• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sir Stamford Raffles is the founding father of Sinkapore! Pls spread the words !

Tiu Kwang Yew

Without Sir Stamford setting up trading post in Sinkapore back 1819, the island would be really a fishing village right ! This is a hard truth, just like Hongkong, without Opium war, Hongkong would never be what it is today right !

Ah Stamford set up many things---from trading post, housing to infrastructures for the people !

Stamford built the whole foundation for sinkapore ! He is the founding father of Sinkapore !

Many people say sinkapore got modern founding father, pls lah, what is modern founding father , where got such thing right !

Every country in the world also progress, sinkapore is just an island, it is much easier to fill up concrete all over than those bigger countries right !

Stamford built sinkapore, as time changed , people also changed, buildings and thinking also change !

If you say modern founding father of HDB flats , then it is more suitable right !

Without Stamford, there would be no Lims, Lohs, Ongs , Kohs, Lees, Tans …….etc right !

Think about it, don’t get it wrong and educate your children wrongly , ok !

So please let us spread the hard truth of who is founding father of sinkapore----it is Sir Stamford Raffles !

The Fishermen were in Singapore long before Raffles came.

When LKY is gone his history will be re-written. Right now PAP still own the main newspapers and many don't read crap SPH wrote about LKY. History will be re-written of him as dictator, greed, scumbag and sins of the father/grandfather is visited upon the sons and grandchildren.

lianbeng reminds u, "once upon a time...long long ago...the prince of Java, Sang Nila Utama, found a small fishing village on his excursion..." that was long before Stamford Raffles stepped on our shore! only that time he was on hunting trip nia-nia not so interested about nation building lah:D but hor...legend said that he saw a beast with a lion's head and fish's scaly body...but lost it! aiyah...:*:

He was drunk lah. But he didnt invented merlion. LKY invented merlion after indpendence. He was drunk too. Then he quit drinking LOL

Before the Sultan, long long time ago, the Dinosaurs ruled Singapore.

if it wasnt for Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles, there wouldnt be Raffles Institution. without Raffles Institution, Harry & friends would've been schooled in some kampong sekolah. or perhaps, couldve been schooled in some pro-communist clan school.

Singapore was not a sleepy fishing village when the PAP government took over the rule. The British had built up quite good infrastructure and laid down good administrative practices that we still benefit from. Even the buildings erected during British rule are those one would consider as splendid architecture that has stature unlike the newer ones that lack character.

raffles as the founding father. depends, some history buffs see it as farquhar, not raffles. raffles planted the flag, farquhar did the real work.

Singapore was not a sleepy fishing village when the PAP government took over the rule. The British had built up quite good infrastructure and laid down good administrative practices that we still benefit from. Even the buildings erected during British rule are those one would consider as splendid architecture that has stature unlike the newer ones that lack character.

My dear old General Post Office where I had a PO Box there, now Fullerton Hotel. My dear old Victoria School where I studied there, now People's Association. These buildings were built by the British so sturdy that no Japanese bombs could shake them even a little. They're not demolished for rebuilding, just reburbished for other purposes. The reason is no demolition contractors want to take the demolishing job unless agreed to a very high quote which the government wouldn't agree too. The reason why a very high quote is because these buildings are too sturdy and hard to demolish. Imagine, even bombs couldn't do the job.

lianbeng replies ramseth, "japs not interested in ur p o box n sch lah - some more ur sch all boys no girls tak shiok leh.":D

lianbeng found sang nila utama liao!:D
wake up from ur daydream!

