I don't think the value will be $0. It's more like how you are going to sell to the next buyer if there are so many units there. Can there be a loss or you think you will highly likely profit simply because you can see water from your condo?
What is the appreciation value? Who are your future tenants or buyers? How much are they willing to pay?
If you think your condo is nice, there are many other equally nice ones or even nicer, higher floors and bigger ones. There will be many more coming up.
Not every tenant is also tempted to pay high rental simply because PH faces the marina. A short drive away, there are thousands of others in Medini. If rental there is cheaper, then they will go there.
Not sure if you're a Singaporean. But for this group of people, they are more comfortable with saying that a certain property belongs to them. Renting doesn't feel right. Not Shiok... like you don't own something.
But if you have done the math, you will see renting makes a lot of sense if you wish to retire in JB. Even if you rent for 30 years, the amount you have to spend is likely lesser than an owner of the property. See the calculations I did above.
Renting is better simply because you are talking about JB where rentals are low and the entry prices most buyers have gone into are too high. There is a lot of land there and Malaysians are generally not the ones who will pay so high for rental and purchase your condo next time. You are mainly depending on fellow investors and expats. Actually I think expats will likely rent also. This pool of people is definitely more limited.
The good thing about being a tenant is that you can move anytime you want. For eg, if you feel like it, you can stay in a penthouse for a few months. After that, move to a 4000 sq ft house for a year and live like a king. The next year, move to CG Danga Bay facing the Straits with dirt cheap monthly rental. You may get a spanking new home every time, no need to worry about your condo looking run down, or worry about whether there will be tenants, whether you can sell off, if the RM currency becomes weaker, etc.
After all, this is not your first or main property I believe. So renting it is not a bad thing or "lose face" if that is how Singaporeans feel.
Of course, as I've said as usual, unless you feel you have excess cash and hands itchy must buy something, no one can stop you. This is the only group of people whom I think buying Iskandar properties now (not last time) is understandable. Too rich dunno where to put money any more.
But if you want to make sure you are not taking huge risks, do the math and see if what you are doing makes sense.
Haiz… What to do? I dun have a rich dad for a headstart and millions sitting in the Bank.
So can only be a Foolish Slave let the Bank suck interest from me loh…
But hor, what investment u talking abt huh?
PH is not my investment leh.
Oso, Im from Gen X. Retirement is some way off.
So what's wrong with using 50% leverage from Bank to finance my future Retirement home?
Presume i live till 80 from my target retirement age of 50 in PH when the loan is repaid, that's 30years of rental saved!
Not to mention the residual value of that marina facing unit. Hopefully it's not like what u guys like to claim = $0.
LOLOL
:*: