• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore appointed 2 idiots to lead the task force.

Lawrence celebrated his birthday. :tongue:

Rahayu Mahzam

12 December 2022 at 19:02 ·

— with Lawrence Wong and
3 others

1672748351748.png

from straitstimes.com:

S’porean households to get $300 in CDC vouchers from today, half for use at supermarkets​

WJ3386_6.jpg

Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong and FairPrice cashier Nur Alisha putting up a CDC voucher decal at a FairPrice outlet in Kampong Admiralty on Tuesday. ST PHOTO: ONG WEE JIN
AK_csf_180522.png

Chin Soo Fang
Senior Correspondent
UPDATED

41 MINS AGO

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE – Every Singaporean household can now claim $300 worth of Community Development Council (CDC) vouchers, of which half, or $150, is for use at participating supermarkets.
The five supermarket chains that accept the CDC vouchers are FairPrice, Sheng Siong, Prime, Hao Mart and U Stars, which together have more than 300 outlets across Singapore.
This is the first time since the scheme was introduced that CDC vouchers can be used at supermarkets. More supermarkets, such as Giant and Cold Storage, may get on board later.

The other $150 worth of vouchers can be used at about 20,300 hawker stalls and heartland merchants’ stores.
As at 6pm on Tuesday, more than 300,000 households had claimed their vouchers, South West District Mayor Low Yen Ling said on Facebook. This is nearly one in four of the 1.24 million households here eligible for the vouchers.
The CDC vouchers are part of a comprehensive package to cushion the effects of elevated inflation and the goods and services tax (GST) rate increase, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said at a CDC Vouchers Scheme 2023 launch event at Kampung Admiralty.

Mr Wong said the Government had received feedback from many Singaporeans asking for flexibility to spend CDC vouchers on groceries at supermarkets. At the same time, heartland businesses and hawkers were concerned about the impact if the vouchers were extended to supermarkets.

The Government decided the vouchers would be split into two parts: half to still be set aside for heartland shops and hawkers, and the other half for supermarkets. The vouchers are colour-coded – teal for heartland shops and yellow for supermarkets. The latest tranche of vouchers adds up to $372 million.
“I hope all of you enjoy the added convenience of this set of vouchers,” said Mr Wong. “They will expire on Dec 31, 2023, or the end of this year, so do remember to use your vouchers before then and encourage your family and neighbours to do the same.”
There will be another round of U-Save rebates later in January to help households offset their utility bills and MediSave top-ups for eligible seniors and children in February.

Mr Wong, who is also Finance Minister, said his ministry is now working on Budget 2023, which he will deliver on Feb 14.
“It will be my Valentine’s Day present to all of you,” he said.
“We recognise the concerns that many people have about cost-of-living issues, (and are) hence looking at additional measures in the Budget to support Singaporeans over the coming year, especially those in the more vulnerable and lower-income groups,” he said.

The latest tranche of CDC vouchers comprises $200 in vouchers announced in Budget 2022 under the Assurance Package to offset the GST increase, and an additional $100 in vouchers under the $1.5 billion Support Package announced in October 2022.
Singaporean households will receive notification letters in their letter boxes from Tuesday with details on how to claim and spend their $300 in CDC vouchers.
Residents can claim their vouchers in a similar way to previous tranches. One member of each household will need to visit go.gov.sg/cdcv and log in with his Singpass account to claim the vouchers. A CDC voucher link will be sent to the registered mobile phone number of the claimant, who can then share it with other household members.
The CDC voucher scheme will continue to be digital in 2023. SG Digital Office digital ambassadors will be deployed at SG Digital Community Hubs to provide assistance to residents, and more than 50 Silver Infocomm Wellness Ambassadors will also be providing support at selected community clubs.

WJ3026_6.jpg

Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong (third from left) and mayors (from left) Desmond Choo, Alex Yam, Low Yen Ling, Denise Phua and Mohd Fahmi Aliman at the launch event on Jan 3, 2023. ST PHOTO: ONG WEE JIN

Ms Low, who was also at the launch, said the total possible spending amount of the vouchers for use at heartland shops and hawkers is $186 million, which is more than the previous tranche of the scheme.
As at Dec 31, 2022, more than $115 million had been spent using the 2021 CDC vouchers, while about $113 million had been spent using the 2022 CDC vouchers, said Ms Low.
“We trust that in 2023, Singaporeans will continue to support our local businesses with their patronage,” she said.
The 20,300 merchants and hawkers now participating in the scheme are also more than double the number of those who participated when the digital CDC voucher scheme was launched in late 2021, she added.

