• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Must Junk Hong Kong's Rail Model

gatehousethetinkertailor

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 8.32.27 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 8.32.45 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 8.33.02 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 8.33.57 AM.png

Bad design. Thats how it got to be like this. Or good design, but after cost cuts, became bad.
it wasn't originally designed to have safety doors at every outdoor above-ground platform. stupid sinkie track jumpers forced them to be built. and many of the issues are attributed to these safety doors malfunctioning and or not properly aligned due to structural vibrations from moving trains. any platform door that breaks down is not reported in the news as it typically doesn't cause system-wide delays.

Bad design. Thats how it got to be like this. Or good design, but after cost cuts, became bad.

It is the 'bad workmen, that complains about the tools". You can upgrade the tools, but the 'bad workmen' remains & sooner or later, will complain, about the 'tools". It can take 5 years , the 'bad workman' is still around, or another 52 years ( benchmark), the same 'bad workman' will still be around, complaining about the 'tools".

The solutions is not only upgrade the tools, but remove all the ' bad workmen'..that, ahem!..will take another 52 years..so in the meantime, have a GOOD time, TOGETHER...

it wasn't originally designed to have safety doors at every outdoor above-ground platform. stupid sinkie track jumpers forced them to be built. and many of the issues are attributed to these safety doors malfunctioning and or not properly aligned due to structural vibrations from moving trains. any platform door that breaks down is not reported in the news as it typically doesn't cause system-wide delays.

The original design I am sure, did not include for those safety doors, vibrations provision was not included...the current additions is built on top of an existing systems...without dismantling the old ones. You do not need to be a rocket scientist to figure this out, the ah pek stirring his kopi O at the coffee shop..can explain this to you, in details.

the original design actually took track vibration seriously as tunnels were bored very close to high-rises with deep pilings and multi-storey garages and basements. they would rather isolate the vibration energy on the tracks than impacting buildings around them, thus contributing to the need for frequent maintenance and checks of tracks, 3rd rail, joints, insulators, power cables, etc. on outdoor platforms the design was not as stringent as those underground.

Bonut

the original design actually took track vibration seriously as tunnels were bored very close to high-rises with deep pilings and multi-storey garages and basements. they would rather isolate the vibration energy on the tracks than impacting buildings around them, thus contributing to the need for frequent maintenance and checks of tracks, 3rd rail, joints, insulators, power cables, etc. on outdoor platforms the design was not as stringent as those underground.
You have nothing to say about the maintenance standard of the MRT toilets ?

And WTF, why MRT stations and inside trains no free WiFi ?

The Station's toilets are designed to confuse you, where they are located, they are in a far flung corners of any stations & in the older designs out of the station. If you have a bad tummy, god help you...I have seen a trail of excrements left behind by someone...looking for the toilets once...not a friendly & surely, stinks to heaven smell & sight.

A spade for a spade...they have improved the cleanliness of the station's toilets, in the past, all you need is to follow your nose & you will find them, no need to spot the signs. These days, they are much cleaner, but still not that good.

I think, the explanation why in the train's cabins they cannot install Wifi transmitters is that, it will interfere with the signalling or no one, want to come out with the money for it is not commercially viable, no money to be made. you can't bet nothing here, unless there is a fee...nothing is for a FEE!

they are considering to becum 4th telco operator in sg. won't spend on wi-fi unless it makes money.

Yah lah. 30,000 Juihu kia no skill workers (PAP slaves) cross the causeway everyday are to be blame.

Cut throat prize cause local Sinkies fallout of skilled trades in every sectors.

Serve Pap right failed on every counts.

It is the 'bad workmen, that complains about the tools". You can upgrade the tools, but the 'bad workmen' remains & sooner or later, will complain, about the 'tools". It can take 5 years , the 'bad workman' is still around, or another 52 years ( benchmark), the same 'bad workman' will still be around, complaining about the 'tools".

The solutions is not only upgrade the tools, but remove all the ' bad workmen'..that, ahem!..will take another 52 years..so in the meantime, have a GOOD time, TOGETHER...

Yah lah. 30,000 Juihu kia no skill workers (PAP slaves) cross the causeway everyday are to be blame.

Cut throat prize cause local Sinkies fallout of skilled trades in every sectors.

Serve Pap right failed on every counts.

You forgot the Filipinoes, the Chinese, the...???. You can't blame much on the Malaysians or whichever country Nationals that come here to join the workforce...you want to blame, blame the management, all the way to the top & to the 'ivory tower, that is where the blame lies. then again, you have to blame the 70% who voted for 'lotus eaters'
who are residing in those 'ivory tower'.

Eventually, we have to bang our heads against the wall & blame ourselves to be born here....it is a dog chasing the tail situation.

It worked very well for the first 20 years. Then the trouble began when it was offloaded to Temasek. The issue is poor management arising from cronyism.

I found very odd that a cabinet minister has to explain every mister, error, fault etc when the people actually running MRT remain quiet until the cabinet forced them to apologise last week.

That is also the point of the article. It might look like it owned by the govt but it run along by people who are not controlled by the govt.