• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAWASDEE KRUP - Welcome to Thailand

since i am retired, how am i able to top up my acct to 50k dollars every year?
im supposed to be retired, where got income liao?
quite confused on this one.:confused:

As what johnny333 replied to you, student pass will be the easiest and most straight forward. no_faith I think if you can be very clear of your objectives to stay here and also Singapore family then you can also clearly plan your stay here. There are many options. If you are alone and plan to just stay here simply the you may not need to buy an apartment just rent will be enough. Like many angmohs here they actually rent instead of buying as a simple fully furnished apartment could be had for as low as 5000baht per month in Bangkok and cheaper in other cities. So it depends very much on your objectives. Also I heard some people rent out their HDB or properties and use the rental income to survive here. In Thailand our dollar can stretch pretty well.

heard that many falang bought house at Ko Samui and retired there.
issit a good place, ie. accessibility, property price etc?

Obviously Ko Samui is an island and has direct flights to Singapore and many flights a day to Bangkok via Bangkok Airways. As an island it could be boring to stay for long time but this is individual. Yes I know farangs live there for long period of time like 6 months or so still I have not really heard of mamny retiring there. A place farangs like to retire in Thailand will be Hua Hin and Pattaya and of course Bangkok too.

If you are alone and plan to just stay here simply the you may not need to buy an apartment just rent will be enough.
tis is more likely for me.:)
im doing an small business here but i dont need to be located here in sg, i can be mobile so i tot can stay in TH.
one main issue is my online small business not stable, so have to plan again.:(

might be success might be not.:(

flang retire in issan too.

You are absolutely correct Jah. You see many many many farangs in Isaan and in the remotest (baannook) village you can also see them there on motorcycles and motor-tricycles. Most of them married Isaan girls. I have an American friend who speaks Isaan so well but his Thai is bad.

Although I live in Thailand if one day I have less work (I will never retire like LKY :D ; come on if retire where got excuse to tell mdm you need to visit Isaan customers for a few days right?) I will consider to move to Chiang Mai and also Nong Khai (boder town in Isaan with Laos) and set up my own organic farms. Another nice place to stay is in Khaoyai which is only 100km from Bangkok.

You are absolutely correct Jah. You see many many many farangs in Isaan and in the remotest (baannook) village you can also see them there on motorcycles and motor-tricycles. Most of them married Isaan girls. I have an American friend who speaks Isaan so well but his Thai is bad.

Although I live in Thailand if one day I have less work (I will never retire like LKY :D ; come on if retire where got excuse to tell mdm you need to visit Isaan customers for a few days right?) I will consider to move to Chiang Mai and also Nong Khai (boder town in Isaan with Laos) and set up my own organic farms. Another nice place to stay is in Khaoyai which is only 100km from Bangkok.

Many issan gals marry those farang.

Anyway there are many chinese/japanese looking issan gals even though the stereotypical look for an issan gal is dark skin. Why is this so?

You may also get into trouble in Spore. If they suspect you have been taking weed they'll test you.
This system is so stupid. U dun wan us to puff, we puff in other countries where they close one eye. Come back never even smoke/ smuggled, tio pee test positive, u up lorry. Imagined u go Jb eat chewing gum, u spit it out before entering Sg n tio saliva test, positive then tio fined?Why they never check on these then?

Many issan gals marry those farang.

Anyway there are many chinese/japanese looking issan gals even though the stereotypical look for an issan gal is dark skin. Why is this so?

I feel southern people are darker than Isaan. Anyway there are dark people everywhere la. Isaan people to Thailand is like Indonesian workers to Malaysia. You see without them many things in the country simply cannot move. I also come to know them as hard working and fun people. However this is just my personal view as there are still Thais (Chinese Thais and Thai Thais) who look down on them like outcast. I even know a banker, whenever he goes massage will specifically ask for non-Isaan, I asked him why he simply said he don't like to be touched by Isaan people. I personally know this place and its people very well because in my work this is my biggest market (buying power there is very strong although rural) and I have very close personal relationship with business owners there. Majority of my staff are Isaan. My maid is Isaan and obviously my family love to eat Isaan food.