FairPrice said on Tuesday that in support of the CDC Vouchers Scheme 2023, customers who spend a minimum of $55 worth of CDC supermarket vouchers in one transaction at FairPrice outlets from Jan 3 to 15 will receive $6 in FairPrice vouchers.
Mr Vipul Chawla, FairPrice Group chief executive, said: “FairPrice renews our commitment to moderate the cost of living as we welcome the new year by seeking new ways to help the community save more.”
“Apart from participating in the 2023 CDC Vouchers Scheme, we are taking an extra step to also provide additional FairPrice vouchers for customers to purchase their daily essentials.”
A Sheng Siong spokesman told The Straits Times that the release of the CDC vouchers during this period of inflation will definitely be a great help for all businesses. Besides extending its 4 per cent senior citizen discount till end-2023, the supermarket chain has also rolled out a 1 per cent discount on most purchases in its stores from Jan 1 to March 31 to provide consumers with some assistance during this period.
Mr Alan Lee, 50, who owns the Geylang Lor 20 Banana Fritters business at Old Airport Road Food Centre, said that three to 10 of his customers used CDC vouchers daily in 2022.
“Since the Covid-19 pandemic began, many of my old customers have disappeared. However, I have also seen many new and young patrons who have started coming here, and they use a variety of payment options, including e-payments and CDC vouchers,” he told ST.

Madam Quek Gek Kiang, an 83-year-old retiree, who lives in a four-room Housing Board flat in Hougang, said: ”The vouchers are very timely to ease my financial worries as things have become more expensive lately.”
For Ms Emily Yap, a 23-year-old nurse at Alexandra Hospital, the vouchers will go towards a good cause.
She will be using them to buy kueh bangkit from her neighbourhood bakery for Chinese New Year, and the biscuits will go into 50 care packs that she is putting together for needy families and elderly people living in Clementi Meadows. Each care pack will be worth about $80 and filled with essential groceries like cooking oil and rice sponsored by donors such as Temasek Foundation.
“I am concerned about the needs of the elderly and needy families, especially in these difficult times of rising inflation and higher costs of living,” she said.
Ms Low said that more than $228 million worth of CDC vouchers was claimed in the 2021 and 2022 tranches. Of this, 46 per cent, or $105 million, was spent on food and beverage items; 43 per cent, or $98 million, on other trades and services such as electronics and clothes; and 11 per cent, or $25 million, was spent at heartland minimarts and provision shops.

Lawrence launches CDC vouchers. :cool:

Lawrence Wong

22 m ·
Kicked off the new year with the launch of the third tranche of CDC vouchers scheme 2023 with our five mayors today!
Every Singaporean household will receive $300 which is split into two — half of the vouchers $150 is set aside for heartland merchants and hawkers. The other half $150 is for participating supermarkets. This is the first time you can use CDC vouchers at participating supermarkets. I hope everyone will enjoy this added convenience. You can redeem your vouchers here: go.gov.sg/cdcv
Besides CDC vouchers, in January this year, Singaporean households living in HDB flats will receive their quarterly GST Voucher (GSTV) – U-Save and S&CC rebates. In February 2023, eligible seniors will also receive their GSTV – Cash (Seniors' Bonus) and AP MediSave.
I know many Singaporeans have concerns about the rising cost of living. These rebates and vouchers are part of a comprehensive package to cushion the effects of elevated inflation and help Singaporeans defray living expenses.
We recognise concerns over cost of living and will be looking at additional measures in the Budget to support Singaporeans over the coming year, especially for those in need.
(MCI Photos by Ngau Kai Yen)
Central Singapore Community Development Council - CDC

Lawrence Wong

21 h ·

Launch of CDC Vouchers scheme 2023 at Kampung Admiralty. Thank you, everyone for the support. More than 300,000 households have claimed their CDC vouchers as of 6pm today (3 Jan).

