• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Remembering Bruce Lee

Legend has it that one day, Bruce Lee approached Chuck Norris (Karate world champion and Hollywood star)...

BL : Hey Chuck, I'm working on a new movie. I'm planning a good fight scene at the Roman Colosseum. Can you be my co-star?

CN : Come on Bruce. You know I've never worked in Chinese movies before. And presumably, you're the star in the movie and you want to beat me in the scene.

BL : Actually, in the scene, I'm supposed to kill you, bare handed.

CN : Hahaha!!! Let's say, if you can beat me in a gentleman's sparring match, I'll consider taking a look at your script.

BL : OK, done.

As they said, the rest is history. Chuck Norris took up the role Bruce Lee offered in The Way Of The Dragon and that fight scene became and remains the greatest one-to-one fight scene in the history of movies, worldwide.

Bruce Lee's inch strike without special effect is still unmatched by any martial artisits or movie stars till today in terms of lightning speed and awesome spectacle. In fist fighting, a swinging of the arm is required gather momentum and strength. Bruce Lee didn't need that swing; his was sudden but power loaded strike within an inch.

In martial legworks, Jet Li's Huang Feihong Wuying Jiao is crap special effect compared to Bruce Lee's Flying 3 Kicks. He could leap high enough and kick fast enough to deliver 3 kicks midair before he landed. I don't think anyone ever since have achieved that. Jackie Chan's action stunts look comical compared to him.

Not only as creme de la creme pugilist, Bruce Lee was also par excellence as an actor. His facial expressions, diction and intonation in dialogies, body language gestures are all immortally remembered, studied and imitated by top actors since.

chuck norris train under bruce for his karate championship lah....

no need sparring match liao...

bruce_lee_ip_man.jpg

Bruce Lee & Master Ip Man

ipman4.jpg

Donnie Yen as Ip Man & the real Master Ip Man

Huh? i thought Ip Man died in 1972???

favicon.png

x610.jpg

In this undated picture released by Television Broadcasts Limited, veteran Hong Kong actor Shih Kien poses for pictures at a TV drama set in Hong Kong. Shih, who played Bruce Lee's archrival in the 1973 movie "Enter the Dragon," has died of kidney failure at age 96, news reports said Friday, June 6, 2009. Shih passed away Wednesday afternoon at a Hong Kong hospital with his children by his side, the Ming Pao Daily News said.​

Huh? i thought Ip Man died in 1972???

:Dyou must be Ip Man's fan.
below photo should read as
Donnie Yen and Ip Man's son, Ip Chun (葉準)
ipman4.jpg

http://kungfusweden.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/ip-man-2/

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NDuMdWf3Bo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NDuMdWf3Bo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Ip Chun (葉準)
<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/y6oPgV0tJrM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/y6oPgV0tJrM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Have u guys heard of rumors that bruce lee was killed by some silat exponent from indonesia?.

Conspiracy theorist will tell you that the people who killed his son was the same people who killed the father exactly 20 years earlier...

The Best of Martial Arts Films

<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/7ItnogOU2gM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/7ItnogOU2gM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/J8IcsMDYj5U&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/J8IcsMDYj5U&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

The TV drama is from China Guangxi TV Production.

Nowadays China make better TV drama series than Hong Kong.

Remember 1993 there also a HK TV drama on the legend of Bruce Lee, lousy show the main actor is DJ David (acted Bruce Lee) :D

It is a tv show, so naturally there have to spice thing up and exaggerate it if not how to show the greatness of Bruce lee?
Remember the title of the show is "Legend of bruce lee".
A lot of things in the show is heresay or makeup if not how to call him a legend?
well, I don't know if Bruce ever fight with a muay thai fighter before.
It wil be interesting to wach if there ever is one.
Anyway, there is now a very skilled martial artist thai movie star his name is Tony Ja.
I recommend you watch Ong bak 1 and 2. His fight are very entertaining and well crafted he can be a modern version of bruce lee.

