• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Overcoming a rough patch in life

that's what I thought. easier and cheaper to get flights too. your photos look like socal, but you are tech, so SF?? Anyway been > 25 years since I was in the golden state can I hit you up on pm for inside track?

No wonder your blood sugar so swee! :notworthy: :notworthy:
velcum. and can makan and have kopi at killineys in palo alto. about to open end of march but had to close for now because of virus.

no as in the airport itself and access. dun wan to be stuck in 3 hour long immigration lineups with no taxis and such. ease and comfort v important to me when travelling.
sjc has brand new terminal. less crowded than sfo. but sfo has more international flights which also means longer lines. for sin and canada connection sfo is more convenient.

nightsafari

You international man of mystery! I got to work leh. Now Alberta cut salary plus got covid19 so only can do telephone calls and pay is very low for telephone calls.

Probably only after this is all over.
@glockman called me the same thing. I not so international leh... was unfortunate enough to be shunted around when young. appears that it becomes useful in later life.

nightsafari

You international man of mystery! I got to work leh. Now Alberta cut salary plus got covid19 so only can do telephone calls and pay is very low for telephone calls.

Probably only after this is all over.
eh...mind setting your profile such that you can accept pms? it's really hard for me to pm you.

That's the advice I got when I migrated.

Start from bottom. Get any job. Some money is better than no money.

My first job was as a general laborer on the assembly line in a PVC windows company. I assembled window jambs and sills. I did that job for about a year plus. Then found another job as a land administrator in oil and gas. I started out with a lower salary than the windows factory job but after 3 months got promoted and after a year became project manager for the company's biggest client. By then I had got a spot to train in family medicine and I left for that. Took a 50% pay cut for the 2 year family medicine residency.

But it is worth while financially now.

The path may not always be up up up up. Sometimes you have to consider the potential in the opportunity and be willing to take less for a while despite working harder and longer.

Anyone can be economic refugee in Canada fixing window jambs and door knobs for $18 an HR....hell even their McDonald's pay is $14 an HR......plus 2k a mth covid stimulus fund....

In sg this guy is doomed to the poor house,unless he wants to work 12 HR shifts for $96 a day at 50 something......or he has half a million in stocks and reits.

nightsafari

Anyone can be economic refugee in Canada fixing window jambs and door knobs for $18 an HR....hell even their McDonald's pay is $14 an HR......plus 2k a mth covid stimulus fund....

In sg this guy is doomed to the poor house,unless he wants to work 12 HR shifts for $96 a day at 50 something......or he has half a million in stocks and reits.
half a million kao meh?

nightsafari

$35k passive income $100 a day should be enough for anyone to live anywhere.....if ur jobless and don't need to do anything do u really need to spend $100 a day?
If half a million enough I can rest easier liao.

Actually, my own calculations are proably a lot more conservative so was wondering what other assumptions you made to make that determination.

if you don't mind, can you tell me how you got 7% passive income from $500k?

$35k passive income $100 a day should be enough for anyone to live anywhere.....if ur jobless and don't need to do anything do u really need to spend $100 a day?
My uncle has been pondering on this $x requirement per day thing for a long time KNN actually if we had conservatively allocated $100/day it means we have more than buffer becas most people won't be going out to spend everyday KNN leemember as long 1 day you never go out the extras for today can be spillover for the next day KNN