• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Riverside Primary School Teacher tore up child's book

The point I am making is that we need teachers like that to challenge us to do better. Without these bastard teachers many students would not have made it in life.

i get your point. though i kena jialak from him, no hard feelings. he was just doing his job. that was in the 70s. nowadays very different. ong ai teik was the other old school teacher. needless to say, the late Ernie.

Why should it be any different? Are humans of the 21st century designed differently compared to the 70s?

You and I know that harsh discipline produces results and the current politically correct hogwash produces sissies totally unprepared for the real world.

The sooner it revert to the methods of the past the better it will be for everyone.

harimau

Teacher Over reacting lah! Why so stress up?

If the Child Farks up, its the Parents responsibilities.

It is not the teacher's fault!

Parents please do not give undue pressures to teachers!

Dun have too high expectations if you are not going to be responsible for your own children education!

Teacher should have some time out and quiet time to be alone before exploding into an Atom Bomb!!

Allah Tuah Lumpar lah! :biggrin:

CABcommander

When I was in primary school I received far worse abuse from the teachers than having one of my books torn up. If she wrote rubbish she deserves to be taken to task.

The parents should support such a teacher because she is obviously a dedicated teacher who demands high standards.

If your primary school teacher is any good you wouldn't end up as a porn site admin.

Teacher Over reacting lah! Why so stress up?

If the Child Farks up, its the Parents responsibilities.

It is not the teacher's fault!

Parents please do not give undue pressures to teachers!

Dun have too high expectations if you are not going to be responsible for your own children education!

Teacher should have some time out and quiet time to be alone before exploding into an Atom Bomb!!

Allah Tuah Lumpar lah! :biggrin:

The teacher is overreacting. She should give a warning first and only if the bad behaviour continue then tear up the book.

Why should it be any different? Are humans of the 21st century designed differently compared to the 70s?

You and I know that harsh discipline produces results and the current politically correct hogwash produces sissies totally unprepared for the real world.

The sooner it revert to the methods of the past the better it will be for everyone.

I think in order to produce thinking human beings, we must not revert to barbarian method of the past. I remember when I was in primary three, I told my teacher nicely that I don't like to dance for the school celebration, I want to change my seat etc and my teacher said you think you are in your grandfather school. Very rude! I think teachers are overrated and most are just doing their job. I have never come across any dedicated teachers in my school life.

教不严,师之惰。
This teacher should be given an A for performance rating and 13 months of bonuses!

I think in order to produce thinking human beings, we must not revert to barbarian method of the past. I remember when I was in primary three, I told my teacher nicely that I don't like to dance for the school celebration, I want to change my seat etc and my teacher said you think you are in your grandfather school. Very rude! I think teachers are overrated and most are just doing their job. I have never come across any dedicated teachers in my school life.
When you're in school you should jolly well do as you're told. That's what school is all about.

Sideswipe

25 years ago, the teacher might have torn up the child's book and gave a big tight slap too. our children are fortunate nowadays. no more unreasonable physical discipline / abuse by teachers.

Wunderfool

The story continued ....

The heart breaking part is when the child asks, "Mummy, am I stupid that is why the teacher hates me? Am I really slow? Is that why I have to change schools?"

I am a mother of two. I will be very upset to learn my children have to go endure all these, yet I failed to pick up the cues because he/she is introverted.

This is worst than bullying by peers. This is an emotional abuse of a person from a higher authority whom you have to see everyday in school.

This is a wrong way of teaching. Tearing up a book is a Big No No! This is obviously humiliating to the child, even more so when done right in front of the class.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

She must well slap her with the book and make her put the chair over her head.

chair.jpeg

Some teachers are sadist!

Trying to recall whether Ong ai teik was an old boy & formerly a school athlete?

Wunderfool

My most unforgettable lesson from Mrs Koh ....

The JC’s prelim results were out.

I had the worst results in my class. I flunked both the E maths and A maths. The maths teacher, Mrs Koh ( if I could still remember her name correctly ) looked at me with genuine sad eyes and said to me , almost chokingly, “ You really disappoint me. Why do you fail my subjects ? I know you can do better. “ Her shoulder sagged down with disappointment as she spoke , and her eyes ( I could never forget those eyes ) were almost brimming with tears. She cried for me.

The memory stuck with me. I felt so sorry that I had disappointed her. She had high hopes on me. She was disciplined in her teaching and always pushed me to do well in my studies. But I was an idiot. I did not study for the exams.

I deserved the results I got. I had caused her to lose her confidence in me .

That incident drove me to study really hard for the GCE A level exams. Never had I been so focused in achieving my goal that I would be at school early in the morning and studied til late at night. I swore to myself ,” Mrs Koh, I will not let you down again.”

When the A level results came out, I scored a A for both E and A maths. I didn’t manage to share this with Mrs Koh. But I think she knew in her heart that I would make it.

blueRad

Reading all these posts gives me all the nostalgic feelings.

This reminds me back in primary school when I didn't do my math homework. My form teacher made me sit down outside the teachers' staff room and completed it. Another time, he lift my bag above me, unzip the bag and let gravity send all the items in my school bag crashing to the floor in front of my class. Cried, I did. But I did become a better student because of these tough punishments.

he took charge of the school gymnastic team. passed on several years ago. super loud voice. i think he taught geography.

I remember them as my teachers.

However when I hear that these people have passed on, it really hits me when I realise that we may soon be joining them:(
It makes me think about the time wasted doing NS, reservists, ... & not doing what is really important.