:Dyou must be Ip Man's fan.
below photo should read as
Donnie Yen and Ip Man's son, Ip Chun (葉準)

no lah.... i just read up about these guys because of the show..
Bruce and his associates

Fan of wikipedia..... instead hahah

got interested in them recently

oyama fought bull was documented in video. its on youtube, but its edited to show him chop off the horn before killing the bull. the real story behind it was he killed it first before using his bare hands to knock off the horn.

but on a side note, i do not think bruce lee will do well against modern days MMA, which is a mixture of ground and standup. Its not that he was not good or what, it was his limited exposure, most of his exposure was on stand-up style till towards the later stage of his life few months i believe, then he started exploring on judo. if any of the gracies were in the area bruce lee was in, i would have no doubt bruce would be beaten by them for once. but given bruce character, he would learn from them and end up becomes better than them. LOL. Just look at dan inosantoes, he too now focus very heavily on groundwork.

Nevertheless i would say bruce lee is a forefather of modern MMA. He is the first that mix martial art he was exposed to, his idea of flowing with style, to make one fluid.
this kind of thoughts is totally new in those days where most martial artist are very narrowminded. his contribution to martial art is to Einstein promoting spacetime as a single entitle in physics.

I've seen that bullfight clip before. Shows nothing and that's why people doubt the bullfight stories are real. Just look at his silly stance as he approached the bull. Who fights like that when faced with a bull? LOL.

Similarly, I've never seen any videos or real life accounts (meaning people who got beaten since Lee is "unbeatable"/ witness) of Bruce Lee being in real fights. All I get are hearsays, sparring clips and fantasy stories imagined by his fans (like Muay Thai fighter scared of Bruce Lee). Even the outcome of the famous Wingchun fight is disputed. And there is NO record of him ever fighting in a major tournament beyond a local school boxing competition.

I agree with you that today's MMA fighters will beat him. Prior to UFC, everyone thinks that grapplers will have no chance against strikers. How wrong they were. Bruce Lee will suffer the same fate as the early strikers who took on the grapplers. But like you said, he will eventually master grappling and beat them. He was not invincible but was certainly a born martial arts genius.

The judoka you mentioned is Gene Lebell, a legend. The Korean is Rhoon Rhee, the father of American TKD.

I am surprised after 30 years, people are still fascinated and talks about him.
I thought the 20th anniversary of his death is a once and for all thing.
He is indeed a legend, like elvis and MJ, to be told from generations to the next.
My personal theory on his death is that he over-exerted himself physically.
when one pushes himself over the limit, the body may just snap.
Come to think of it, Bruce Lee and MJ has some thing in common.
Both coming from a depised race managed to make a name for themselves in their own arena. And both had a sudden and mysterious death.

He was very corky and arrogant and thats a fact. He was a street fighter and his father had to send him away to avoid him getting killed by the triads.

did he died of "马上风“. he was rumoured to be very intimate with the actresses acting in his film

He was very corky and arrogant and thats a fact. He was a street fighter and his father had to send him away to avoid him getting killed by the triads.

He's not cocky, he's just recklessly righteous. He never bullied the weaker, he helped them, but got into trouble with colonial and triad bullies.

I am surprised after 30 years, people are still fascinated and talks about him.

That's probably because all those stories about Huang Feihong, Huo Yuanjia, Chen Zhen (Bruce Lee starred in one of those movies too) etc. to restore Chinese ethnic pride after an humiliating era were fictional or at best semi-legendary. Bruce Lee was for real. Even westerners and Japansese acknowledged and respected that in real life for all to see.

Fuck lah hear so many of you untrained cheebyes talking all your theory cockshits make ninpei want to puke ! Here are some facts for you lah !

- Bruce Lee was just an actor NOT a real fighter

- Bruce Lee never fight a single real fight before, other people like you idiots keep making up all the unproven stories of his "greatness"

- Bruce Lee will be defeated in a fight with any ordinary TKD blackbelt, he will lagi be more easily killed in a UFC match

- Bruce Lee is weight only 120 lbs, how to fight in a fight?!?! mai chio si lang lah

Fuck lah hear so many of you untrained cheebyes talking all your theory cockshits make ninpei want to puke ! Here are some facts for you lah !

- Bruce Lee was just an actor NOT a real fighter

- Bruce Lee never fight a single real fight before, other people like you idiots keep making up all the unproven stories of his "greatness"

- Bruce Lee will be defeated in a fight with any ordinary TKD blackbelt, he will lagi be more easily killed in a UFC match

- Bruce Lee is weight only 120 lbs, how to fight in a fight?!?! mai chio si lang lah

so why does your opinion carry heavier weight over others?