• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's Hidden History (2)

This site was later developed as a condo..... a very haunted condo....

The residents reportedly called in the Taoist priests who suggested that the whole building be painted red........

Tan+Tong+Meng+Tower.jpg

Is it true that these building belonged to the family of the TAY KOH YAT Bus Company. Hdence the colours resembled that of the bus.

For nostalgia, can someone make available a photo of these bus. I used to take No 9 from Bartley Road to city.

I heard many say the old PA was fucking haunted. Can you shed some light on that location? was it a Malay burial ground?

After reading your input, I could not help revealing something that I had been keeping to myself for so many years.

Yes, many people said or claimed that the old PA was haunted.

That recruits used to be carried to the Parade Square whilst sleeping soundly only to wake up there in the darkest night.

That the quarters where the Women recruits stayed was a no go area inhabited by Pontianak.

About the Tales of Headless Japanese and British soldiers marching around on the parade square after midnight with chains clanging away.

However, this was prior to 1967 - the days when mata-matas from Malacca form the bulk of the Force.

After 1967, the scenario changed and a massive EXORCISM Exercise started...

Many educated young men joined the police and made PA their home for 6 months.

They were better lettered then their Field Instructors who only knew Kiri-kanan, ke-belakang pusing and berhenti.

The story goes that these bright young men got togather and devised a scheme to rid the Academy of the residents ghosts, ghouls, pontianaks, orang-minyak, toyols and maybe Draculas.

Being multi-racial and multi-religious, they staged a wild party in which there was much merry-making and feasting on different kinds of food.

The former "Resident Evil" panicked and gave up.

They packed their belongings and ran out of PA so fast and furious, that in so doing, the Toa Payoh flyover gave way and collapsed killing one Bhai-Serabat (by name of Hakimuddin Barkat).

Maybe, the fear of the falling overhead bridge could have made them more frightened that they just entered the white and red apartment till the arrival of that medium who advised it to be painted red.

At least they could have returned to the Bukit Brown Cemetery nearby. That too has been earmarked for demolition.

Maybe they will enter the white and black bungalows in Mt Pleasant and Gymkhana Avenue.

If anyone wish to write a Singapore Ghost Story you can use my services.

The book will be sold by thousands and we will all live happily ever after.

Ha Ha Ha Ha. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

My friend whilst on duty at night as "OO" , he came face to face with an apparition with long hair... the type you see in cheap chinese movies..... he freaked out.... ( but he did move up the ranks till he retired as ASP...)

images

When they constructed the swimming pool, they actually dug up a skeleton of a man........

KNN no such thing as ghosts in this world lah. Why are sinkies so fucking superstitious and irrational? :rolleyes:

My friend whilst on duty at night as "OO" , he came face to face with an apparition with long hair... the type you see in cheap chinese movies..... he freaked out.... ( but he did move up the ranks till he retired as ASP...)

images

When they constructed the swimming pool, they actually dug up a skeleton of a man........

Sorry Harry Lee;

He retired as ASP or Another Suay Policeman.

Skeleton of a Man???. How they knew about the sex from bones. Unless of course our Late Guru Chao Tze Cheng was there.

Just kidding Bro Harry Lee (i love your nick)

The day 11+1 medical students died.....

In 1942 during the invasion of Singapore, medical students from the college volunteered to help in the hospital....

When the bombs rained down, one was killed..... he was taken to the hospital grounds to be buried. As his classmate dug the grave, a shell exploded, killing 11 of his medical school mates..... in that instant, we lost a dozen cream of our students..... future leaders all of them....

There was also one muslim amongst them... who knows, he could have been PM of Malaysia instead of that guy Dr Mahathir....

580865_176859265779346_245434185_n.jpg

They were all thrown into a mass grave. Their mass grave is still in the grounds of the SGH......

And one of them could easily have replaced LKY as leader of the PAP.....

On the morning of 14 February 1942, Yoong Tat Sin, a fourth-year medical student, was fatally injured by Japanese shelling while on duty at the Tan Tock Seng Hospital along Balestier Road. He was rushed to the Outram Road General Hospital (former name of Singapore General Hospital) for an emergency operation, but he died soon after.

