If no money then might as well decline the invitation politely.
If the invitation is declined, you still have to pay up once the summons is received.
If no money then might as well decline the invitation politely.
OT slightly, attended birthday parties before. The birthday girl/boy opened the presents at the party, and someone recorded down the names of the givers. I asked what that was for and was told it is to send thank you letters. Different mindset totally.
Best to have a modest wedding reception... at a void deck... and expect nothing, but good wishes, from your guests. :o
That's the AngMoh style lah, AngMoh weddings now got wedding gift list, just log in to their gift list page on Amazon or their choice of Online retailer & you pay for a gift like a toaster or dinner plates etc.. no need for Angpows, much more civil after all the bloody wedding is already so stressful & still need to worry about count angpow monies & cause more tension with friends & relatives? What a memorable day it is, got married & had a massive fight over money with all the guests
Yes, much prefer the angmoh style.
This was on their news feed so it was a public message. Sheeeesh. Why wasn't this private messaged!? Seems like a stunt to embarrass the person. To me, it's the sender who looks bad.
Plus if the person didn't give due to "unforeseen circumstances", why do they have to let the bride/groom know?! I don't get it!
WOW...... Next time really remember to put your name, IC, telelphone number, address on the back of the red packet. If I don't put enough, will they send me a bill too??
Many people complain to me about their horror wedding stories. From both sides.
I heard before one family went to a wedding, 4 of them, and only gave a picture frame.
At my friend's wedding, she said she got received empty red packets... she dunno if it was an accident or a joke... she felt it quite mean...
Any stories to share?
Luckily, I don't get invited to many weddings lol...
If the invitation is declined, you still have to pay up once the summons is received.
This was on their news feed so it was a public message. Sheeeesh. Why wasn't this private messaged!? Seems like a stunt to embarrass the person. To me, it's the sender who looks bad.
Plus if the person didn't give due to "unforeseen circumstances", why do they have to let the bride/groom know?! I don't get it!
WOW...... Next time really remember to put your name, IC, telelphone number, address on the back of the red packet. If I don't put enough, will they send me a bill too??
Many people complain to me about their horror wedding stories. From both sides.
I heard before one family went to a wedding, 4 of them, and only gave a picture frame.
At my friend's wedding, she said she got received empty red packets... she dunno if it was an accident or a joke... she felt it quite mean...
Any stories to share?
Luckily, I don't get invited to many weddings lol...
Some Singaporeans do indeed get the government they deserve. Everything must count dollars and cents, even marriage must be a profitable venture. No wonder the government finds ways to extract money from them and steal their CPF, they also continue to vote PAP. In the PAP shoes they would be doing exactly the same thing to fellow Singaporeans.
I think the younger ones conveniently forget about the traditional angpows.
Some even shrugged..." I never asked to be invited what! Why give money!!!"
Yes, some just give presents ( a photo frame or some cute gifts ) without cash...poor married couple will have to foot the bill jialat!
So it's like this now....But the majority still give angpows lah....not as big as before.
Now wedding dinners are getting more expensive and I believe the angpows should also be more lah....
For a couple now, at a 5 star hotel wedding dinner, about $200 can?
Singaporeans attitude have the change. Stealing glory at the expense of kinships and friendships.