• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Service staff who only speak Mandarin

dysentry

http://dottsg.blogspot.com/2008/11/singapore-is-part-of-china.html

The shit is hitting the fan.

mandarin-only.gif

Can businesses really afford to ignore non-Chinese customers?

dysentry

I have colleagues from China who have worked here for more than a decade and can't hold a decent English conversation.

Recently also spoke to a vendor on phone, can't handle English either.

Soon we will see contracts and documents written in Chinese.

blackmore

I have colleagues from China who have worked here for more than a decade and can't hold a decent English conversation.

Recently also spoke to a vendor on phone, can't handle English either.

Soon we will see contracts and documents written in Chinese.

I hope that day will never come as it will mean that the PRC would have overrun Sinkieland.

I have encounter my fair share of these PRC buggers that irate me with their Mandarin only service. It seems that they never learn and adamant to speak only with their native language. Hic !

theblackhole

you should have taken the time and the effort to learn mandarin. you don't understand mandarin your business. obviously you don't study well in our schools. all our kids speak mandarin, including some non-chinese students.

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame. don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers. blame your own stupid brains and laziness. go and pick up mandarin. not to do so is to imperil yourself to future suffering. china is a economic giant.singapore is nothing - one small fart. go and learn mandarin otherwise you'll be left behind as the world marches forward.

blame yourself. stop blaming the mandarin speaking workers. no shame.

numero uno

I hope that day will never come as it will mean that the PRC would have overrun Sinkieland.

I have encounter my fair share of these PRC buggers that irate me with their Mandarin only service. It seems that they never learn and adamant to speak only with their native language. Hic !

simple solution. insists on speaking to them in proper English still and if they cannot understand, ask them to call the supervisor and give the supervisor an earful and pass the word around to boycott the place esp restaurants. Like I said these PRCs at the rate things are going , would think singapore is a colony of china and starts to talk back to you in one or two years time. Believe me! I have already seen alot of these arrogants chaps .

Sideswipe

what's the problem with speaking Mandarin?

My first language is mandarin and I enjoyed speaking mandarin / hokkien as I'm a chinese.

why don't those people admit that they had a discrimination attitudes against those PRC guys instead their guilty conscience made them package their complaints as "Singapore English speaking country why peoples can't speak English"

My first language is mandarin and I enjoyed speaking mandarin / hokkien as I'm a chinese.

There's nothing wrong. Me too. But in Singapore, spare a thought for Malay, Indian and other non-Chinese-speaking customers. Just like in Malaysia, I'm sure non-Malay-speaking Singaporean visitors would appreciate Malay service providers speaking English to them.

why don't those people admit that they had a discrimination attitudes against those PRC guys instead their guilty conscience made them package their complaints as "Singapore English speaking country why peoples can't speak English"

Singapore is constituted as an English-speaking country. Our constitution and laws are written in English, our governance and commerce are conducted in English. It'd be nice if non-English-speaking foreigners working here take the time and make the effort to learn at least some conversational English. It's good for them themselves too.

chupacabra

Sinkapore should be a mandarin speaking cuntry. English should be banned.

Therefore more sinkees will failed their england test to immigrate which means sinkees will die in this overcrowded mini China. Western cuntries should raised their english points to keep shitty public toe nail clipping/ spitting/fighting/ foul smelling/ rabies carrying/ napah virus spreading barbarians out.

Some arsholes here still think China gonna be the big kahuna in the future.
Arsholes here keep forgeting China DO NOT WELCOME YOU. THEY DO NOT GIVE PR TO SINKEE MANDARIN SPEAKING MUTHERFUCKERS. Why praise a cuntry that do not allow you to live there?????

Compared to the generosity of the west, China is a shit cuntry full of selfish prostitututes.

helicopview

you should have taken the time and the effort to learn mandarin. you don't understand mandarin your business. obviously you don't study well in our schools. all our kids speak mandarin, including some non-chinese students.

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame. don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers. blame your own stupid brains and laziness. go and pick up mandarin. not to do so is to imperil yourself to future suffering. china is a economic giant.singapore is nothing - one small fart. go and learn mandarin otherwise you'll be left behind as the world marches forward.

blame yourself. stop blaming the mandarin speaking workers. no shame.

