• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious She chose to work in 7-Eleven but cannot touch a can of beer to scan it cos of her Islamic faith

Yes, no doubt. Cos ceena go for high pay jobs. Doesnt like uniformed jobs. Doesnt like 24hrs and shift jobs. Ceena have many choices. They go pte sector anytime sure accepted. But not the Malay applicants.
High pay job carry high risk..Few are likely to work till retirement. Uniform jobs is security ...

Bcos m&ds should never serve in sensitive positions. Tat why elite or important department cannot have m&d. They can only be in low level positions. The country is at stake

Probably in SAF. But in other garment agencies also kana sideline. How many senior Malay officers in MHA? Ur answers are tere. But dont give the usual stereotype crap answers:poop:

In any society...the majority race of the population will benefit the most.

Ok. For once i agree with like! :thumbsup: But dont on one hand talk abt meritocracy but then turn a blind eye to the Malays:rolleyes:

Probably in SAF. But in other garment agencies also kana sideline. How many senior Malay officers in MHA? Ur answers are tere. But dont give the usual stereotype crap answers:poop:
Basic MHA work like chop passports etc is ok. But not in senior positions. m&ds are known terrorist sympathisers n imagine making soo much fuss about a can of beer, n halal this n that n using it as an excuse not to work. How to employ such ppl?

I think i can skip ur future stereotype post.

Liddat say, then all our ministers' & Macik's jobs are very very very risky ?

Especially this chia chia chialeow bee

1546144693863.png

Security....but life at stake...if u know wat i mean.
I think i can skip ur future stereotype post.

Is there cina Isis fighters?

Skip to main content
Toggle navigation

Singaporean ISIS fighter was in combat, sought to recruit family
st_20170927_vnisis3_3447911.jpg
Megat Shahdan Abdul Samad is the third Singaporean known to have joined ISIS in Iraq and Syria.
PUBLISHED
SEP 27, 2017, 5:00 AM SGT
FACEBOOKTWITTERWHATSAPPEMAIL

The Singaporean fighter who anchored a recent propaganda video by terror group Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) has been fighting on its front lines since he entered Syria three years ago.
Megat Shahdan Abdul Samad, 39, suffered an injury in combat, and was deployed to areas in Iraq and Syria, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said on Tuesday, without giving further details.
It confirmed that he is the third Singaporean known to have joined ISIS in Syria and Iraq.

The other two, Haja Fakkurudeen Usman Ali and Maimunah Abdul Kadir, are believed to be still in Syria with their families. Both left for Syria in 2014.
"Their involvement in an overseas armed conflict jeopardises Singapore's security," MHA said.
"In Shahdan's case, it is compounded by the fact that he is also actively propagating ISIS' violent ideology and rallying others to engage in combat in support of ISIS. This is of particular concern as we have seen a spike in the number of self-radicalisation cases following the rise of ISIS and proliferation of its propaganda materials."

MHA issued the statement in response to media queries on Shahdan, who appeared in an ISIS video that surfaced online at the weekend under the assumed name "Abu Uqayl from Singapore". Among other things, he called on viewers to join ISIS fighters in East Asia or travel to the Middle East to fight.
The ministry had said on Sunday that Shahdan left Singapore in 2014 to work in the Middle East, where he is believed to have been radicalised. Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam also said the Internal Security Department (ISD) had been keeping tabs on Shahdan.

Yesterday, MHA released further details of Shahdan's background and how he turned radical, as well as of his continued contact with family members - and attempts to radicalise them - while there.
Shahdan grew up in Singapore, and dropped out of school at a young age. He was a secret society member with a string of drug and criminal convictions. Between 1997 and 2009, he was in and out of jail, and was also on drug supervision regimes. MHA said: "He did not hold down any stable work and took up odd jobs. He did not show any obvious signs of being religiously inclined. Nor did he show any radical tendencies."

