• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC construction worker gets SG citizen

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PRC construction worker gets SG citizen</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-19 10:54 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>26026.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/12/20/prc-construction-worker-given-singapore-citizenship/
PRC construction worker given Singapore citizenship

December 20, 2009 by Our Correspondent
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent
The Sunday Times published two full-page articles on the recent passing out parade of the SAF’s Officer Cadet Corp (OCS) which includes sons of four ministers as well as new citizens.
No efforts were spared to promote the sons of new citizens who were commissioned as SAF officers, one of them is China-born Second Lieutenant (2nd Lt) Chen Jin Chao.
Mr Chen’s father came to Singapore to find work 12 years ago as a construction worker before he became a renovation contractor.
He now run a stall in Ang Mo Kio selling noodles with his wife. Both of them are now Singapore citizens.
Not too long ago, MM Lee Kuan Yew reassured Singaporeans that the government is “very strict” with the criteria for citizenship and only the best “talents” are offered Singapore citizenship.
He also said that most foreigners are here to work on a short-term basis and will return home after their stint ends.
With due respect to Mr Chen, his previous occupation as a construction worker can hardly be considered as a professional or a talent.
How he managed to get his Singapore PR and somemore citizenship is anybody’s guess.
Is Singapore desperate for construction workers and noodle sellers that we have to “import” them from China to become our citizens?
Mr Chen’s mother was naturally elated when interviewed by the state media yesterday:
“Today is a very happy day for us……Jin Chao has proven that he could tough it out and can now start to contribute to Singapore’s defence.”
It will not come as a surprise if Mr Chen’s family were to vote for the ruling party in the next election due by 2011 who gave them the opportunity to start life afresh after all.
Faced wth dwindling support from locals, the ruling party ha been actively courting the new citizens. A $10-million dollar Community Integration Fund was announced lately by the Minister of Community, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan to make the new citizens feel “welcomed” in Singapore even when he admited his pet project – the construction of the Singapore Sports Hub would be delayed due to financial constraints.
There are currently about 4,500 new citizens serving as grassroots leaders in various estates in Singapore and their numbers are likely to increase in the future.
Mr Chen is the kind of new citizen so sought after by the ruling party – he is likely to be hardworking, obedient and most importantly, politically ignorant, apathetic and inactive which will help consolidate and entrench its hegemony in Singapore for the next few decades.

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Should gave more citizenship to someone who can produces good breed so as to replace those assholes citizen like you.:rolleyes:

“Today is a very happy day for us……Jin Chao has proven that he could tough it out and can now start to contribute to Singapore’s defence.”>

When the going gets tough, our comrades will disappear back to the glorious people's republic of CHINA, faster than you can say "When".

:mad:

no wonder the standard of singapore food gone down the drain.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PRC construction worker gets SG citizen</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-19 10:54 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>26026.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/12/20/prc-construction-worker-given-singapore-citizenship/
PRC construction worker given Singapore citizenship

December 20, 2009 by Our Correspondent
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent
The Sunday Times published two full-page articles on the recent passing out parade of the SAF’s Officer Cadet Corp (OCS) which includes sons of four ministers as well as new citizens.
No efforts were spared to promote the sons of new citizens who were commissioned as SAF officers, one of them is China-born Second Lieutenant (2nd Lt) Chen Jin Chao.
Mr Chen’s father came to Singapore to find work 12 years ago as a construction worker before he became a renovation contractor.
He now run a stall in Ang Mo Kio selling noodles with his wife. Both of them are now Singapore citizens.
Not too long ago, MM Lee Kuan Yew reassured Singaporeans that the government is “very strict” with the criteria for citizenship and only the best “talents” are offered Singapore citizenship.
He also said that most foreigners are here to work on a short-term basis and will return home after their stint ends.
With due respect to Mr Chen, his previous occupation as a construction worker can hardly be considered as a professional or a talent.
How he managed to get his Singapore PR and somemore citizenship is anybody’s guess.
Is Singapore desperate for construction workers and noodle sellers that we have to “import” them from China to become our citizens?
Mr Chen’s mother was naturally elated when interviewed by the state media yesterday:
“Today is a very happy day for us……Jin Chao has proven that he could tough it out and can now start to contribute to Singapore’s defence.”
It will not come as a surprise if Mr Chen’s family were to vote for the ruling party in the next election due by 2011 who gave them the opportunity to start life afresh after all.
Faced wth dwindling support from locals, the ruling party ha been actively courting the new citizens. A $10-million dollar Community Integration Fund was announced lately by the Minister of Community, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan to make the new citizens feel “welcomed” in Singapore even when he admited his pet project – the construction of the Singapore Sports Hub would be delayed due to financial constraints.
There are currently about 4,500 new citizens serving as grassroots leaders in various estates in Singapore and their numbers are likely to increase in the future.
Mr Chen is the kind of new citizen so sought after by the ruling party – he is likely to be hardworking, obedient and most importantly, politically ignorant, apathetic and inactive which will help consolidate and entrench its hegemony in Singapore for the next few decades.

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

no wonder the standard of singapore food gone down the drain.

Vivien says..."you have a choice' what!, you can go eat foir gras...sharfin soup ( free at Potong pasir)...you do not have to eat from the AhTiong's run food stalls...:D

Well done sinkies, now i hope the govt will dish out sinkie citizenship to those PRC at geylang street. That will be a great news and pride for the nation..

CB kia tonychat,

the thai emperor takes great pride in thailand for being the world's no.1 exporter of prostitutes..:D

Vivien says..."you have a choice' what!, you can go eat foir gras...sharfin soup ( free at Potong pasir)...you do not have to eat from the AhTiong's run food stalls...:D

yeah choice for now, soon they might overbid and overtake the sinkies hawkers. soon we have no choice at all.

what are you doing tonight, get your butt out in the front of your computer and go and see Avatar in imax 3d.

