• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore vs Israel - A study of contrasts

SNAblog

http://www.littlespeck.com/informed/2006/CInformed-090525.htm

Littlespeck.com, 24 May 2009, subbaiyer.wordpress.com

Singapore vs Israel - A study of contrasts

By Subba’s Serendipitous moments

I had a chance meeting with a NUS don and we ended up discussing my post on whether East Asia can produce a Susan Boyle. While remaining neutral about the arguments that I put forth, he mentioned the reason about Singapore being “small”.

(Littlespeck: Susan Boyle is an ordinary Scottish church singer whose talent was unknown until she took part in a "Britain's got talent" contest and "I Dreamed a Dream" from Les Misérables which won world acclaim.)

I have heard the argument of Singapore being “small” ad nauseam. Singapore uses that as a convenient excuse whenever there’s a short coming or if they have to justify any hard measure to contain order.

They also use it to explain away many of the things where they have come short.

But, if you turn around and ask them how Singapore achieved some wonderful things in specific areas despite its small size, the discussion has veered off into a different direction.

Size and stability may be good, but lack of size and stability is not a deterrent to be successful. This reminds me of the famous lines in the old classic The Third Man:

”For 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance.

In Switzerland, they had brotherly love and 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.”

To serious skeptics, I usually cite Israel (population of 7.2 million) as an example.

Israel since its independence in 1948 has fought a several wars with its neighbours. It is always in a state of military preparedness.

Yet it ranks highest in terms of human development, freedom of the press and economic competitiveness amongst Middle East countries.

It is a parliamentary democracy and the average span of Israeli government of 22 months. The governments have often changed for a number of reasons — political scandals, peace process with their neighbors and the role of religion.

It has the highest level of civil and human rights comparable to any Western world democracy and the freedom of press has been ranked highest amongst the Southwest regions.

Economically it is rated 3rd in the World Economic Forum’s Global competitiveness report. It has the 2nd largest number of start-ups after the US and the most number of companies listed in NASDAQ.

Many of the large technology vendors like IBM, Microsoft, Cisco have advanced development centres in Israel.

Contrary to the Singaporean thinking, the Israelis have used the small size of Israel as an advantage. A Israeli start up knows that is home market is limited and hence function as a “mini-multinational” from day one.

A surprising thing among Israelis is that they are never scared of failure and if 5% of the start ups in US are headed by repeat entrepreneurs, in Israel the ratio is well over around 30%.

Now coming to creative arts, Israel music has influences from all over the world. The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra has been operating for over 70 years and performs over 200 concerts each year. It also has a vibrant theatre scene.

How does one explain these successes in so many diverse fields despite its size and lack of peace? My view is their ability to be an inclusive society and they valuing diversity.

All Jews irrespective of their lineage are welcome and they constitute 75% of the population. Muslims are the largest minority and it equally welcomes Christians.

The difference between Singapore and Israel was neatly summed up by Guy Kawasaki in one of his recent visits to Singapore.

He called Singapore an one-opinion town. His precise words were: Israel has 5 million people, six million entrepreneurs, and fifteen million opinions.

Singapore has 5 million people, six entrepreneurs and one opinion.

Yesterday Lydia Lim a political correspondent from Straits Times referred to this difference, but only to defend Singapore and make a statement that Singapore has more than one opinion.

Her effort was painstaking, but what she ended up doing was only to reinforce the Singapore’s stability mantra which gives the society the order, but fails to deliver the innovation and creativity that Singapore badly needs in these times of global slowdown.

http://subbaiyer.wordpress.com/2009/05/24/singapore-and-israel-a-study-of-contrasts/

---------------------------
Latest updates at Singapore News Alternative:

1. Hong Kong and Singapore Most Vulnerable to Global Slump, Nomura Says
2. Neptune Orient Lines cargo volume dipped 22%
3. SIA says reduced business travel and flu epidemic set back for sustained recovery
4. Singapore vs Israel : A study of contrasts
5. Tweaking electoral rules: The paradox of contesting GRCs the SMC way
6. Temasek raises it's Standard Chartered stake to 19.11%
7. Batam see rise in luxury car smugglings from Singapore

