its because of the huge amount of subsidies available for low income families
HUGE amount? How huge? Pray tell...
its because of the huge amount of subsidies available for low income families
I'm sure Mr Lim is the family man type who put his family first.. There're some people like Mr Lim who do not gamble, drink or smoke.. My Ah Beng army mate got married when he was 22.. Now got 4 kids and workin as a delivery driver earning less than 2k a month.. On Fridays and Saturdays, he would work part time to earn some extra cash.. Told me that he experienced satisfaction each time he comes back home and seeing his wife and kids all eagerly waiting for him to have dinner together..
Good story. I'm sure there are men (and women) out there, of all races, who lead very difficult, noble lives, providing for their families in the best way that they can. Even without any wasteful expenses, it is really difficult to have children and care for them. A know a friend of mine who has 5 kids with a combined income of $5000.(including some pocket money driving private mini buses on some days, after his regular work) He lives in a 4 room flat and both he and his wife have brought up the kids (aged 12 to 22) well. I know that he is very careful in spending money but will try his best to meet his children's material needs. I contrast this with the story of a young married couple aged 28, with a combined income of $15000 a month, who is postponing having children because of the cost of a "quality life" for the kid/kids...(today's Sunday Times)
Having children (if you are lucky enough as there are many who can't, due to medical grounds) is a personal decision. By all means think carefully when and why you want children. Economics is important but it should not be the main reason....
Good story. I'm sure there are men (and women) out there, of all races, who lead very difficult, noble lives, providing for their families in the best way that they can. Even without any wasteful expenses, it is really difficult to have children and care for them. A know a friend of mine who has 5 kids with a combined income of $5000.(including some pocket money driving private mini buses on some days, after his regular work) He lives in a 4 room flat and both he and his wife have brought up the kids (aged 12 to 22) well. I know that he is very careful in spending money but will try his best to meet his children's material needs. I contrast this with the story of a young married couple aged 28, with a combined income of $15000 a month, who is postponing having children because of the cost of a "quality life" for the kid/kids...(today's Sunday Times)
Having children (if you are lucky enough as there are many who can't, due to medical grounds) is a personal decision. By all means think carefully when and why you want children. Economics is important but it should not be the main reason....
so really 1.5k can survive?
I witness a real life example for years. it might not be 5 kids but a family with 3 kids.
the family towards month end worried of paying bills. the bills frequently come in red.
electricity cut off, went to lend money, pay the bill for the electricity to restore.
HDB came with warning letter they will repossess the flat if still not pay the loan on time.
go the welfare, submitted many supporting docs, sometimes succeed, sometime failed.
welfare also does not support you 50%.
each child transport fee, pocket money, school fees, books, uniform, stationery etc.
in the past, books still can be passed to the next kid but now every books has to be bought.
no holidays, since hardly can afford.
no taxi, of course low income still dare took taxi.
force themselves try not to see doctor if sick. try to take a rest or consume family members leftover medicine hoping to recover.
so really 1.5k can survive?
uncle, your life story happen how many years ago. now family income under $2k can apply for free textbooks, free uniforms, free school shoe plus free pocket money. a few years back was $1500. even for PCF fee can apply. instead of paying $100 a month, low income family can apply for discount or even free. dont said dont have hor as i know my malay colleague had been applying for all these things for his kids for years.
This is a classic example of low income families being supported by tax payers. I do not mind if low income have these free txt books etc maximum of 2 kids,,but 6?? this is crazy. To me to qualify if its low income, they get such support for 2 kids max. Once the 2 kid quota is hit, the wife must go get tubes cut like the good old days. Quality population is more important than huge quantity of trailer park trash. 2 child policy should be arbitrarily enforced on income below 2K.
Taxpayers already supporting the multi millionaires and their minions in parliament.....all the jiakliaobees.....
This guy is on a one way road to hardship for himself and his children. Those who can actually afford but choose not to are also outliers. The fact is that a large majority of Singaporeans are not able to provide for themselves financially with any surety for the next 20 years. How then can this majority be encouraged to have children? Or better why is it that a country with absolutely no natural disaster and a center for global sea trade have their citizens face such simple yet drastic decisions.
The answer is that when you allow a group of fascists to govern then you allow policies from impossibly cheap land acquisition prices to ridiculous housing costs, from possible job creation for citizens to definite and absolute job opportunities for FTs at the expense of Singaporeans, from no minimum wage for citizens to maximum wage for politicians. The list goes on and on.
Mr lim? I thought it was a malay? I thought malays are winning chinese by having more kids? Oh crap how are we supposed to twist this around to show that malays are superior? Mr lim really cares about his family by raising so many kids with such a low salary but he's chinese and i thought chinese were money minded? Hmmm
Yes you are right.But later part they jia sai n si. Sad case.
You are wrong. I know quite a few such low incomers who have more than 2 kids. They are happy with the simple things in life.
It can indeed be done. Its all about attitude sir.
Nope, they really jia sai k.nope, they do great.
Nope, they really jia sai k.