• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee:Don't Depend on Govt for Everything

Patriot

THE coming year on the lunar calendar is that of the ox - a strong animal, which while 'not very aggressive, is completely dependable'.

Noting this on Sunday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong gave this reassuring message to Singaporeans facing a difficult ride ahead: 'So in our quiet way, we'll see through the year of the ox, and we'll come out of it alright, stronger than before and ready to grow and prosper.'

But he also warned against an over-reliance on the Government for help in 'everything', urging the community to also chip in during this downturn.

This way, Singapore will also cohere as a stronger society.

Mr Lee struck this upbeat note at an off-the-cuff address in his constituency of Teck Ghee in Ang Mo Kio, where he and his grassroots leaders distributed ang pows, vouchers and mandarin oranges to 275 needy residents. He later toured the nearby market and hawker centre, shaking hands and signing autographs.

In a sign of the worsening times, the number of recipients had increased - from 220 last year. So too the amount of money in the red packet - from $80 to $100.

It is such ground-up community efforts that are especially necessary now, said Mr Lee.

The Government will do its part to help Singaporeans ride out the downturn, the Prime Minister promised, listing a litany of schemes from ComCare to GST offset packages.

'But if everything depends on government schemes and it becomes a matter of beaurcratic organisation, entitlement, I think we'll make this impersonal and we'll weaken ourselves as a society.

'And instead of having a sense of mutual support and warmth and comradeship, we'll cultivate a sense of reliance and ultimately a society which is not as strong as it should be.'

What our great PM Lee has said is very true. We all should make an effort to continue strive hard to work our ways through to our future success. Our great PAP government can't possibly help everyone with their problems. We all should try make an effort to help ourselves and not be too reliant on the government for every problems.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/9xFDwxnukbg&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/9xFDwxnukbg&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Is the highest paid PM in the world telling us that the highest paid government in the world are UNreliable???

Shouldn't they should lead the way for the people who elected them rather than say that we should rely on themselves and not depend on them for "everything"???

More should be done and not merely giving excuses that they cannot be depended on to do "everything"!!!

Then, what is the government for??? Highest paid and lowest in productivity???

I think we should also support his notion that we as Singaporeans should not be embarrassed about our parents working lowly paid jobs such as dish washer, garbage collectors, etc. These are respectable jobs and we should be proud that our parents are still standing on their own feet.

I believe to ensure that our dear PM is able to lead Singapore better, he should walk the talk and ask his father to work at Mac Donalds for a change.

Is the highest paid PM in the world telling us that the highest paid government in the world are are UNreliable???

Shouldn't they should lead the way for the people who elected them rather than say that we should rely on themselves, and not depend on them for "everything"???

More should be done and not merely giving excuses that they cannot be depended on to do "everything"!!!

Then, what is the government for??? Highest paid and lowest in productivity???

Depressing are they not? Just when you need a feel good pick me up speech, we get a demoralising bucket of ice cold water dump right into our pants. :mad:

All I got to say to them is cannot get the job done let other people do it! and ... :oIo:

I think we should also support his notion that we as Singaporeans should not be embarrassed about our parents working lowly paid jobs such as dish washer, garbage collectors, etc. These are respectable jobs and we should be proud that our parents are still standing on their own feet.

I believe to ensure that our dear PM is able to lead Singapore better, he should walk the talk and ask his father to work at Mac Donalds for a change.

Hahaha good one! :D

then wat the fuck they collect all these taxes and pay themselves million dollars salaries...to do fucko...

if that the case then you better tell your ah loong san not to depend on the people for taxes and cut gst..

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

then wat the fuck they collect all these taxes and pay themselves million dollars salaries...to do fucko...

if that the case then you better tell your ah loong san not to depend on the people for taxes and cut gst..

Paying taxes is necessary in all developed countries. Our great PAP government has work hard together to bring a better living environment, better education, better security, better transportation, better healthcare and medical services and most importantly a better government to help Singapore achieved all these greatness and success.

Regarding on our great PM Lee's salary, if you all are not happy that he is worth that much, think about his great education achievements and his great contributions in helping Singapore to achieve good relationships with most countries around the world and helping Singapore to a successful and prosperous globally recognized great country.

Who is depending on the government?..isn't it a duty for the governemnt's to help the citizens?. who gave them the mandate?...the people!!

It is the government who depend on the people for their renumeration, in taxes & other form of revenues, who in return have a DUTY TO SERVE!

The people of Singapore have worked very hard since Independence..so do not go reminding us, to work hard.

Who is depending on the government?..isn't it a duty for the governemnt's to help the citizens?. who gave them the mandate?...the people!!

It is the government who depend on the people for their renumeration, in taxes & other form of revenues, who in return have a DUTY TO SERVE!

