Most sinkees have done #3. Those who can afford it, took #2. A few idealistic ones like Roy and HHH take #1.
It is the #1 group that is going to change sinkapore ...that group will grow to a significant mass to bring down the PAP.
If sinkees were told that they pay 50 percent tax and in return, they get free education, free healthcare, unemployment insurance up to 2 years, welfare, free daycare and pension, do you not think the majority of sinkees will buy into it?
It is what you are selling. For decades we have being sold that capitalist bs ...that everyone can be rich if they work hard. Sinkees work like dogs and saw some wealth in the early days. As more sinkees join the retirement rank, they started to realize that we have been conned because there was nothing left in their CPF after paying off their overpriced HDB flats. And then they fear getting sick as the medical cost will kill them faster than the sickness.
Not many people can do #2, so most do #3.
If PAP arrange for anyone who wants to leave to go to Canada, I bet you can see at least 50 percent of sinkees taking up the offer.
Hi Winnepegjets,
Actually when I wrote that post I was replying to your post specifically and not to points raised by the other forumers here. So for those who felt I did not address or rebutt their points raised, I apologize.
Winnepegjets, are you in Winnepeg? Nice that the jets went back home a couple years ago eh?
You have a point about saying If PAP arranges for anyone who wants to leave to go to Canada there will be many shouting that they want to go.
But here is what will happen after the shouting dies down.
They will ask, what is the weather like in Canada? Cold? -20? -30? -40? Wah so cold! Sure or not? Can I go Australia instead?
Those who are ok with the weather will say - so when I go there what can I work as? I am an engineer. Can I be an engineer there? got job for me? PAP can arrange job for me? The answer will be no. You have to retake exams all over again before you can work as engineer. Jobs you have to apply on your own. Same for all professionals. Lawyers, doctors, accountants etc. You have to take local North American exams to qualify. Anyone can google and verify this point. Most immigrants will have to start off in entry level jobs eg general laborers, janitors, landscaping, fast food workers etc. and even those jobs are hard to get into because employers will say you are overqualified and at high risk of leaving once you attain your qualifications and get a better job. So why train you?
and also no maid, then who will wash toilet? Who will cook? Who will look after children? Who will vaccuum and mop floors? The house so big how to clean? Car wash $9? Wah lau so expensive. House cleaning services cost $800 a month for cleaning once a week? Wah lau so expensive!
And then the people will say PAP never take care of them, want to send them away to a cold like hell, godforsaken place with no ready jobs, ask them from engineer or lawyer or doctor or manager or analyst or nurse or administrative officer or teacher to work as factory worker, fast food server, janitor, gardener etc. Throw away their educational status. what kind of stupid government is that?
So my reply is essentially, it's not the government, it's the mindset of the people.
I don't know how it was for you when you migrated Winnepegjets, but when I moved to Canada in 2010 I did my homework and immediately started applying for entry level jobs. Knowing that trying for higher level jobs required certificates and local qualifications which I did not have. So no point wasting time. I interviewed at Macdonalds and was rejected. "I don't want a doctor flipping burgers at my joint" they told me.
I landed a job at a factory assembling jambs and sills on PVC window frames. Was on the assembly line and also doubled as their OHSA (occupational health and safety act) go to person because of my medical background. The manager saved money cos he paid me laborer salary and did not have to hire an OHSA person to sit around in the office doing nothing most of the time. Having said that my starting salary was $16/hr which was higher than some of the other more experienced workers. I had a good time there. The work was simple, and low stress in my mind. Compared to the hustle and bustle in medicine it was a piece of cake.
I wonder how many doctors and atas people from Singapore would come to Canada and start off in entry level jobs like this? I know a few families from Singapore who did the same and am good friends with them. They would be what people in Singapore would consider "from atas society" but are very humble and willing to sacrifice for their children's futures and start all over again. If you speak to the Singaporeans on the street, the masses who say they are not the atas and all.....the irony is that the ones with the most "atas like" attitudes are these people who are not atas.
So while I agree that if the PAP were to arrange for people to go to Canada, there will be many shouting they want to go, the reality is that the majority will end up complaining and cursing the PAP more and NEVER GO.
I am sure leongsam will agree with me on this.