• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Possible solution to constipation

In the past few weeks I have been taking a liquid mixture of Omega 3-6-9 plant based cold pressed oils. Dosage of 1 tablespoon per 50 pounds. I've done so to get the proper balance of Omega 3, Omega 6 & Omega 9. Prior to this I had only been taking fish based Omega 3 suppllements: Salmon & krill

I noticed a strange side effect, a more regular bowel movement :eek:
The effect is very obvious & very smooth:)

In the past I would suggest chlorella for people suffering constipation. I would now suggest an oil change first. You can get a bottle of Udo's 3-6-9 blended at GNC but it's cheaper at iHerb:
http://www.iherb.com/Flora-Udo-s-Choice-Udo-s-Oil-3-6-9-Blend-32-fl-oz-946-ml/4779?at=0

Thanks for the info. Looks like "heaty" CNY delicacies (cookies & ba kwa ) are starting to take effect now. :D

For quickie solution, ENO is good.

For me coffee enema is the way to go not that I have constipation but never have it since I regularly practice coffee enema but my main purpose is more for detox than solution for constipation.

Thanks for the info. Looks like "heaty" CNY delicacies (cookies & ba kwa ) are starting to take effect now. :D

Have to admit that I'm tempted by the bakwa & cookies but have to to avoid those unhealthy foods. Haven't touched bakwa in years.

The cookies are unhealthy because many of them include margarine(a trans fats) & lots of sugars(not diabetic friendly).

Holidays are not what they used to be :(

For quickie solution, ENO is good.

For me coffee enema is the way to go not that I have constipation but never have it since I regularly practice coffee enema but my main purpose is more for detox than solution for constipation.

A coffee enema might work but I'm trying something more exotic. For cell level detox I've got myself an essiac tea formulation by the Ojibwa indians :
http://www.iherb.com/Flora-Flor-Essence-2-1-8-oz-63-g/3052?at=0

This tea is used to treat cancer. I don't have cancer & only using it to detox but anything that can fight cancer must be good:)

However I need to find a stock soup pan to prepare the tea:)

http://www.sageandwisdom.net/essiac-tea-ojibwa-tea-for-anticancer-supplementation.html

Essiac Tea (aka Ojibwa Tea)

Essiac (és ē ak) is a popular alternative treatment used for a variety of purposes worldwide. It is an herbal formula comprised of four herbs, first used by the Ojibwas, and an Ojibway medicine man gave Rene Caisse, a Canadian nurse, the formula in 1892, as the story goes. After experiencing tremendous results for her loved ones suffering from cancer, she volunteered her time and efforts to treat countless other cancer patients, seemingly helping them restore health with her herbal treatment and dubbed it Essiac (Caisse spelled backward).

The essiac herbs are cut or powdered, mixed in specific quantities, then made into a tea and ingested daily. Essiac is typically used by those suffering from cancer, diabetes, immune problems, respiratory problems, neurological disorders, and other conditions.

Each of the herbs in the formula is reported to have cleansing and detoxifying properties in the body. The herbs are also supportive of the body's immune system, and each herb is healing in its own right, but they may have a synergistic effect on cancerous tumors when taken together in the proper ratios.

WHAT ARE THE INGREDIENTS?

Organic Burdock Root (Arctium latta) is a mild diuretic. It increases the production of both urine and sweat, potentially making it useful in treating swelling and fever. Burdock root might play a role in preventing liver damage caused by alcohol, chemicals, or medications. The exact reason for this protective effect is not known, but it is thought to involve opposition of a chemical process called oxidation, which occurs in the body as a natural function of metabolism. Although oxidation is a natural process, that doesn't mean it isn't harmful to the body! One result of oxidation is the release of oxygen free radicals, which are chemicals that may suppress immune function. Antioxidants such as burdock may protect body cells from damage caused by oxidation.

Organic Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella) is a rich source of oxalic acid, sodium, potassium, iron, manganese, phosphorous, beta carotene, and vitamin C. This essiac tea ingredient is a mild diuretic, mild antiseptic, and a mild laxative.

Organic Slippery Elm Bark (Ulmus rubra) has been used as a poultice for cuts and bruises, and also for aching joints due to gout or other causes. Besides being an essiac tea ingredient, this herb is also used to alleviate sore throats. Slippery elm bark is found in many lozenges that claim to soothe throat irritation. Since a sore throat and a cough are often linked, slippery elm bark has also been used in cough remedies. It also regulates the elimination process of digestion, easing both constipation and diarrhea.

