try tis ...... The best would be to get 7 words that are prononuced the same way in canto but just difference in tone. ...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Cantonese#Tones
try tis ...... The best would be to get 7 words that are prononuced the same way in canto but just difference in tone. ...
Cannot lah u look at that who the hell can understand????
Last time when learning hanyu pinyin in primary 4 i think the teacher would ask us repeat again and again say po fo mo.
Or si wo suo suo1 suo2 suo3 suo4 like that.
U think the teacher told us eh read this page in the textbook. If he did that i dun think we even know about this tonal crap.
I tell u unless it's some canto professor even canto speakers dun even know about this 4 tonal or 7 tonal shit.
why buay song with me? i am not the one that make the rule. u buay song that mandarin is use in school, take it to Lee Kuan Yew or Hu Jin Tao then.
kinda agree wif u on sum of dose chinese poems ...
李昱's poems do rhyme nicely sumtimes if read in cantonese ... mayb iz bcos he spent most of his life in ze southern part of china n dat had influenced him ...
but if u read sotong ball's :p poems in cantonese, dey dun rhyme ... dunno watz his dialect ...
why u call me tiko russian monk???
What talking you? argue with devil within until u dunno what ur saying?
actually mandarin sounds higher classed compared to say the dialects. Many many ppl have this impression.
Hence when they call someone a hokkien peng it denotes someone of low class, low education.
In fact in sg those with very little education tend to speak hokkien.
Btw why is cantonese always the dialect used that rhymes better when reading those old poems? Why not say hakka or hainanese????
in the 1700s, an ah tiong official (from Beijing) visiting Taiwan had this to report:
In this place, the language is as birdcall – totally unintelligible! For example: for the surname Liú, they say "Lâu"; for Chén, "Tân"; Zhuāng, "Chng"; and Zhāng is "Tioⁿ". My deputy's surname Wú becomes "Ngô͘". My surname Huáng does not even have a proper vowel: it is "N̂g" here! It is difficult to make sense of this. (郡中鴃舌鳥語全不可曉如劉呼澇陳呼澹莊呼曾張呼丟余與吳待御兩姓吳呼作襖黃則無音厄影切更為難省)
– Records from the mission to Taiwan and its Strait, Volume II: On the area around Fort Provintia, Tainan (臺海使槎錄 卷二 赤嵌筆談)
from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taiwanese_Minnan
another recent taiwanese success 海角七號 was also mainly in hokkien/taiwanese, and it did really well in box office receipts. btw I didn't watch it in SG, was it dubbed into mandarin here?
I think they have 9 tones instead of 7, the cantonese. perhaps it is too deeply embedded in their subconscious mind that it comes naturally to them, so they can't explain it to you?
exactly, peoples failed to see that we are Asians and should use our mother tongues as the country speaking and administrative languages.
LKY made LHL learnt Russian during his young days. LKY thought that learning Russian could be useful back then. Who know, Soviet Union might take over the world. I have no doubts if Soviet Union became the world sole superpower, replacing USA in those days, we could have switched from a English speaking country to the one and only Russian speaking country in South East Asia.
We are what we are, forget the crap about racial harmony and English is a must. The minorities must always adopt to the majorities. You learn Japanese when you stay in Japan, Korean in Korea. French when you migrate to France.
The reason why we did not became a Chinese administrative country is not because of racial harmony, English global importance but only because of LKY complete bias and hatred of Chinese cultures and languages.
LKY sometimes miss q one. Sometimes a marksman, sometimes a bobo shooter.
If he has good foresight, u know what he should do? He should have made Singaporeans learned 3 languages, English, Mandarin and Malay.
Mandarin is mother tongue, English cause of global language, Malay is because we are surrounded by Malay countries. LKY should have let us learned all 3. At least some Malay languages, we can converse simple Malay languages and also it is easy for us to have more understanding with our muslim neighbours.
So this one, LKY miss q lah
devil have no capacity to argue with uncle, thats why he spams. this has been going on since the old forum days, he see uncle only he scared because i always point out his mistakes, last time in the old forum, he wasnt banned, he was suan and f by everybody until he buay tahan leave the forum.
anyway, if you are not chinese or cannot speak mandarin or any dialects, then dun bother. it's like uncle playing a flute to a water buffalo. i can understand not everybody is so smart to understand so fast.
the hokkien that you hear in singapore is low class peasant hokkien.... you dun even hv to go to china and taiwan, if you have opportunity to work with indonesian or even thai hokkiens, lsitento the hokkien they use and you will udnerstand that hokkien is far more refined and sophiscated than mandarin.
if you still dun follow, it's ok, uncle wont blame you
Aiyo, see you so xia suay here. Devil not like you seeking for attention and argue for the sake of argument to inflate your pathetic big ego. So is your prostitute mother ready for uncle devil's long and hard lancheow? Come seek for me when you want your prostitute mother to be fuck by me, ok?
go to this link and listen to lee bai's classic qing ping diao in middle chinese....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RpngHAinng&feature=related
i'm the least surprised if people would say this sounds like Vietnamese or Burmese...