• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

char_jig_kar

you are just denying for the sake of denial....and twisiting my words as usual....i said mandarin connect you to 300 years while dialects brings you further

i didn't twist them. these are the exact words u use, msg 275.

"my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage."

lancheowman

i didn't twist them. these are the exact words u use, msg 275.

"my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage."

you are really pathetic....pls dun try thi stunt in front of uncle...

let me reproduce all the relevant parts from my post to debunk you...stop this dirty tactic of only reproducing one part of my post to support your feeble arguments

<,my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage.

learning and being aware of your dialects will connect you further to your chinese roots.
those who watched the Red Cliff or play the sangoku game and knows a little abt chinese history. please take note that after the time of three kingdoms and on more than one occasion, china was ruled by northern barbarian tribes form the tungus and their language is altaic in origin (sometime like korean and japanese). three kingdoms history ended sometime around the 200s AD and by the 300 ADs, china (esp. the north) was fragmented and ruled by different barbarian tribes like the Di, the xianbeu and hsiong-nu alongside chinese kingdoms for another 300 years. that ended in the 600s AD with the sui and tang dynasties. Tang dynasty lasted another 300 years and was largely a chinese edynasty even thought the tang rulers themselves are half chinese and half barbarian. china was fragmneted again for 200 years before the sung dynasty. significantly during the time of the sung, the jin dynasty or ancestors of the manchus ruled northern china before their regime was destroyed by the mongols. then came the mongols who ruled china for 100 over years before the next chinese dynasty, the ming came about. Ming ended in 1644 and the manchus came to power for another 300 years. >>

char_jig_kar

haizzzz....the point is those poems were not written in mandarin...but in middle chinese.... are you trying to tell me li bai and all tandg dynasty people were a linguistic joke?

so in order to connect to the chinese roots we should speak like the ancient chinese, who sound muddled as compare to speaking mandarin??

please. it is interesting, and educational to note how it sound like, the ancient chinese speak, but it serve no purpose to learn and speak like them, people before tang dynasty. we are not ancient chinese!

char_jig_kar

you are really pathetic....pls dun try thi stunt in front of uncle...

let me reproduce all the relevant parts from my post to debunk you...stop this dirty tactic of only reproducing one part of my post to support your feeble arguments

<,my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage.

learning and being aware of your dialects will connect you further to your chinese roots.
those who watched the Red Cliff or play the sangoku game and knows a little abt chinese history. please take note that after the time of three kingdoms and on more than one occasion, china was ruled by northern barbarian tribes form the tungus and their language is altaic in origin (sometime like korean and japanese). three kingdoms history ended sometime around the 200s AD and by the 300 ADs, china (esp. the north) was fragmented and ruled by different barbarian tribes like the Di, the xianbeu and hsiong-nu alongside chinese kingdoms for another 300 years. that ended in the 600s AD with the sui and tang dynasties. Tang dynasty lasted another 300 years and was largely a chinese edynasty even thought the tang rulers themselves are half chinese and half barbarian. china was fragmneted again for 200 years before the sung dynasty. significantly during the time of the sung, the jin dynasty or ancestors of the manchus ruled northern china before their regime was destroyed by the mongols. then came the mongols who ruled china for 100 over years before the next chinese dynasty, the ming came about. Ming ended in 1644 and the manchus came to power for another 300 years. >>

go read msg 324.

char_jig_kar

Massive U-turn by you. I thought you were right behind old man where Mandarin is concerned. Read your earlier posts. Suddenly you must have realised the menaing of mother tongue.

Screwball, show me the post that I am right behind old fart discriminative, tyrannic policy against the dialect.

lancheowman

so in order to connect to the chinese roots we should speak like the ancient chinese, who sound muddled as compare to speaking mandarin??

please. it is interesting, and educational to note how it sound like, the ancient chinese speak, but it serve no purpose to learn and speak like them, people before tang dynasty. we are not ancient chinese!

oh ....did anybody including myself ask you to learn middle chinese or old chinese? so now you are saying our ancestors and confucius were all slurring and unclear in their speech and we are so blessed that we are not speaking like them anymore?

it does not matter to be unable to appreciate old poems written by li bai and confucius because they are all unclear anyway, is that what you are saying?

