• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is worse than a prostitute...

Shi Jin

Please ignore post #139.

Let me rephrase my question.

Instead of throw me one whole chunk one whole website of info to digest, could u show me one country (besides Singapore), whereby English is not their native language, and the country uses english extensively in school?

Ireland :biggrin:

M'sia allow exams to be taken in English or Malay. More than 90% opted English instead of Malay.

Porfirio Rubirosa

I don't think so. I have personally talked to both at forums and LHL appears to speak the same if not better English than Tsang, also Tsang's Hongkie accent is somewhat jarring to the ears. Now Anson Chan on the otherhand speaks very good english. Another would be House of Tang owner David Tang.

Anyway all this is besides the point that I made i.e. difficulty in learning 1 language properly and adequately let alone 2 languages.

Oh and as for the edge, looks like you have never worked in HK before for a Western MNCs/professional firms. Do you know why Singaporeans have been in such high demand in HK even before the handover well over a decade ago, with big $$$ jobs? Because of their competency in the English language which trumps the hongkie anyday anytime.

really?

take our PM and compare with Sir Donald Tsang Yam-Kuen,Chief Executive and Head of Government of the Hong Kong. Donald Tsang in my opinion speaks better English than our PM LHL.

what does this tell us? we singapore setting english as 1st language don't gain much edge over them asian countries and city with english as 2nd language. in fact, we lose much more. we lose our asian identity. our roots and culture. flush down the toilet bowl.

char_jig_kar

I don't think so. I have personally talked to both at forums and LHL appears to speak the same if not better English than Tsang, also Tsang's Hongkie accent is somewhat jarring to the ears. Now Anson Chan on the otherhand speaks very good english. Another would be House of Tang owner David Tang.

Anyway all this is besides the point that I made i.e. difficulty in learning 1 language properly and adequately let alone 2 languages.

Oh and as for the edge, looks like you have never worked in HK before for a Western MNCs/professional firms. Do you know why Singaporeans have been in such high demand in HK even before the handover well over a decade ago, with big $$$ jobs? Because of their competency in the English language which trumps the hongkie anyday anytime.

yeah lar. just like the prostitute selling their body. prostitute if they got good body, and know how to act in bed (moan as if they are feeling real high, act like they are fucking enjoying the sexual intercourse) they get good price.

so singaporeans wanna get good price wanna get good pay, they sell away their asian languages and go for the ang moh language english language. many of the sporean chinese speak english to their kids instead of chinese dialect or mandarin. a national phenomenon. most of the sporeans sell away their language for monetary gain.

Hakka Tiow

The only debt I still feel I owe LKY was his decision to make English the main medium of instruction in the education system. If it had been any other way Singapore would still be.....................................................

Porfirio Rubirosa

I don't think that is the case. The issue is more of a practical one i.e. the difficulty of properly and adequately learning 2 languages.

Btw I think in my grandchildren's time the more important global languages would probably be Chinese, Spanish, Russian and still English.

Also the requirement for passing the mother tongue was made but had been cast aside by some who oppose their Asian values. Unfortunately we have ourselves to blame.

char_jig_kar

M'sia allow exams to be taken in English or Malay. More than 90% opted English instead of Malay.

like that ah? good lor. singapore got friends selling out their languages too. just like prostitutes, got sisters and friends in same line, the road will not be so lonely. got someone to talk to.

char_jig_kar

The only debt I still feel I owe LKY was his decision to make English the main medium of instruction in the education system. If it had been any other way Singapore would still be.....................................................

get real. taiwan, korea, and many other countries, they don't have english as their first language, but they are successful.

doesn't need english as first language policy in order to be successful country.

char_jig_kar

Come on people.

english as first language giving us good fucking edge, thats a myth, an urban legend created by PAP.

Get real!

char_jig_kar

Even during Raffles time, Singapore was one happening port already. We were very successful back then in that era.

Now, don't tell me people in that era, all of the people on this island have education, and speak ang moh such as english language??

GET REAL! WAKE UP FROM THE PAP MYTH! ITS THE PAP PROPAGANDA AT WORK: KEEP TELLING THE PEOPLE THAT THIS COUNTRY BENEFIT FROM PAP POLICIES SUCH AS THE ENGLISH AS FIRST LANGUAGE POLICY!

THOSE ARE JUST PROPAGANDA! NOTHING MORE!

If you really look like your avatar, then I will be worried. Hitler looked like a pussy cat in comparison. tic(tongue in cheek) no offence.:biggrin:

Many guys who have met me say I look fiercer than that. But I think it's all envy and crap. The gals all say I nice and handsome. :biggrin:

zack123

Even during Raffles time, Singapore was one happening port already. We were very successful back then in that era.

Now, don't tell me people in that era, all of the people on this island have education, and speak ang moh such as english language??

GET REAL! WAKE UP FROM THE PAP MYTH! ITS THE PAP PROPAGANDA AT WORK: KEEP TELLING THE PEOPLE THAT THIS COUNTRY BENEFIT FROM PAP POLICIES SUCH AS THE ENGLISH AS FIRST LANGUAGE POLICY!

THOSE ARE JUST PROPAGANDA! NOTHING MORE!

Come on you will have to admit that it gives Sporen a competitive advantage over the rest. And you shouldn't ignore that Sporean's capability combined with their ability to converse in English have made them a precious commodity in the international labour market.

Geographical location and past performance only counts for so much. Spore without much resources needs to provide something extra and good English speakers does contribute to our competitive edge.

char_jig_kar

Come on you will have to admit that it gives Sporen a competitive advantage over the rest. And you shouldn't ignore that Sporean's capability combined with their ability to converse in English have made them a precious commodity in the international labour market.

Geographical location and past performance only counts for so much. Spore without much resources needs to provide something extra and good English speakers does contribute to our competitive edge.

Please lah. PAP govt english as first language policy is a FAILURE.

The English as first language policy had turn majority of the Singaporeans not fluent in ANY LANGUAGES.

If the English as first language is a success, why the government wanna come up with a 'Speak good english' campaign? That shows our standard of spoken english is below par.

Stop recycling this PAP propaganda nonsense that english first language policy is a success.

zack123

Please lah. PAP govt english as first language policy is a FAILURE.

The English as first language policy had turn majority of the Singaporeans not fluent in ANY LANGUAGES.

If the English as first language is a success, why the government wanna come up with a 'Speak good english' campaign? That shows our standard of spoken english is below par.

Stop recycling this PAP propaganda nonsense that english first language policy is a success.

Yes there's a lot of propaganda involved in many of PAP's policies and I agree that not all are good. However we must give credit where it is due. We cannot say that PAP had implemented a whole lot of bad policies without reflecting on the development we had undergone as a nation so far.

So in terms of language policy, I believe that the leaders had taken a tough stance which had benefited majority of the citizens.

char_jig_kar

Yes there's a lot of propaganda involved in many of PAP's policies and I agree that not all are good. However we must give credit where it is due. We cannot say that PAP had implemented a whole lot of bad policies without reflecting on the development we had undergone as a nation so far.

So in terms of language policy, I believe that the leaders had taken a tough stance which had benefited majority of the citizens.

no. english as first language didn't benefit majority of the citizen.

the truth is the english as first language had crippled the language capability of this nation. especially the younger generation. they cant speak proper english, they cant speak proper mandarin, we spore are screwed in our language. please wake up.