This system is so stupid. U dun wan us to puff, we puff in other countries where they close one eye. Come back never even smoke/ smuggled, tio pee test positive, u up lorry. Imagined u go Jb eat chewing gum, u spit it out before entering Sg n tio saliva test, positive then tio fined?Why they never check on these then?

Seriously I have not seen (or I may have missed) any news report of people caught in airports or causeway or second link or our ports from urine tests. Has anyone here seen any? I think we always say I heard from here and there but no real report. However from the past I always hear people say (oh here we go again) that police do spot checks at WTC on people arriving from Batam. Airport I think safe la. Anyone know anything specific here?

Yea bro Joe, real live report from my friend, tio pee test positive at changi airport, up lorry to DRC. No need go court, straight away 6 months, thereafter 6 months rolex on leg, need to work for selected yellow ribbon companies, then for next 1 year pee test every 3-2 per week, cannot go holiday also. All in all, u suffered 2 bloody years in total.if everything also put up newspaper, think no space for other news Liao if u get what I mean.

Pure Thai breeds are all of darker complexion comparable to Malay. The fairer Thais have either Chinese or Japanese or caucasian blood along their uplines. The Chinese mix, particularly from Teochew and Yunnan, has been dominant through smooth transition since it has been through centuries through peaceful migration and assimilation. The Japanese and caucasian mixes were mostly the results of soldiers stationed in Thailand during WW2 and Vietnam War. Whether fathered by Japanese or US soldiers, they were mostly disowned and abandoned. But their fathers did leave them something of value, a fairer complexion which makes life easier for them in Thailand. By the way, caucasians are not white, they're pink. Chinese are not yellow, we're biege. The one who set the terminology of skin colors must be a color blind idiot. Only albinos are white. Many Chinese, Japanese, Koreans and Vietnamese are fairer than caucasians. Use your eyes. Believe your eyes.

Yea bro Joe, real live report from my friend, tio pee test positive at changi airport, up lorry to DRC. No need go court, straight away 6 months, thereafter 6 months rolex on leg, need to work for selected yellow ribbon companies, then for next 1 year pee test every 3-2 per week, cannot go holiday also. All in all, u suffered 2 bloody years in total.if everything also put up newspaper, think no space for other news Liao if u get what I mean.

Thanks Arjan. This is news for me really. Shitz this government is ridiculous.

Sorry Arjan may I ask, your friend he look normal and dress normal kind of guy or he look like gangster kind of person with tattoo or somethign like that? Just curious.

Knocking off now. Shitz why did I work so hard today? Need a Singha soon. Catch you guys later.

Thanks Arjan. This is news for me really. Shitz this government is ridiculous.

Sorry Arjan may I ask, your friend he look normal and dress normal kind of guy or he look like gangster kind of person with tattoo or somethign like that? Just curious.
Yes, u can said that, once u are a sinkie, confirmed, stamp, certifed true copy u cannot do alot of things, i think if u kena overseas, serve liao dun be too happy, sinkie authorities wil tell u they are not done with u here yet.
Oh he wear very normal jeans n shirt. Decent looking, but sway kena random check. Visited him during his "resort" period, he curse n swear all the way.

Pure Thai breeds are all of darker complexion comparable to Malay. The fairer Thais have either Chinese or Japanese or caucasian blood along their uplines. The Chinese mix, particularly from Teochew and Yunnan, has been dominant through smooth transition since it has been through centuries through peaceful migration and assimilation. The Japanese and caucasian mixes were mostly the results of soldiers stationed in Thailand during WW2 and Vietnam War. Whether fathered by Japanese or US soldiers, they were mostly disowned and abandoned. But their fathers did leave them something of value, a fairer complexion which makes life easier for them in Thailand. By the way, caucasians are not white, they're pink. Chinese are not yellow, we're biege. The one who set the terminology of skin colors must be a color blind idiot. Only albinos are white. Many Chinese, Japanese, Koreans and Vietnamese are fairer than caucasians. Use your eyes. Believe your eyes.