are you trying to cleanse us of our linguistic roots which according is bad anyway because it is unclear and muddled

char_jig_kar

oh ....did anybody including myself ask you to learn middle chinese or old chinese? so now you are saying our ancestors and confucius were all slurring and unclear in their speech and we are so blessed that we are speaking like them anymore?

it does not matter to be unable to appreciate old poems written by li bai and confucius because they are all unclear anyway, is that what you are saying?

are you trying to cleanse us of our linguistic roots which according is bad anyway because it is unclear and muddled

i am saying that those who say speaking mandarin would not connect one to chinese root, thats bullshit.

char_jig_kar

will you stop being this dirty stunt which i have just debunk'd? i.e. cut and paste only one part of my post to support your feeble arguments?

what the fuck is wrong with u? u want me to cut out the whole fucking long winded article and paste in order to quote u? u think your whole article is gold???

lancheowman

i am saying that those who say speaking mandarin would not connect one to chinese root, thats bullshit.

i am really sick of your word twisting la...my point is clear hor....speaking mandarin is only good for three hundred years.... you want to go any deeper, ols retain your dialect roots...go and argue with this

lancheowman

what the fuck is wrong with u? u want me to cut out the whole fucking long winded article and paste in order to quote u? u think your whole article is gold???

at least cut out all the relevant parts like this:

my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage.

dun pretend to leave out those that it not in your favour. that is called intellectual dishonesty or just fraud. understand anot?

char_jig_kar

i am really sick of your word twisting la...my point is clear hor....speaking mandarin is only good for three hundred years.... you want to go any deeper, ols retain your dialect roots...go and argue with this

OEI! THIS IS YOUR PARAGRAPH THREE AT MSG 275

WHERE DID I TWIST YOUR WORD??

Never mind that, this is what u say now, "my point is clear hor....speaking mandarin is only good for three hundred years.... you want to go any deeper, ols retain your dialect roots...go and argue with this"

Now, lets think of this famous highly deemed ancient philosopher, Lao Zi. His from Warring States Period. Earlier than Tang Dynasty, earlier than Han Dynasty and further back.

His work, Dao De Jing, is important Chinese canon no? Its one of the most important work of the Chinese culture canon.

Now, would I get connect to ancient Chinese roots by reading his work? Yes, of course.

So who the fuck are u to tell us to all go first learn how to speak ancient chinese longer than 300 years old in order to connect to chinese roots??? I could use mandarin to recite dao de jing, tell me, should i go first learn cantonese, or hokkien dialect, in order to read and recite Lao Zi's dao de jing??

Screwball, show me the post that I am right behind old fart discriminative, tyrannic policy against the dialect.

Go to your own post #36. You are even shy to mention your owm mother tongue.

This is what happens with circular logic - you can't even remember what you have stated.

Here is a gist of what people are saying

1) Mandarin is not the mother tongue of Chinese Singaporeans
2) Since its is not their mother tongue, any cultural nuances and experiences are diluted and cannot be mirrored
3) Roots are tied with the language that is associated with it to get the best out of it.

Mandarin is the political tool for Manchus and it is the same for the PAP. I can understand the economic value of learning Mandarin and the doors that it opens but it has nothing to do with culture and roots.

A simple example is our rich variety of chinese dishes and that is the contribution of our brothers from different dialects. Its culture, roots and heritage.

char_jig_kar

Go to your own post #36. You are even shy to mention your owm mother tongue.

This is what happens with circular logic - you can't even remember what you have stated.

i am not shy to mention my mother tongue. i just dont wanna add something irrelevant to the thread. u ask me whats my mother tongue and i ask u in return, does it matter? u didn't answer my question too. so going by your logic, are u shy in telling me why do u wanna ask whats my mother tongue?

my mother tongue are teochew and mandarin. these are the two languages spoken in my family since i was young. so what does it have to do with the thread?

kindly show me where's the circular logic in my messages.

Here is a gist of what people are saying

1) Mandarin is not the mother tongue of Chinese Singaporeans
2) Since its is not their mother tongue, any cultural nuances and experiences are diluted and cannot be mirrored
3) Roots are tied with the language that is associated with it to get the best out of it.
No. There are Sporeans here in this country, I believe they do have mandarin as their mother tongue just like me.