My Dear Lianbeng, Kohliantye met San Nila Utama almost every day before in the early 60's. Kohliantye was then a poor struggling, hungry and penniless student, who couln't afford the 10 cents STC ticket to school and had to ride a huge Hercules bicycle.
It was only recently (sometime during the late 80's) that poor Mr Sang Nila Utama was seen no more....
During the early 60's, before our beloved Singapore joined the Malaysian Federation and years before before Harry and his Old Guards were told to leave the Malaysian fold, I use to pedal past Aljunied Road towards Upper Serangoon Road and the nearby Woodleigh Filters.
Almost everyday I past a proud Sang Nila Utama standing there as solid as a Rock. The road was then called Hindu Cemetery Road. On the right side was the Mt Vernon Crematorium (they used to utilise wood to cremate mortal remains then).
Inche Sang Nila Utama had many children - both boys and gals. These children used to be dressed in Red and White (just like Indon school-children dress up till today).
During recess they could be seen sitting under huge trees (now called Bidadari Park) and immersed in their studies. Sang Nila Utama may have produced many people who are leaders today. Only these people will know themselves.
Sang Nila Utama was around until last Singapore Traction Company Service 18B (STC) stopped operating in Singapore and made way for Associated Bus Services, United Bus Services and so on so forth. Finally came SBS, the SBS Transit and TIBs (later blossomed into SMRT). Rapid changes. Still changing.......
It was during this time, that poor Sang Nila Utama, called it a day, packed his bag and quietly left the beloved "Tanah" (land) that he founded.Till today, there is no news about Sang Nila Utama.
Methinks, that the poor and desolate Sang Nila Utama may have gone back to nearby Batam Island as the whisky, cigarettes, housing and basic neccessities there are cheap compared to modern Firtst World Singapura. His home remains at the same spot along Aljunied Road but it has been occupied by foreign police personnels.
It is sad that our government (nor any of their people present in Parliament), made any effort to revive the memory of the Ancient Mariner Sang Nila Utama by naming any buidlings after him. Maybe it was done on purpose so as to let the people forget about the fact that Sang Nila Utama was not the actual founder but Raffles (for whom there are many monuments, hotels and roads named after). Instead, those in authority immediately agreed to buildings named after Harry, Raja, Hon, Goh and finally Devan.
I call upon the Government to name a new expressway, school, institute of higher learning or even hospital after Sang Nila Utama for he is worthy of remembrance and deserve proper mention as the actual founder of TEMASEK (not Temasek Holdings).

lianbeng replies kohliantye, "very well worded, sir! u may present ur story to harry n old guards. lianbeng used to run from changi buay kampong (near joo chiat area) all the way barefooted to chinatown in the wee hours before sunrise n back home again before 12midnight...":D
"those were the days...oh yes, those were the days...lai lai lai lai lai lai..."

They're also fucking durable. a lot of the colonial houses that weren't bombed(or bulldozed by gahmen) were still standing strong long after our indie-ness... nothing like those shitty chinaman shophouses and their 5foot ways. most of the shophouses collapsed in modern times. that and they were big fire hazards.

I call upon the Government to name a new expressway, school, institute of higher learning or even hospital after Sang Nila Utama for he is worthy of remembrance and deserve proper mention as the actual founder of TEMASEK (not Temasek Holdings).

Raffles: Name anything after this piece of shit who couldn't tell the difference between a lion and boar, no way! Name the next instutition after me!

They're also fucking durable. a lot of the colonial houses that weren't bombed(or bulldozed by gahmen) were still standing strong long after our indie-ness... nothing like those shitty chinaman shophouses and their 5foot ways. most of the shophouses collapsed in modern times. that and they were big fire hazards.

That's very true, da dick. Besides solid and magnificent buildings, the British also left us with a good port infrastructures and facilities that had made S'pore already a thriving sea port way back then. In other words, S'pore was already a well recognised port internationally during the British times. It was not built from scratch as the PAP would have you believe. It was not something that was created out of nothing by the PAP govt. PAP can be credited for taking the port to a higher level but it is total misconception that it was the PAP who establish our port out of a sleepy fishing village that the British left us. This is just one example. There are many other good things from the colonial's legacy such as public housing. It wasn't started by PAP but the British had already laid down a good foundation with the Singapore Improvement Trust or S.I.T, a pre-cursor to HDB. The education system is another example. Under the British, even a secondary 2 or 3 student could read/write better English than our graduates now including some ministers (Zorro is good example). I am not saying everything was good under the British, what I am saying is that the PAP had claimed credit for far too many things that did not originate from them.

I've never heard of Japan invading a fishing village but I've heard of Japan invading an international port city. I believe that happened more than a decade earlier than the founding of PAP, wasn't it?

If persons were/are paid millions to do jobs for themselves or for so-called for the country , naming founding fathers be they ancient or modern is a big joke !

But for Mr Stamford , he deserves the postmortem accolade.
!

Ramseth said:
I've never heard of Japan invading a fishing village but I've heard of Japan invading an international port city. I believe that happened more than a decade earlier than the founding of PAP, wasn't it?

Singapore was an entreport even in the pre-PAP history books. If I remember correctly it attained the status of a city in the early 60's. Do you know that in the US, except for a few metropolitan areas, the rest are just towns and not cities?