• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG swimming team got disqualified bcos of traffic delays

Can walk and beat the jam since the journey is only but a short 20 mins.

... However, the quartet's joy subsequently turned into anxiety and later disappointment when they missed the <strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">3pm deadline</strong> for submitting their entry for the final. The bus ferrying the squad had arrived at the venue only at 3.45pm due to traffic delays.

Team manager and head coach Ang Peng Siong said in a statement issued by Team Singapore: 'It <strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">usually takes us about 20 to 30 minutes</strong> to reach the Dr S.P. Mukherjee Swimming Complex. Today, it took us about an hour to reach the swimming complex.'

The final was at 6pm, but <strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">the squad had left at 2.45pm</strong> so that 'the team would not have to wait at the venue for too long before their event', said Ang. ...
walan eh! ...

deadline 3pm ... transpot takes 20 2 30 min 2 reach destination ... left oni @ 2.45pm ...

lidat ... pruposely dunwan 2 attend finals la ... kiasu, ah? ... :rolleyes:

dat ah siong muz go n attend time management corses la ...

walan eh! ...

deadline 3pm ... transpot takes 20 2 30 min 2 reach destination ... left oni @ 2.45pm ...

lidat ... pruposely dunwan 2 attend finals la ... kiasu, ah? ... :rolleyes:

dat ah siong muz go n attend time management corses la ...

Forgive him, he forgot that he is in India & this was not the YOG 2010...:p

Since the team has no chance at a medal, it could have been an attempt at avoiding embarassment in the pool :confused:

Or maybe they had a late night out & couldn't wake up on time :p

I thought vivian already told india to reserve a special lane for our coach.

What a waste! I really feel sorry for the swimmers. They made it to the finals only to be DQ just like that. What a fiasco! Don't they have "YOG" traffic lanes? Having said that, APS must bear the moral responsibility! Going early to the venue has its pros as well, apart from acclimatising and avoiding things like traffic jams. Why take unnecessary risks? :mad:A case of being too complacent but then, nothing is going to happen to him for it was only an honest mistake! :D:D

Ang Peng Siong's reputation is on the line. He didn't expect the unexpected.

By Golly ....

This Ang fella should be sacked on the spot by the chef de mission and sent back home .....:(

This is disgraceful to say the least !!!:mad:

They think there is a free lane for them like the YOG!

in fact , THERE IS

x740.jpg

I hope he joins PAP as candidate. :rolleyes:

I don't think he has any political aspirations, he is happy running his swimming school and doing professional coaching. I am not aware that he joined any political parties. he is not in my circle of friends, but some of my friends know him, and they would have mentioned it.

The mistake is that there should have been 2 separate positions of team manager and head coach, By combining them into one role, you are asking Peng Siong to do managerial/admin things and also perform his head coaching duties. A separate team manager would be responsible for getting the team to the venue on time, checking to make sure the transportation si there, check traffic etc. Peng Siong should be solely responsible for coaching and strategies in the pool.

having said all this, he must ultimately take the blame for this fiasco. I am really dissapointed that he did not man up and say "Its all on me". I can guarantee u that his coach at the University of Houston would have apologised to the team, the swimmers, and to the country if he did the same thing.

>>The team of Teo Zhen Ren, Jeremy Kevin Mathews, Arren Quek and Mattias Ng had clocked 7min 47.19sec in their heat in the morning to qualify for the final as the seventh-fastest team. <<

Why do they use the term SEVENTH-FASTEST, when that's pretty slow in reality? :rolleyes:

It's like saying "Oh my boy scored the 45th highest score in the class test" (only 50 students in total). :oIo:

>>The team of Teo Zhen Ren, Jeremy Kevin Mathews, Arren Quek and Mattias Ng had clocked 7min 47.19sec in their heat in the morning to qualify for the final as the seventh-fastest team. <<

Why do they use the term SEVENTH-FASTEST, when that's pretty slow in reality? :rolleyes:

It's like saying "Oh my boy scored the 45th highest score in the class test" (only 50 students in total). :oIo:

It does not matter whatposition they qualified. As long as they have a place in the final, they have a chance at a medal. Not the gold, the Aussies will probably get that. But at least a chance.

I agree. The swimming pool has 8 lanes and if you're better than 9th in the heats, you qualify for the final. Then fight it out in the final.

In the recent World Cup with 32 berths, Uruguay qualified last in the qualifying rounds, the 32nd team to qualify. They finished 4th in the finals.

Why was there such a cumbersome procedure to submit your entry when you already qualify?

A swimming relay team can substitute team members. Not necessarily the four that went through the heats are the same four to contest in the final. In team events, it's to verify whether the same team is contesting or that substitutes (e.g. in case of illness or injury) are eligible contestants in the games.

This Ang fella should be sacked on the spot by the chef de mission and sent back home .....

This is disdainful to say the least !!!

Can you imagine all the time and effort the swimmers had done come to nought due to this kotek's error !!!:mad:

Aiya...u all mistaken liao...should thank Ang Peng Siong..he veri smart...purposely get singapore team disqualified becos swimming pool water is contaminated....or else all his swimmer kena poisioning like these english and aussie...better dont compete if water is poisonious since cannot win medal also...get sick for nothing rite...ah neh probably shit inside the swimming pool before the games opening...LOL :p:p:p:p:p

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=76848

Aiya...u all mistaken liao...should thank Ang Peng Siong..he veri smart...purposely get singapore team disqualified becos swimming pool water is contaminated....or else all his swimmer kena poisioning like these english and aussie...better dont compete if water is poisonious since cannot win medal also...get sick for nothing rite...ah neh probably shit inside the swimming pool before the games opening...LOL :p:p:p:p:p

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=76848

I do concur on your possible explanation. Those filthy animals will do anything.