• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Bride confronts friend for not giving red packet at her wedding

Hi Tony, actually not all Singaporeans are like that. I paid all the tab whenever we went out with friends, i even drove some of them back and went all over the island in the wee hours of the morning. In the end, some of them still played me out even though i drove some of them back (on the way so chin chai) and one of them even backstabbed me when i helped him get a better job and transferred over to my department. Same guy acted blur when my kids full moon celebration came when we went for his.

Now the same words he said behind me last time was used against him by other staff from outside the department. I guess its a case of, sometimes you treat people as friends but they never treated you as one in the first place. Just tell myself, mistaken identity, i thought that was a friend.

Tonychat is referring to his family members...

Actually a lot of times i get invited by people i don't even know so its really weird. Some invite me only 2-3 days before the wedding plus all these years, after getting recommendation/jobs/testimonials, i never heard back from them. Maybe my friendship is not worth their time.

they see you as carrot head, why let them chop?

Hi Tony, actually not all Singaporeans are like that. I paid all the tab whenever we went out with friends, i even drove some of them back and went all over the island in the wee hours of the morning. In the end, some of them still played me out even though i drove some of them back (on the way so chin chai) and one of them even backstabbed me when i helped him get a better job and transferred over to my department. Same guy acted blur when my kids full moon celebration came when we went for his.

Now the same words he said behind me last time was used against him by other staff from outside the department. I guess its a case of, sometimes you treat people as friends but they never treated you as one in the first place. Just tell myself, mistaken identity, i thought that was a friend.

It is always good to be nice and kind, but must with wisdom mah..

you like that allow people to take advantage of you, in the long run, it is not good.

Firstly, the guy will destroyed himself by continue this behaviour. If you show them the middle finger, they might wake up and realise it is not right to behave like this so they will change for the better.

10k even in today context can really do alot of things. Oh yeah, I figure to add:

6. House must be BTO, preferably 5 room flats.
7. 5 years later, must buy condo as well.

8. Must have CAR! - So that can be her ahmad and drive her around like you owe her your life!

Not giving is a bit sad unless its really no choice. I remembered, all these years i went and gave $200-300. Good friend who left the company with me, $300 plus i found him jobs, testimony etc. All the times for ang pao, i never even wrote my name down until my wife chided me and said misunderstandings may arise.

Then it was when i started to write. Even a recent one where i didn't go, just a colleague at the office, i still gave $100. Just helping out a little as i know how hard life is.

You are a wonderful person. Words of wisdom to be treasured.

Today is Wednesdary - A day of peace, a day of forgiveness and a day of wisdom. Thank you....:)

It is clear that a 'friend' who did not even give red packet is not a true friend. Poor people even have the dignity to give a small token sum.

I agree. It's our tradition to give an ang pow , even a token one will be okay if we are poor. Sometimes, our very presence is an honour. I went to a wedding once and my dear friend told me very frankly: please do not give an ang pow, just come and enjoy the dinner and the company! we all had a good time celebrating and rejoicing. he was my old class-mate and the wedding dinner was a lavish one at a 6 star hotel!!!:)

Back then then 'professional' freeloaders were common.......they would find out where were wedding dinners being held and bring along their kids whole family dressed to the nines and attend the dinners......no angmo or empty angpow of course.....still got people doing such things now?

I agree. It's our tradition to give an ang pow , even a token one will be okay if we are poor. Sometimes, our very presence is an honour. I went to a wedding once and my dear friend told me very frankly: please do not give an ang pow, just come and enjoy the dinner and the company! we all had a good time celebrating and rejoicing. he was my old class-mate and the wedding dinner was a lavish one at a 6 star hotel!!!:)
thanks for telling us you the cheap charlie.....

i find that malays like to invite chinese to their weddings because chinese usually will give a bigger red package......anyone agree?

That sounds racist.

If they don't invite Chinese, you say they are racist. If they invite Chinese, means they are greedy for big red packet.

1. bro, allow me to fill you in on this.
2. i shall attend a wedding reception at a 5-star hotel along orchard road later this month.
3. yes, i was part of the groom's party choosing the venue & menu.
4. minimum cost per table for a 8-course sit-down chin dinner: s$1,400.00
5. except beer!
6. now, do your calculation!

Bro Street, about $200 can ?

this very rich friend of mine invited one table of his old-timers...and he told us specifically No Ang pow....and he was very happy we all came!!!...it was his daughter's wedding lah:)

when i am invited to a malay wedding lunch, i usually give a big ang pow, even though it is held in the void deck....just to help out the couple:)

this very rich friend of mine invited one table of his old-timers...and he told us specifically No Ang pow....and he was very happy we all came!!!...it was his daughter's wedding lah:)

when i am invited to a malay wedding lunch, i usually give a big ang pow, even though it is held in the void deck....just to help out the couple:)

When my daughter gets married I will invite you to my Indian wedding. Hope you bring big ang pow. If 2 ang pow also can.

wow .... how time flies,

during my time, angpows were only $6 or $8 or $10 (very big already). some more must bring own crates of beers and bottles of henessy to wedding dinner at rikity restaurant ...:o

I'm getting married tomorrow again. Please remember :D

Bro Street, about $200 can ?

1. kopi, if your gift is some 200 bucks.
2. damn affordable leh!
3. however, you are some part-timer, 90 plus years old.
4. just watch out on your budget mah!
5. at this ripe age, you may not even eat everything on the table too.

Bro wuqi256,

It is sad. I also encountered the same kind of experience as you. For me, I no longer treated PRC people as friends because these groups of look after their self-interest fully even took advantages at their own friends.

Last year there is one guy who worked as a VP in some finance companies who mocked me for earning low salary and few years ago when I am unemployed. He invited me to his wedding dinner to normal restaurant with 20 tables. I knew him for 10 years and treated him as a friend but when my career is down he laughed at me for no skills and unable to get a job in 2009.

I accepted his invitation and attended his wedding dinners. Since he knew that I am a poor man, I gave him an ang bao for $38 without writing my name on it.

Since then I never hear from him again ... :)

Bro wuqi256,

It is sad. I also encountered the same kind of experience as you. For me, I no longer treated PRC people as friends because these groups of look after their self-interest fully even took advantages at their own friends.

Last year there is one guy who worked as a VP in some finance companies who mocked me for earning low salary and few years ago when I am unemployed. He invited me to his wedding dinner to normal restaurant with 20 tables. I knew him for 10 years and treated him as a friend but when my career is down he laughed at me for no skills and unable to get a job in 2009.

I accepted his invitation and attended his wedding dinners. Since he knew that I am a poor man, I gave him an ang bao for $38 without writing my name on it.

Since then I never hear from him again ... :)

you should never give any ang bao. give also put some tissue paper in it.

These are called sinkies. no need to treat them with respect.

you should never give any ang bao. give also put some tissue paper in it.

These are called sinkies. no need to treat them with respect.

Bro Tony,

For these, I agree with you :)

Sinkie and PRC same kind of creature :rolleyes:

Bro Tony,

For these, I agree with you :)

Sinkie and PRC same kind of creature :rolleyes:

if you observe carefully, the source of sinkie behaviour is actually come from China source.

Those sinkie who retain those chink behaviour are called sinkie behaviour.

if you check my signature, i made a list of the sinkie behaviour and recently updated 2 new ones.

one way to unsinkified yourself is to ang mor-nised yourself.