing and surrounding areas since the start of Chinese dynasties.

The Manchus are familiar with Mandarin as their homelands in the north are close to Beijing and they have regular contacts with the natives.

When they took over china, Mandarin was the natural choice as the administrative language for China as they knew the language. During the earlier period of rule, they used duo languages - Manchurian and Mandarin for court and documents.

lancheowman

The thread starter, start this thread, claiming speaking mandarin will break unity among Chinese. And then you come in and add fire to it by implying Cantonese is a superior language than the rest of the dialect.

Tell me, why shouldn't I suspect u a cantonese supremacist??

ok ok someone just started digging his own grave....now tell uncle and pls dun edit your posts....find anything in uncle's posts which suggets that cantonese is superior than any other dialects? i will leave aside the point abt me insinutating that cantonese or any other dislects is better than mandarin for the time being....now tell me in my own words where i implied that cantonese is a superior language....pls come and collect your shovel

lancheowman

No lah, Mandarin was the languages spoken by chinese who lived in Beijing and surrounding areas since the start of Chinese dynasties.

The Manchus are familiar with Mandarin as their homelands in the north are close to Beijing and they have regular contacts with the natives.

When they took over china, Mandarin was the natural choice as the administrative language for China as they knew the language. During the earlier period of rule, they used duo languages - Manchurian and Mandarin for court and documents.

one step at a time, which chinese dynasties are you talking abt? can you be more specific?

char_jig_kar

two points, watch how uncle expose a pap mole....dun have to use f words, these are for uncultured and defested people

first of all, suggesting that speaking mandarin will break unity is not an attack on the language...it is an attack on the issue of unity and that is a political issue i.e. something pap will be concerned. if you speak dialects, you are likely to vote for dialect speaking candidates like yourselves and that likely would be someone from the opposition.

you cant find any other "attacks" on mandarin? of course because it aint there.

second of all, dun pretend to divert attention...do you admit that you started the name-calling to protect pap policy in the manner i have set out earlier? now that you have concocted a cantonese supremacist, who is supposed to be my hokkien supremacist?

FUCK YOU! UNDERSTAND? You go scroll up and see what language u start first.

i dont know why i should carry on reading your crap. look at wat u wrote "this suggesting that speaking mandarin will break unity is not an attack on the language...it is an attack on the issue of unity and that is a political issue..." WHAT KIND OF LAN SAI IS THIS?? HE SAID SPEAKING MANDARIN WILL BREAK UNITY, AND THAT IS NOT AN ATTACK ON THE LANGUAGE?? tell me, are u WP member? 'cause WP member just love to do twisting and turning.

what diversion? what protection on PAP policy? after all that i had written, and u could still come to the conclusion that i wanna protect PAP policy?

PAP policy is to do away dialect. I AM STRONGLY AGAINST THAT. LKY suggest that parent speak mandarin to kids, ONLY MANDARIN AND ENLGISH, NO DIALECT. I AM TOTALLY AGAINST THAT.

OldPlaza

dun speak dialects?

you loose more votes!

dialects invoked the deepest feelings in people.
What dialect to use when doing puclic speech? Hokkien? teochew? or cantonese? My neighbours are speaking all kind of dialects... If english is used to communicate with other races (exterior), then Mandarin is a 'natural choice' to communicate among chineses (interior).

My children are already 'sweating' learning 2 languages in school plus X number of subjects to study.. adding 'dialect' to the mix only causing more burden and stress to the young minds.

char_jig_kar

ok ok someone just started digging his own grave....now tell uncle and pls dun edit your posts....find anything in uncle's posts which suggets that cantonese is superior than any other dialects? i will leave aside the point abt me insinutating that cantonese or any other dislects is better than mandarin for the time being....now tell me in my own words where i implied that cantonese is a superior language....pls come and collect your shovel

"Cantonese is the dialect that preserves most of the sounds and tones of middle chinese because there was a massive immigration of chinese from northern china to southern china (canton today) during this time. just read any of the tang poems in cantonese and you will see."