New videos added:

1. Low Thia Khiang: Invest in knowledge-based creative SMEs - 25 May 09
2. NMP Siew Kum Hong: Indigenous entrepreneurs and changing political system
3. Obama Weekly Address - 23 Mar 2009
4. Poverty The Unknown Side of Singapore

good article bro!!!!!!!!
farking pappy wake up your farking idea.
U are grinding sinkaPoor to the ground

Singapore's problems aren't caused by the pappies. The reason why the country is a basket case is because the majority race are Chinese. In fact, they are descendants of Chinese peasant stock (coolies, rickshaw pullers, farmers etc), an inferior gene pool by any measure. Sinkie Chinese have below average IQs and EQs and have a habit of blaming others for their own shortcomings. Blaming the PAP whenever problems of their own making crop up is a classic sinkie trait.

Israel, on the other hand, is run by Jews and not just any Jews. The Israelis are the cream of the crop. They're the ones that survived the Holocaust. They went through the baptism of fire which was the 2nd world war and emerged strong, lean, tough and with a burning desire to succeed and excel in all aspects of their lives.

Blaming the pappies is a cop out. In fact, without the pappy govt, sinkies would be in even worse shit!.:rolleyes:

newyorker88

Singapore's problems aren't caused by the pappies. The reason why the country is a basket case is because the majority race are Chinese. In fact, they are descendants of Chinese peasant stock (coolies, rickshaw pullers, farmers etc), an inferior gene pool by any measure. Sinkie Chinese have below average IQs and EQs and have a habit of blaming others for their own shortcomings.

There you go again, chinese bashing. Dont forget there are abt 24% Malays and 10% Indians too.....

Though I got to admit chinese have the bad habit of getting jealous at those who are better than them and the nasty habit of looking down at others who are less well off then themselves.

To let you know the fact that some of the best research people in USA are of chinese stock too.

Jews? No doubt they are smart, but not all of them. Just like any other race, there are smart ones and those who cannot make it.

PAP is no hero either. My defination of a hero : Someone who sees his opportunity and take it to make his advantage.

I have heard the argument of Singapore being “small” ad nauseam. Singapore uses that as a convenient excuse whenever there’s a short coming or if they have to justify any hard measure to contain order.

FInding excuse to cover their misgivings - a first sinkie behaivor spotted.

In Switzerland, they had brotherly love and 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.”

IN sinkieland, it is the KUKU-COCK clock. In sinkieland, there is arrogance and wayanging, the will will an island that sank.

Israel since its independence in 1948 has fought a several wars with its neighbours. It is always in a state of military preparedness.

Yet it ranks highest in terms of human development, freedom of the press and economic competitiveness amongst Middle East countries.

It is a parliamentary democracy and the average span of Israeli government of 22 months. The governments have often changed for a number of reasons — political scandals, peace process with their neighbors and the role of religion.

That is because Israel uses TRUTH for its survival and sinkieland just spends its days wayanging their way through and if spotted being in mistake or wrong, it quickly hide away, uses excuse or sue.

Sinkieland, 40 Years of Lee Die-nasty and still going one due to the ballessness and cowardice of sinkies. PLus setting coward rules of restricting human rights and a show of disagreement to the govt. And imagine... dump sinkies go the extend to even follow a stupid rule.

Oh yes, stupid pple follows stupid rules.or sinkie pple follow sinkie rules.

newyorker88

That is because Israel uses TRUTH for its survival and sinkieland just spends its days wayanging their way through and if spotted being in mistake or wrong, it quickly hide away, uses excuse or sue.

Hahaha, you never improve if you dont admit your mistakes, instead, just say " what to do, it happened liao, lets move on".

Israel, on the other hand, is run by Jews and not just any Jews. The Israelis are the cream of the crop. They're the ones that survived the Holocaust. They went through the baptism of fire which was the 2nd world war and emerged strong, lean, tough and with a burning desire to succeed and excel in all aspects of their lives.

Spore also led by someone who survived WWII. :eek:

Surprise you haven't read about how he outsmarted the Japanese:eek:

Contrary to the Singaporean thinking, the Israelis have used the small size of Israel as an advantage. A Israeli start up knows that is home market is limited and hence function as a “mini-multinational” from day one.

