• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's football scene is pretty fucked up now

Wah lau you guys very old.

My time was David Lee, Kadir Yahya, Lim Tong Hai, Borhan Abu Samah, Malek Awab, Fandi Ahmad, V Sundramoorthy, K Kannan, Nazri Nasir, Hasnim Haron, Abbas Saad, Alistair Edwards, Jang Jung, Supersub Steven Tan, Lee Man Hon, V Selvaraj.

Douglas Moore manager.

Dream Team. They went out on a high I must say.
U left out 2 very important players : Auyong Pak Kwang n T.Pathmanathan.

Of all the old timers, Mat Noh was the most elegant n skilful player in Singapore's football history imo... He used to be married to our local famous singer Rahimah Rahim but it didn't last long.

SAVE_20201220_140327.png

This one one leg in the oppies' side.

oso got 1 leong kok fann during dat time ...
Oh yes, Leong Kok Fun n Auyong Pak Kwang besides being good footballers, they also excel academically. There's another lesser known player named Wong Kok Choy who played for Singapore also in the 80s....

I agree. Also, when we were in the Malaysia Cup, patriotism was high. The rivalry between us and the Malaysia states was real. Used to drive up across the courseway for our away matches. Our national football players were our heroes!:thumbsup:

And hey, it is called football, not soccer hor.:biggrin:

K.N.N.

LimPeh always Leemember the Kallang Loar,

and Coach Mr Choo Seng Quee.

Our football was already corrupted to the core back then even during the giddy days of the 70s. One Lau Hero who used to be a familiar face on the pitches of Farrer Park once told me Samad Allapitchay met his bookie during a training break to bet on a horse that was to run later that afternoon. And a national player ever revealed to him the final scoreline of an inter constituency game even before the ball has been kicked.

I heard FAS earned a lot of fees this year for giving consultancy to the EPL on how to manage games regularly with less than 2000 spectators

It was a huge mistake to leave the M League and Msia Cup.

They should have built on it.

And with TV and streaming being bigger and bigger there would have been bigger deals.

Instead they went with S league. Such a small country how to have a proper league?

Also why so many Malay soccer players? Malays are the minority in Sg.

So the catchment population is even smaller!

There are good soccer players of other races but they have better careers to pursue.
Left or was kicked out?
The day sinkie won Malaysia cup, FAM president was the sultan of pahang.
He was really pissed. He had a good reason to be piss as when he attended football match in kallang, crowds were insulting him openly with all kinds of verbal insults and hand gestures.
Then there was investigation about some bribery syndicate in sinkie and I think was the reason for sinkie being kicked out.

Left or was kicked out?
The day sinkie won Malaysia cup, FAM president was the sultan of pahang.
He was really pissed. He had a good reason to be piss as when he attended football match in kallang, crowds were insulting him openly with all kinds of verbal insults and hand gestures.
Then there was investigation about some bribery syndicate in sinkie and I think was the reason for sinkie being kicked out.
All political lah.

Can negotiate one.

For example Singapore left Malaysia Federation because LKY wouldn't step down.

Malays in SG could have chosen to move back to Malaysia during the split but they decided to stick with LKY and the chinese.

It was a huge mistake to leave the M League and Msia Cup.

They should have built on it.

And with TV and streaming being bigger and bigger there would have been bigger deals.

Instead they went with S league. Such a small country how to have a proper league?

Also why so many Malay soccer players? Malays are the minority in Sg.

So the catchment population is even smaller!

There are good soccer players of other races but they have better careers to pursue.

Not so much that we had to "leave" the Malaysia Cup....more like we were "sacked".

Majid Ariff was a very elegant player. And a dirty player at the same time.
Master in squeezing the kotek when knew referee and linesmen can't see.
Also great "pasang kaki" expert too.

Last I saw him years and years ago, he was security guard at Parkway Parade.