• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Simple Math Quiz: Who earns more?

Accountant $4,000/mth
Cab Driver $6,000/mth

Assuming the accountant has CPF, 5 day work week, annual increment, AWS 13th month, bonus etc.

Who earns more?

Cooleo, I can't help but notice your obsession with the Taxi driver.... Did he steal your wife or something?

I am here to talk to you dude.. and maybe tease you too.

Cooleo, I can't help but notice your obsession with the Taxi driver.... Did he steal your wife or something?

I am here to talk to you dude.. and maybe tease you too.

Start quiz means is Cooleo or wife stolen? How's your missus?

To answer that question.

Taxi - 6K * 12 mths = 72K

Accountant - 4K * 12 month + AWS + 1 month bonus + 1% employer CPF = 64K

Long run however, Accountant wins

Accountant $4,000/mth
Cab Driver $6,000/mth

Assuming the accountant has CPF, 5 day work week, annual increment, AWS 13th month, bonus etc.

Who earns more?

Of course, the one that does numbers lah.

Even the former yearly amount earned would beat the cabby not to mention the accountant has more time to himself!

The cabby get to pay all his own fees particularly those 'hidden bills' that surely will spring a nasty surprise on him.

But most importantly, when they both have aged, the man who does numbers can:D say ..I FEEL SO RICH EVERY MONTH!

Accountant $4,000/mth
Cab Driver $6,000/mth

Who earns more?

The cab driver of course!

10 years later, the accountant pay still the same while cabbies and CabCos increase fares.

The cab driver of course!

10 years later, the accountant pay still the same while cabbies and CabCos increase fares.

Fuck you which accountant would have his pay same 10 yrs on. Talk rubbish.

Your kind of 'accountant' is it?

It's the cabby that faces uncertain profit year on year.The accountant bao tan into his pocket with more and more money each yr.

As I have said, the condemn kind of ppl usually land up as a last resort to be a cabby, these ppl could not survive in the world having anyone to employ them.

Maybe that is you.

Accountant $4,000/mth
Cab Driver $6,000/mth

Who earns more?

No such thing, I've never come across a cab driver making $6,000/mth, and not sure if the $6,000/mth is NET net or not, because diesel is not cheap and rental and maintenance, etc.

On upscale, the Accountant wins hands down, because ten years down the road, he can start his own firm. He can also do side-lines.

The cab driver is restricted by hours per day. The accountant can promote to CFO and branch into other related jobs.

The cab driver cannot end up driving a school bus or lorry, because license category is different. Dead end job.

I am aware that quite a number of accountants (auditors?) from the big four accounting firms work ungodly hours - the security guard changed shift but the accountant was still mugging away at the office. True story related to me by an accountant friend.

Being a cabbie, on the other hand, is a dead end job and has a significantly lower barrier to entry.

How about people stop obsessing with pay and do a job which is compatible with your traits? For example, if you don't like numbers, you won't enjoy accounting. If you're not sociable, you probably won't like doing frontline sales or giving presentations. If you don't like the idea of being responsible for another human being, stay out of nursing, teaching and social work.

Never try to compare with other people, or going where the govt declares will be 'the next big thing'. Know yourself.

Accountant life better. Working time shorter have extra benefit(AWS/CPF, All kind of leave average a year 20~30 day/medical cover/insurance...........................)
Taxi driver nothing.
Even accountant $3k pay better than taxi driver.

On average office worker work about 18day/month(8 hour/day) after deduct leave.
Taxi driver work how many day and hour????Just do your own calculation.

Accountant life better. Working time shorter have extra benefit(AWS/CPF, All kind of leave average a year 20~30 day/medical cover/insurance...........................)
Taxi driver nothing.

Quality of life can't put food on the table. Singaporeans are pragmatic people. They know that nothing matters more than money. :)

QoL

Taxi driver nothing.

Accountants and auditors like lawyers may not have the freedom to choose their clientele as well as work hours. It can be a very long working hours (sleepless nights, OTs) to finish a project. Taxi drivers are different ! They can choose their working hours and not be answerable to a boss. They can choose to drive in the afternoon or just sipping kopi while reading useless ST toilet papers.

Re: QoL

depending if this quiz is meant for psle or o level?

Correct answer for psle level is taxi driver. Cos' accountant take taxis but taxi drivers don't do accounts. So you say who earn more.

Correct answer for o level is ... Still taxi driver. Cos' taxi drivers are bosses whereas accountants are employees. You ever heard employee earn more than bosses one boh?

Re: QoL

depending if this quiz is meant for psle or o level?

Correct answer for psle level is taxi driver. Cos' accountant take taxis but taxi drivers don't do accounts. So you say who earn more.

Correct answer for o level is ... Still taxi driver. Cos' taxi drivers are bosses whereas accountants are employees. You ever heard employee earn more than bosses one boh?

Wahahaha! You are humorous. :D

This one no brainier...taxi driver of cse....taxi driver got car, 4 wheels...no nid to pay coe, pump cheap diesel...can choose own working hrs....best n most impt ...he won't fear he be replaced by cheaper ft come 40 plus...

Taxis As Private Cars ?

This one no brainier...taxi driver of cse....taxi driver got car, 4 wheels...no nid to pay coe, pump cheap diesel...can choose own working hrs....best n most impt ...he won't fear he be replaced by cheaper ft come 40 plus...

Some people said some joined because of the cheap vehicles. Taxis are better than the speed limit 50 or 60 for commercial vehicles. They didn't do it the money ? Heard of this before ? Can you really treat your cab as a private car ?