Can you explain how the central thais whom are darker managed to get power from the northern thais whom i believe were the ones that spread thai culture. Certain thai words have origins in china or perhaps the earliest thai words while over the yrs the influence from cambodia took over. Please connect the dots for me.

You know the numbers 1-9 in thai sound very similar to hokkien, teochew and so on showing that it has its origins from china especially the word 3 and 9 in thai is so much like hokkien. The thais escaped from china into the SEA region especially during the mongol invasion of china and getting replaced by the chinese from the north. I suppose during that time they started ayuthaya kingdom. Here's the part i don't know cos i didn't really read into thai history. Somehow they got influence from cambodia which created their thai culture and religion am i correct here? With king thaksin they managed too defeat the burmese and cambodians and somehow took over central thailand and the issan region and finally the malay archipelago.

Therefore suffice to say the original thais from china that look chinese were the ones that spread the thai culture to the surrounding ppl and they in time took up the thai identity. Of course they all interbred with one another and so on to create all these mixtures and so on. How come the central thais in bkk are the ones holding the power? I think there's not much explaination on this. Also what are the ethnic groups in thailand. I read from one article that there are 16 main ethnic groups but all of them have adopted the thai culture and there's not much info on their specific group.

Am i actually correct here? That the original thais come from china? There's also a dai minority group in yunan that have very similar customs and culture to the thais. They celebrate the water festival in april too.

I feel southern people are darker than Isaan. Anyway there are dark people everywhere la. Isaan people to Thailand is like Indonesian workers to Malaysia. You see without them many things in the country simply cannot move. I also come to know them as hard working and fun people. However this is just my personal view as there are still Thais (Chinese Thais and Thai Thais) who look down on them like outcast. I even know a banker, whenever he goes massage will specifically ask for non-Isaan, I asked him why he simply said he don't like to be touched by Isaan people. I personally know this place and its people very well because in my work this is my biggest market (buying power there is very strong although rural) and I have very close personal relationship with business owners there. Majority of my staff are Isaan. My maid is Isaan and obviously my family love to eat Isaan food.

Do you have children? I'm sorry i have forgotten. How did you get your wife to uproot from sg to thailand? I have one issan fren and he introed me to the chick fetus in egg similar to what filippinos eat and it's called kai dtuang. Do you eat that? Oh yes how good is your thai? Did you learn it formally from a thai school?

Thai originated from Tai tribe in Yunnan. That's why not only the numbers but many other words have links to Chinese. Gao-i for Chair and To' for Table etc. However, the writing is Pali based, not Chinese based. Most of the early founders of Thailand were illiterate. The first writings arriving in Thailand were Pali Buddhist scriptures brought in by missionary monks and Thai writing system was based on it. Actually, Pali had no writing system too. It used Sanskrit as transliteration medium.

Spore is really a screwed up place. PAP has been making rules & regulations for 40+ years & now you have millions of foreigners in Spore breaking many of these rules with impunity.
I think the only reason they are going after these people is because these people are getting their jollies without paying anything to the PAP. You can gamble, drink, fuck in Spore as long as the gov't gets a cut. :)

Sawasdee Krup Pi Ram I am glad you drop by here cos you have many Thai experiences to share with us here.

Pure Thai breeds ....... Use your eyes. Believe your eyes.

Sawasdee Krup Pi Ram I am glad you drop by here cos you have many Thai experiences to share with us here.

สวสดีครับ I'm not any expert whether Thai or Japanese or Chinese or English or whatever. Just here for fun and passtime. Yes, I always use passtime as one word. Don't copy me. It's my copyright. If you copy me, you can be harrassed for cloning or copyright infringement at your own risk.