char_jig_kar

my only agenda is the truth...that is soemthing you are totally not familair with

you truly a lancheowman. u said the thread don't have post bashing mandarin, and i had shown it to u just the thread title itself is bashing mandarin. and u have the cheek to talk about the 'TRUTH'?? Fuck you.

lancheowman

FUCK YOU! UNDERSTAND? You go scroll up and see what language u start first.

i dont why i should carry on reading your crap. look at "this suggesting that speaking mandarin will break unity is not an attack on the language...it is an attack on the issue of unity and that is a political issue..." WHAT KIND OF LAN SAI IS THIS?? HE SAID SPEAKING MANDARIN WILL BREAK UNITY, AND THAT IS NOT AN ATTACK ON THE LANGUAGE?? tell me, are u WP member?

what diversion? what protection PAP? after all that i had written, and u could still come to the conclusion that i wanna protect PAP policy?

PAP policy is to do away dialect. I AM STRONGLY AGAINST THAT. LKY suggest that parent speak mandarin to kids, ONLY MANDARIN AND ENLGISH, NO DIALECT. I AM TOTALLY AGAINST THAT.

funny leh, because i mention cantonese first, i am a Cantonese Supremacist woh but actually hor, i mention hokkien first ...haizzz...i cannot understand what an idiot's mind work ...and moles have been known to cling on to straws when cornered or exposed and some more why not call me a hokkien cum cantonese supremacist. of course not, the answer is simple, like that little chow kah here will not be able to stir up suspicion and conflicts between the two dialect groups using me as a focal point

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=21696
<<no you philistine,

dialects are not tribal languages. all major dialects are descended from extinct official chinese langugages spoken by the ancients like confucius.

Old chinese was the form of spoken chinese from ancient times right to the time of the 3 kingdoms. this language is lost or has morphed into middle chinese after the influx of the moadic tribes or hu people like the xianbei who controlled china between 300 to 600 AD. The only clue as to what it sounds like lies in confucius' book of poems or shijing which recorded 300 pieces of folk songs and poems that would have rhythm and rhymn in old chinese. if you read this in mandarin, it just does not sound poetic or even right.It is said that old chinese sounds like what we call hokkien today or the hokkien dialect preserves most of the sounds and tones of old chinese. this could be because of the flight of the chinese from the north after the fall of the jin dynasty to coastal areas of sothern china during those days and the tongue is preserved in the dialects of their descenants lving there today.

because of the influence of nomadic languages which were probably altaic languages like Korean or mongolian for 300 years, middle chinese was evolved and that was the official spoken chinese language of the Tang dynasty (600 AD) when it reunified china. Cantonese is the dialect that preserves most of the sounds and tones of middle chinese because there was a massive immigration of chinese from northern china to southern china (canton today) during this time. just read any of the tang poems in cantonese and you will see.

as for other reginalects like shanghainese, these can traced back to an even earlier time when the areas where these were spoken were not even part of a unified china. i.e. to the time of the zhou or even shang dynasty well before qin shi huang

lancheowman
View Public Profile
Send a private message to lancheowman
Find all posts by lancheowman
Add lancheowman to Your Contacts >>

and finally why is the title of the thread an attack on the issue of unity....because only a dumb fuck would believe that speaking mandarin breaks unity and anyone seeking to make capital out of this simply cannot be trusted or taken seriously. so can you find anything else in this whole thread where mandarin has been attacked or bashed expressly? pls dun try and make mountains out of molehills (even tho you are a mole yourself) with your implications.

char_jig_kar

funny leh, because i mention cantonese first, i am a Cantonese Supremacist woh but actually hor, i mention hokkien first ...haizzz...i cannot understand what an idiot's mind work ...and moles have been known to cling on to straws when cornered or exposed and some more why not call me a hokkien cum cantonese supremacist. of course not, the answer is simple, like that little chow kah here will not be able to stir up suspicion and conflicts between the two dialect groups using me as a focal point

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=21696
<<no you="" philistine,="">

dialects are not tribal languages. all major dialects are descended from extinct official chinese langugages spoken by the ancients like confucius.