Should fast track citizenship for PRC talent

Sinkie youth are useless, only use resources cannot contribute to society

Everyday think of hip and cool, influenced by Western ah gua advertisers and Hollywood's weak values

I think this makes the "foreign talent" policy very transparent----

Someone should ask in parliament how many construction workers turned hawkers were given PR under the foreign talent policy......

I guess this is part of the ethnic management policy that we cannot question...

I think the article is pathetic and a desperate dig at the government. My Grandfather was a low skilled FT when he came here, he taught himself to read and write after he got here and then got a decent job of being a clerk. My dad was born here and was the first few batches of NS men. I'm born here and also gone through NS. Should I look down on my Grandfather as a lowly educated FT or my Father as a child of an FT. I don't think so.

I don't have a problem with PRs who turn citizen and decided to stay here, my family was here because of that and I'm very certain most of you too. I think we should stop condemning someone just because they plan to migrate. How is someone from SG migrating to Australia any different from them. Australia is almost just as FT friendly as SG.

Personally i think we should not condemn anyone who is willing to contribute to the country. However I have serious issues with pple who turn PR and refuses to turn citizen. Those are the ones who have no intention to contribute to the country

I think the article is pathetic and a desperate dig at the government. My Grandfather was a low skilled FT when he came here, he taught himself to read and write after he got here and then got a decent job of being a clerk. My dad was born here and was the first few batches of NS men. I'm born here and also gone through NS. Should I look down on my Grandfather as a lowly educated FT or my Father as a child of an FT. I don't think so.

I don't have a problem with PRs who turn citizen and decided to stay here, my family was here because of that and I'm very certain most of you too. I think we should stop condemning someone just because they plan to migrate. How is someone from SG migrating to Australia any different from them. Australia is almost just as FT friendly as SG.

Personally i think we should not condemn anyone who is willing to contribute to the country. However I have serious issues with pple who turn PR and refuses to turn citizen. Those are the ones who have no intention to contribute to the country

Last time and now , there is a difference. Why keep using history and you think it can emulate the present situation.

Last time is the start of the country when the first pink ic is given out, people are moving around in this region to survive so people will be GLAD to have a sense of belonging.

Now, many are settle down in sinkieland and they are BETRAY by those ( cause by your sinkie govt) who comes here to take advantage of the situation and then move back to their own land or jump ship to another land. Now is not about survival, now is about which place is more shiok.

Those who left and against such betrayal are the true Singaporeans, that is the situation.

Those who keep on harping about the past are clueless about what's happening now and of course those who has nothing to be proud of the present, keeps on talking about the past and using the past as example.

Dont forget jus become citizens means singaporeans.. countries like india have dual citizenship in hidden form like PIO (people of indian origin) who can buy properties and stay as long as u want in india even as a citizen of singapore..

Your grandfather come that time, is Sinkieland an independent country yet? If not, then please go fuck spider.

Australia does not allow just anyone to go into the country. They do their utmost to prevent trash from getting in. They are especially vigilant in stopping "tourists" who try to get into the country to work illegally.

Dont forget jus become citizens means singaporeans.. countries like india have dual citizenship in hidden form like PIO (people of indian origin) who can buy properties and stay as long as u want in india even as a citizen of singapore..

Please get your facts right. U cannot hold dual Citizenship if U are Singaporean. U need to renounce your citizenship and provide proof from the previous government before u will be officially declared Citizen. Which is also the reason why some assholes refuse to switch Citizenship. They want the benefits from the current state but also want it from SG. If we allow dual citizenship, U'll see a sudden surge in the number of new Citizens here. Bunch of Assholes!!!

On a side note, I'm also very pissed about the term Singapore Resident. WTF. I only care about Citizens. I dun care about the rest :oIo::oIo:

Your grandfather come that time, is Sinkieland an independent country yet? If not, then please go fuck spider.

Australia does not allow just anyone to go into the country. They do their utmost to prevent trash from getting in. They are especially vigilant in stopping "tourists" who try to get into the country to work illegally.

U probably don't know Australia very well. They like to allow pple seeking "political asylum" to enter. Translation, they allow a bunch of useless freaks to get in and leech on the government for free

Also I basically know of a lot of Toms Dicks and Harrys who made it into Australia. My Ex-GF's dad was a cab driver with sec sch education(he didn't graduate in case U were wondering). Guess what, he is now a cab driver in Australia!!!! Australia must SERIOUSLY be in need of new Cab drivers

Funny how everyone here tells me not to dig up ancient history yet like to mention stuff which LKY or Nathan did BEFORE independence. WWII, them working for the Japs, Pre Independence, Operation Coldstore etc. Please be consistent. If U can mention ancient history, I dun see any reason why I cannot especially unlike the unproven history U guys are mentioning, I'm talking about something that I CAN prove

There is totally nothing wrong in mentioning history but of course to the sinkie mided ones, they just compare it without making an effort to see that if it is suitable to make a comparison.

How is comparing 1 history with another history that is totally the same, NOT suitable. I am comparing APPLES with APPLES here!!!!

U probably don't know Australia very well. They like to allow pple seeking "political asylum" to enter. Translation, they allow a bunch of useless freaks to get in and leech on the government for free

Also I basically know of a lot of Toms Dicks and Harrys who made it into Australia. My Ex-GF's dad was a cab driver with sec sch education(he didn't graduate in case U were wondering). Guess what, he is now a cab driver in Australia!!!! Australia must SERIOUSLY be in need of new Cab drivers

you get ur facts right..
even if you are singapore citizen.. you can get all the rights in india..like buying properties and stay indefinitely.. if u are a person of indian origin.. almost the same as dual citizenship