U have said what i wanted. Same wavelength. Noticed many malay n indian kids learn mandarin. Chinese singaporeans cannot speak mandarin..damn shameful. Still got the cheek to criticise. In the 60s or 70s, u can't speak cannot blame u. Govt schools teachs 2 languages since the late 1960s. And yet cannot master the language..either brain is short-circuit or altitude is lousy. U got see before a britain can't speak english or a japanese can't speak jap or a italian can't speak their mother tongue. These chinese singaporeans are condemned. Hiring foreigners who speak mandarin only is better than hiring someone who can't speak mandarin. Why? Cos chinese is majority in singapore. Period!

chupacabra

Chinese is a majority in sinkapore correct. Don' cry mama papa when kenna sexually assualted in Arsetralia/ Canana/ Kiwiland/ USA/ Europe/Africa/ Mars/Kamikaze land/South East Asia/Kodirea did i list out every non speaking/non chinese majority cuntry? Oh ya Mudlasia oso.

Remember what goes around comes around. Kapish!

Ok Now mandarin speakers are left with only the shit cuntries that DO NOT WANT YOU AND DO NOT WANT YOUR SINGLISH. YOU ARE JUST SWIMMING IN A SMALL POND. PERIOD

besotted

singaporeans english half past six, westerners don't understand

singaporean chinese half past six, prc don't understand

better speak singlish among ourselves and masturbate each other

banova888

Nothing wrong with speaking Mandarin. Problem starts when you go against the saying; "When in Rome, do as the Romans do".

Try speaking Mandarin in France and see how far you go.

chupacabra

Nothing wrong with speaking Mandarin. Problem starts when you go against the saying; "When in Rome, do as the Romans do".

Try speaking Mandarin in France and see how far you go.

Brother I have been to France. No need to say mandarin, english get frown upon in France.

The French is another fuck up society. Full of dogshit.

Sideswipe

There's nothing wrong. Me too. But in Singapore, spare a thought for Malay, Indian and other non-Chinese-speaking customers. Just like in Malaysia, I'm sure non-Malay-speaking Singaporean visitors would appreciate Malay service providers speaking English to them.

Singapore is constituted as an English-speaking country. Our constitution and laws are written in English, our governance and commerce are conducted in English.

For the first point, I think it's the minorities who should learn the majority's mother tongue language to adapt to the bigger environment. Like a foreigner would learn french in France or chinese in China.
I would appreciate a Malay sales personal speaking English to me but it's a service sales / private sector problem not a national issue. It's up to the sales peoples to provide good service in all forms and if you're not happy, don't go there again.
In govt sector, everything is conducted in English. Our minorities have no problem in communication at all.

When did Singapore get constituted as an English-speaking country? please show me the link to that.
We had four official languages, English is used as a de facto administration language but that was not written in the constitution. It's just understood that we use English in govt publications and public service.

This language problem in general is actually a disguised discrimination attacks against PRC folks in general. Think about it. It's about PRCs in singapore, not chinese language usage in the country.

and for minorities discrimination. I cut this short. Please get real, This is Life - everyone of us face possible discrimination or unfavorable treatment from your family background, friends, job, race, sex, illness and for no reason too.
This is a unfair world. Accept it, face it but with hope, not bitterness.

_AXL_

first, spare a thought for the non-chinese speaking citizens.

secondly, i thought the gahmen wants to promote their red dot as a tourist haven??? english is still the international language leh...

thirdly, it is a problem with most FTrash. r they really talent or r these corporations taking advantage of the low pay??? i never had problems with FTrash cos i never employ them.

but my sis-in-law is a shop manager with a major retailer. u should ask her about her problems with these mandarin FTrash. dont want to learn, go through motion, not bothered with customers and she has to give very specific instructions and never to assume they would use their brains.