Organic Turkish Rhubarb Root
(Rheum officinale) is a detoxifying herb and is world-famous for its healing properties. Rhubarb root purges the body of bile, parasites, and stagnating food in the gut by stimulating the gall duct to expel toxic waste matter. It has been shown to alleviate chronic liver problems by cleansing the liver. Rhubarb root improves digestion and helps regulate the appetite. It has also been shown to help heal ulcers, alleviate disorders of the spleen and colon, relieve constipation, and help heal hemorrhoids and bleeding in the upper digestive tract.

A coffee enema might work but I'm trying something more exotic. For cell level detox I've got myself an essiac tea formulation by the Ojibwa indians :

This tea is used to treat cancer. I don't have cancer & only using it to detox but anything that can fight cancer must be good:)

However I need to find a stock soup pan to prepare the tea:)

http://www.sageandwisdom.net/essiac-tea-ojibwa-tea-for-anticancer-supplementation.html

Essiac Tea (aka Ojibwa Tea)

Essiac (és ē ak) is a popular alternative treatment used for a variety of purposes worldwide. It is an herbal formula comprised of four herbs, first used by the Ojibwas, and an Ojibway medicine man gave Rene Caisse, a Canadian nurse, the formula in 1892, as the story goes. After experiencing tremendous results for her loved ones suffering from cancer, she volunteered her time and efforts to treat countless other cancer patients, seemingly helping them restore health with her herbal treatment and dubbed it Essiac (Caisse spelled backward).

The essiac herbs are cut or powdered, mixed in specific quantities, then made into a tea and ingested daily. Essiac is typically used by those suffering from cancer, diabetes, immune problems, respiratory problems, neurological disorders, and other conditions.

Each of the herbs in the formula is reported to have cleansing and detoxifying properties in the body. The herbs are also supportive of the body's immune system, and each herb is healing in its own right, but they may have a synergistic effect on cancerous tumors when taken together in the proper ratios.

WHAT ARE THE INGREDIENTS?

Organic Burdock Root (Arctium latta) is a mild diuretic. It increases the production of both urine and sweat, potentially making it useful in treating swelling and fever. Burdock root might play a role in preventing liver damage caused by alcohol, chemicals, or medications. The exact reason for this protective effect is not known, but it is thought to involve opposition of a chemical process called oxidation, which occurs in the body as a natural function of metabolism. Although oxidation is a natural process, that doesn't mean it isn't harmful to the body! One result of oxidation is the release of oxygen free radicals, which are chemicals that may suppress immune function. Antioxidants such as burdock may protect body cells from damage caused by oxidation.

Organic Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella) is a rich source of oxalic acid, sodium, potassium, iron, manganese, phosphorous, beta carotene, and vitamin C. This essiac tea ingredient is a mild diuretic, mild antiseptic, and a mild laxative.

Organic Slippery Elm Bark (Ulmus rubra) has been used as a poultice for cuts and bruises, and also for aching joints due to gout or other causes. Besides being an essiac tea ingredient, this herb is also used to alleviate sore throats. Slippery elm bark is found in many lozenges that claim to soothe throat irritation. Since a sore throat and a cough are often linked, slippery elm bark has also been used in cough remedies. It also regulates the elimination process of digestion, easing both constipation and diarrhea.

Organic Turkish Rhubarb Root
(Rheum officinale) is a detoxifying herb and is world-famous for its healing properties. Rhubarb root purges the body of bile, parasites, and stagnating food in the gut by stimulating the gall duct to expel toxic waste matter. It has been shown to alleviate chronic liver problems by cleansing the liver. Rhubarb root improves digestion and helps regulate the appetite. It has also been shown to help heal ulcers, alleviate disorders of the spleen and colon, relieve constipation, and help heal hemorrhoids and bleeding in the upper digestive tract.

Wa, quite complicating la. The 3 items you mentioned that made up the tea looks like not easy to find. You know of any ready mixed that can be bought for easy preparation?

The teas are available in 2 convenient forms, ready made liquid & packet form.

The ready made liquid form comes in either a 17oz or 32 oz bottles. This is the most convenient but expensive form since a 32 oz bottle only provides 16 servings. I've seen the 17oze liquid form being sold at GNC.