Sometime in early 2014, Shahdan left Singapore for the Middle East. He took up different jobs in tourism and renovation, and tried unsuccessfully to start a business. "At the same time, family members who visited him there noticed that he had become more observant of his religious obligations," said MHA.
"He reportedly attended religious gatherings, and was believed to have subsequently become radicalised by ISIS' violent ideology. He told at least one of his family members of his interest to perform jihad."
In September that year, Shahdan made his way to Syria to join ISIS.
He is believed to have contacted one of his family members while he was at the Turkish-Syrian border, saying he was on his way to Syria. He later asked for the family member's prayers for his safe crossing.
PROLIFERATION OF PROPAGANDA
Their involvement in an overseas armed conflict jeopardises Singapore's security. In Shahdan's case, it is compounded by the fact that he is also actively propagating ISIS' violent ideology and rallying others to engage in combat in support of ISIS. This is of particular concern as we have seen a spike in the number of self-radicalisation cases following the rise of ISIS and proliferation of its propaganda materials.
MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS​
Related Story
ISD keeping tabs on Singaporean fighter in ISIS video
MHA also disclosed that while he was in ISIS-controlled territory, Shahdan dispensed religious advice to family and friends in Singapore.
"He has expressed the hope that his family would migrate to ISIS' self-declared caliphate, as in his view, it is a sin to live in an infidel country. He has also said that he would intercede for 70 of his relatives should he achieve martyrdom, and exhorted his family members to support ISIS," it said.
"None of them is known to have responded to his overtures."
But MHA noted that Shahdan's case, as with other recent cases of radicalised Singaporeans who had to be dealt with under the Internal Security Act, illustrates the important role that family, friends or any individual who may be close to a potentially radicalised individual can play in reporting such individuals as early as possible.
"The Government continues to urge the public to do its part in countering the threats of terrorism and radicalisation," it said.
"The Government has consistently taken the view that anyone who supports, promotes or undertakes or makes preparations to undertake armed violence, regardless of how such violence is rationalised, or where such violence takes place, poses a security threat to Singapore and Singaporeans."
A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on September 27, 2017, with the headline 'S'porean ISIS fighter was in combat, sought to recruit family'. Print Edition | Subscribe
Found this story interesting?
Subscribe to get more of the best and most exclusive work by the ST newsroom.
Subscribe Now
TOPICS:
FacebookTwitterWhatsAppEmail

Recommended by

RECOMMENDED

ST VIDEOS
Recommended by

BRANDED CONTENT

SUBSCRIBE TOTHE STRAITS TIMES
call 6388-3838or click here
Available for
iPhones and iPads

Available in
Google Play

FOLLOW ST
The Straits Times
Terms & ConditionsData Protection PolicyNeed help? Reach us here.Advertise with us
SPH Digital News / Copyright © 2018 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co. Regn. No. 198402868E. All rights reserved

Tats why i said Tun should learn from sinkieland as far as immigration policy is concerned. Take in educated Malays/Muslims from Sinkieland, Indon and elsewhere. That will boost the Malay ration preferable to 96% Malays.:thumbsup:
Seriously now I realised pap was very wise to do that.

Bcos m&ds should never serve in sensitive positions. Tat why elite or important department cannot have m&d. They can only be in low level positions. The country is at stake
I saw many Malay police officers from the counter to inspector level. Not that low position. In fact I think too many in proportion to the population.

Nothing to be proud. I just wish to prove to u tere are Malays who made the grade. U talk abt All Malays poor in Maths. I can even show u so many Malay doctors in Sinkieland though still lose out to ceena. But is ok. Baby step pelan pelan...

As i mentioned in previous post. Make no difference whether sinkie jobs taken by FTs. All along since independence days, Malays were discriminated. Good jobs were taken by ceena. Reasons given was Malays cant speak Mandarin. Malays are lazy. Malays are not qualified. All stereotype answers. So we are immune to being sideline/discriminated by the majority ceena.

I wouldnt be surprised u rather see Malays jobless all the way. Fm all ur posting, insinuating and ridiculing even when Mats earning a decent living doing delivery job, it only prove my point tat ceena are selfish, greed. Good now tat FTs taken over Sinkieland. :sneaky:

As for bolehland, its the people wishes if they want an Islamic state. Tats wat democracy all about. Who are u or i to comment. Not happy just skip the country.:roflmao:
Now that you agree that it makes no diff if jobs were taken by ft's, where does that leave the m&ds? already hard-pressed all-round, yet you're happy to spite the cheenas and deserve collateral damage for your fellow m&ds to remain in the economic back-waters, as stated in post #117. this is exactly the mentality of m&ds like you who don't understand the meaning of a malay anecdote; "when you pinch the right leg, the left leg also feels the pain"! hence, the bodoh sombong reference on you.
another kotek-thinking of yours is that you still don't realise that what happens to mudland has a bearing on the m&ds here as well, as the religious fervour of local m&ds are closely inter-linked, and that includes the reason as to why they can't move up the economic ladder. :sick:

I saw many Malay police officers from the counter to inspector level. Not that low position. In fact I think too many in proportion to the population.
Than singkieland will get screwed. These m&ds will always sympathise with their own n their own are inflated with terrorist supporters and haram this n that. How can we trust them to do their jobs?

All food and drinks in singapore should be halal so the girl can work wherever she wants on the island.

Than singkieland will get screwed. These m&ds will always sympathise with their own n their own are inflated with terrorist supporters and haram this n that. How can we trust them to do their jobs?
I hope when that happens sinkie chinese traitor dogs and bitches harming me will be slapped by them.

All food and drinks in singapore should be halal so the girl can work wherever she wants on the island.
With such a stance and demands by m&ds,,,no wonder they are soo discriminated as claim by yr Ah Bangs,,,these mudslimes deserve the discrimination that they get,,,