Old chinese was the form of spoken chinese from ancient times right to the time of the 3 kingdoms. this language is lost or has morphed into middle chinese after the influx of the moadic tribes or hu people like the xianbei who controlled china between 300 to 600 AD. The only clue as to what it sounds like lies in confucius' book of poems or shijing which recorded 300 pieces of folk songs and poems that would have rhythm and rhymn in old chinese. if you read this in mandarin, it just does not sound poetic or even right.It is said that old chinese sounds like what we call hokkien today or the hokkien dialect preserves most of the sounds and tones of old chinese. this could be because of the flight of the chinese from the north after the fall of the jin dynasty to coastal areas of sothern china during those days and the tongue is preserved in the dialects of their descenants lving there today.

because of the influence of nomadic languages which were probably altaic languages like Korean or mongolian for 300 years, middle chinese was evolved and that was the official spoken chinese language of the Tang dynasty (600 AD) when it reunified china. Cantonese is the dialect that preserves most of the sounds and tones of middle chinese because there was a massive immigration of chinese from northern china to southern china (canton today) during this time. just read any of the tang poems in cantonese and you will see.

as for other reginalects like shanghainese, these can traced back to an even earlier time when the areas where these were spoken were not even part of a unified china. i.e. to the time of the zhou or even shang dynasty well before qin shi huang

lancheowman
View Public Profile
Send a private message to lancheowman
Find all posts by lancheowman
Add lancheowman to Your Contacts >></no>

and finally why is the title of the thread an attack on the issue of unity....because only a dumb fuck would believe that speaking mandarin breaks unity and anyone seeking to make capital out of this simply cannot be trusted or taken seriously. so can you find anything else in this whole thread where mandarin has been attacked or bashed expressly? pls dun try and make mountains out of molehills (even tho you are a mole yourself) with your implications.

chee bye. u first said there're NO ONE POST BASHING MANDARIN. BUT THE THREAD TITLE, AND THE VERY FIRST POST IS BASHING MANDARIN. TELL ME WHY SHOULD I CARRY ON WITH THIS CONVERSATION IF U CANT EVEN TALK STRAIGHT???

lancheowman

you truly a lancheowman. u said the thread don't have post bashing mandarin, and i had shown it to u just the thread title itself is bashing mandarin. and u have the cheek to talk about the 'TRUTH'?? Fuck you.

dun anyhow fuck here fuck there...you kena exposed is becasue you kum gong, not my fault, you cannot find anything that support your assertion that mandarin is being attacked in this thread simply because it does not exist. we are all reasonable and intelligent people here..no one is joining this thread to bash mandarin in cantonese and hokkien ...so stop spreading your mandarin-is-being-attacked bs ...no one believes you

char_jig_kar

dun anyhow fuck here fuck there...you kena exposed is becasue you kum gong, not my fault, you cannot find anything that support your assertion that mandarin is being attacked in this thread simply because it does not exist. we are all reasonable and intelligent people here..no one is joining this thread to bash mandarin in cantonese and hokkien ...so stop spreading your mandarin-is-being-attacked bs ...no one believes you

HAHA!!! GO SCROLL UP. THE VERY FIRsT POST IS BASHING MANDARIN. GET THAT RIGHT BEFORE WE TALK.

lancheowman

chee bye. u first said there're NO ONE POST BASHING MANDARIN. BUT THE THREAD TITLE, AND THE VERY FIRST POST IS BASHING MANDARIN. TELL ME WHY SHOULD I CARRY ON WITH THIS CONVERSATION IF U CANT EVEN TALK STRAIGHT???

ok uncle give you permission to escape or run away but make sure your tail is between your legs when you go ....since you cannot justify why i am a cantonese supremacist but not a hokkien-cum-cantonese-cum-shanghainese dialect supremacist