The one that I chose to buy has a good rating from other consumers, & is cheaper at only US$29. The box comes with 3 packets of the prepared herbs. With each packet I can prepare 32 oz of the tea, so thats 96oz of tea from 1 box. This is what I got

There are clear instructions on how to prepare the tea. You need some distilled water which is available at any supermarket, 2 @17oz glass jars(available at NTUC), a strainer, a stock pot pan.

Detoxing is a life long necessity since there's so much pollution out there. This tea is that good & everyone should be using it:)

for me, very simple, one cup of Teh-C or Kopi-C... will roti... in the morning, sure will go toilet 30min-1 hour later.

If really cannot, eat papaya with pineapple.... will feel the effect the next morning too. "papaya with pineapple" is something I read from chinese papers, TCM column

My friend never take coffee, he said if he take it
he will go lao sai.
For me, no tea, coffee a must everyday, addicted.
Everyday, motion one time, unless stomach up-set,
sometimes take too much heaty stuff, 2 days never go.
Another friend, must go 4-5 times daily, wierd habit?

My friend never take coffee, he said if he take it
he will go lao sai.
For me, no tea, coffee a must everyday, addicted.
Everyday, motion one time, unless stomach up-set,
sometimes take too much heaty stuff, 2 days never go.
Another friend, must go 4-5 times daily, wierd habit?

For me, beer is the best laxative. I seldom have constipation problem but when it occasionally happens, I switch from whisky to beer for the night, and by next morning it's alright. :D

Heineken atau Skol ??:o

wahlaneh...
'manual evacuation' is the best n most effective way to clear intestinal congestion.
if u dun mind dirtying ur hand...
sit on toilet bowl, apply KY jelly or some oil on ur middle finger:oIo:, then insert finger thru ur anus all the way into ur large intestine n 'kolek' ur sai until all come out.
ofcoz, wash ur hands thereafter lah.:D

wahlaneh...
'manual evacuation' is the best n most effective way to clear intestinal congestion.

Whateverr works for you :)

For some people constipation is really a serious problewm. All that sludge building up will cause problems if not expelled.

After spending 1 week in the hospital without going to the loo, I had big problems :) Going to the loo was a bloody affair:( I tried papaya & bananas but it didn't help fast enough. Could be because I was taking alot of medication back then.

I tried laxatives but it wasn't a good solution because if you read the warnings, your not suppose to use it long term.

Chlorella worked for me back then. Now I find that cold press oils also does the trick. Many people don't get enough essential fats, so if you are suffering from constipation it might be due to lack of healthy oils. The oils you find at the NTUC is likely to be over processed, so if you find yourself constipated try supplementing with healthy oils you find in health stores.

I agree. In Chinese, 消化不良 (indigestion) and 肠胃阻塞 (constipation) should of course be relieved by alcohol 酒耐穿肠之物 (alcohol clears through intestines). Don't drink too much till it overworks your liver though.

Beer works better than liquor since it's inherently a coolant regardless of being served chilled or not.

If got constipate , just dont ever eats banana . They are like glue ,hard to disgusts and can seals up in your stomachs .

Whateverr works for you :)

For some people constipation is really a serious problewm. All that sludge building up will cause problems if not expelled.

After spending 1 week in the hospital without going to the loo, I had big problems :) Going to the loo was a bloody affair:( I tried papaya & bananas but it didn't help fast enough. Could be because I was taking alot of medication back then.

I tried laxatives but it wasn't a good solution because if you read the warnings, your not suppose to use it long term.

Chlorella worked for me back then. Now I find that cold press oils also does the trick. Many people don't get enough essential fats, so if you are suffering from constipation it might be due to lack of healthy oils. The oils you find at the NTUC is likely to be over processed, so if you find yourself constipated try supplementing with healthy oils you find in health stores.

Everyday if you makan 3 pcs of papaya (those sell by fruit stall, cut up ready), even with medications, will work wonders.

The easiest way to solve constipation is to eat Fisherman's Friend lozenges. Pop at least 10 within half an hour. No say I never warn. U better make u got alot of shit stored inside first.

Everyday if you makan 3 pcs of papaya (those sell by fruit stall, cut up ready), even with medications, will work wonders.

I would only eat a slice of papaya & 1 to 2 bananas a day, that didn't work. That's why I turned to laxatives.

Would eating more papaya have softened my stool:confused:

In my case, the extended bed rest + medication caused the hardening of the insides:( I was too embarrassed to bring it up with the doctor or else the nurse would've given me an enema:D Don't know if an enema it would have been a long term solution.

It took a while before I got back to normal. So I can appreciate how terrible it can be :)