The people of Singapore have worked very hard since Independence..so do not go reminding us, to work hard.

It is true that our great PAP government depended on the people's honest votes for them to deliver success to Singapore. The great majority of Singaporeans has always show their support for the great PAP due to the fact that they are capable and can help Singapore to achieve a greater success. Just look at the success we have achieved.

Yes the government should help the people but at a limited basis as they can't possibly help them fully. Our great PAP government has set up various organizations such as; NCSS, VWO, CDAC, CDC and all the various groups to help the less fortunate Singaporeans. There is always a limitation on helping people.

For example your friend keep come asking you for help to borrow him/her money to pay off his/her debts every time, I believe you won't always give your money to him/her every time right? So what should you do? Some possible suggestions should give to him/her is that; ask him/her to find a proper job (if he/she is not working), ask him/her to stop betting (if the debts are related to betting), ask him/her to lead a normal living (if he/her spent money like nobody business) and all the possible ways to help him/her instead. These suggestions will help them in the long run.

Hahaha. He is! He is asking his father to help him nanny sit him liao, and a MM is not enough, he needs SM to help out also.

Indeed, PM Lee is working very hard!!!!

It is true that our great PAP government depended on the people's honest votes for them to deliver success to Singapore. The great majority of Singaporeans has always show their support for the great PAP due to the fact that they are capable and can help Singapore to achieve a greater success. Just look at the success we have achieved.

Yes the government should help the people but at a limited basis as they can't possibly help them fully. Our great PAP government has set up various organizations such as; NCSS, VWO, CDAC, CDC and all the various groups to help the less fortunate Singaporeans. There is always a limitation on helping people.

For example your friend keep come asking you for help to borrow him/her money to pay off his/her debts every time, I believe you won't always give your money to him/her every time right? So what should you do? Some possible suggestions should give to him/her is that; ask him/her to find a proper job (if he/she is not working), ask him/her to stop betting (if the debts are related to betting), ask him/her to lead a normal living (if he/her spent money like nobody business) and all the possible ways to help him/her instead. These suggestions will help them in the long run.

Have you ever been poor, desperate, down & out?, have approached your MP?, CDC, CDAC whatever.......no body expect the government to help much, the hard-working Singaporeans, will not reach out for help..except!!........but have you ever approach the PAP for help?, never mind your talk of 'friend, asking for...' HAVE YOU?:o

Regarding on our great PM Lee's salary, if you all are not happy that he is worth that much, think about his great education achievements and his great contributions in helping Singapore to achieve good relationships with most countries around the world and helping Singapore to a successful and prosperous globally recognized great country.

2yy9nad.jpg

"What about me? Without me he is nothing! Quick por my lumpar!"

Have you ever been poor, desperate, down & out?, have approached your MP?, CDC, CDAC whatever.......no body expect the government to help much, the hard-working Singaporeans, will not reach out for help..except!!........but have you ever approach the PAP for help?, never mind your talk of 'friend, asking for...' HAVE YOU?

Let me tell you what happened to me years ago, when I am down and out of luck. The most the MP does is to give you coupons for bills, or write a letter for you. Look for them? They can only talk. Those who help out in CC, ok, they are kind, but I expect them to be so becos they are getting something in return right? The MP sees dono how many people every session.

PAP? Since they come out with the GRC thingy, I never had a chance to vote. And never vote ever after. I dono who my MP is now, as I am not in singapore. And where to find them now? They rezone the bounderies all the time. Hell knows what zone my previous home is now.

What a joke.

HAHAH. Singaporeans are dependent on the Government ? LOL.
What have the PAP done in the past 10 years to help Singaporeans ?

Maybe they have been helping the FTs kick Singaporean out of their jobs, schools, public transport, hospital etc etc etc.

Fact is, Our CHENG HU have always been DEPENDENT on the goodwill of the easy to bully Singaporeans.

Its time we wake up and help ourselves indeed.

Lets DO IT in the NEXT GE.

Dan

what has his education achievements got to do with us...and please lah good relationships with most countries..well he likes to suck up to the biggest terrorist of them all, the united shits and now that has placed singaporean on the hit list of those muslim fanatics...

Wait a minute,

We all forgot that the govenment depends on the TAX of people, and use it to fund all the operations. Since when the people DEPEND on govenment? The thief accusing the victim?

what has his education achievements got to do with us...and please lah good relationships with most countries..well he likes to suck up to the biggest terrorist of them all, the united shits and now that has placed singaporean on the hit list of those muslim fanatics...

It is part of having a good working relationship with your customers/clients/users. It is similar of any company having good ties and relationships with one another to have better business opportunities. Any huge organizations and top MNCs have multiple partners and clients to gain greater growth to their organizations. Singapore is doing the same thing by tieing good relationships and rapport with countries around the world to drive in opportunities for business and investment and growth.