• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Putting Spurs deeper into PAP's thick Hides

Perspective

Ask any Malay - he is not considered a Malay but a DKK. Perspective is right. When it comes to these things, he knows the characters that are involved.

That's the reason why the Javanese who are indeed of Malay stock want to retain the race in their NRIC as Javanese. The same with the Boyanese.

Was about to touch on. Yes they are seen as "Darah Keturunan Keling". The situation is the same in Malaysia.

Wonder why the fellow needs to sell his favourite parties the wrong way. Obviously SDP leaders in their hearts know they are short. They wouldn't sell a half-Malay as a Malay because such an attempt would show up more obvious that they are short.

One and half Malays in SDP "vs" one Malay in NSP (and WP) doesn't give serious indications of difference in "multiracialism". The correction proportion for all should be 3 and purebred. The PAP is the strangest as it should have a number and its CEC has 18 people means it needs 4 to meet the national average. Since they are all short, the issue might be the overall community's reluctance in political participation.

Old man did the same decades ago when Mahathir complained about Non-Malays in the SAF. So they called up the "malays" who all turned up to be DKK. Mahathir was stuck as he was also a DKK.

But the local malays were pissed about it.

Was about to touch on. Yes they are seen as "Darah Keturunan Keling". The situation is the same in Malaysia.

Wonder why the fellow needs to sell his favourite parties the wrong way. Obviously SDP leaders in their hearts know they are short. They wouldn't sell a half-Malay as a Malay because such an attempt would show up more obvious that they are short.

yellow_people

Ask any Malay - he is not considered a Malay but a DKK. Perspective is right. When it comes to these things, he knows the characters that are involved.

That's the reason why the Javanese who are indeed of Malay stock want to retain the race in their NRIC as Javanese. The same with the Boyanese.

I did and my Malay friends told me DKK was in the caveman era. Certainly the Chinese would not have prospered on this red dot if the Malay was that conniving.

That chap is a dishonest fellow and he is being pretentious on the Malay issue, I can tell you that right now given his wriggling and putting down of SDP from past exchanges. He has yet to explain where all that Indian minority are, except for SDP and somehow you expect me to believe his authority on Malay issue? Just because the Malay is silent on the issue does not mean either of you are right.

If the Malay had taken the DKK to heart Mahathir a "DKK" would not have been at the helm of Malaysia for so long and neither would he have received that rousing sent off when he stepped down. I can't say the same for LKY. Can you? Ask Danabalan.

yellow_people

Old man did the same decades ago when Mahathir complained about Non-Malays in the SAF. So they called up the "malays" who all turned up to be DKK. Mahathir was stuck as he was also a DKK.

But the local malays were pissed about it.

The local Malay was amused actually that Singapore was this petty.

LKY asked for it when he complained about discrimination north of the border and that too completely unprovoked like the shooting, mugging and hijacking comment. When Mahathir fired back, he referred to key positions in the Armed Forces specifically.

Served LKY right for questioning the loyalty of the Malay to do the right thing in times of a crisis. All the RSAF could show Mahathir was a single Malay chopper pilot who had a Caucasian father and a Malay mother. The K as in Keling did not even factor in DKK. It was a pretty embarrassing moment for SG.

aurvandil

I believe this is THE HISTORICAL DILEMMA as a result of Raja not making a stand against LKY in the interest of Party Unity or whatever personal loyalty reasons.

I prefer to take a simpler, more direct view of things. I wouldn‘t attribute the current problems faced by the Malay community to some mythical clash of PAP titans which did not occur some 50 years ago. Rather I see the problems as a result of PAP policy failures over the past 5 years.

The root policy failure is the FT policy. While the PAP happily collected the taxes and revenue from the increased population, they failed to provide a corresponding increase in key public goods like housing and transportation. They also failed to take measures to mitigate the negative consequences of the policy. As a result of this, ALL Singaporeans suffered with ethnic minorities like the Malay community suffering the most.

The policy failures currently being discussed are not the full extent of the problems brought about the FT policy failure. Just like the scandals in Tampines GRC, I am sure that the other problems will surface as we approach the election.

travelbug

Regarding employment discrimination, I would like to shall this observation:-

I know of instances of suitably qualified Chinese, yet are not accepted in certain positions in certain sectors. Note in fast food delivery/courier delivery (male), stat board admin positions e.g. CPF Board, NLB (female) - there seems to be a disproportionate number of Malay/Indian employees. Are these positions 'reserved' for Malays such that given equal candidates, a Malay prospect is preferred over a Chinese e.g.