A surprising thing among Israelis is that they are never scared of failure and if 5% of the start ups in US are headed by repeat entrepreneurs, in Israel the ratio is well over around 30%.

Israelis got balls. You see the power of having balls, you got human rights and freedom and the world gives you a standing ovation WITH RESPECT...

Compare to the low and coward sinkies who follow sinkie rules and wayanging to cover up any mistake and failures, no wonder most of them sound so turn off.

There you go again, chinese bashing. Dont forget there are abt 24% Malays and 10% Indians too.....
????

Racial demographics - singapore

<table class="wikitable"><tbody><tr><th>Ethnic</th> <th>1970</th> <th>1980</th> <th>1990</th> <th>2000</th> <th>2006</th> </tr> <tr> <td>Chinese</td> <td align="right">77.0</td> <td align="right">78.3</td> <td align="right">77.7</td> <td align="right">76.8</td> <td align="right">75.2</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Malays</td> <td align="right">14.8</td> <td align="right">14.4</td> <td align="right">14.1</td> <td align="right">13.9</td> <td align="right">13.6</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Indians</td> <td align="right">7.0</td> <td align="right">6.3</td> <td align="right">7.1</td> <td align="right">7.9</td> <td align="right">8.8</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Others</td> <td align="right">1.2</td> <td align="right">1.0</td> <td align="right">1.1</td> <td align="right">1.4</td> <td align="right">2.4</td></tr></tbody></table>
Racial demographics - Israel

<table id="sortable_table_id_0" class="toccolours sortable" style="border-collapse: collapse;" border="1" cellpadding="3"><tbody><tr bgcolor="#6495ed"><th>Ethnic group </th> <th>% of total </th> </tr> <tr> <td>Jewish</td> <td>76.0%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Arab (Includes East Jerusalem Arabs)</td> <td>19.4%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Other</td> <td>4.6%</td></tr></tbody></table>
In Sinkieland, 75% Chinese, In Israel, 75% Jews.

I rest my case.

Now coming to creative arts, Israel music has influences from all over the world. The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra has been operating for over 70 years and performs over 200 concerts each year. It also has a vibrant theatre scene.

In sinkieland, the LEE family just go and build an Esplanade and that will show the world sinkieland has arts, isn't that another form of wayanging?

Arts will not be surface when you have a bunch of sinkie idiots follow rules here and there and then dun even dare to stand up for their rights and even bend down further after being screwed.

How does one explain these successes in so many diverse fields despite its size and lack of peace? My view is their ability to be an inclusive society and they valuing diversity.

But in sinkieland, they are forced to be in diversity and you have sinkie locals plotting against among the indians, malay and chinese. It is very evident here in this forum.

PLus worse still, they go and blamed the FT taking away their job but in fact they have all the ability to be the boss and create jobs if they take the effort to learn to do it and to stay with the times

instead of being lazy and only complain.

Spore also led by someone who survived WWII. :eek:

Surprise you haven't read about how he outsmarted the Japanese:eek:

That's why he's your dear Leader. Without him, you guys would still be pulling rickshaws for your British rulers.:rolleyes:

rickshaw85.jpg

esterday Lydia Lim a political correspondent from Straits Times referred to this difference, but only to defend Singapore and make a statement that Singapore has more than one opinion.

Her effort was painstaking, but what she ended up doing was only to reinforce the Singapore’s stability mantra which gives the society the order, but fails to deliver the innovation and creativity that Singapore badly needs in these times of global slowdown.

Oh MR. you can save the effort in asking her if you understand sinkie behavior, she is expect to give such a reply.. defending , words to cover up and coward excuse to hide incompetence instead of admitting their mistake, even worse if you direct at them, they might even sue you for it, that is how low they can get.

He called Singapore an one-opinion town. His precise words were: Israel has 5 million people, six million entrepreneurs, and fifteen million opinions.

Singapore has 5 million people, six entrepreneurs and one opinion.

THat sums it up on how disastrous sinkie behavior can result into... need i say more?