she is now thinking of quitting to be a full-time mum cos she cannot withstand the pressure of handling these cannot-be-bothered FTrash. funny thing is that she could handle the impossibly high sales targets set by her HQ, but not these fools. and to add to my amusement, she told me that she found out recently that their compensation packages are no less than what her company pays for locals!!!???:confused:

then i found out that it was the company's problems... for being well-known to be a lousy company to work for. the locals mostly avoid them like the plague, thus their recruitment exercises were futile. so how??? stuck with trash lor... who's to blame???:biggrin:

but i do agree with "when in rome..." so, whenever i encounter mandarin-speaking service staff, i would pretend to be a kantang... free entertainment mah...:biggrin:

chupacabra

For the first point, I think it's the minorities who should learn the majority's mother tongue language to adapt to the bigger environment. Like a foreigner would learn french in France or chinese in China.
I would appreciate a Malay sales personal speaking English to me but it's a service sales / private sector problem not a national issue. It's up to the sales peoples to provide good service in all forms and if you're not happy, don't go there again.
In govt sector, everything is conducted in English. Our minorities have no problem in communication at all.

When did Singapore get constituted as an English-speaking country? please show me the link to that.
We had four official languages, English is used as a de facto administration language but that was not written in the constitution. It's just understood that we use English in govt publications and public service.

This language problem in general is actually a disguised discrimination attacks against PRC folks in general. Think about it. It's about PRCs in singapore, not chinese language usage in the country.

and for minorities discrimination. I cut this short. Please get real, This is Life - everyone of us face possible discrimination or unfavorable treatment from your family background, friends, job, race, sex, illness and for no reason too.

Correct I agree. Therefore Chinamen should be send back before they spread Sars and Napah virus to our children. Language cannot kill but virus and chinamen can kill.

banova888

We all know that French are spoken by French from France. Just imagine if France were to be overtaken by Chinese like Singapore, would you dare declare Mandarin the official language in France since Chinese are the majority?

Coming to Mandarin, which Chinese dialect group created Mandarin?

chupacabra

first, spare a thought for the non-chinese speaking citizens.

secondly, i thought the gahmen wants to promote their red dot as a tourist haven??? english is still the international language leh...

thirdly, it is a problem with most FTrash. r they really talent or r these corporations taking advantage of the low pay??? i never had problems with FTrash cos i never employ them.

but my sis-in-law is a shop manager with a major retailer. u should ask her about her problems with these mandarin FTrash. dont want to learn, go through motion, not bothered with customers and she has to give very specific instructions and never to assume they would use their brains.

she is now thinking of quitting to be a full-time mum cos she cannot withstand the pressure of handling these cannot-be-bothered FTrash. funny thing is that she could handle the impossibly high sales targets set by her HQ, but not these fools. and to add to my amusement, she told me that she found out recently that their compensation packages are no less than what her company pays for locals!!!???:confused:

then i found out that it was the company's problems... for being well-known to be a lousy company to work for. the locals mostly avoid them like the plague, thus their recruitment exercises were futile. so how??? stuck with trash lor... who's to blame???:biggrin:

but i do agree with "when in rome..." so, whenever i encounter mandarin-speaking service staff, i would pretend to be a kantang... free entertainment mah...:biggrin:

Brudder, there is no question about the FT trash being used to suppress wages in peesai.

Nevermind the next round of Sars will send shivers down all the cheapskate employers spine. They put themselves and love ones in the target zone of virus carriers from China.

With overpopulation and non english speaking sinkees(who cannot migrate due to lack of english) in this tight space, alot gonna die from the mutated sars strain. First to die are employers and their family who have close contact with these trash.

_AXL_

Brudder, there is no question about the FT trash being used to suppress wages in peesai.

Nevermind the next round of Sars will send shivers down all the cheapskate employers spine. They put themselves and love ones in the target zone of virus carriers from China.

With overpopulation and non english speaking sinkees(who cannot migrate due to lack of english) in this tight space, alot gonna die from the mutated sars strain. First to die are employers and their family who have close contact with these trash.

these trash r no longer cheaper than the locals already.

not too concerned about viruses. but i m worried about unqualified FTrash coming in and causing immediate problems socially. more crimes (serious and fatal), prostitution and the pressure on public services like housing and transportation. but then again, our gahmen screw us more with the 2 casinos... more crimes, more undesirable and professional gangs, more gambling problems, more family breakups, suicides, prostitution, drugs and STD epidemic. this peesai will become like gotham... and batman does not exist. damn, the more i think about it, the more i must try harder to convince my parents to migrate liao!!!