I know of no way to prove the above. Just my observation, any comments, forummers ?

Yes agreed with your observation about civil service & stat boards having a high disproportionate number of Malays. Very obvious especially for the frontline staff of NLB. All the branch & regional libraries have a high proportion of Malay women. What surprised me was that the NLB, that is all libraries, were opened on a public holiday of CNY on Tuesday 16 Feb! I guessed they could do it since there are so many Malay staff around.

I guess the gahment has to take the lead as the private sector sans GLCs are not keen to hire them. UOB, the local bank was once criticized in the past for not hiring Malays but now they do though in small token numbers to pacify them.

Likewise, the gahment also absorbs the bulk of unemployed local graduates of all races when the economy was bad in the 1997 Asian financial crisis and the aftermath of the 2nd Iraq war & Sars crisis in 2003, 2004 periods.

So in the end we do have a bloated civil service & stat boards where tax payers money go to feed these civil servants for creating more red tape for the citizens.

travelbug

Through all the sound and fury of this discussion, it seems very odd that the central issue of what is happening to our ethnic minorities have not been mentioned.

On local issues, there are scandals galore in Tampines GRC. I suspect they will all start to surface closer to the election.

Pray tell what are the scandals swirling in Tampines GRC? If its just Mabok Tan & HDB then I have heard it before. What else apart from that?

aurvandil

Pray tell what are the scandals swirling in Tampines GRC? If its just Mabok Tan & HDB then I have heard it before. What else apart from that?

The scandals have nothing to do with MBT's HDB policies.

They are local to Tampines GRC.

In the unlikely event that they somehow fail to surface, I will post up the evidence on the first day of Election 2010. People can then see and judge for themselves.

U

UpYoz_olo

I think many of the people who have lined up behind Goh Meng Seng would not be doing so if he was not humble and honest. Manging perception through propaganda is what the PAP does.

I like the above phrase, whatever the motives. GMS better watch his hide for those 'spurs'.

:oIo::oIo::oIo:
Fxck SIFU and all!

kitelover3112

Just remember the reason why you guys lost Aljunied GMS. The minority votes are important. If you don't make headway and attract them with your ideologies, then I'm afraid they're still gonna vote for PAP. Tampines you must remember is quite a Malay enclave... You can't just rely on people's unhappiness against the Govt on recent issues...

Good point.

Just remember the reason why you guys lost Aljunied GMS. The minority votes are important. If you don't make headway and attract them with your ideologies, then I'm afraid they're still gonna vote for PAP. Tampines you must remember is quite a Malay enclave... You can't just rely on people's unhappiness against the Govt on recent issues...

sampierre

but sending a maly candidate to parliament thru the ncmp scheme is definitely not the way to go! gms must start engaging the malay community tampines thru the various activities that nsp could organise for the residents. And being able to speak some malay is a great help for any oppostion politician.

Sideswipe

NCMP and NMP represent nobody since they were not elected.
NCMP might represent a political party but NCMP does not represent a single peasant ( even though they are election losers )

IMO sending a malay candidate to parliament thru the ncmp scheme lack credibility as the candidate is not the choice of the malay community. It's just wayang.

NCMP and NMP are actually observers in parliament. PAP gave them limited voting rights for some legitimately.

yellow_people

I apologise for the late response. I really do. But when see your monkier I envision a bespectacled Ah Beng that is past his prime whose only hope is that your wife does not look for greener pasture.

I guess to each his own but I have yet to see the dissected bit as you so put it. In fact there is not a single Singaporean Chinese that is able to take GMS to task. And that is the plain and simple truth. GMS crucified himself but putting the minorities, at least the Malays down as dysfunctional. Surely you are not going to deny that, despite the Ah Beng that you are. Has any reasonable Ah Beng asked GMS to clarify his position. I guess not.

Didn't really bother to read posts by yellow_people as the tone itself put me off. Glad to see you chaps have dissected him like a slice to tuna belly.

yellow_people

Well both eunos (in the past at least), Aljunied and Tampines to a lesser extent are Malay minority enclaves. Please ask Goh Meng Seng, the racist, to explain his position on minorities. If in doubt please refer to my signature. It was quoted verbatim from GMS himself. In case he and his fellow Ah Bengs deny.

DrPanacea

Meng Seng,
Yes, I agree winning more seats by the opposition parties is a means to an end. But I still maintain that this must be the focus of all to ensure that the PAP does not continue to enjoy the 2/3 majority so that they don't tamper with the constitution as they wish.