And also, almost all Chinese dialects share the same written Chinese language.

As for point number 2 and 3, I don't know what are u trying to tell me.

Mandarin is the political tool for Manchus and it is the same for the PAP. I can understand the economic value of learning Mandarin and the doors that it opens but it has nothing to do with culture and roots.

A simple example is our rich variety of chinese dishes and that is the contribution of our brothers from different dialects. Its culture, roots and heritage.
Why is Mandarin a political tool of manchus? Can we say English is political tool for the Brit and American? Can we say French is political tool for the French? That doesn't do justice to the language isn't it?

Mandarin is not just economic value. It has it purpose in uniting the Chinese. So that different Chinese dialect group could communicate with one another. What do u suggest then? Chinese should do away one common official spoken language such as Mandarin?

Its not just economical or political. There are cultural aspect of it.

char_jig_kar

btw scroobal, u had yet to show me messages which show I am 'right behind' old fart policy discriminative, tyrannic policy against the dialect.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=197701&postcount=326

Quote:
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td class="alt2" style="border: 1px inset ;"> Originally Posted by scroobal
Massive U-turn by you. I thought you were right behind old man where Mandarin is concerned. Read your earlier posts. Suddenly you must have realised the menaing of mother tongue.
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

i am not shy to mention my mother tongue. i just dont wanna add something irrelevant to the thread. u ask me whats my mother tongue and i ask u in return, does it matter? so going by your logic, are u shy in telling me why do u wanna ask whats my mother tongue?

my mother tongue is teochew and mandarin. these are the two languages spoken in my family since i was young. so what does it have to do with the thread?

kindly show me where's the circular logic in my messages.

No. There are
Sporeans here in this country, I believe they do have mandarin as their mother tongue just like me.

And also, almost all Chinese dialects share the same written Chinese language.

As for point number 2 and 3, I don't know what are u trying to tell me.

Why is Mandarin a political tool of manchus? Can we say English is political tool for the Brit and American? Can we say French is political tool for the French? That doesn't do justice to the language isn't it?

Mandarin is not just economic value. It has it purpose in uniting the Chinese. So that different Chinese dialect group could communicate with one antoher.

Its not just economical. There are cultural aspect of it.

1) It took 302 post before you coughed out what your mother tongue is. Thats what the PAP was hoping for and you delivered. Never ever be shy of your roots no matter how humble they are.

2) You keep associating mandarin with the culture of dialect groups, arguing round and round with no progress or a foundation to build your case.

3) Those whose mother tongue is Mandarin is a very minute lot. Mentioning this tells me you can make a mountain out of molehill. Even the PAP never mention this.

4) Even an idiot knows that that written chinese cuts across all dialects. Thats like saying that Chinese come from China. The fact remains that Mandarin is not the mother tongue for 99% of Chinese in Singapore.

I have numbered the bullets because you have poor comprehension skills, you can't remember what you post and logical flow is not your strong point.

If Beijing dictates that Hokkein will replace Mandarin as the main language of government, commerce and education, its economic value will rise tremendously and rapidly. But I nor any one else will ever state that Hokkein has cultural value for other dialect speakers in seeking and understanding their roots. Its cultural value to other dialect speakers is zilch.

Frankly I don't blame you. You are suspectible to govt communication (propaganda). They told you that opposition has no calibre and you agreed but don;t know the meaning of monopoly of power nor can you see the big picture. They told you that Mandarin unites Singaporeans but little did you understand that it also destroyed the clans and the various dialects groups politically. There is no other country that bans broadcasts or reportage along langauge lines except Singapore.

Its takes a strong mind and the ability to think indepedently to handle this government. You posses neither. It took 20 years for the old man to realise that lingustic skills cannot be acquired easily by everyone but he was prepared to destroy the lives of many along the way. When his grandson staggered linguistically, he was transferred to American School and the simple mind told you to accept that it was dyslexia. You actually believe that dyslexia cannot only be treated by the Amercian School.

Donkeys are stubborn but not stupid. Learn to argue with logic and learn to walk away when there is no foundation to base your opinions on.

Once again, Mandarin has tremendous economic value. For Singapore, in addtion it provides a political advantage to some interest. Its absolutely absurd to think the nuances of ones culture, roots etc can be understood by language that is not associated with that culture.