• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our military expenditure almost equal to Malaysia's & Indonesia's combined!

kojakbt

Following is the Military Expenditures of Singapore and its neighbours for the last 10 years:

Military Expenditure (1999 - 2008)
in US$ Billion
Singapore $52.1
Malaysia $27.0
Indonesia $31.1
Thailand $21.9

That is, in the last 10 years, our military expenditure is 1.9x of Malaysia's, 1.7x of Indonesia's and 2.4x of Thailand's.

You decide if we have been "over-spending" on defence and perhaps it's time to shift our resources back from Guns to Butter.

207rhg2.jpg

http://i37.tinypic.com/207rhg2.jpg
Source: http://www.sipri.org
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute

kojakbt

Over the last 20 years, our defence spending is almost equal to Malaysia's and Indonesia's combined.

Are our paper scholar Generals thinking of attacking Indonesia and Malaysia at the same time?

cleareyes

Following is the Military Expenditures of Singapore and its neighbours for the last 10 years:

in US$ Billion
Singapore $52.1
Malaysia $27.0
Indonesia $31.1
Thailand $21.9

That is, in the last 10 years, our military expenditure is 1.9x of Malaysia's, 1.7x of Indonesia's and 2.4x of Thailand's.

You decide if we have been "over-spending" on defence and perhaps it's time to shift our resources back from Guns to Butter.

207rhg2.jpg

Does Malaysia, Indonesia and thailand need to send their armies overseas for training?

in US$ Billion
Singapore $52.1
Malaysia $27.0
Indonesia $31.1
Thailand $21.9

Singapore is so small and hard to defend. If spend less on defence, then worry. :biggrin:

Does Malaysia, Indonesia and thailand need to send their armies overseas for training?

Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand are all so big with huge areas for army training. If they send army for foreign training, then Singapore worry. :eek:

Sperminator

in US$ Billion
Singapore $52.1
Malaysia $27.0
Indonesia $31.1
Thailand $21.9

207rhg2.jpg

at least Singaporeans NS to be, sign on staffs, have more toys to play with... back then SGP were using WWII equipments.

well, using technology to defend, rather than using HR intensive doctrines to defend is a viable option with SGP dwindling young male population... this shouldn't be surprising.

for me, I say KUDOS, defense is always a no.1 priority, never forget KUWAIT.

obviously, ze world's bestest paid gahmen hv 2 jealously protect their goldmine ...

kojakbt

Wah lau, just because we go overseas for training, our military expenditure increase by US$2 Billion+ a year?

Our SAF boys take SIA first class to Starlight ah?

Or may be when our boys are injured in ROC, we tell SIA to convert the whole 1st class cabin to hospital and fly the NSF back with doctors from SGH accompanying?

Wah lau, just because we go overseas for training, our military expenditure increase by US$2 Billion+ a year?

Or may be when our boys are injured in ROC, we tell SIA to convert the whole 1st class cabin to hospital and fly the NSF back with doctors from SGH accompanying?

I think that it's not SIA first class cabin. It's C130 barrack cabin.

kojakbt

for me, I say KUDOS, defense is always a no.1 priority, never forget KUWAIT.

I'm not saying we do away with defence totally. All I'm saying is, it's about time to examine the other priorities in our society esp in relation to our aging nation. You spend more money to buy guns you will have less money for butter. This is econ 101.

In my view, I think we have been too kiasu and over-defended ourselves....

angry_one

Makes sense. SAF scenario planning is always for Mudlasia and Intoot-nesia attacking at the same time.

Tiu Kwang Yew

no lah, in sinkapore , FIBUA fighting no more in fashion.
everywhere HDB flats--smartbombs come , all die. FIBUA also no use.

so send troops overseas to show show and spend spend.
When they come back, they also cannot fight but learn to how fuck

you, i went ROC before--starlight, remember, what to learn from there to fight sinkapore?

when mats and indos want sinkapore, just stop food and water supply officially without any fighting and they can relax to see the PApees and the 66% pee in their pants.

52 billions are just a fucking waste---may be 500 million per year for defence is good enough---only to scare scare mats and indos.

this is an old ancient thinking---52 billions and local sporns live on debts for life.

I'm not arguing with the government spending too much on defence. I'm arguing with with it has been spent on. At such budget levels, we should have aircraft carriers and nuclear submarines enough to deter potential fors, no need for NS infantry.

cleareyes

You think those countries that we send our boys to allow us to do it for free??

Its not just about transporting them around, we are talking about logistic cost, rental cost, oversea pay.........

what might be seen as small sum to you could become a huge amount when you add up the maths.

cleareyes

I'm not arguing with the government spending too much on defence. I'm arguing with with it has been spent on. At such budget levels, we should have aircraft carriers and nuclear submarines enough to deter potential fors, no need for NS infantry.

Do not be surprised at all that some of our boys were already trained on those big toys.

again, you think we could do all those for free??

Sperminator

I'm not saying we do away with defence totally. All I'm saying is, it's about time to examine the other priorities in our society esp in relation to our aging nation. You spend more money to buy guns you will have less money for butter. This is econ 101.

In my view, I think we have been too kiasu and over-defended ourselves....

Dear Kojakbt,

I do agree with you that we should not do away with defense totally.

And it's true that our society is aging (leaving lesser SONS of Singapore to defend the nation, thus have to compensate by having more toys)

It's also true that if you spend more GUNS, you'll have less for butter, that's all true.

However, defense consideration have already thought about food for the nation...

Having a high defense budget doesn't necessarily mean that we will go hungry... in fact having a deterrent force, will prevent this piece of GOLDMINE from being invaded.

I'm all for a stronger defense force, as a deterrent force...

And I still think in future, male PR who wants to convert to Singapore Citizen should go for national service for 2 years, regardless their age.

At least the older ones could be in the COOK, CLERK, STOREMAN, positions, or perhaps in the Logistical segment.

The young ones before 30 to go for military training like the rest.

MAKE THEM EARN THE RIGHT to be a CITIZEN... why should they have anything special right?

Anyways, I also think that the DAUGHTERS of SINGAPORE should have a mandatory 2 years national service as well!

They could be deployed to the POLICE FORCE, CIVIL DEFENSE, HOSPITALS, LOGISTICS, ADMINISTRATIONS, ARMSKOTESMAN, etc... that need not see the battlefield, but be in the support end... to make it fair...

So, that's the way to earn the RIGHT to be a CITIZEN.

just my view that's all, it can be bullshit... hopefully some entertainment.

Tiu Kwang Yew

dear kojak,

donch worry, by 2070, local sinkaporeans either run roads or inside the urns.
no more alreadi.
PAP also no more, rich what can go anywhere...

so, you know who will take control in sinkapore.

the malays must be watching ,,,hehehehe.....long time no use parangs....

kojakbt

I'm all for a stronger defense force, as a deterrent force....

If that's the case, why stop at US$5-6Billion a year, then increase some more. Currently we are only spending 5% of GDP. Saudi Spent 10%. Double our expenditure immediately to US$10-12Billion...

If that is not "deterrent" enough, triple it to 15% of GDP, US$15-18Billion a year....

Sounds strong enough for you?