• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG swimming team got disqualified bcos of traffic delays

This disdainful event bothers on gross negligence if I may say ....:mad:

the swimmers have been practicing so hard and for long periods of time to reach the finals, with their parents going there to support them ....and whooosh ..... gone .....:o

..... only excuse .... I am sorry and ..... we must move on .....:(

Good Grief ...... is this really happening??:mad:

wahlaneh...
in singapore many people always late for work and school mah.
sometimes traffic jam or accidents, sometimes bus/mrt delays, etc...
we are all so used to being late liao lor nevermind one lah.
some more in india they dun have the CWG lane like we had the YOG lane mah.

Somebody has to be sacked for his/her incompetence .....

This is unforgiveable to the simmers who had trained long and hard !!

Sorry and move on ..... good excuse already ....??

Can walk and beat the jam since the journey is only but a short 20 mins.

1. honest, in this era of technology, submission can be done in many ways.
2. submitting in person seems ridiculous leh!
3. even if caught in the jam, could have first contact the relevant games authority for advice and assistance.
4. sheep are daft.

"Oh, its just as well I didn't strike 4D, because then I would be rich and waste away my life spending my money on gambling, drinking, and womanising."

I am sure Seth MacFarlane would have told himself,
"Oh, its just as well I didn't board that plane, because then I would be DEAD."

On the morning of September 11, 2001, Seth MacFarlane was scheduled to return to Los Angeles on American Airlines Flight 11 from Boston, Massachusetts. Suffering from a hangover from the previous night's celebrations and with an incorrect departure time, he arrived late at Logan International Airport and was unable to board the flight as the gates had been closed. Fifteen minutes after departure, American Airlines Flight 11 was hijacked, and at 8:46 a.m. was flown into the North Tower of the World Trade Center, obliterating the airplane and destroying the building.

Who the lancheow is Seth MacFarlane, and what has he got to do with Peng Siong's cockup?

So, according to your logic, the swim team should not have even boarded their flight to India, because we all know how fucked the Indian air traffic control system is, they could have crashed and burned, right?

Who the lancheow is Seth MacFarlane, and what has he got to do with Peng Siong's cockup?

So, according to your logic, the swim team should not have even boarded their flight to India, because we all know how fucked the Indian air traffic control system is, they could have crashed and burned, right?

I think we are approaching and interpreting this incident from 2 different angles.

Your view is Ang Peng Siong messed it up and should not be let off. This is straightforward and logical and I agree with you if we see things from this angle.

I am seeing things from another angle. That is, because of this incident, the swim team was spared the risky fate of contracting some illness. Here, whether or not Ang Peng Siong messed it up is less important.:)

I don't think claiming credit for a lucky happenstance of outcome in a cockup is admissible.

Sometimes heroes are created by circumstances outside the control or liking of you and I.

A far fetched example. Imagine after the final, those who actually took part in the swimming contracted some serious and uncurable illness and all of them as a result have to give up competitive swimming. By then, Ang will be hailed as a hero.

OK, I think I am getting a bit off topic.

ya, man! ...

like ze world's bestest paid, millionaire politicians oways say ...

it cud have been worse! ...

i just want to hear Peng Siong say it. "Alamak, I cock up lah"

Agree. Why PAP/Sinkie will not own up his/her own mistake. Simple apology or offer to resign. Everyone will thumb up.
Just like fucking Vivian:mad: over budget nearly 4 times still talk cock. $400m mean each citizen pay $100 for YOG game in just 2 week.

..... now the bloody wayang continues .....

Oon Jin Teik just resigned ..... !!!:eek:

Was he at the Commonwealth Games too? What has he got to do with APS problem?

If he was involved and resigned that kudos since taking responsibility. But I see no link.

Sometimes heroes are created by circumstances outside the control or liking of you and I.

A far fetched example. Imagine after the final, those who actually took part in the swimming contracted some serious and uncurable illness and all of them as a result have to give up competitive swimming. By then, Ang will be hailed as a hero.

OK, I think I am getting a bit off topic.

By your own admission, its far fetched. Than why even mention it? Is it so hard to say that Peng Siong cocked up and its all on him? There is no other way to look at it. U need to stop with the what if this or that scenarios. The fact is the team was not sick even after practicing and competing in the same pool the whole week. Even Ian Thorpe (Olympic swim medallist from Australia) said its not the water in the pool, because chlorine in the water kills just about everything. The ailments associated with the sick swimmers are also the same for those who suffer from the Delhi Belly, ie diarrhea. They could have drunk the tap water or their stomach cannt stand the local food or what ever. U assume its the pool that caused the illness, this has not been proven at all. Grow up, show a brain.