That same evening, his fellow friends, about 25 students from the medical and dental faculties of the College of Medicine decided to give Yoong a proper burial within the grounds of the hospital. One of the five trenches dug out earlier for air raid purposes was converted into a grave for Yoong. As the grave was being prepared, they were spotted by Japanese gunners which began pouring a heavy barrage of shells at the defenceless students. Some quick-footed students managed to flee to safety towards the College building. However, those left behind only had time to leap into the trenches and Yoong's grave. As a result, 11 of the students were killed, three were wounded and only two managed to escape injury in the aftermath. Those who were killed instantaneously were given a burial on the morning of 16 February, a day after the surrender of Singapore to the Japanese, in the trenches where they fell.

After the war, the British Colonial Government erected a memorial to commemorate the British soldiers and civilian war dead along College Road near the spot where the slain students were killed.

225px-SGH_War_Memorial%E2%80%94Singapore.jpg

When the bombs rained down, one was killed..... he was taken to the hospital grounds to be buried. As his classmate dug the grave, a shell exploded, killing 11 of his medical school mates.....

On the last day of the fucking Japs bombing campaign, a Dr Victor Norris was killed while on duty in the hospital. I believe there is a wing in the SGH today was named in memory of Dr Norris. He was also the father of the RGS ex principal Miss Evelyn Norris, whom tutored me when I was a young boy and whom I will forever be indebted to.

I heard many say the old PA was fucking haunted. Can you shed some light on that location? was it a Malay burial ground?

Many stories bro. No actual sightings though. Was told never to bring in bak kwa. PA is eerie coz there's a cemetery nearby - kopi sua. A friend of mine walked in through backdoor - Onraet Rd. Was about 5am coz he sneaked out. Claimed he spotted a LIW (Lady in White) with long hair walking a distance ahead of him.

Can't recall story of the wooden building next to sentry. Judo classes there. The side gate along Mt Pleasant not main gate. Bro kohlianthye may be able to enlighten us.

Many stories bro.

I also heard many people tell stories about the museum that was very creepy. It contained all the famous murder weapons and evidence seized. They say some cadets even fall sick after the tour! :eek:

The only ghosts I knew of in the Police Academy were the Probationary Inspectors of "C Course" who used to raid the rambutan trees in the middle of the night. They were always the lawless bunch, compared with the more disciplined junior officers and NS Cadet Inspectors.

I also heard many people tell stories about the museum that was very creepy. It contained all the famous murder weapons and evidence seized. They say some cadets even fall sick after the tour! :eek:

I must have slept thru my course. Didn't know a museum existed in there. Was also cautioned not to masuk PA drunk. Maybe it was only applicable to front door entry. Lots of us returned drunk but entered thru back gate aka Ho Chi Minh trail. More fearful of snakes than ghosts!

The only ghosts I knew of in the Police Academy were the Probationary Inspectors of "C Course" who used to raid the rambutan trees in the middle of the night. They were always the lawless bunch, compared with the more disciplined junior officers and NS Cadet Inspectors.

Hahahahaaaa. Agree with you completely. I have more class. I get 'aduans' to buy me the best rambutans and deliver to PA for me to makan. Those who raided the rambutan trees bo standard. Rambutans so cheap. Must climb tree? Makes me malu to be linked to these cheapos.

Is it true that these building belonged to the family of the TAY KOH YAT Bus Company. Hdence the colours resembled that of the bus.

For nostalgia, can someone make available a photo of these bus. I used to take No 9 from Bartley Road to city.

Bus 16 okay?
Sorry about the colour.

Tay-Koh-Yat-bus020.jpg

There is a good book that list all the bus inventory in colonial Singapore. :)

SGVol1cover.jpg

Bus 16 okay?
Sorry about the colour.

Tay-Koh-Yat-bus020.jpg
Bro, Thank you so much for bringing alive the nostalgic past when beautiful and colourful buses plied the routes.

When we could commute from one end to another at very cheap prices.

Those old winding roads which seems always empty and bare.

Once again thanks for that pic and the Bus Guide.

Have a Great Day.

There is a good book that list all the bus inventory in colonial Singapore. :)

SGVol1cover.jpg

Thanks for this too, bro. It would certainly help a great deal.

According to one resident whom I know at Tan Tong Meng Tower, on certain days of the month blood oozes out of the wall and for this
reason the property management council got it painted in red to camouflage.

According to one resident whom I know at Tan Tong Meng Tower, on certain days of the month blood oozes out of the wall and for this
reason the property management council got it painted in red to camouflage.

The building every month lai ang? :eek:

Tay Koh Yat lost his bus company to Tan Lark Sye over the mahjong tables in Tanjong Rhu Club and Ee Hoe Hean Club.