1672834738115.png

Lawrence prepares to usher in the Year of the Rabbit! :wink:

Lawrence Wong

1 d ·
Chinatown’s CNY festivities are back in full force this year! We’ve had more subdued celebrations over the past two years due to Covid-19 restrictions.
The pandemic is not over. But our infection situation remains stable, largely because we have achieved a relatively high level of hybrid immunity in our community.
So this year we can finally look forward to a full festive atmosphere as we prepare to usher in the Year of the Rabbit!
㊗️
大家身体健康、万事如意,在事业上、学业上,“兔”飞猛进。
(MCI photos by Lim Sin Thai)

Lawrence Wong

1 d ·

The annual Chinatown Chinese New Year light-up will take place nightly until Feb 19 in New Bridge Road, Eu Tong Sen street, South Bridge Road and for the first time, Upper Cross Street.

1672929126928.png

Lawrence is excited about CNY. :smile:

Lawrence Wong updated his cover photo.​

1 d ·
Chinese New Year decorations are up at Chinatown, and the festive atmosphere is in the air as we gear up for CNY!
May the year of Rabbit bring everyone good health and happiness. 祝大家兔年快乐,身体健康!
(
1f4f8.png
: MCI Photo by Lim Sin Thai)

1673007891878.png

from straitstimes.com:

Budget 2023 to address cost-of-living concerns of S’poreans: DPM Wong​

IMG5324_1.JPG

DPM Lawrence Wong said the Government has been doing its part to help Singaporeans during these trying times and will continue to do so. ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG
ds15042021_0.png

David Sun
Correspondent
UPDATED

3 MINS AGO

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE – More help for Singaporeans through Budget 2023 is being considered amid the uncertainties and challenges the year will bring, said Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance Lawrence Wong on Saturday.
“The Budget is coming very soon on Feb 14, and so we are also now discussing and thinking through how we can provide more help for Singaporeans to address concerns about cost of living,” he added.
“The bottom line is that we must never allow our challenges or problems to divide us. That’s not how we do things in Singapore.”

He was speaking at the People’s Association’s Indian Activity Executive Committees’ (IAEC) 45th anniversary celebration dinner held at the Fairmont Ballroom at Raffles City Convention Centre on Saturday evening.
The event saw more than 1,000 in attendance, including grassroots leaders and community partners who were there to celebrate the past work and contributions of the IAEC’s volunteers in promoting social cohesion among the Indian community as well as racial harmony with the wider Singapore community.
Also in attendance were Transport Minister S. Iswaran and Senior Minister of State for Communications and Information and Health Janil Puthucheary, who are advisers to the IAEC’s council.

DPM Wong said the IAEC have played an important role in keeping the community united throughout the Covid-19 pandemic, rallying the Indian and wider community together.

He said that it was because of the nurturing of close bonds in the community that Singapore continues to remain a high-trust society.
He added: “And it is this deep reservoir of trust that has enabled us to get through what we hope will be the worst of the pandemic.
“And that’s why today we are in a much stronger position – we are more united than before, and our bonds are stronger than before. And this is in stark contrast to many other countries in the world, where the pandemic has further divided and fractured their societies.”
DPM Wong urged Singaporeans to continue working together to tackle the challenges ahead amid an uncertain global outlook given the pandemic, war in Ukraine, potential energy and food disruptions, and inflation and cost of living concerns.
He said the Government has been doing its part to help Singaporeans during these trying times and will continue to do so, saying Singaporeans will “never walk alone”.
For instance, Singaporean households are able to claim $300 worth of Community Development Council vouchers from Jan 3, after up to $700 had been given to adult Singaporeans in GST vouchers in December 2022, he said.
“Our problems should never cause us to splinter or fracture,” he said.
He added: “Instead, our approach, whenever we face an issue or a problem or difficulty, is to rally together and to confront the issues head on as one people. And each time we do so, we learn from the experience, we become stronger and we become more united.
“That’s how Singapore has developed and grown all these decades.”

Lawrence enjoyed a vibrant and colourful celebration. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

22 h ·
Enjoyed a vibrant and colourful celebration at the 45th anniversary of the People's Association's Indian Activity Executive Committees (IAEC).
The volunteers at the IAEC and its council (Narpani Pearavai) have been doing excellent work on the ground over the decades, building close relationships with residents, and strengthening our community bonds. They have stepped up and gone the extra mile in the last three years of the pandemic, engaging vulnerable residents and helping them cope with the impact of Covid-19.
So on this anniversary milestone, I thank all our volunteers in the IAECs for your dedicated contributions and service. Let’s continue to work together to keep our community and our country strong and cohesive!
(
1f4f8.png
: MCI Photos by Lim Sin Thai)